Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: November 15, 2002
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 637 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
456
Mixed:
101
Negative:
80
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
gm101Feb 28, 2011
While it's not my favorite Harry Potter movie (that honor goes to "Order of the Phoenix"), seriously, what's with the low user score? It was just as good as the first one, and better then the third and sixth ones!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Film_Fanatic_15Nov 22, 2010
As Harry attends his second year at Hogwarts, dark forces are at work. This dark intensity drives the entire movie, and Harry acknowledges that Voldemort and himself have a dark relationship. He knows that the Dark Lord wants to kill Harry.As Harry attends his second year at Hogwarts, dark forces are at work. This dark intensity drives the entire movie, and Harry acknowledges that Voldemort and himself have a dark relationship. He knows that the Dark Lord wants to kill Harry. More secrets are unveiled as Harry tries to unlock the mystery of the chamber of secrets. The film matures slightly from the cute and frendlier 1st installment, and this deserves better ratings because there are more thrilling action sequences, which makes the film more intriguing. As I am watching, the film gets better and better with the final 40 minutes becoming the peak out of the entire movie. The ending has left me with a slight sadness, feeling sorry for Harry and what he has to go through, but I soon am thirsting for more. The character Gilderoy Lockhart I have a major issue with, mainly because it doesn't make the film as comforting as I would like it, but better directed and produced than the first. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
JawsPapi87Aug 9, 2011
This second installment is on the same level on the first one, also containing a few highlights of entertainment like Aragog and Kenneth Branagh as Gilderoy Lockhart
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
imthenoobJan 28, 2012
The first hour (hour and a half max) of this film was amazing and it gave me high hopes but the moment the film got to the part where Harry finds out he is a parselmouth then it just got terrible and turned into a generic action film thatThe first hour (hour and a half max) of this film was amazing and it gave me high hopes but the moment the film got to the part where Harry finds out he is a parselmouth then it just got terrible and turned into a generic action film that completely ruined the first really enjoyable hour of the film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
cryhardhumorFeb 24, 2015
It moves like the book it was based on, and with that comes both positive and negative results. Luckily they are mostly positive. The acting is surprisingly solid considering the actors are all kids, and the directing is capable enough.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 23, 2011
The movie isn't what you expect if you waited for a another marvelous Harry Potter film. However, it still has impressive visuals and and well made CGI creature...DOBY!!!!
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
7
spadenxDec 2, 2011
To be honest, I loved the first hour or so of the film but once it started getting into the whole situation of the Chamber of Secrets being opened - The film took a turn for the worst and it went from a great film to another corny andTo be honest, I loved the first hour or so of the film but once it started getting into the whole situation of the Chamber of Secrets being opened - The film took a turn for the worst and it went from a great film to another corny and childish and pretty generic "hero saves the day" film. The acting is still solid but can be a little lacking at times from the younger cast members, Once again they fail to use the experianced older cast members to their full potential.

It was slightly better then the first film but not by much.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
MovieLonely94Jul 5, 2011
This second installment continues the adventures of Harry Potter as he and his friends discover that the hogwarts students are being attacked by a deadly snake known as the Basilisk and must solve the mystery that lies within a chamber knownThis second installment continues the adventures of Harry Potter as he and his friends discover that the hogwarts students are being attacked by a deadly snake known as the Basilisk and must solve the mystery that lies within a chamber known as the Chamber of Secrets. Little does Harry know that a shocking secret that will reveal the dark lord who killed his parents.

I saw it twice in theaters perhaps at the exact same year it came out and I have no time to waste, so let's get on to my opinion.

The CGI effects were pretty cool and the fantasy action was intense.

The storyline followed the book as it should be and it succeeded.

The actors have done well at their performances once again. Kenneth Branagh was entertaining as Professor Lockhart and was very funny, Daniel Radcliffe did well as Harry Potter once again, and the rest of the actors did very well at their performances, etc. etc. etc.

There's nothing negative to say about it, so I'm all set.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets is a successful sequel and its as good as the previous installment.

8/10
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 8, 2012
Somehow, this sequel manages to be even more magical than its predecessor. It unleashes a string of brand new ideas and invents some marvelous new characters. The is a film no true movie lover is going to want to miss.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
SeriouslyNov 14, 2010
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets is the second out of the eight films, but this and the first would be the only ones that actually makes sense and do not feel jumpy. Someone who has read all the novels would have no problem decypheringHarry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets is the second out of the eight films, but this and the first would be the only ones that actually makes sense and do not feel jumpy. Someone who has read all the novels would have no problem decyphering the other Harry Potter movies, but this is one of the few that will be easy to follow even by non-Harry Potter fans. It may not be a completely enjoyable film, but this is because it is aimed a slightely younger and less age-ranged target audience. Still, it will keep you interested from beginning to end, and don't forget it has Dobby! Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
0
JaredC.Jul 29, 2007
Really boring, it may have some use for the series, but doesn't do anything special. Chris Columbus just doesn't get it. Could have been so much better.
3 of 7 users found this helpful
10
GuavoonApr 16, 2011
Well written, wonderfully cast, and flawlessly flowing, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets offers suspenseful thrills, honest emotion, and an obvious respect for JK Rowling's masterpiece.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
8
heyitsmegrif4Dec 17, 2011
With it being even longer, and lacks some adventure, the film has good performances, thrills and a strong story making it somewhat an improvement and somewhat not. I give this film an 82% of a good movie.
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
5
nboley08Aug 16, 2010
The only thing that this film improved on the first one was the Quidditch match. After that, this film was rather mediocre, especially near the end. This film just drags and drags and drags until you're begging for the predictable ending toThe only thing that this film improved on the first one was the Quidditch match. After that, this film was rather mediocre, especially near the end. This film just drags and drags and drags until you're begging for the predictable ending to happen. "Chamber of Secrets" is arguably my least favorite HP book, and it's arguably my least favorite film of the series as well. There just wasn't enough material there to keep one entertained for two hours. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
9
ckAug 3, 2009
Not a kids movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
asylumspadezNov 26, 2011
The first hour of the film was amazing but as soon as they got into the parts with the actual Chamber Of Secrets, The film just went all downhill from there. The cast was solid and I was disapointed by the lack of use of the older andThe first hour of the film was amazing but as soon as they got into the parts with the actual Chamber Of Secrets, The film just went all downhill from there. The cast was solid and I was disapointed by the lack of use of the older and experianced cast members. It was ok overall. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
6
jfrotylpe532Dec 21, 2012
Same as the first only this time the acting dropped. I thought Tom Riddle and Daniel Radcliffe did a poor job, and special effects fell apart. Plus it tryed to add a darker tone but instead it felt lighter to me. However the movie was goodSame as the first only this time the acting dropped. I thought Tom Riddle and Daniel Radcliffe did a poor job, and special effects fell apart. Plus it tryed to add a darker tone but instead it felt lighter to me. However the movie was good for it's humorous car scenes and Ron's pathetic yet extremely amusing reaction to spiders. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Annoymous1May 18, 2013
Harry potter gets better and better, and for this installment was not too bad, yet not too good. If you like most of the Potter flicks this one won't glue you to your seat. Its still fun though

Next Movie!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
MovieMan12Jun 28, 2013
Boring as hell. Painful to sit through this. My Lord, it is a good thing they changed directors even though they were just as horrible too. Read the books, not this poorly acted adaptation.
0 of 10 users found this helpful010
All this user's reviews
8
geo333Jan 8, 2016
The second installment of the Successful series it's more darker but delivers more of the same that the first film had. Overall, the second film of franchise is on par with the first one
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MattDOct 1, 2008
Better than the novel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RuanHAug 12, 2007
A generally good film throughout, but unfortunately fell a little short of my expectations. Nonetheless, a good start to a promising series.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DexterJ.Mar 17, 2008
A great movie full of excitement and fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdnanAJul 19, 2008
Again this movie has also been criticized for following the book too much. Personally, I think staying true to the book is the strongest point of the movie. Staying with the book imparts the same magic of the book which has created the Harry Again this movie has also been criticized for following the book too much. Personally, I think staying true to the book is the strongest point of the movie. Staying with the book imparts the same magic of the book which has created the Harry Potter phenomena. The story... well I don't have to say anything about that because the success of this franchise has already proved it. Acting... couldn't be better. The trio, Daniel, Rupert and Emma were born for these roles. All the adults are perfect for their roles and create the same attitude and personality as their characters have in the books. Direction... Warner bros did a very smart thing by giving it to Chris. A person like him knows how to make a family movie which not only entertains but remains in your memory forever. Even though many have criticized Chris for making such a kiddish movie but I think that as this is the first year you have to stay with the kiddish atmosphere as the children are only 12. Visuals... for a 2002 movie it's visuals are excellent. Even today they look fantastic! Overall I'd rate this movie an A because the book created the world and the characters but the movie has created the true images of the Harry Potter world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TomK.Aug 19, 2007
The second film is not much better than the first film, it's still childish and not matching the book's environment, but it's still enjoyable as a film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichelleP.Nov 16, 2002
I've read the reviews, and plenty have said, "It was boring". I've read the book (how many times?) and saw the movie at the evening premiere, and it was NEVER boring compared to the first one, but that was all Richard Harris' I've read the reviews, and plenty have said, "It was boring". I've read the book (how many times?) and saw the movie at the evening premiere, and it was NEVER boring compared to the first one, but that was all Richard Harris' fault since he had no exspression whatsoever in the first one, unlike this one where he's a much better actor. It's funny, but I thought the first book, in my opnion, was better than the second one, but I thought the first movie was worse than the second one. It felt lifeless and fake, whereas the second one had better acting, special effects, and even the Hogwarts setting felt better, while in the first one it felt cold, dirty, and some where you don't want to live. I was suprised at the lack of intelligiance the S.F. chronicle had when trying to "support" their opinion. Basically, all they were saying was, "Harry Potter is supposed to be a SWEET, cute, little movie. There are some scenes that should have been deleated like the snake and spider scenes". First of all the Harry Potter series (both book and movie) didn't intend to be sweet. It's actually quite dark, especially the 3rd book, Harry Potter isn't supposed to be a cute fairy tale. It's dark fantasy. And secondly, about the spider and snake scenes, well, if they didn't have those scenes then: 1. The movie would be EXTREMELY unfaithful to the book. 2. It wouldn't have a plot without those two scenes. That person either hasn't read the books, or hasn't even heard what they're about. Then again, the S.F. hates all the best movies (well, they did like Lord of the Rings, but that was the only time) and love all the ones people hate or don't even deserve to get the highest score (like "The Ring".) It was fun seeing this one too. I screamed (for the first time in a movie) at the part when ..... Not to mention I had a few energetic laughs as well. Kudos to you Columbus and co., for not screwing this one up like you did with the first one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JonLDec 15, 2007
Columbus directed this? Really? A very good glimpse at the future of the series with the best visuals of it so far...would be great if it wasn't a half-hour too long. Some bits are put in just to please hardcore fans and they are really Columbus directed this? Really? A very good glimpse at the future of the series with the best visuals of it so far...would be great if it wasn't a half-hour too long. Some bits are put in just to please hardcore fans and they are really annoying and slow the pace down...but overall, solid, and in all aspects except editing, far superior to the first. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GoldenEye16Aug 21, 2010
The is the best of the Harry Potter movies by far. It follows the book extremely well, the setting and scenery feels really authentic and the story flows along and is exciting and a great adventure. It really captured the mood, tone, andThe is the best of the Harry Potter movies by far. It follows the book extremely well, the setting and scenery feels really authentic and the story flows along and is exciting and a great adventure. It really captured the mood, tone, and visualization of the book well. Plus the music was by John Williams which they are really lacking with the new Harry Potter movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JacobNov 12, 2016
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets for better or worse will please book fans and fans of the predecessor. Columbus once again provides a mostly faithful story and continues a stellar casting adding new memorable characters and visuallyHarry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets for better or worse will please book fans and fans of the predecessor. Columbus once again provides a mostly faithful story and continues a stellar casting adding new memorable characters and visually bringing Rowling’s world to life. Those who weren’t fans of the first one and/or are looking for anything new will be disappointed. The film not only recycles numerous plot points from the first film but once again suffers from overfaithfullness with scenes loosely strung together in an effort to maintain the source material resulting in a lengthy runtime in serious need of padding. Fans of the book won’t mine but others will depend. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerMar 19, 2011
While the Chamber of Secrets isn't as good as the first but it's still a great movie, and if your a fan of the first movie and like the books you should like this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuSep 30, 2012
Chamber of Secrets is an excellent second outing in the Harry Potter franchise. Whilst still some distance away from Potter's best efforts (Goblet of Fire & Order of the Phoenix), this one improves upon the original and adds a whole bunch ofChamber of Secrets is an excellent second outing in the Harry Potter franchise. Whilst still some distance away from Potter's best efforts (Goblet of Fire & Order of the Phoenix), this one improves upon the original and adds a whole bunch of memorable sequences. And you can't beat Kenneth Brannagh... He's just awesome! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SERBIANJan 13, 2011
This is all nonsense. I enjoyed the film every time I watched it. It isn't the best film, but the best Harry Potter film to date. (Not including Deathly Hallows, haven't watched it yet)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AlnORTIZJul 11, 2011
Although is my least favorite Harry Potter film, this doesn't mean it's a bad movie. The visuals are still stellar and the performances are well executed. My only problem is how some plot elements were left out, after all this is the longestAlthough is my least favorite Harry Potter film, this doesn't mean it's a bad movie. The visuals are still stellar and the performances are well executed. My only problem is how some plot elements were left out, after all this is the longest film of the whole series. Aside from that, there is really nothing awful since the plot is really easy to follow. This is still an absolute delight in the Harry Potter film series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
Chris Columbus has pledged to make adjustments faithful to the books, and succeeded. Reading the book makes us see the movie the way it is. But adaptation of the second was very long, less than the first child, and to me that climate was notChris Columbus has pledged to make adjustments faithful to the books, and succeeded. Reading the book makes us see the movie the way it is. But adaptation of the second was very long, less than the first child, and to me that climate was not "magic" and the incredible first. It is very good, very faithful to the book, shows the beginning of the ripening of the series (even very lightly). When you take the second and sixth films, see how the saga changed the face. And he feels a twinge of nostalgia. However, is by far the weakest of the series. And the problem is the same as in Stone, the script, that's so true to the book it becomes extremely tedious as the movie. And what makes it weaker than the first is that the magic in this direction from Columbus disappears almost completely. The film continues with good performances and great junior adults. Again a beautiful soundtrack Williams, and the effects a little better over the first. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
filmtrashreviewJul 4, 2011
There is no doubt in my mind that Columbus does better with the second film. The story line for the second film just isn't as good and because of that at times a felt bored. Still an amazing film itself, it's just sad that it will have toThere is no doubt in my mind that Columbus does better with the second film. The story line for the second film just isn't as good and because of that at times a felt bored. Still an amazing film itself, it's just sad that it will have to forever be compared to the others. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AtTheMoviesJun 18, 2011
Although not near the best in the Potter series, Chamber of Secrets is still a good film, almost equal to it's predecessor. The lead actors come into their own more so here, and the supporting cast is as good as always. The score continues toAlthough not near the best in the Potter series, Chamber of Secrets is still a good film, almost equal to it's predecessor. The lead actors come into their own more so here, and the supporting cast is as good as always. The score continues to amaze, and the direction becomes a whole lot better in this movie. It becomes darker and sleeker, things we see in latter, better installments. The visual effects, especially concerning Dobby are delightful. The main problem is the length. It is quite a long movie, at nearly 3 hours. This can be an especially long wait if you have seen the superior future installments, and even more so if you are not a fan of the book series. But, criticisms aside, Chamber of Secrets is still a very good film. If you are a fan of the other films, or the books, see it, and maybe even if you aren't, still see this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AVCITYJul 12, 2011
This film is good in expanding the world of Hogwarts and introducing entertaining new characters as well as new settings. The sense of fun and magic is never lost but I must say that it does feel a tad overlong and like the first one doesn'tThis film is good in expanding the world of Hogwarts and introducing entertaining new characters as well as new settings. The sense of fun and magic is never lost but I must say that it does feel a tad overlong and like the first one doesn't always flow perfectly. However, the plot keeps us engaged as well as our 3 leads and the other actors portraying the teachers. Hogwarts is such a detailed, mysterious place that I didn't mind being stuck in it even if some scenes could have definitely been cut. Also the ending is a bit too much on the emotional side and with no real substance behind it. In the end though it is a very entertaining film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HasrionaJul 20, 2011
Rather long, with questionable acting from the young cast and a somewhat overfaithful screenplay, this film is still enjoyable with a good climax, great effects, some dazzling performances, beautiful sets - and plenty of magic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CRLJul 27, 2011
This was the second book/movie of the Harry Potter series, and even though some important backstories are delved into, it also comes across as one of the most forgettable. However that by no means makes it a bad movie. This was where DanielThis was the second book/movie of the Harry Potter series, and even though some important backstories are delved into, it also comes across as one of the most forgettable. However that by no means makes it a bad movie. This was where Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint, and Emma Watson started to become great actors, and the directing from Chris Columbus is among the best in the series. The storyline is well-represented from the book (something only Columbus and Cuaron managed to do), and the special effects are extremely good for a movie released in 2002. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Potter17Oct 11, 2011
Even though it is one of my favorites within the series, I would cut 30 minutes out of it easily. Columbus tries too hard put every part of the book on the movie and ends up ruining what could be a thrilling film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
marnee96Nov 6, 2011
This one is more darker and complex than Sorcerer's Stone, thus the story and it's characters progress in a much more compelling and interesting way. The youngsters acting has improved since the first film. Some moments really advanced theThis one is more darker and complex than Sorcerer's Stone, thus the story and it's characters progress in a much more compelling and interesting way. The youngsters acting has improved since the first film. Some moments really advanced the plot of the story and gave helpful information, but they just felt a little too unconvincing and not really believable. For example: the talking spider Aragog. 3/4 stars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellNov 13, 2011
This Harry Potter film lives up to the original with a darker story and more exciting action. This film helped character development for most of the series.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
StevenFJul 12, 2013
Twice as spellbinding and twice as magical as the first, but a side-swipe story has left the Chamber of Secrets as one of the weaker entries in the massive franchise, this aside, Harry and his companions return in fine form for more secretsTwice as spellbinding and twice as magical as the first, but a side-swipe story has left the Chamber of Secrets as one of the weaker entries in the massive franchise, this aside, Harry and his companions return in fine form for more secrets to unfold from the magical castle of Hogwarts.
Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint and Emma Watson all reprise their roles as Harry, Ron and Hermione respectively, and its remarkable how quickly these actors grow up, their tasks at Hogwarts also reflect their growth, they must deal with fame, lies and of course, magical happenings. When several students become petrified, as case of paralysis where the subject is frozen still without an immediate cure, Harry and his friends find themselves at the centre of it all again, more so for being in the wrong place at the wrong time.
Of course there is still fun to be had, with Qudditch returning and looking better than ever, and of course the comedic tone remains on par, especially with addition of Kenneth Branagh as Professor Lockhart, a man who isn't everything he seems, we are also introduced to Dobby, a house elf who is out to help Harry in any way possible, but seemingly gets in the way at every turn.
Its clear from the beginning that the tone has shifted slightly darker from the debut entry, with equally as many thrills to be had and some spectacular set-pieces equate to quite the blockbuster film, but much of the cast feels underused, understandably its difficult to adapt a book into a two hour film but I feel some scenes could have been shortened to make way for the excellent cast, like the returning Maggie Smith, Richard Harris, in his last film as Albus Dumbledore after passing away, and of course the sublime Alan Rickman.
Watching the film back, it does feel like a go-between, and while much more of the essence of the books is explored, it isn't one of the better entries in the films, it lacks the punch of fantasy that the others possess, and ultimately falls behind the rest.
But moaning aside, this is still a deserved entry in the series, it continues to amaze and carry the lives of our unlikely heroes, brimming with excitement, touches of horror and emotion, but turning into a darker path which suits the story it is telling. But the film is truly made again with the glorious cast who portray their characters with pride to the books but also to suit their own methods. Not the best, but certainly worth the watch.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jboy2468Nov 22, 2011
This is a magnificent sequel to a magnificent start. This movie continues to follow the story of a young wizard and it matches the book point blank. UNDERRATTED!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Bruce722Dec 30, 2012
This movie, like the first, was very well done. Also like the first one, there were some major and minor differences; however, not all of these seemed to work as well. Obviously it's impossible to include every aspect but there were someThis movie, like the first, was very well done. Also like the first one, there were some major and minor differences; however, not all of these seemed to work as well. Obviously it's impossible to include every aspect but there were some things that I think they could've/should've done differently. The most glaring example is how they butchered the ending of the movie. That didn't happen even remotely that way in the book. They made the Harry Potter character look kind of dumb with the way he reacted in the chamber whereas in the book, the things that happened weren't necessarily in his control and he had to react in certain ways in order to survive. Also, they cut out quite a bit of the process Harry, Ron, and Hermione took in discovering the secret. Still, they ultimately got the gist of the book and didn't really leave out anything too major. The acting of the students was drastically improved so the movie flowed smoother. I just thought they could've done a much better job with the book-to-movie adaptation of the ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078May 7, 2013
My adventure into the world of Harry Potter continues with the Chamber of Secrets. While I enjoyed the film, I didn't think it was as good as the Sorcerer's Stone, as typical of most sequels. In the Chamber of Secrets, we see Harry return forMy adventure into the world of Harry Potter continues with the Chamber of Secrets. While I enjoyed the film, I didn't think it was as good as the Sorcerer's Stone, as typical of most sequels. In the Chamber of Secrets, we see Harry return for his second year at the Hogwart's School of Wizardery. In year two, students are being attacked, and Dumbledorf knows why. The legendary Chamber of Secrets has been open and a mythological creatures has been released. Harry and his friends have to find out who opened it and why before they are able to do anything about it. This story wasn't as mysterious or edge of your seat as the last adventure was, and I found some parts of it to be downright childish. What I enjoyed about the first film was that for all it has for kids, it had an equal amount of content that adults would enjoy. In the Chamber of Secrets, that element has been replaced with things like giant talking spiders, flying cars, and worst of all Dobby the troll. The story was pretty good, but it wasn't as refreshing as the last film, the cast was once again terrific, but the Chamber of Secrets seemed to be much more like a kids movie to me and for that reason was kind of a disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AquophisDec 28, 2011
Almost as much a triumph as the first adaptation, Chamber of Secrets suffers slightly from some awkwardly-placed dialogue. But this doesn't significantly detract from the viewing experience, and its climax is among the best seen in any HarryAlmost as much a triumph as the first adaptation, Chamber of Secrets suffers slightly from some awkwardly-placed dialogue. But this doesn't significantly detract from the viewing experience, and its climax is among the best seen in any Harry Potter film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
oxanaJan 3, 2015
Harry is back in this second instalment of the series based on J.K. Rowling's books. I am sure that to most, Harry and the actor behind him (Daniel Radcliffe) is sweet and altogether awesome, but he has never won me over, though I have noHarry is back in this second instalment of the series based on J.K. Rowling's books. I am sure that to most, Harry and the actor behind him (Daniel Radcliffe) is sweet and altogether awesome, but he has never won me over, though I have no idea why. I prefer the Malfoy family, which really steps up in this movie. Although Draco (Tom Felton) is annoying and bratty, and in the end his father Lucius (awesome Jason Isaacs) is almost too plain with his words and actions, they still hold something tainted and interesting whereas Harry and his friends are too 'pure' and perfect. Then there is Snape (Alan Rickman), whom I have rooted for since film one - and will no doubt continue to do so. After the first watch, I kept thinking this movie was better than the first, since it has more action and had grown a bit more "adult" - the characters have grown, naturally - but I came to realize that while the first movie was more introductory in its storytelling, it was also slightly better one. This time around, the plot goes straight into the point, not bothering to explain most things. I am sure this works for devoted fans just fine, and when you've just freshly watched "the Sorcerer's Stone". Again, a beautiful movie, but the acting could be a bit less obvious; you can guess who is doing and planning what, and that takes a lot from the plot! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ryflemanJan 24, 2012
Hands down the weakest in the series, which considering it was still good, that could be a point in the series favor overall.

