Happy Feet

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 275 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 71 out of 275

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. SteveK.
    Mar 28, 2007
    4
    I try not to read too many reviews before watching a movie so it doesn't bias my viewing, but after watching the movie and reading all the glowing praise for this "kid's movie", I just don't get it. As an adult movie, it is really, horribly inconsistent with so many themes rolled up into one that not very many are done very well. At times, it felt like many superior movies I try not to read too many reviews before watching a movie so it doesn't bias my viewing, but after watching the movie and reading all the glowing praise for this "kid's movie", I just don't get it. As an adult movie, it is really, horribly inconsistent with so many themes rolled up into one that not very many are done very well. At times, it felt like many superior movies stitched together into a considersably less entertaining whole. The pacing of the movie is jarring and the last third of the movie is more than a little weird. The singing penguins were bizarre in a Baz Luhrman way but in a much more uncomfortable way.... cuz it's supposed to be a kids' movie! Anyone who says "oh, was it suposed to be a kids' movie?" doesn't know hollywood very well or seen any of the myriad cross-promotions. I kid you not, the first line you hear the penguins sing is "you don't have to be beautiful to turn me on, I just need your body baby from dusk til dawn." (from Prince's "Kiss") and you also get Penguins singing things like "I'll make love to you" (Boys II Men). Plus, the "love story" in the movie takes a much too complicated turn for little kids. Kids absorb EVERY word and lyric spoken in these movies. They know every song and word by heart. I don't mean to be a prude but I'm going to cringe more than a little if I see a little kid singing "Kiss". This movie had so much promise, great action sequences and animation, a noble effort to have a pro-environmental theme, but just in the end, too inconsistent, weird, and disturbing for me. Expand
  2. Mar 22, 2011
    4
    I get the message being told, but did it have to be so bland? Yes, it may have had a few decent songs, but all the characters looked creepy. If you want a better movie, try "March of the Penguins," at least that looks less creepy and more appealing.
  3. Oct 5, 2011
    6
    The story of "Happy Feet" doesn't really appeal to the audience, but the cheerful songs do.
  4. AnO.
    Dec 12, 2006
    5
    While Happy Feet is visually impressive it has too many flaws, and ends up only average, in my opinion. First, it's too long for a kids movie. My 3 yr. old liked it but was antsey with about 30 minutes left. The story is just too convoluted, and keeps going when it should've ended. Brittany Murphy can't sing very well, so I question her being cast as the female penguin While Happy Feet is visually impressive it has too many flaws, and ends up only average, in my opinion. First, it's too long for a kids movie. My 3 yr. old liked it but was antsey with about 30 minutes left. The story is just too convoluted, and keeps going when it should've ended. Brittany Murphy can't sing very well, so I question her being cast as the female penguin whose talent everyone oohs & aaahs over (maybe she wants to start a recording career, and WB cast her to promote her?). And I have to say that casting Robin Williams to voice 2 characters as obvious racial stereotypes was misguided at best, cynical and crass at worst. What, they couldn't find any black or hispanic actors that needed work? The movie does have some good to it, however. There are scenes with real emotional resonance (where Mumbles is kicked out of the graduation day celebration and watches & sways from afar; the scene in the zoo) but ultimately they are few and far between. A simpler "be yourself" message without the quest for world salvation would have been sufficient, but regardless 30 minutes could have easily been trimmed from this without much loss. OK but not great, and I agree with others that a couple of scenes are extremely scary for younger viewers. Expand
  5. [Anonymous]
    Mar 30, 2007
    6
    I rate it a 6, but only because of the graphics. Otherwise, it's typical Disney childrens' fare whose"wackiness" shouldn't be mistaken for originality.
