Miramax Films | Release Date: October 10, 2008
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 251 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
198
Mixed:
12
Negative:
41
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
HabsburgNov 24, 2008
Bland film, about a bland main character, played slightly better than bland by Sally Hawkins. I wanted my $10 and 2 hours back at films none to soon end.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
WillN.Nov 30, 2008
Inane and boring. Pointless and tiring.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
NoraK.Oct 15, 2008
Ok not great, Poppy is annoying. Would not watch again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BillyS.Nov 22, 2008
I don't get it. Maybe the humor was over my head because there was no hilarity here. A couple chuckles was the most i could muster. Sally Hawkins was hardly the new face of comedy that I read about, I mean, come on, an Oscar Nomination? I don't get it. Maybe the humor was over my head because there was no hilarity here. A couple chuckles was the most i could muster. Sally Hawkins was hardly the new face of comedy that I read about, I mean, come on, an Oscar Nomination? She seemed to be doing a Tracy Ullman impersonations the whole movie and a poor one at that. Happy Go Lucky is the most over-rated movie I've seen this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
WilliamRNov 24, 2008
Some laugh out louds for sure, but she is so annoying we wanted to walk out not sure what all those great reviews are about (and I love Mike Leigh movies!)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JayH.Mar 4, 2009
It's a sweet story with well developed characters and fine writing, but I sure don't know what all the fuss is about. Sally Hawkins is good but I found her performance to be nothing extraordinary. Cute story, not much more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
bram29Feb 2, 2013
the main reason i find this movie inadequate is the same reason it got made in the first place. because the main character is always optimistic. i find that in most of those cases, it makes her naive and shallow. and it's trying to prove thethe main reason i find this movie inadequate is the same reason it got made in the first place. because the main character is always optimistic. i find that in most of those cases, it makes her naive and shallow. and it's trying to prove the point that constant cheeriness is a positive factor. all the rest in the movie is adequate. i find the driving instructor to be a very competent character, even though the movie tried to paint him as the character we're supposed to frown at. but i guess it gets a 5 because i have some sort of inner hatred against giggling women. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews