Halloween II

Halloween II Image
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 183 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Picking up precisely where its predecessor left off, Halloween II follows the same ill-fated characters as they encounter the knife-wielding maniac they left for dead in the first Halloween. It seems the inhuman Michael Myers is still very much alive and out for more revenge as he stalks thePicking up precisely where its predecessor left off, Halloween II follows the same ill-fated characters as they encounter the knife-wielding maniac they left for dead in the first Halloween. It seems the inhuman Michael Myers is still very much alive and out for more revenge as he stalks the deserted halls of the hospital where his sister lays waiting. As he gets closer and closer to his terrified target, Dr. Loomis discovers the chilling mystery behind the crazed psychopath's savage actions. [Universal] Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 11
  2. Negative: 4 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Janet Maslin
    Oct 31, 2015
    70
    There's some variety to the crimes, as there is to the characters, and an audience is likely to do more screaming at suspenseful moments than at scary ones. The gore, while very explicit and gruesome, won't make you feel as if you're watching major surgery. The direction and camera work are quite competent, and the actors don't look like amateurs.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Oct 31, 2015
    50
    For the most part, Halloween II is a retread of “Halloween” without that movie's craft, exquisite timing, and thorough understanding of horror.
  3. 50
    As slasher movies go, Halloween II is far from the bottom of the barrel, but, given its pedigree, one has a right to expect a higher degree of quality that what is delivered.
  4. Newsweek
    Reviewed by: David Ansen
    Oct 31, 2015
    50
    The plain fact is that Halloween II is quite scary, more than a little silly and immediately forgettable. [16 Nov 1981, p.117]
  5. 40
    The visual style--the orange-and-blue color scheme, the elegant 'Scope compositions, the graceful tracking shots, and the shrewd use of shallow focus--has been reproduced almost perfectly from John Carpenter's original, yet the wit and intelligence are gone.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Emery
    Oct 31, 2015
    30
    A bad sequel to a good movie...The main concentration is on gross-out effects and lame chase scenes.
  7. 20
    There are incredibly almost never any really terrific scares in 92 minutes - just multiple shots of violence and gore that are more gruesome than anything else.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 83
  2. Negative: 30 out of 83
  1. SFN
    Jan 8, 2011
    10
    ok for one people need to start commenting on the right movie, this is the original halloween 2, the sequel to john carpenter's not thatok for one people need to start commenting on the right movie, this is the original halloween 2, the sequel to john carpenter's not that crappy rob zombie bulls**t, second of all this movie is good, alot more killing, alot more story and alot more of everything, this movie is a must have and will be one of the best horror movies of all time Expand
  2. JeffreyG.
    Aug 28, 2009
    10
    I enjoyed this film more than the first, the first half of the first was brilliant, but the second half was rushed and took away from the I enjoyed this film more than the first, the first half of the first was brilliant, but the second half was rushed and took away from the film. This one maintains the story well throughout and makes for a great watch. Expand
  3. Sep 9, 2012
    8
    Scary sequel picks up right where the original left off. Not enough character development in this film, and it's riddled with plot holes.Scary sequel picks up right where the original left off. Not enough character development in this film, and it's riddled with plot holes. Also, Jamie Lee Curtis is too old here to be playing a 17 year old high school girl (and that awful wig!). Not as atmospheric as the original, but has some great scare scenes and a suspenseful chase scene. Could have done without the gore. Expand
  4. Oct 10, 2013
    5
    I'm kind of in the middle here. This movie was good, but it had some bad aspects to it. The plot wasn't as strong as the first one, but itI'm kind of in the middle here. This movie was good, but it had some bad aspects to it. The plot wasn't as strong as the first one, but it wasn't weak either. I give it a solid 5.0/10; no more, no less. Expand
  5. GavinC
    Jul 26, 2009
    4
    Most of the kills are needless and the suspense from the original has gone.
  6. justi
    Sep 11, 2009
    1
    I love horror movies and i even love some of rob zombie's movies. i thought his first re-make was amazing. it had heart, vision and most I love horror movies and i even love some of rob zombie's movies. i thought his first re-make was amazing. it had heart, vision and most importantly it had a story. i was very excited to see his second (and hopefully last) installment in the series. i was very, very unhappy. i am not trying to compare it the the original series because after all this is rob zombie's vision. the problem i had with it was a. the story. probably one of the worst i have seen in awhile. b. the acting. one of the things i loved about the first one was the young michael. i don't know why they did not reuse him, but this actor was horrible in his place. and finally c. this movie just plain stunk. besides the two reasons mentioned above this movie lacked everything the first one did. there was no heart, no vision (unless you call those delusions throughout the movie them, they were bad). people can say whatever they want about rob zombie, i personally like most of his films, but this one was just over the top and in a bad way. all these words i am writing are coming from a person who loves campy horror films and troma films, but rob zombie messed up this series like most people have re-making these films we grew up loving. i am waiting for the day we can start making movies that are original again and not re-makes of old films or foreign films. Expand
  7. RibopR.
    Feb 6, 2006
    0
    I didn't like it too much!!! But ha they say they might have a part 9 hopefully we'll enjoy it!!

See all 83 User Reviews

Trailers