  6. DanielC.
    Jan 2, 2007
    6
    This movie falls into the okay fare but wouldn't watch it again catergory. It's story is reasonable but with many flaws. Number one, the racial sterotyping. Doesn't work. Number two, it's too long for kids, and not funny, and rather scary. Number three and this is a the big one, the whole plot of ecological action is rushed. The movie skipped from the penguins saying This movie falls into the okay fare but wouldn't watch it again catergory. It's story is reasonable but with many flaws. Number one, the racial sterotyping. Doesn't work. Number two, it's too long for kids, and not funny, and rather scary. Number three and this is a the big one, the whole plot of ecological action is rushed. The movie skipped from the penguins saying how horrible it is that our fish is taken to lets stop fishing in about two seconds, the ending of this film seemed rushed and tacked on. I'm all for telling the story about how we butcher our planet as I'm a bleeding heart liberal myself, but this is the wrong place and the wrong people. You don't try and preach environmental notions to 7 year olds, they won't get it. Far better to pitch it in another movie designed for elder viewers. This movie should have been for kids, but it wasn't. Oh well. Expand
  7. JPPax
    Nov 18, 2006
    6
    2006 has turned out to be the year for digital animation. From talking cars to suburban turned forest animals it seems like we've almost seen it all
  8. EricY.
    Nov 19, 2006
    5
    I thought that the animation was cool. The story was very weak... I get tired of being preached to at the movies. It seems that many of the kids movies that come out have a political message embedded in them. (Ice Age 2--global warming, Happy Feet--humans steal all of the fish from the seas and the poor penguins don't have any food left) Just entertain the kids! They will have time I thought that the animation was cool. The story was very weak... I get tired of being preached to at the movies. It seems that many of the kids movies that come out have a political message embedded in them. (Ice Age 2--global warming, Happy Feet--humans steal all of the fish from the seas and the poor penguins don't have any food left) Just entertain the kids! They will have time to worry about all that junk later! Expand
  9. LuisG.
    Nov 25, 2006
    6
    Wondering when talkin animals with finally hit bottom there I was watching HAPPY FEET is visually stunning a bit too long, preachy but then I think it's needed , my younger brother loved it. Nice themes--self worth, independance and being resilient.--Happy Feet kept it cool .
  10. TomM.
    Dec 4, 2006
    5
    The kids seemed to like it but there is not much in it for growups.
  11. ML.
    Nov 18, 2006
    4
    This movie is not good at all. Not that funny, especially if you aren't a Robin Williams fan. But, even if you are, most of the rest of the story will drain the fun out of this film. The whole last 40 mins is depressing, and just plain stupid. The music is good. But other than that, it was a poor film. My 4 year old son wanted to leave 30 mins in...
  12. Jul 9, 2013
    5
    "Happy Feet" was troublesome in my opinions. I loved the songs, but I felt that they somehow lagged the film. Yes, I know that it was trying to feel like a musical-like film, but I thought that the songs and dances dragged the film down, and it got boring at times. Its plot is okay but nothing stellar, and the feel of the movie can feel bland at times. I'm not going to lie and say that I"Happy Feet" was troublesome in my opinions. I loved the songs, but I felt that they somehow lagged the film. Yes, I know that it was trying to feel like a musical-like film, but I thought that the songs and dances dragged the film down, and it got boring at times. Its plot is okay but nothing stellar, and the feel of the movie can feel bland at times. I'm not going to lie and say that I completely enjoyed it, because I didn't. Surprised that it beat Cars at the Academy Awards, but I guess it would be better than Monster House winning. Expand
  13. Nov 13, 2013
    4
    Happy Feet made me want to cut my foot off.
    An extremely pointless and overdone film. The message is good but simple, the delivery is poor, the singing is in some cases vomit worthy, and above all it is not very entertaining.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Wall Street Journal
    Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    70
    The essence of this inventive though erratic animated feature is joyous music and eye-popping motion.
  2. This curious ecological parable was directed by George Miller (Babe: Pig in the City), who still has an eye and a sense of humor but on this particular outing can't get the script he wrote with three others to make much sense.
  3. In the year of the animated movie, this one soars above them all.