The story isn't as good as the latter or the later, but the acting has improved, and the main NEW character Doby is
Hands down the weakest in the series, which considering it was still good, that could be a point in the series favor overall.

The story isn't as good as the latter or the later, but the acting has improved, and the main NEW character Doby is a good addition to the movie (and overall series). Without comparing it to the book (something that should never be done, because you should judge a movie on its own merits, not by a book it was based on), this is a good sequel to the first, and although it won't leave you completely spellbinded, it is still a magical experience.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MegWhiteleyMar 28, 2012
Uff, difficult. The movie is good, but is the worst movie of Potter, the only good is Doby, and the big Snake, but the rest is same, boring, I think that the movie can be better, because the book is amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeAug 25, 2014
Even darker, more enchanting than its predecessor, the Chamber of Secrets is easily just as intoxicating, if not more. Well-written and filled with notable visuals.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
csw12Mar 25, 2012
The Chamber of Secrets is a very good film. Still just a magical as The Sorcerer's Stone. The movie stuck true to the book. Which is key to keeping the series going well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Trev29Jun 9, 2013
This is wonderfully exciting and adventurous. Watching it the first time was great and it still remains that way. This movie still evokes what I think Rowling was trying to achieve, and how it should be carried out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
potatoes351Aug 14, 2012
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets was a hard to put down read, just like the first. But the film has not translated well. The film gets too in over its head with special effects and loses the magic that the original film had. Not toHarry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets was a hard to put down read, just like the first. But the film has not translated well. The film gets too in over its head with special effects and loses the magic that the original film had. Not to mention cutting out large parts of the book that were quite important and leaving non important things in making the film far too long for its own good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
watithink123May 4, 2012
It was the Harry Potter I loved when I was younger, but i'm older and cruller then I was 6 years ago. So a good movie overall and still is enjoyable for me to watch. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets 7.5/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
OfficialNov 1, 2013
"Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets" is an excellent sequel to the fabulous original. It's more darker and livelier than its predecessor, and just like the first one, Director Chris Columbus unfolds the film exactly as it is written in"Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets" is an excellent sequel to the fabulous original. It's more darker and livelier than its predecessor, and just like the first one, Director Chris Columbus unfolds the film exactly as it is written in the book. That could be both the film's strengths and weaknesses. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DoctorSpacemanJul 5, 2012
A classic plainly and simply. Worth it just for the soundtrack, then worth it again for the movie itself! Fantastic British cast, perfect casting and a great story from a great book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MonsieurEamesJul 12, 2012
My least favorite of the Harry Potter films, but in no way does that make it a bad film. Its considerably darker than the first film, but under Columbus' direction that isn't necessarily a good thing. Still, great entry in the Harry PotterMy least favorite of the Harry Potter films, but in no way does that make it a bad film. Its considerably darker than the first film, but under Columbus' direction that isn't necessarily a good thing. Still, great entry in the Harry Potter franchise. Keep up the good work! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Bruno07Jul 18, 2012
Chamber of Secrets ta great to the script was a little large for so small a book, but the film improves in several aspects, performance, visual effects, soundtrack, too much makeup and the adult cast is AWESOME.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
NecromusJan 3, 2013
I saw this at a friend's house along with the first Harry Potter movie after it was released on video. This movie just bored me to death. I don't see what all the hype is about. Maybe you had to read the book, my friends who have read theI saw this at a friend's house along with the first Harry Potter movie after it was released on video. This movie just bored me to death. I don't see what all the hype is about. Maybe you had to read the book, my friends who have read the book tell me that the book is way better than the movie. Rating it as a bad movie since it was so boring that I don't even remember any of it. After seeing the first two movies, I never bothered seeing any others since I was so bored by the first two. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
dante_finnDec 22, 2012
A spellbinding adaption
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FilmEqualsJoyNov 10, 2012
This film hints what later Potter films will be like, but like the last one it feels to childish. It's hard to shake that feeling. This is a solid Potter film and it is still feels magical. There's a feeling of excitement to see theseThis film hints what later Potter films will be like, but like the last one it feels to childish. It's hard to shake that feeling. This is a solid Potter film and it is still feels magical. There's a feeling of excitement to see these characters older. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Rox22Apr 26, 2015
While I will agree with what most critics have said, in that this movie isn't as good as the first one, I still feel that is a bit harsh as the first movie did have freshness on its side. This movie did rehash a bit from the first movie, butWhile I will agree with what most critics have said, in that this movie isn't as good as the first one, I still feel that is a bit harsh as the first movie did have freshness on its side. This movie did rehash a bit from the first movie, but not too much.

