Halloween H20: 20 Years Later

Halloween H20: 20 Years Later Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 87 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: It's been twenty years since Laurie Strode escaped her brother's wrath. Now, it's time for one hell of a family reunion. (Trancas International Films)

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. Not a routine cut-and-paste horror but a full-fledged revenge fantasy -- and a completely satisfying one.
  2. If you can accept the flouting of logic and credibility that usually goes with this kind of horror picture, this scary and suspenseful genre exercise, chock-full of false alarms and brutal shocks, really delivers.
  3. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    70
    While plot mechanics aren't wildly imaginative, pic nonetheless delivers requisite jolts in an above-average package.
  4. Like Demi Moore leaking tears or Sharon Stone crossing her legs, Jamie Lee Curtis screaming is one of those glorious sights that inspire a generation of moviegoers to binge on popcorn.
  5. 50
    Miner strives to imbue the film with the requisite autumnal haze of the original but then gives up midway through and instead resorts to the standard stalk 'n' slash formulas.
  6. It's campy fun, but if you've seen the previous sequels, the plot grows tiresome and lacks shock value.
  7. Unfortunately, the contemporary horror movie has ceased being an individual work full of surprises and fresh manifestations of the Gothic imagination - it has, instead, been reduced to the level of an inflexible, repetitious, ritualistic event.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. ScottN
    Jun 7, 2009
    10
    I went to see this movie in the theatre expecting it to be pretty awful. After all, how many of you expect the 7th movie in a horror series I went to see this movie in the theatre expecting it to be pretty awful. After all, how many of you expect the 7th movie in a horror series to be any good? Anyway, I came away pleasantly surprised, and this is now probably my 2nd (or 3rd at worst) favorite in the entire series. Really a nice wrap up to the whole Laurie/Michael storyline, and this is where it ends in my mind. Don't be fooled by Resurrection and the fact that Jamie Lee is in it - that movie is a farce and Jamie Lee's appearance is nothing more than a shameful cameo.. H20 is suspenseful, well written, and well acted. Good job!! Expand
  2. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    Amazing movie! A direct sequel to "Halloween II." This (like other "Halloween" movies) doesn't get enough credit for bringing something new toAmazing movie! A direct sequel to "Halloween II." This (like other "Halloween" movies) doesn't get enough credit for bringing something new to cinema. I love it! Expand
  3. Dec 19, 2015
    10
    ................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................scary as **** Expand
  4. Dec 9, 2012
    7
    For all its weaknesses, I give this movie major points if only for trying to undo some of the damage to the series from parts 5 and 6; theFor all its weaknesses, I give this movie major points if only for trying to undo some of the damage to the series from parts 5 and 6; the director is clearly trying to shed some of the franchise' bad habits by de-canonizing the ridiculous "mark of Thorn" timeline. The return of Laurie Strode is strictly good news, as we can finally expect a more fitting conclusion to her story than an off-screen car crash Expand
  5. Jan 4, 2016
    7
    Heaps & miles above any other Halloween installment trying to succeed the original. Though this film in many ways is unnecessary, it serves asHeaps & miles above any other Halloween installment trying to succeed the original. Though this film in many ways is unnecessary, it serves as a decent sequel to the original and perhaps even surpassing HII as the better sequel. H20 serves as the true Halloween 3, but only quickly highlights HII's events. This film references more to John Carpenter's Halloween and almost acts as a tribute to that film (and perhaps even Alfred Hitchcock's Psycho.) H20 probably doesn't deserve praise, but Jamie Lee Curtis is back as Laurie Strode to take on Michael Myers. It's a revenge movie, but no where near as good as Mother's Boys- both of which are personal guilty pleasures of mine. Expand
  6. Nov 4, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best Halloween movie since the original. The fight with Michael alone makes this worth watching. Too bad it wasn't really him. I feel like this would have been a good place for the series to end. Expand
  7. Dec 22, 2011
    3
    It was ok. Still a little too generic for my taste and the acting was pretty horrible too. The kills werent all that good either. Takes farIt was ok. Still a little too generic for my taste and the acting was pretty horrible too. The kills werent all that good either. Takes far too long to get into as well. Just another generic addition to the series. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  2. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.