Hard Candy

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 254 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 254
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkJ.
    Jan 2, 2007
    5
    Hard Candy does not surprise in its ability to leave an audience shell shocked whilst failing to achieve critical acclaim. A brave narrative which revolves around the dialogue between an unbelievably psychotic teenager and a middle aged man seeking sex with minors never goes further than cliched one-upmanship which becomes as irritating as it is pointless. If your up for a shock thriller Hard Candy does not surprise in its ability to leave an audience shell shocked whilst failing to achieve critical acclaim. A brave narrative which revolves around the dialogue between an unbelievably psychotic teenager and a middle aged man seeking sex with minors never goes further than cliched one-upmanship which becomes as irritating as it is pointless. If your up for a shock thriller which ultimately leaves you knowing nothing more of the characters than you do after 20 minutes, then this will probably be an entertaing 90 minutes, otherwise avoid this at all costs, you'll only be left feeling cheated that you attempted to invest any emotion in what are two poorly structured and equally un-appealing characters. Expand
  2. Aug 6, 2013
    6
    I can't say that Hard Candy is a great movie but i can't either say that it is a disaster. First of all it has great actors and an excellent cinematography. At the beginning it is a really lame and slow movie and it gets to the last minutes. It is really disturbing all these tortures and I can say that really annoyed me in a good way as i really like movies like Saw. I had greatI can't say that Hard Candy is a great movie but i can't either say that it is a disaster. First of all it has great actors and an excellent cinematography. At the beginning it is a really lame and slow movie and it gets to the last minutes. It is really disturbing all these tortures and I can say that really annoyed me in a good way as i really like movies like Saw. I had great expectations for Hard Candy and I think they were a little bit high. You will only like it if you like sadistic movies like Saw otherwise you will waste your time and you will might feel really seek after watching that film. I give it 6/10 because it starts really bad and it is quite boring. After half an hour it gets more interesting. If only the first scenes were better.... Expand
  3. [Anonymous]
    Apr 22, 2006
    6
    This movie was like Home Alone for all male haters. The actors are amusing and the direction in parts is pretty good. But, if I am going to dish out $14 for a movie about someone being tortured, I better see alot of blood guts. Heck, I have seen more gore trick or treating down my street than I did in this movie. I think what tipped this movie from being slightly amusing to full on This movie was like Home Alone for all male haters. The actors are amusing and the direction in parts is pretty good. But, if I am going to dish out $14 for a movie about someone being tortured, I better see alot of blood guts. Heck, I have seen more gore trick or treating down my street than I did in this movie. I think what tipped this movie from being slightly amusing to full on retarded was just when you thought the movie was ending, they started back up with a new scenario. As if we already didn't get the point!!!! If you want to see real horror, go to this show, and then multiply the number of people who saw it by $14 and then you will have true horror. Expand
  4. NickD.
    Jan 27, 2007
    6
    Starts off intriguing and tense, but ends up dragging its feet to a silly conclusion all the while transforming the main character into someone irrational and unrealistic. Would have been better as an 80 minute thriller without all the extra twists and turns toward the end.
  5. StephenS.
    Jul 13, 2006
    6
    Seasoned cinemagoers are entitled to read
  6. DazDaz
    Sep 13, 2006
    4
    After seeing the movie I was left with this overpowering question that needed to be answered, who called the production dog Presley? ....
  7. JonathanF.
    Jan 28, 2008
    6
    Ellen Page of course is great, my bet is she'll have a long impressive career. Patrick Wilson is pretty impressive too, probably one of the more underrated male actors of his generation - he was fantastic in Little Children too. The movie probably would have been better in my opinion had it stayed on the course it seemed to be heading in the fist 20 minutes, but it turns into some Ellen Page of course is great, my bet is she'll have a long impressive career. Patrick Wilson is pretty impressive too, probably one of the more underrated male actors of his generation - he was fantastic in Little Children too. The movie probably would have been better in my opinion had it stayed on the course it seemed to be heading in the fist 20 minutes, but it turns into some extremely implausible spider web of a film. Some great scenes, but their outcomes are often disappointing. Sandra Oh and Ellen Page together on screen was tasty - yet Oh's role is minuscule. A respectable, well-acted, but ultimately disappointing and confused movie. Make of it what you will. Expand
  8. TonyB
    Oct 13, 2007
    4
    A potentially fascinating subject is given short shrift in this lackluster film. Aside from the excellent acting by the two leads, there is not much to recommend here.
  9. R.H.
    Nov 12, 2008
    6
    I wish people would stop saying how "striking" this movie was. I mean, yes, its great - its gritty, excellently acted, and cinematic. What i find is basically another thriller in a realistic style. I'm suprized to hear the director say hpw its "unlike how hollywood movies are made". Sorry, i'm getting used to the realistic style by now (Abou Schmidt, Cloverfield, etc.) But i I wish people would stop saying how "striking" this movie was. I mean, yes, its great - its gritty, excellently acted, and cinematic. What i find is basically another thriller in a realistic style. I'm suprized to hear the director say hpw its "unlike how hollywood movies are made". Sorry, i'm getting used to the realistic style by now (Abou Schmidt, Cloverfield, etc.) But i feel like these formal qualities are an excuse not to discuss its content, which i have to say is really noteworthy - i find this to be the most original aspect. What i find frighteningh i guess, is how easily this could easily happen to any guy. In the movie, her actions are partially justified by what he's done previously, but it shows how much power women actually have now on all social levels when it comes to sexual issues. (Some women will say its not enough, but i ask, what is enough?). This movie left me feeling downright frightened to talk to _any_ women... i wonder if that was the intended effect. I think i really need a movie now that resolves some of these issues (since clearly no solutions are offered here). The content is shocking, and original, but not really helpful in any way. (If there are women that feel empowered by this film, then i _am_ really scared. Were her actions justified by his? Maybe. Does that make them right? No.) Expand
  10. Mar 11, 2011
    6
    Whether you'll like this movie or not highly depends on what you look at when you watch a movie. The acting is stunning, both actors do a tremendous job. Visually, this movie is also superb, the director did an amazing job.

    But the script is weak. The story drags on for waaaay too long, and the movie loses its initial drive to try to surprise us with plot twists that don't make a lot of
    Whether you'll like this movie or not highly depends on what you look at when you watch a movie. The acting is stunning, both actors do a tremendous job. Visually, this movie is also superb, the director did an amazing job.

    But the script is weak. The story drags on for waaaay too long, and the movie loses its initial drive to try to surprise us with plot twists that don't make a lot of sense and just make the whole seem longer. Worth it to see great acting, but otherwise, there are better movies out there.
    Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. Tautly directed by David Slade, this drama probably offers more sadism than anyone could possibly want...The characters are absurd, but if you're up for this sort of thing, then surely you can con yourself into accepting them. Personally, I'd rather have this movie obliterated from my memory.
  2. 100
    A tough sit, but it attracts more than repels you. It commands your attention. Once it lands its hooks in you, there's no tearing away.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    A spectacular performance by teenage thesp Ellen Page elevates this disturbing slice of designer shocksploitation into a film that's impossible to dismiss on principle.