Effects are just as good as before. Acting and dialogue too.

The plot is where this movie shines and is really the only aspect that is better than the movie. If the first movie acted as a grand prologue, then this movie acts as the first non-introductory adventure for Harry Potter and company.

Overall:
HPatCoS is a welcome continuation of the series. Slightly weaker than the first movie, but still holds its own.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HaithamBayazeedMay 10, 2013
Amazing with new ideas and glorious adventures, an amazing piece of art as the first one, more magical and more dangerous! But more for kids
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TrilobiteGAug 3, 2015
Where things really start to pick up in the franchise. There is more fantasy action that I wanted to see in the previous film and where we start delving into the lore of magic and the darkness of it as well. This movie does fail in making theWhere things really start to pick up in the franchise. There is more fantasy action that I wanted to see in the previous film and where we start delving into the lore of magic and the darkness of it as well. This movie does fail in making the basilisk mysterious by letting it speak to Harry constantly and letting it show its work off camera. You can stay faithful to the novel, but to entertain, you need a little extra entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mds03Apr 14, 2013
This is easily one of the best films in the franchise. It is every bit as good as the first one but maybe even a little better. From start to finish, it's an incredible experience. In my opinion it should have been rated PG-13.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SEROJMar 23, 2013
Perfect story, great emotions and for sure the best Harry Potter movie! As i said in my review of "Sorcerers's stone", if you like mysteries and fantasy and you haven't watch a Harry Potter movie... then you should definitely watch the wholePerfect story, great emotions and for sure the best Harry Potter movie! As i said in my review of "Sorcerers's stone", if you like mysteries and fantasy and you haven't watch a Harry Potter movie... then you should definitely watch the whole saga,because you missed a lot! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Movie1997Sep 8, 2013
This movie does have its good qualities and its bad qualities. It has an interesting story and engaging conflict, but lacks in its dragging feel and easy loss of interest. Overall, while it's the movie's not horrible, it's the worst of theThis movie does have its good qualities and its bad qualities. It has an interesting story and engaging conflict, but lacks in its dragging feel and easy loss of interest. Overall, while it's the movie's not horrible, it's the worst of the movies for sure. Be sure to check out my channel "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Pranay6Mar 15, 2014
Well written, wonderfully cast, and flawlessly flowing, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets offers suspenseful thrills, honest emotion, and an obvious respect for JK Rowling's masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BrunoADJun 14, 2013
Chamber of Secrets is as amazing as the first, but with some details negativos.O film is too great, Steve Kloves once again made something true, but great. Effects much better than Sorcerer's Stone, both young cast, and the adult cast areChamber of Secrets is as amazing as the first, but with some details negativos.O film is too great, Steve Kloves once again made something true, but great. Effects much better than Sorcerer's Stone, both young cast, and the adult cast are ótimos.A soundtrack can not overcome the first film, but it's great with his touches parecidos.Harry Potter Product Family is a film a fun movie.
  I also have a slight impression that Warner wanted to give a darker Lord of the Rings Harry Potter, with the length of time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AReviewsJun 24, 2013
In a way, this sequel manages to be greater than its predecessor, but it fails, this is my least favorite Harry Potter movie, because it is way too long and gets lame, but still it is still magical and interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DibbHansenJul 14, 2013
While the story is getting darker, the film balances the light hearted moments with the dark. This film boasts of spectacular set designs, visual effects, direction, music (again John Williams is amazing) and acting. It improves upon theWhile the story is getting darker, the film balances the light hearted moments with the dark. This film boasts of spectacular set designs, visual effects, direction, music (again John Williams is amazing) and acting. It improves upon the first film, while also keeping the classic feel of the first one while adding another feel to it and also staying extremely close to the book material. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FranzHcriticOct 25, 2013
Rather blunt in terms of plot, and although unpredictable, not much a shock when the twist is finally revealed. All in all, I can watch it a few times more
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
cag11Dec 1, 2013
Yet again Columbus brings us a Harry Potter movie. He did really well on the first one, so I was excited to see the sequel. I wasn't let down. The acting improved over the last film, as have the CG.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
joao1198pedroNov 28, 2013
the book 2 is best than book 1 the film 2 isn't best than the film 1,it is an nice movie but it didn't have the quality and the magic of the first film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nickrovertOct 24, 2013
With an intriguing storyline and visually dazzling effects, 'the Chamber of Secrets' is one of the better earlier films in the franchise and stands out as one of the best films of the series.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RayzorMooseNov 12, 2013
Harry Potter once again mystifies.
Although a noticeably weaker sequel, The Chamber of Secrets still entertains with a good script and elusive plot twists.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
AaronWasserman2May 4, 2014
The effects and the score and wonderful but thats not enough to save this wizard this time. Chamber of secrets, like its book, is very dull and boring. Honestly Its hard to watch it the full way through and not fall asleep
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SythusRATINGSOct 18, 2014
This second installment in the Harry Potter series finds young wizard Harry Potter (Radcliffe) and his friends Ron (Grint) and Hermione (Watson) facing new challenges during their second year at Hogwarts as they try to discover a dark forceThis second installment in the Harry Potter series finds young wizard Harry Potter (Radcliffe) and his friends Ron (Grint) and Hermione (Watson) facing new challenges during their second year at Hogwarts as they try to discover a dark force that is terrorizing the school. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnMasterLMay 4, 2015
Igual de mágica, divertida y épica que la anterior, solo que en esta vez, la trama es mas oscura. The Chamber of Secrets sigue con el mismo estilo que su antecesora, solo que esta vez, la trama toma un giro mas maduro y oscuro. Es unIgual de mágica, divertida y épica que la anterior, solo que en esta vez, la trama es mas oscura. The Chamber of Secrets sigue con el mismo estilo que su antecesora, solo que esta vez, la trama toma un giro mas maduro y oscuro. Es un espectáculo mágico, cargado de momentos épicos e inesperados. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
koothrappaliFeb 1, 2016
O segundo ano é realmente mágico. O filme não mudou muito em comparação ao primeiro filme, mas esse não deixa de ser grandioso. Um clássico da primeira década de 2000, querendo ou não.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DBPirate1129Jan 11, 2015
It's hard to believe but the Chamber of Secrets surpasses its predecessor! You won't want to miss another epic installment in the Potter series with an even better ending than the previous one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
CameraBounceGodMar 2, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The worst part about this movie is that Tom riddle just stands around waiting to lose his mind...what is he a ghost or something?...i really hope Ron was paying attention to harry opening the Chamber.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
homer4presidentMar 13, 2015
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets combines the best amount of suspense and magic. It is an awesome movie, but of course, not as good as the book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MrMovieBuffAug 25, 2016
'Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets' is a little longer and not quite as good as the first movie in terms of its pacing and tone, but it's still got the innocent, full-blooded adventures we come to expect, especially with our three young'Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets' is a little longer and not quite as good as the first movie in terms of its pacing and tone, but it's still got the innocent, full-blooded adventures we come to expect, especially with our three young leads.

Harry Potter (Daniel Radcliffe) is back at his home, and continues to be mistreated by his uncle, aunt and cousin. He comes across an innocent looking elf named Dobby (voiced by Toby Jones), who tells him that Harry cannot go back to Hogwarts school. After an incident occurs, Ron (Rupert Grint) rescues Harry from his cynical family and takes him back to his home where he is able to get back to the magical world of Diagon Alley and return to Hogwarts.

During his time back at the school, Harry has already met the new teacher named Professor Lockhart (Kenneth Branagh) who has this strange charm about him, but something suspicious lurks ahead. Harry also has met Draco's (Tom Felton) father, Lucius Malfoy (Jason Isaacs) who proves to be intimidating and a bit of a threat for Harry.

Hermione (Emma Watson) also returns to help Harry find the answers to questions he needs answered.

The movie mainly focuses on a mysterious secret that seems to be "The Chamber of Secrets", Harry, Ron and Hermione spend the entire movie trying to find out secrets that involve who killed a member of staff's cat, who wrote a message on the wall in blood and many other strange acts that lurk around in Hogwarts school.

Chris Columbus returns as the director, and he does, yet again, a masterful job at crafting some eerie atmospheres from Steve Kloves' screenplay adapted from the book by J.K. Rowling. The music by John Williams is magical and exciting, and fits the tone once again.

The one thing I failed to mention in my "Sorcerer's Stone" review are the members of staff all played by the likes of Maggie Smith and Alan Rickman. Snape, played by Rickman, is my favorite adult, member of staff character and performance. He has this strange enigma in him, and plays him very sneaky and almost very intimidating. Rickman has the right charisma and atmospheric nature for the character.

The movie, like I said, is a little longer and darker in tone... it also does drag a little bit more towards the second act of the movie when Harry discovers the diary of a young boy named Tom Riddle (Christian Coulson) and finds out more clues about the chamber. There is a lot of exposition and build-up in the first half of the movie, but the action is still dazzling and the pay-off is still satisfying.

All in all, "Chamber of Secrets" is good, enjoyable fun...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
teddylukeApr 6, 2015
this movie is not as good as the first movie but it's still very good. doddy is a great charter. but the films has lots of problems like the reason no one is died from the snake is because not looked it in the eye.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieManiac83Apr 23, 2015
Like its predecessor, Harry Potter And The Sorcerer's Stone, Harry Potter And The Chamber Of Secrets works perfectly well as a cinematic corollary to J.K. Rowling's adored children's fantasy series. Quidditch, self-loathing house elves, andLike its predecessor, Harry Potter And The Sorcerer's Stone, Harry Potter And The Chamber Of Secrets works perfectly well as a cinematic corollary to J.K. Rowling's adored children's fantasy series. Quidditch, self-loathing house elves, and basilisks all make it to the screen intact, a well-chosen cast helps make the wild notions convincing, and director Chris Columbus presents it all in an attractive, thoroughly watchable package. But try imagining a universe in which the Harry Potter series existed only in film form. Would audiences still find themselves transported by such thinly drawn characters? Would the imaginations still leap for the nonstop assault of impressively realized but creatively pedestrian special effects? And would the two-and-a-half-hours-plus trek toward an unmasking straight out of Scooby Doo seem quite so satisfying? So far, the series has relied on viewers' familiarity with Rowling's characters to fill in blanks that other movies would have to fill for themselves. As before, Daniel Radcliffe gives an assured performance in the lead, but he's given so little time away from after-hours sleuthing and confrontations with bugaboos that he's mostly a sympathetic character because he's playing Harry Potter, not because of any moment within the movie itself. It doesn't help that Chamber is pretty much all business from the opening shot, trading in Stone's sometimes-clunky exposition for full-steam-ahead action that whisks Radcliffe back to Hogwarts for another year of intrigue and spellcasting with scarcely a moment to collect his syllabi. In the space between the scenes of kids screaming amid special effects, the grownups have the best moments. Maggie Smith, Robbie Coltrane, Alan Rickman, and the late Richard Harris all reprise roles from the previous film, and Kenneth Branagh has a funny part as a self-obsessed celebrity charlatan. The movie could use more of him, and of droll touches like John Cleese's unfailingly polite, nearly headless ghost, but overall, Chamber is very much in the spirit of John Williams' score: a succession of irritatingly familiar swooping climaxes hammered out at double fortissimo. It's enough to make viewers of a certain temperament want to curl up with a good book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DanilSirotkinAug 1, 2015
Нет, не могу я поставить ниже 10/10, не могу. Это было бы неуважение к тому счастью, которое приносил мне этот фильм в детстве, да и сейчас приносит. Да, это один из тех случаев, когда 2 часть лучше 1. Лучше во всём. Мне трудно передатьНет, не могу я поставить ниже 10/10, не могу. Это было бы неуважение к тому счастью, которое приносил мне этот фильм в детстве, да и сейчас приносит. Да, это один из тех случаев, когда 2 часть лучше 1. Лучше во всём. Мне трудно передать словами ощущение от этого фильма. Как мы в детстве собирались у экрана телевизора вечером, и смотрели этот фильм, который так редко показывали. За окном дул ветер, летел снег, а дома было уютно, он наполнялся атмосферой этого фильма. Даа, сейчас такое точно уже не снимают. Тогда фильмы были нечто большим, чем просто "кино". Лично меня это очень воодушевляет. Сразу вспоминается тема феникса.. Конечно, и актёры, и музыка, и спецэффекты, и сюжет, - всё в этой картине хорошо. Фильм стал более мрачным, чем первый, к нему прибавилась детективная тема.Я его не слабо так боялся маленьким. Особенно василиска. На его появлениях я даже задерживал дыхание. А уж ощущение волшебства вам гарантирую. Этот фильм будет вечно. 89/100, 10/10, 5/5, 4/4. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Rutger-KikkertJun 5, 2016
A lot of the things happening in this movie are a bit too coincidental and the characters are a bit too lucky at some parts. That's of course due to lazy writing, which is a problem with this movie. But this movie is very entertaining, andA lot of the things happening in this movie are a bit too coincidental and the characters are a bit too lucky at some parts. That's of course due to lazy writing, which is a problem with this movie. But this movie is very entertaining, and the mystery in this movie had me hooked and wanting to see more. At some parts this movie had me on the edge of my seat. And even though I see what the problems are I can enjoy this movie for what it has to offer. A really entertaining and mysterious fantasy adventure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
aadityamudharApr 17, 2016
The first hour (hour and a half max) of this film was amazing and it gave me high hopes but the moment the film got to the part where Harry finds out he is a parselmouth then it just got terrible and turned into a generic action film thatThe first hour (hour and a half max) of this film was amazing and it gave me high hopes but the moment the film got to the part where Harry finds out he is a parselmouth then it just got terrible and turned into a generic action film that completely ruined the first really enjoyable hour of the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeJan 20, 2016
The reviews for this franchise are almost done. Now what to expect from the Chamber of Secrets? Oh, the usual. It's just another installment that actually works.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Muskrat147Jul 14, 2016
Though exceptionally long, Chamber of Secrets boasts improved special effects and a thrilling story-line, and uses strong performances to mask the cliches and somewhat convoluted plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Aaron_WassermanMay 31, 2016
On par with the first, but not my favorite set of movies from the franchise. Chamber of secrets gets a bit boring, and seems to be telling too much that it gets frustrating to follow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
superbatJul 4, 2016
It had a great plot ( not as good as the books) it made great casting desicions and pictures the trio battling through the dark force that has returned to Hogwarts. It's not as good as the first movie, but it still delivers
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
alejandro970Dec 28, 2016
Preserves the levels of actions and thrills of previously, but a little more darker and more danger. Take a look for Richard Harris - as Albus Dumbledore- in his final role.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews