User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1096 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    My children are 9 and 10. When this all began they were too small to enjoy Potter and I was not a fan. They were not allowed to watch the movies until they read the books. I remember the pride I felt the first time they sat in my lap reading the big potter book to me. Soon enough they both finished the first book and declared they were ready for the movie. There was rhythm as the kids devoured the books and demanded the movies. Their reading out paced the production and have waited with the rest of the world for the movies to come. Something is lost as the series ends. The first big books they ever read, and the first big kid movies they ever watched. The movie is wonderful. The series is wonderful. Watching my children experience both has been a joy of fatherhood. Expand
  2. Jul 15, 2011
    3
    I am convinced that the critics who have raved about this movie and have given it such positive reviews haven't actually read the books. This movie diverges from the actual book way more than I could appreciate as a HP fan. The Hogwarts battle scenes seem to be the director's own version of the events rather than a recreation of the book (if you've seen the trailers, you would have suspected as much). Unfortunately, while the first four movies brilliantly followed the books (given the time constraints of a movie), ever since director David Yates got involved, the movies have moved away from the books (Half Blood Prince being a great example of Yates doing his own thing). Deathly Hallows 2 in my view does an even poorer job of visually recreating the book than Half Blood Prince did. In summary a most disappointing end to the Harry Potter years Expand
  3. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    A wonderful movie, and if you've ever lost a loved one, you'll truly connect with the emotion in this story. Many people grew up reading and watching the Harry Potter story, and this final movie reaches the peak of maturity in subject matter. It deals with honor, death, love, and sacrifice. Thank you Ms. Rowling for teaching our younger generation these important values.
  4. JLW
    Aug 2, 2011
    5
    Ultimately a disappointing film; simply because it was soulless and hollow. More emphasis should have been placed on the characters who died and on the trauma of the whole battle. Sadly, it ends up being a utterly forgettable B grade action film. Shame....
  5. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    First off, let me start by saying that I never read the books, so I'm not going to go about making comparisons between the book and the movie. However, I have watched every film so I've managed to keep up with the series. As a result, I will rate this AS A FILM rather than a book adaptation. As a film, this is fantastic on every front. Splitting the film into two parts was the best thing they could've done. I felt the first part had a couple of pacing issues, but was still pretty great. This one is perfectly paced. I was gripped constantly. A fantastic balance of story and action. Every character was excellent portrayed and I really felt that each one of them had a good level of depth. The script was also fantastic. It never felt cliché, the amount of humour was just right and it's just overall very well written. The action, the story, the character development, the romance, the humour. It's all so perfectly balanced. Nothing ever felt forced. Overall this is a phenomenal film. Every Harry Potter fan should see this, and even if you aren't a fan, watch it because it's a GOOD film (though I would recommend at least watching a couple of the previous films beforehand to have some sort of an idea of what's going on). Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2011
    4
    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2... as an adaptation from a book, it dissapoints. As an action film, it dissapoints. As a completion of the (mostly) great saga of the boy who lived, it's disappointing. Get the idea yet? Rodger Ebert said: " seem fair enough, and "Harry Potter" now possesses an end that befits the most profitable series in movie history." Fitting. That's what this movie feels like, a profit machine. It felt generic, or at least the ending did, the underwhelming, underplayed, disappointing ending. Shame, really. Expand
  7. Aug 3, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The whole movie is like a short summary of the book, it was empty story, there is so much things it doesn't explain and others that just where changed, even Voldemort die different from the book, there is parts that were just removed from the history, vital parts of the plot necessary for a good understanding. I think it was just a show of special effects that I should say where really good but I prefer a ugly movie with a good plot before pretty movie without one. Also I think the movie is a shame for those who read the book, and even more for those who donâ Expand
  8. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    A perfect film for a perfect series. Visuals were fantastic, acting was way beyond any of the previous films and the soundtrack was epic. I think people should stop complaining, J. K. Rowling was a producer for this movie and it ended gracefully.
  9. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    This is a fantastic closer, both as a film as and an adaptation, because the two go hand in hand. To all the fans who are upset about the ways the film divulges from the book, these changes were made with enormous respect to the source material and with the intention of making it a better MOVIE - more fast-paced, and with a more satisfying, suspenseful climax. The last book was one of my favorites, largely for the dense plot and character nuance that was (not entirely, but somewhat) absent from the film, but I can say that this is one of those rare cases where the changes made were almost entirely for the better. The parts that felt awkward, overly-complex, or overly-convenient in the book are reworked in a way that flows organically, without sacrificing the emotional impact. Almost every character has their moment to shine, and the most heartbreaking scenes from the book are played to perfection (Alan Rickman is outstanding) - it's intense, scary, funny, sad, and above all, satisfying to the people who have spent their childhoods with Harry. Well done! Expand
  10. Jul 15, 2011
    8
    It would be a lie if I said I was completely happy with this movie. The main reason being that, given the movie was split into two films for the purpose of staying true to the book, there was still many variations to Rowling's text in Hallows Part 2. These variations however, proved to make the movie more action orientated, cinematic and easy to understand for fans of the movies and not the books. I am only disappointed at the fact that because of past movies, Hallows Part 2 needed to tie loose ends in accordance with what was seen on screen and not in the books. As an adaptation, I feel somewhat cheated, due to the fact that the text was so rich with detail that went unseen in the film. As an action film however, Hallows Part 2 does extremely well. The main plot-line is still there, and I am pleased that Yates really delivered in the final battle. (In the book, the final battle is not as tense nor engaging and I commend Yates for his work). Soundtrack was magnificent, which really added to certain scenes in the film, especially 'Snapes Memories' and the scene where Harry knew he was going to die. These amendments all add to the missing scenes from the text, which makes this film a fitting finale. Expand
  11. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Easily the best movie in the entire series.

    To be honest, I haven't been a fan of DY's directing of 5-7. I didn't think he was the right director for the epic finale and through Part 1 I was even more worried. Then came part 2. Where has this guy been for the prior 3 movies? It had such a better feel than Part 1 and both 5&6 did, and was just amazing.

    Were there cuts that I miss? Of
    course. Is there parts I think they messed up on? No movie that's loosely adapting a book like this is going to be perfect. But the parts they put in were amazing.

    McGonagall had easily the best added line in the entire movie, and as the Pensive scene started I was just praying they didn't butcher it--one of the most important scenes in the entire series and they nailed it, easily the best 5 minutes of the Potter Franchise from a story telling point.

    All I can truly say is wow!
    Expand
  12. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Deathly Hallows Part 2 is easily the best Harry Potter movie. As basically every sane person has been saying, it successfully closes the best movie franchise in existence. Some of the scenes get an emotional reaction that I didn't think possible from a series originally thought of as being for kids. Any person with actual human emotion will be in tears, or on the verge of it from when Snape dies, until after Harry has used the Resurrection Stone. The acting is at the apex of the entire series, and although the score is not the most magical, it is the most dramatic and fitting for the atmosphere of the movie. The special effects seem incredibly real. We finally got to see some bad-ass scenes from some people that if you read the book, knew were bad-ass (Mrs. Weasely, McGonagall). All in all, a perfect end to the most magical and best series in modern film-making. Expand
  13. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    This Movie is probably the best movie I see all this year. There weresome bumps along the ride but at the end it was totally worth it! Now I don't think purist's of the books will love this movie to death like I did since it does change quite a bit of stuff from the book, but nevertheless if you are a Harry potter fan your going to enjoy every second of it, that's for sure.
  14. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Ten years ago, we were presented with a story on the silver screen about a boy wizard, whose parents were killed by a man named Voldemort. Along the way, he met Ron Weasley and Hermonie Granger, who became his party companions as he quested to learn more about himself and come closer to his ultimate destiny; to kill Lord Voldemort.

    This one was a very emotional, but beautiful ending to a
    series that a majority of people my age grew up with, and it added more to its grand power by great direction, an excellent scrript, and powerful acting (especially from Alan Rickman, who really impressed me with his performance in both parts. I actually began to sympathize with Professor Snape when they showed his backstory from his last tear, as it almost made me cry), along with top-notch visual effects and a grand score.

    I can easily call this the best movie of the year, and I hope that people don't miss their last chance to see the boy wizard (unless they decide to reboot the series 20 years from now, which will anger a lot of people, including myself).

    So, in total, if I give this one 5 stars and the first part a 4-star rating, that would make the 2 parts together a 4.5 out of 5, which is solid for a Harry Potter film considering all the others except the 4th (never watched Azkaban) were not all that great.

    Harry had a good run, quite an impressive one at that.

    Part 1: B+
    Part 2: A

    Together: A-
    Expand
  15. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    Fantastic film, the few stylistic changes that were made were of little significance. I think most people have come to understand that writers and directs make minor artistic changes and at the end of the day they are not worth getting upset about.
  16. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    It all has to end, every single minute of the 18 hour-long Harry Potter movies preceding this one have been leading up to this moment. There was incredible hype for The Deathly Hallows Part 2 ever since the final scenes of the DH 1, and it has the impossible task of meeting the expectations that it has set for itself which is incredibly high. This is the perfect way to end the best movie franchise ever made. It's amazing to actually take a step back and look at all of the 8 movies, it never drops in quality and the shifts in the tone of the movies is just bloody awesome from the Sorcerer's Stone's light, funny, cheerful tone to the very dark and serious tone of the Half-Blood Prince, and Deathly Hallows 1 and 2. As always Mr Yates gets into the thick of the action and assumes that the audience knows everything and literally picks up where DH1 ended. Hogwarts surrounded by hovering Dementors and a despondent-looking new headmaster Severus Snape, cue the title sequence. You know you're in good hands. For the fans who did not like the DH1 citing a lack of action sequences and a slow dragging story (I really enjoyed DH1) will be satisfied with this one. Almost immediately it starts with a break-in into Gringotts bank with Harry and a creepy looking goblin on his back under the invisibility cloak, Ron wearing a goatee and Hermione taking the form of Bellatrix Lestrange via the polyjuice potion. Helena Bonham Carter was absolutely amusing impersonating Emma Watson's character impersonating her. Searching for a horcrux, followed swiftly by an abrupt escape plan with the trio holding on for dear life on a dragon. Action sequence junkies you'll love this movie. The special effects in this one is great, amazing looking wand duels, knights, trolls and everything in between as Hogwarts is turned into a battlefield not dissimilar to the Lord of the Rings' movies. The calm before the storm is very similar to The Two Towers when they're preparing for the arrival of Voldermort and his posse, everything is so well-paced and the story just flows effortlessly. But even with all that in abundance, the heart of the movie will always be in the close intimate scenes, the CGI effects will never upstage the emotional core of the movie, two life-long friends finally share a tender moment, a boy circled by his deceased family and his reunion with the man he so much admired and so much more. There are a lot of deaths and I'm quite surprised that a fair amount of them occurs off screen, probably it's supposed to give a much stronger impact but I really wanted to see the demise of some of them. All in all the story was very solid and so unbelievably satisfying. Desplat's score, hauntingly magnificent. Truly beautiful and laced with bits from John Williams' and Nicholas Hooper's pieces, reminding us of much simpler and happy times and when everything came crashing down respectively. Eduardo Serra's cinematography is phenomenal, really capturing the look and feel of the movie as he did in part 1, you really feel that death is coming for Hogwarts. The stand-out performance for DH 1 was Emma Watson, DH 2 is where Daniel Radcliffe really shines. Harry Potter is no longer just the boy who lived, he's grown into a man on a mission, now equipped with a sense of authority and no one really questions him anymore, it's best to let him do what needs to be done. The negotiation scene with the goblin and with Mr. Ollivander was just so intense and delicately captured on screen showcasing a different side to Mr. Radcliffe. He was given a lot of dramatic and emotionally-heavy scenes and he really delivered, this was his movie along with Emma Watson and Rupert Grint, who have been in their roles for 10 years now, their casting really made the movie what it is. And let's not forget the most impressive supporting cast ever assembled with a slew of great British actors, you know who they are. Ralph Fiennes is menacing as the immortal Lord Voldermort but every time a Horcrux is destroyed he gets progressively weaker and Mr Fiennes' performance is very delicate showing the Dark Lord's vulnerability. Then there was the half-blood prince's revelatory piece which almost reduced me to tears. That was a heart-breaking montage of Snape's agendas and his sacrifices. Alan Rickman was outstanding showing the deeper, more emotional side of Severus Snape, give the man an Oscar already. For those that have been following ever since the first movie, the reward here is extremely gratifying. The epilogue of the movie which was set 19 years later was very bittersweet, did'tt want it to end. The final few moments before the screen faded to black, and before the sun sets on the best franchise ever made I also felt that the sun was setting on my childhood, saw the first movie when I was 10 years old, and it ended with the end of my teen years. I grew up with the movies. What a ride it has been, goodbye Harry Potter.. Expand
  17. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    2 Harry Potter haters here. It'd be 11 of 13 users or 7 of 9 users. I really liked the movie it was the best summer movie of year. I hope it does very good well it is going to do very good. I love the movies and this is a perfect end to an awesome franchise. Bye Harry. :(
  18. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    The opening moments of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part Two are delivered in complete silence. Moody silence. We see iconic images of Professor Snape lording over Hogwarts, of Voldemortâ
  19. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    For book purists it may not be the ending they wanted. But overall it is amazing and this last movie gives this series "classic" status. Alan Rickman as snape delivers the most memorable sequence in the entire 8 film series that is saddening. Daniel Radcliffe steps it up and is solid in this movie. For once i did not have to question whether or not he could act or not.

    One note: If
    you havnt at least seen part 1 you should catch up before seeing this one as it will be hard to understand otherwise. Expand
  20. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    Fast, smooth and beautiful, this is the best Harry Potter film ever made. Period. The acting is at its finest and the direction is flat out beautiful! The visuals are phenomenal, it's obvious that the filmmakers waited until the last film to give the visuals their all. The story is faithful enough to the book! Overall, I'm sad that the franchise has to end, but we'll always enjoy the series "until the end". Expand
  21. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    The best Harry potter movie i have ever seen. The main logo of the movie very simple that the victory of good over evil but this simple thing is shown in such a way that you will find yourself in the war itself. David Yates has done a great job he has given his 100% to finish the Harry Potter series with an mind blowing end. The whole star cast has given their 100% as well. I suggest all of you to go and watch the movie in 2D because the theme of the movie is very dark so for better visuals go for 2D not for 3D. Everybody living in this planet should definitely watch this movie if you are a fan of Harry Potter then don't dare to miss this film. Full marks to this one. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 will be the great legendary film for centuries. Expand
  22. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    The final Harry Potter installment is more than satisfying, it's masterful. It's obvious that the source material has been treated with great care, and although the adaptation is not perfect, there are far more things done well, and exceeding expectations, than factors that disappointed. The acting, especially by Daniel Radcliffe, Alan Rickman and Ralph Fiennes, was wonderful. It was also pleasing to see almost all of the characters that we've seen throughout the series return for the final installment, and many of them are given moments to shine, as in the novel. What's most impressive is the staging of the epic action sequences which are both thrilling and suspenseful, and you feel feel a real sense that there is so much at stake. The pacing of the film is spot-on, not too rushed but not too slow, and by the final coda fans of the series, and even filmgoers simply seeing the film for entertainment should certainly be satisfied. 'Deathly Hallows Part 2' is not just the best film in the series, but ranks as one of the best action films of all time, and certainly the best film of 2011 this far. It's an excellent way to finish off such a monumental series. Expand
  23. Jul 15, 2011
    2
    This movie wasn't good. Daniel Radcliffe is probably the worst screen actor of all time, to the point where it's actually painful to watch. And the liberties that were taken with details from the book just boggle my mind. Little details from the book that would easily translate into a movie were changed or removed. WHY? Why do people blindly love this movie so much? It doesn't make any sense to me. Expand
  24. Nov 5, 2011
    8
    It's all magical and fabulous, splendid cast and powerful performances with a impressive ride of top notch CGI. The environment and tone of the movie starts grim and strong; however the only thing that prevented me from giving "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows" a 9 was the corny ending that loosened up the mood it made. Nevertheless it is a masterpiece and a movie definitely to watch, normal people and HP fans all alike. Expand
  25. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Nothing comes close to this film. It is the best of 2011, and possibly one of the best films of all time. It's rare to see a movie that is the eight installment of a series and is so darn good. Everything about this movie is magical, no pun intended. I could do with out the cheesy ending(not a spoiler), but besides that, I'd have to say there was no better way to finish off one of the greatest, if not THEE greatest movie franchise in history. Expand
  26. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    The finale of the Harry Potter saga was the best movie so far, it was 2 hours of constant action and fantastic acting, especially from Allan Rickman and Daniel Radcliffe.
  27. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    With an extra two hours for the final installment, the last film is able to adhere to the book more so than any other in the series. While somehow maintaining the feel of the other films, Deathly Hallows 2 separates itself by knowing that it's the end and therefore bringing with it more emotion, conflict, and symbolism than the others. Harry's willingness to give his life makes him not foolish for being the hero for once, but rather his maturity is shown to have grown where he can accept circumstance and face it, though with obvious hesitation. I must say that I particularly enjoyed the way that Snape was performed, since we finally got to see into his past with acting that couldn't have been more perfect. I think that the reason for this film to be so acclaimed by the critics isn't just for its magnificent conclusion, outstanding acting, and epic story, but also for its subtle universality: we all require love to be inspired to triumph over true evil. Expand
  28. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    I must say, as someone who has never read the books but has seen the movies with my girlfriend (who loves the books).. this movie floored me. When I say this movie, I mean both parts, as a whole. For the first time in the entire movie series I was completely sucked in from start to finish.

    While I know this may make the ones who love the books and deny the movies any right to exist,
    unless they could somehow match (or top) the books, snicker I'm not sure what to say. My girlfriend seems to have loved it, which is saying a lot. She hated many aspects of the movie series at times such as the entire 6th movie.

    I would say, don't miss the chance to see this while it's in the theater. 'tis all.
    Expand
  29. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part-2, is a dark, dazzling, and extraordinary display of cinematic integrity. Starting off in with an eerie feeling of terror, as the menacing Snape overlooks a Nazi-esque Hogwarts. You start to wonder what has become of the wonderful magical world you fell inlove with 10 years ago. The mood quickly changes as you enter once again the life of Harry Potter. This movie will blow you away with incredible special effects, and superb acting, that in the end leaves you in tears when you realize that everyone, although a wizard, is truly human. You will exit the theatre overwhelmed and satisfied that you could bare witness to one of the most spectacular movies of our time Expand
  30. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Thank you Harry Potter for taking me from a child to an adult. The world could use mroe stories like this to grow up with.
  31. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Well it is finally over, what a ride it has been. I cannot say I have grown up with Harry Potter as when it was first released (Chamber of secrets) I had little interest in what I thought was going to be a kids movie, oh how I was wrong. I think the problem with the Harry Potter series is just how a lot of people overlook the sometimes subtle, sometimes painfully obvious undertones and hidden meanings of the scenes and characters. The dementors sucking life out of people like depression for example. I do genuinely believe JK Rowling to be an incredible writer with such an amazing imagination, anyway back to DH2. From the start scene to the end you will be gripped by a fast but well paced action/realistic depiction of war. Even more realistic than most war films out there. The number of casualties, the damage, the destruction and the bravery and terror. If you want to go and watch a film where you will find yourself upset one moment followed closely by a sense of joy then this is definitely the movie for you. How many times I must have been on the verge of crying followed shortly by a one liner that simply picked me up. I do not want to give anything away for those of you out there who do not know how this ends. All I can say is ignore any negative reviews go out and see it for yourself, you will be left amazed. After 10 years of waiting and 18 hours of watching Harry and friends grow up I think its time we owed it to ourselves to say our goodbyes and DH2 does this in style. A brilliant movie with fantastic cast, visuals and pace. Do yourself a favour book tickets now as I have a feeling this one will be around in cinemas across the UK for a while to come :). Enjoy. Expand
  32. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    It All Ends Here! Sadly, it does all come to an end but the Harry Potter franchise surpasses every expectation and delivers a grandstand finale of epic proportion in what is an unmissable and unforgettable film experiences of all time. With all the high expectations heading into The Deathly Hallows Part 2 it seemed impossible that this film could end up doing what does. Picking up from the tragic ending of Part 1 the film with Harry, Ron and Hermione searching for the remaining Horcruxes to destory Voldemort and Yates sets the tone very early on with an all out action raid on Gringotts bank. The only minor issue that I had with Part 1 was the pacing but this film runs at a very smooth and fast pace. One of the elements Yates displays very convincingly is the transformation in the atmosphere and feeling for the film. Long gone are the happy times of Quidditch, instead you now have the dark, gloomy skies, dragons, death-eaters and the Dark Lord himself. This works a treat because it not only emphasizes that this is the finale to this spectacular series but it makes it much more serious. There light-hearted moments but their timed to perfection and the focus is purely on the the final battle. And that is were this film excels overwhelmingly! The battle scenes were just extraordinary. Visually its encapsulating and mezmerising and once again gets across the epicness of this film. Its been compared to the LotR battle and rightly so its simply oustanding. The story was very well written, Yates manages to combine the story, the pace, the action and the acting incredibly well. One standout, as per usual, is Alan Rickman arguably the greatest performance of the Potter franchise as Severus Snape, he is magic as Snape as his true motives are revealed in what has to be some of the most emotional and poignant scenes of the movie but Daniel Radcliffe has his moment and delivers his best performance saving his best for last, he takes centre stage in the final third and is actually magestic. And there is plenty of emotion as expected after all this is it, the final Potter outing! There are sacrifices, deaths of much loved and maligned faces who we have come to love as well as the romance as Ron and Hermione share that much anticapted kiss. All this leading to the epic showdown between Harry Potter, the boy wonder, and Lord Voldemort. The epilogue in closing the film is very bittersweet seeing each character 19 years down the line was very moving as they sent their kids to Hogwarts but it brought this amazing series of films to a fantastic finish. In closing, I urge any film fan to see this movie. It is utterly essential to see the ending to this epic series. They have certainly saved the best for last and ensure that the greatest film franchise of all time ends in spectular and spell binding style! This film has everything a finale should have and will be remembered for years to come. Having grown up with the series since I was a little kid its sad to bid Harry and co farewell but Im left fully fulfilled and admiring the achievement they have delivered in this epic franchise. Mischief managed Harry, it was magic from start to finish! Expand
  33. Jul 31, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I sometimes wonder what this movie franchise would be like if the books didnt exist. Personally i think the franchise would have extremely low box office scores. A majority of the fanbase are young teens who are obsessed with the books and who have very bad taste in movies. With having said that this movie is clearly just a pop phenomenon which includes horrendous acting, poor screenplay, and terrible directing. David Yates seems to only high-lite the action sequences and skips through the dialogue and story telling. I really dont know where Yates got the idea of changing the film to action flik. I always associated the books with action/adventure or myster/Adventure. Clearly leanign toward and adventure. And i dont feel like the movies represent an adventure, rather a trio of teenage wizards who seem to always know what to do. There is absolutely no build up to anything they do. For example: "Hey, we need to break into Gringots bank" (the most difficult bank to break into and considered impossible) "OKay, well give me the sword and i will help you" (Scene cuts) Hermione suddenly changes into Bellatrix and Ron has make up on? I would be utterly confused if i hadnt read the book. The movie fails to explain anything that the trio does. Cut back to part 1 of dh7. "Hey! we need to break into the ministry" (keep in mind that Harry is the most wanted person in Britiain) "Okay" cut scene, the 3 are outside in london knocking out 3 random people who could be normal muggles. but miraculously they happen to be wizards! I mean for godsakes David Yates, build up the **** scenes before jumping into them. I can piece together each scene because ive read the books and i understand, but there were so many other scenes in these movies that are just like that. But, hell who am i right? Expand
  34. Jul 15, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Here's the thing: reviews from all the major critics are unfailingly unhelpful, and I'm always left wondering what movie they saw that I didn't, usually when, as here, they just love the film. The Potter finale is not bad, by any means. Nor am I concerned that it takes liberties with the books. The problem is that, as a rousing finale, it is lacking, chiefly because the pace is all wrong. We've been set up for 11 years for the momentum that must carry this film, and it's all stops and starts. Not good. Then, and also irrespective of Rowling's story, I was deeply disturbed by Voldemort's weak agenda. Haven't we been led to anticipate that, in full power, he is going to consume the world? So - why is he so triumphant at the Hogwarts scene, as though the school were his ultimate goal? The Voldemort I've been expecting would not bother making a recruitment speech to the kids. They join or die, period, and he's too flimsy here to be truly scary. On the plus side: Rickman is fabulous. Radcliffe is better than he ever was. AT LAST, Maggie Smith gets to strut her stuff. That makes it worth it. But...this was not a truly successful film conclusion to the saga. And, to be rather **** I so wanted a bit more oomph when Mrs. Weasley takes out Bellatrix. PS All the reviews indicate lots of casualties from adult and young characters. Hmm. A few, none terribly shocking. Expand
  35. Jul 15, 2011
    6
    Growing up with Harry and his friends, its hard not to get attached to the characters. Having said that the movie was a disappointment. Yes, the movie looked great; yes, the movie was a good end for the series but there was something missing, the element of epic-ness. Unlike Lord of the Rings or the original Star Wars films, Harry Potter lacked the wow factor that brought the other films to another level. However, I didn't come out of the movie hating it nor did I come out loving it. The movie is great to see with a group of friends, so I recommend go see it but don't pay full price, matinee will do! Expand
  36. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Amazing. Truly wonderful. Soaring far beyond expectations, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 was a home run hit. Possibly the best part was the perfect ending to the movie, as well as the series. It is my guess that no other series will ever match the "grabbing" effect Harry Potter had - not soon at least. Through ten long years the audience was introduced to Harry and his gang, toured the great Hogwarts facility, and studied the world of magic from the most noble of wizards and witches - all while being kept on the edges of their seats by thrilling action scenes. After so long of watching the gang's adventures one might have felt a desire to visit the magical school themselves, but the routine journeys to Hogwarts are finally over with Voldemort defeated and our favorite friends settling into the long-awaited couples. While the story has come to conclusion, the imagination has not. Hogwarts was a fun and desirable academy to dream about, so next time you find yourself looking for a great date idea, something to do with the guys, or just a good movie, pop in one of 8 Harry Potter discs and mash the play button! It'll be a magical ride! Expand
  37. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Fantastic movie! Easily the best of the series! Great action, thrilling performances, and everyone gets a proper nod-off.. every seen is beautfully shot and plays great omage to the book.. 10 years we have been waiting for this! and what a great 10 years it has been! P.S. The people who gave this a mixed review probably didn't even see... they're most likely trolls... "TROLL! IN THE DUNGEON! THERE'S A TROLL IN THE DUNGEON!" Expand
  38. Jul 16, 2011
    5
    I have not read a single Potter book, but have watched all the movies. This was let down by a poor ending. I failed to really care who lived or who died as well. Overall it failed to engage any emotions or interest and in the end it felt like a money grab.
  39. Jul 21, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Can you say "expectation greater than realization"? Everything is there from a great story of intrigue, danger, love, hate, friendship, families,betrayal, life and death. Then add some of the greatest stage and screen actors around. All this should have been fodder enough for the most thrilling roller-coaster ride of the Harry Potter series of movies EVER! But what did we get? A movie that was as yawning and emotionally void as a teaspoon. Sure, the pyrotechnics and special effects were A+ but what happened to the roller coaster of emotion and tension, happiness of reunited families then sudden death and unhappiness? Percy's reunion with his family to join the fight would have been well worth an added five minutes to the length of the movie. Here is the up ride of the coaster in one second to joy, happiness and forgiveness and as suddenly as Percy is back, Fred is killed! Down goes the roller coaster screaming to despair, out come the tears horizontally!

    Another great scene that went missing was MacGonagall giving Slughorn the basic "grow some b.lls and fight or get out of the way". A simple rousing speech by her, at this point, to rally the troops to fight would have had the audience cheering and the students' blood boiling to save their beloved Hogwarts! But no, the fight begins with a "send Slytherin to the dungeons!'. Seriously, that was no battle cry!

    Once the battle started, there were few students and others to be seen actually fighting. The movie could have added another five minutes to focus in on a fight here or a death there. Even the great battle from the book (many were waiting to hear the 'B" word) between Molly Weasley and Bellatrix Lestrange would have sent the coaster car careening up to the top of the ride before crashing down with Bellatrix's death (which by the way was more of a whimper than the fabulous death scene it could have been - slow motion added here would have further crossed the T on her death!).
    A few other things could have greatly enhanced this movie: Voldemort actually dying in front of the whole school, Hagrid and Grawp fighting outside the castle and then Hagrid getting carried away by the spiders, and Neville and others carrying dead students back to the Great Hall. Just some simple touches of what made the book great would have made this movie stellar. Yes, the scene with Snape's tears going into the vial then into the panseive was fabulous. I sobbed when he held Lily and thought my heart would break at this truly touching and fabulously added scene. Added scenes would have had the audience on the edge of their seats one moment and blubbering into their popcorn the next. Making this picture longer and not jumping so quickly from scene to scene would have allowed the audience to savor this this truly final film in this fabulous series. What's wrong with a three hour movie for 30 million plus fans? Either the WB was looking at the bottom line or those in charge of production were tired and looking at their watches. Finally, the last scene with Harry and company sending their children off to Hogwarts 19 years later. The music as lovely and teary, but what happened to Ron being funny or Harry being stared at? More lost opportunity. And the roller coast limps to the end of the ride. So sorry, but this could have been the big, giant "O" in the HP series and I am very sad it did not live up to the wonderful book and my high expectations.
    Expand
  40. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    Beautifully acted stand out Alan Rickman, and strong visuals, a great original score, thrills and some emotional depth it easily is the most touching and powerful of the series. I give this film a very rare 100% of a good movie. :)
  41. Jul 15, 2011
    3
    I admit it, I have not read the books. With that said, the movies should stand on their own. None of them have, and this one is no different. There is so much wrong with the movie it is difficult to know where to start. So I won't. I will say that parts seemed lifted from the Phantom Menace, Star Wars film, and that is not a good thing.
  42. Jul 28, 2011
    2
    I guarantee MOST of the People who reviewed this as 10 have never read the Book at all or have any idea what it could of been like. Most of Scenes have changed, I can understand cutting out scenes but changing loads of them is wrong. It was rather about special effects than acting, which was terrible and rushed. Just because it is the last film DOESN'T mean it's the best. Disliking my comment won't change the fact, in fact it proves to me. People who say the Book doesn't matter is stupid. It had more heart. I'm not expecting it to be exactly like the Book but I didn't expect to be this bad. To all Harry Potter Fans who haven't read the book or Books, don't call yourself a true fan because your missing 3/4 of the information on each Character, whether it's important or interesting. People were going to give this a high review, mainly because it was the last Harry Potter Film. If you haven't read the Book, you instantly lose your credibility. Collapse
  43. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 = Best Movie This Year So Far... A lot of what happened in the book appeared in the film. I highly recommend this for anyone.
  44. Aug 12, 2011
    3
    I entered the cinema with high hopes, that despite the lacklustre efforts of the previous three films, the Harry Potter series would end with a bang. As it happens, this last offering was the most disappointing. One feels as though the actors and the directors are just going through the motions, in the knowledge that with a few special effects here, a few clichés there, the film will almost certainly become a blockbuster hit, smashing records worldwide. The overwhelmingly positive reviews baffle me. The acting wasn't all that bad, don't get me wrong, but the problem at the end of the day was that in the rush to get through the vast plot, we barely got to see the best of any of these talented young actors. There was a distinct lack of speech from any of the characters, and although seven films had preceded it, I did not feel that there was even a tenth of the character development that had made the book so enlightening. A damp squib of a finale. Expand
  45. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A brilliant end to a brilliant saga.
    The Harry Potter phenomenon has become bigger with every movie released. Adding more to the (excuse the cliché) cauldron each year, and this movie was no exception. It is fair to admit that part one was a little bit of a lackluster, and needed a lot more conviction and vitality. It only really had you on the edge of your comfy cinema seat toward the penultimate scene where Dobby tragically dies. However part 2 had a lot more to it, chucking you right in the deep end from the get go, which is to expect when the movie starts half way through a book, nonetheless it still gripped the audience a lot better than the first.

    Similarly to the first though, it does drag on a bit a quarter of the way through, with the only thing keeping you interested is the concept, the objective, what you know is coming (which is explained to you at the beginning) the mission to Gringots was a fantastic way for David Yates to grab the audienceâ
    Expand
  46. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Of course this movie was going to be brilliant, the final instalment of a world famous series of a boy wizard saw the good finally overcome the bad. Seeing the actors growing up onscreen and how their characters evolve over the 7 years at Hogwarts, the series has been a world wide success. And rightly so. Deathly Hallows part 2 certainly lives up to expectations. Fast-paced, funny/emotional/action-packed, visually stunning and the acting seemed better than in previous instalments as well. But it's not without it's problems. The sound seemed to be unusually quiet for an action film, like the Foley artists were taking a long break. The scene with the dragon escaping Gringott's is the best example. There was no urgency to the chaos the dragon was causing. This scene also was over-played. The suspense was over-drawn resulting in knowing when the dragon would burst through the floor of the bank. That would have been a perfect moment to make the audience jump but sadly that did not happen. The music playing over the big fighting scenes also seemed out of place, the sound and the visuals just didn't match. I was expecting something like with the orchestral power and bravery as heard from LOTR but ended up feeling like the power struggle really wasn't that much of a struggle. Some big opportunities were missed during these big battle moments too. Whereas in the books the reader could feel emotion and loss for the characters that inevitably die (Fred, Lupin, Tonks), here the emotional range was contained to a mere side-effect. Viewers who haven't read the books are surely to be confused too. Horcruxes and wand law are explained in a hurried fashion, leaving the viewer feeling a few steps behind on the action. It's not to say the film hasn't got it's good points (I gave it 9/10 after all!). The audience clapped when Mrs Weasley called Bellatrix Lestrange a **** laughed at Filch earnestly sweeping away the ruinous remains of the castle, and cheered for Dame Maggie Smith who finally gets some decent screen time and a little bit of the action as a Professor who gets to unleash her power "I've always wanted to do that!"

    However, it is the delectable Alan Rickman who takes the film to a whole new level as Professor Snape. Taking us through his painful back story, how he struggled to hide his feelings for Harry's mother and his turmoil over doing what he had to do to gain the Dark Lord's trust. Real sympathy is earned for this character, the portrayal making Snape more than just a villain but 3D and actually human.

    Lastly, not forgetting the kid actors. Sorry young adults....well actually old adults as well - that final scene is quite unnerving. Daniel, Emma and Rupert portray a new maturity whilst also retaining the original essences of their characters. They play off each other really well, both in the light-hearted scenes as well as the dark ones. They make all the wand-waving and running/duck-and-cover scenes look natural and fun and convey the struggles, both emotional and physical, with depth and poignancy, like when Harry meets and talks with all the dead people he has known.

    Visually the film is effects laden and stunning, as expected, and in 3D you get to feel even closer to the action. Dialogue is witty, touching, and keeps pace with the action sequences well. The set pieces, particularly Gringott's Bank and Hogwarts, and fighting scenes are awe-inspiring. Harry Potter is one of the franchises made for the big screen and it surely doesn't let you down.

    It's during one of the final scenes, after Voldemort is vanquished, Harry, Ron and Hermione stand on a ruined bridge of the castle looking out towards their future, their friendship never looking so tight and content. We can feel relief with them. And that's what the whole of the series has been about. The three of them standing together no matter what, weathering the trials and trubulations of school, teenage years and pure evil. That's hard to come by, even in a world of fantasy. I'm going to miss Hogwarts....it's the end of the Potter era, and what a great ending it was.
    Expand
  47. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    Being a HP freak myself, I was more than satisfied with the last film. The thing that struck me as odd was that I loved the ending in the film to be much better than in the book. The subtle soundtracks, the brilliant visual effects, actors who knew their characters and a great story well told - all these make this movie the best ever series ender for me.
  48. JTG
    Jul 19, 2011
    10
    It's been 10 years since Harry made his first appearance on the big screen and ever since it's become the biggest movie franchise of all time. It's become a series that has magically bounded itself to our hearts through the masterful and brilliant directing of Chris Columbus (Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets), Alfonso Cuarón (Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban), Mike Newell (Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire), and David Yates whose far-fetched brilliance has distanced himself far beyond the other directors, producing the best and biggest grossing films in the series. In Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2, Yates manages to perfectly balance action with wit, a balance lacked in all of the previous films. A large credit to Steve Kloves who wrote a perfect screenplay to J.K. Rowling's novel. Kloves followed the novel's original creativity while adding his own creativity to the bundle of brilliance. Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson, and Rupert Grint are at their best in this final installment. Their performance perfectly depicts J.K. Rowling's original portrayal of Harry, Hermione, and Ron. It's been obvious that a performance like this had been progressing within these three actors ever since 2001 and I'm so glad that it finally came out in the conclusion of Harry Potter, a story about a boy and his scar that will forever live in the hearts of those millions of fans who witnessed a phenomenal story about love, bravery, and the importance of friendship. Expand
  49. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    It all ends here. But will lives forever in each fan's heart. I'm not so positive but to be honest this movie is one of best films this year so far. I'm fan of HP series , I read each book like 7 times, As a fan book I'll give it 8 because so many scenes of book has missed . But more than that, I'm a cinema addict , this movie is perfect. Directing. Writing. Music. Cinematography. All combines perfect. But above of all is stunning acting of all cast and crew. I really hope Alan Rickman get Oscar nomination for his role. Now this time is far from Oscar 2012 , but I really hope HP series get what it deserves long time. Forgive me for my not so good English. I'm from Vietnam. Love and always love U , Harry and all his friends. Expand
  50. Jul 17, 2011
    9
    HP & DH: 2 managed to brilliantly end the Harry Potter series, to such an extent that I don't think anyone anticipated. David Yates proved himself, once again, as the best adapter of the Harry Potter series into film, even more so than Alfonso Cuaron, who was rather good at it, too. What surprised me a lot was the emotional impact that the film had on me. Many of the scenes had quite convincing settings and emotional depth that is unprecedented in the Potter series. The storytelling was rather slick and the visuals are simply stunning. The special effects have by far been one of the best, with the exception of the Half-Blood Prince possibly. Overall, the finale of the series was done as good as it could have been done. I'm rather happy that they decided to split the last book into two films, since it allowed for a fuller, more complex understanding and presentation of the story in the film. It is by far the best of the Harry Potter films and it is a worthy and spectacular ending for a series that has helped shape a whole generation. Expand
  51. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    Just another amazing Potter flick full of rich character development, imaginative recasting of classic fantasy elements, brilliant mixing of subtle moments with epic action, never-before-seen realistic effects, all tossed into two plus hours of true cinematic wizardry. Can't wait to watch all 20 hours of the entire series all over again once this comes out on Blu-Ray.
  52. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    Regarding the relationship between the books and movies: Novel "purists" should stop pretending the relationship is or should be one-sided, in which movies serve as visual allegiances to Rowling's words. The imaginative worlds of the movies and books are both distinct and mutually influential. It seems clear that Rowling started writing with a movie consciousness (altering her themes and action in preparation for the big screen) in Goblet of Fire, or at least Order of the Phoenix. So not only do the movies deserve their own agency, they push back on Rowling and shape the novels.

    About the movie: It's at once a celebration of the first seven films and their fireworks grand finale. Have fun recognizing all the homages. Note the score, which incorporates themes from much of John Williams' original visions, as well as mood pieces from Yates' earlier contributions. Although some character cameos from the previous films are obvious, others take a bit of crowd analysis. Also check the room of requirement for a few trips down memory lane. The movie is a time capsule of the films' collective culture.

    But it's also a fluid and marvelous piece of entertainment on its own (as like 200 professional critics have noted with enough words). Is it perfect? Well, it has Ginny Weasley. But Neville Longbottom's geek awesomeness more than baptizes those moments. If you enjoy the idea of Neville Longbottom being awesome, you'll fall for the movie as naturally as Luna falls for--all assortment of geeky things.
    Expand
  53. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    This part of the movie is much better than the first part even though I enjoyed the first part of Deathly Hallows. This second part has much more action and is a lot more watchable. It's a very good send-off of the Harry Potter books and watching Harry, Ron, and Hermonie grow up is so satisfying at the end.. The final movie has great dramatic scenes, great action, and well-executed tear-jerker scenes. This is a great way to end the series. Expand
  54. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Deathly Hallows Part 2 was awesome! I am a huge fan of the books and I can say that the battle exceeded my expectations and I think I'm not alone in that since the theater was full of applauding people. All I can say is that the scene involving Snape's past is enough to make you pay the price of admission.
  55. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    just hve 1 word to day "EPIC"...and m devastated in sayin goodbye to my best friends ever possible....nd Severus oh Severus!!!how i wish the world learns a bit more about love from you so that you didnt die in vain!!!
  56. Jul 17, 2011
    8
    This is easily the best harry potter film. After seeing all the movies and reading all the books, this movie was easily my favorite. it was full of action, drama, and great special effects. The only real cons about this movie is that important and meaningful parts of the book have been changed in someway, the battle of hogwarts feels smaller than it actually was, a key moment after harry faces voldemort for the first time is changed, but probably the worst change was the final fight between harry and voldemort, it had such an amazing build up and fell short. plus if youve seen the trailers and read the book you know how its different. Still even with these gripes it is the best of the series and a fitting way to say good bye to such a well known and well loved series. til next time potter Expand
  57. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    This film is amazing. Its the perfect blend of action and emotion. There is also very good dashes of humor throughout. If you ever thought a harry potter movie didnt have enough action this would be the one to change your mind and the epilouge at the end of the film makes it even more perfect.
  58. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    This is the best movie of the saga it has action , drama , everything and is very exciting it keeps you in the sit all the two hours. You have to see it even if you are not a fan it´s great.
  59. Jul 15, 2011
    5
    These are not my own words - they are an assorted collection from the pens of the critics who dared to disagree with the vast majority of sheeple who believe that anything related to Harry freakin' Potter is holy: 'Gloomy imagery, the series' only consistency has been its lack of excitement and ineffective use of special effects all to make magic unmagical and to make action seem inert.' It is 'unfocused, supernatural-themed sludge.' 'Director David Yates moves at only two speeds: Super-charged yet not impactful and laboured and faux-majestic stillness. He constantly misjudges moments by underplaying events that should be cool, like jumping off of a dragon.' Not to mention the missed details in the books. I'm not saying that you could fit eveything IN, but I'm sure if Yates tightened up the sloow, soap opera style lifetime tv movie (which incidentally, was the whole of his career before Potter) Harry Potter since the Order of the Phoenix wouldn't be these 'dreary [slogs]' of movies. Expand
  60. Jul 16, 2011
    10
    it is a very great movie ...
    awesome movie ....
    as expected from the last part of the series ....
    i could not take my eyes of the movie for even a second ..
    and the effects were incredible .....
    so the movie is a must watch ... all of the people should watch it ...
    just do it ... and u will b happy as hell
  61. Jul 20, 2011
    9
    And then it ended. When the credits rolled I did not realise it. But then it slowly started to dawn on me. Harry potter, the greatest cultural phenomenon of our generation, is now officially over. For me, at least. Everyone who hasn't seen the movie yet still awaits an awe-inspiring finale, in three dimensions even. It's hard to imagine the sheer magnitude that the series has been. 8 movies that all feature a place in the top 25 most succesfull movies. 7 books that have only been outsold by The Holy Bible. Theme parks. Billions of toys, games, candy, action figures, playing cards, all devoured by an army of fans big enough to occupy a continent or two. This thing was bigger than Star Wars, Batman and Lord of the Rings put into a blender. And they couldn't have ended it in a better way if they tried.
    The rest of the review can be found here: dutchentertainmentjunkie.blogspot.com
    Expand
  62. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    If you are a fan of the books or watched all previous movies, you will not be disappointed with this one. I couldn't count how many chills this movie gave me, definitely worth watching over and over again.
  63. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    I have seen this movie twice now and I have to say that it's a thrilling and satisfying conclusion to one of the best movie series ever done. I have not read the books so as far as just the movie standpoint I could not be happier. I saw both the 3d and 2d versions and while I'm usually indifferent when a movie is in 3d or not, I did enjoy the "little extra" that the 3d gave to the movie.
  64. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Short version: This movie is great, go see it, especially if you are a Potter fan.

    Long version:

    Originally I was against the idea of splitting the final book into two movies to keep the gravy train rolling. But after the fact, I couldn't be happier with their decision. Rather than making one movie approximately 2.5 hours long with skimpy details and a rushed plot line, they decided to split it up, keeping the slower and more somber first half with all the necessary plot points for a cinematic interpretation. The same goes for the fast and furious second part. //Minor spoilers
    Part 2 of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows starts off where the Part 1 finished, Harry and company had just escaped the Malfoy Manor with a murdered Dobby the house elf. With 3 horcruxes destroyed, they set out to find and destroy the last 4. Although there are parts that are slightly altered/ omitted, the movie keeps all the important plot points from the books and acknowledges that the omitted parts exist. The nonstop fighting of the battle at Hogwarts is a perfect fit for cinematography. Literally every hero/character that had been introduced in previous films (and still living) come back to have a small portion of the movie to have the spotlight. All the story lines are shown including the bank robbery, the horcrux searches, Dumbledore's ancestry explained, Snape's ties to Harry, and even Neville's becoming of a hero in his own right. It does a fantastic job of showing everything that everyone wanted out of the books in the movie.

    Final word:

    This is a fantastic finish to the phenomenal Harry Potter franchise. If you are a fan, you've already seen it, if you are still on the fence, it deserves your money.
    Expand
  65. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    This was a great movie! I was on the edge of my seat the whole time! If you read the book, like i did, the plot is off from the book but i would totally see it again! I thought all of the movies were just dumb ripoffs but that opinion changed for sure!! Probablly not kid friendly but you will love it if your not 10 or younger.
  66. Jul 20, 2011
    7
    I love Harry Potter, thought Part 1 of Dealthy Hallows was the best movie to date, and recognize the fact that changes need to be made from books when making movies. I also thought that Part 2 was overall a very good and enjoyable movie with some phenomenal effects and several outstanding performances. That said, I am in utter shock at the overwhelmingly positive reviews here and particularly at Rotten Tomatoes. The movie was quite good, but it nonetheless had some glaring flaws. The pacing was off throughout the movie, the attempts at humor were mostly complete failures, and some of the changes made from the books were poorly considered. ***SPOILER ALERT***

    Positives: Helena Botham Carter as Hermione - best performance of the movie, with the right type of humor; the dragon escape from Gringots - brilliant effects and understated emotional and thematic elements; Alan Rickman - no more need be said; Warwick Davis - his biggest role in the movies yet, and he's great. The stone knights of Hogwarts, and all of the other visual effects.

    Negatives: Gringots was rushed, sense of danger too understated. How/why did Luna end up back at Hogwarts? Attempts at humor that distracted from the tone of the movie. Humor in a movie like this needs to shake one slightly out of their funk, laugh inside, and slingshot back into the dark mood with a reminder of the lightness that might yet be, not make a crowd laugh out loud or giggle (for examples, see almost anything done by Joss Whedon, or in the HP books themselves). Molly Weasley first being timid when approaching Bellatrix, then smiling after killing her just for a crowd-pleasing "yay" moment - not in character or tone. Finally, the last battle was too scattered and not nearly as good as in the book. Why not take advantage of a brilliantly written scene in which Neville is being burned under the sorting hat, with the rapid and dramatic change when he takes it off in defiance and removes the sword unexpectedly? Why send Ron and Hermione to try to kill Nagini when the surprise and shock of Neville killing her right in front of Voldemort would have been wonderful? This scene was drawn out by being stuffed with action, when it could have been paced properly to stress the emotions of the characters and the stakes instead. Instead of honest moments of triumph, we get false and contrived feeling moments.

    Final positive: The epilogue - recaptured the spirit of innocence and magic, bringing the story full-circle. This was the one part of the story I felt was delivered better in the movie than in the book.
    Expand
  67. Jul 27, 2011
    8
    The final installment of the Harry Potter series for me was just there to answer all the questions that I had about Harry Potter. Not having read the final book I was unsuspecting of what was going to happen, and most of the film for me was predictable. I think the film is an outstanding epic and I can understand why it is becoming one of the highest grossing films of all time. Much like the films predecessors it crams all the action into parts of the film leaving some of parts of the film a little boring. The film overall is an epic film to cap off an epic series, although the ending is too cheesy for a series of this popularity. Very good 8/10. Expand
  68. Sep 12, 2011
    10
    See-it - The second best and darkest Harry Potter film (behind Goblet of Fire) is the perfect ending to the magical story about the young wizard and his lifelong antagonist Voldermort. Don't be surprised if Ralph Fiennes gets an Oscar nom-nod. And film might just make its way into the Academy's top 10 this year as well.
  69. Sep 28, 2011
    8
    The ending is predictable, but I like that. It's a great movie and really is an epic finale. A good way to end the series. There's not much more that could've been done to make this a better film.
  70. Jan 28, 2012
    7
    It was ok. Its pretty much the norm of what is expected for a Harry Potter film imo and its neither good nor bad, Its above average really. I liked it though and I guess thats what matters most.

    (also I hated how critics praised this film. they only rated it so high because it was the last film in the series. lets not kid ourselves here, most people on this site as well will give it a
    high score because its the last film and they are fanboys/girls). Expand
  71. Aug 10, 2012
    6
    I wanted to like this more... I really did, especially having grown up with the books. However, muddled plotting and copious amounts of expository dialogue, due to a rushed pace, kept this film from realizing its full potential.
  72. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    There wasn't anything in this movie that could be considered unnecessary; more importantly, yes, people may say that it varied from the book in parts... but movies MUST vary from books to some extent because it's hard enough to boil down a book with enough content for tens of hours of film into a pair of nearly-three-hour movies! Also, the visuals were amazing all the way through; moreover, whoever did Bonnie Wright's makeup in the epilogue deserves an Oscar! Expand
  73. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    Works better when watched directly after the first part, and that's what this score is for. The last 10 minutes I didn't like too much, the rest was great though, and certain scenes were amazing. Good acting all round, would've liked more Bellatrix as usual
  74. Jul 16, 2011
    10
    After 10 years watching these Harry Potter films, it became the best movie franchise that reach 6 billion dollars worldwide from books to movies.Finally, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part II was epically wonderful best sequel for so long, and it's been done by a perfect ending that we always remember watching over ten years in a decade. This movie series will keep on generation to generation until the end of time and farewell long live Harry Potter. Expand
  75. Aug 4, 2011
    6
    Well what a disappointment David Yates has been to the Harry Potter franchise. Having made such a completely un-enjoyable mess of Half Blood Prince my wife and I were completely put off seeing Deathly Hallows part a at the cinema, despite having seen all the movies so far on the big screen. However, a week ago we thought we were proven wrong after watching part a on DVD. We found it to be a surprisingly enjoyable, yet bleak film. â Expand
  76. Aug 28, 2011
    1
    The movie is nothing like the book. Don't waste your time or money watching this crap. Bad acting, generic effects, and a dumbed down story.
  77. Jul 20, 2011
    8
    A very fitting end for the up and down series of films. Where Part 1 was plodding and more than a little slow, this movie is non-stop action. Maybe even too much so. It is well acted and shot. It was nice to see a number of the characters from past movies back in the fold. The action is fast paced and fun to watch. But the end was a bit contrived and unnecessary. This is a good film, but I am shocked by the 10 ratings, Expand
  78. Jul 18, 2011
    8
    Not as good as its predecessor Deathly Hallows Part 1, but this is a solid movie that does a good job of ending the Harry Potter movie adaptation series.
  79. Jul 19, 2011
    6
    I've never read the books and haven't really loved the movies (although I've seen them all). Even so, this final film was full of loose ends that had to be tied upâ
  80. Jul 17, 2011
    7
    We'll, 7.5 movies later, we finally reach the end. After the somewhat terrible pacing and decision making that went in to Deathly Hallows Part 1 (Harry goes Camping), this final film is many steps up from that. Its hard to keep epic pacing up with so many movies over so many years, and I don't think they ever really had that down (Harry Potter movies never seem to be at the level of Star Wars, or Lord of the Rings), but they still managed to get a good solid --almost epic-- film at the end. Definitely worth seeing this on the big screen (not sure it's worth 3D though). Expand
  81. Oct 30, 2011
    7
    This one comes out a little weaker than the first part. It had some cliches which I couldn't stomach, and which is unusual when it comes to HP movies. It's my least favorite HP movie.
  82. Sep 29, 2011
    3
    On Holidays and yesterday I finally got a chance to see part 2. I think the fact I fell asleep in a cinema for the first time ever pretty well sums it up for me, this movie would be great for insomniacs.
  83. Jul 16, 2011
    10
    The final chapter begins as Harry, Ron, and Hermione continue their quest of finding and destroying the Dark Lord's three remaining Horcruxes, the magical items responsible for his immortality. But as the mystical Deathly Hallows are uncovered, and Voldemort finds out about their mission, the biggest battle begins and life as they know it will never be the same again.
  84. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    I am still breathless by this Harry Potter Final movie. Lots of action, excellent actor's performances and the real feeling that "It All Ends" . This movie became an event, the ultimate glimpse of the marvelous world and history created by J. K. Rowling. The epic feeling of each individual scene, the large emotional charge that embraces the film creates the perfect climax. It's hard to believe that all have ended, but it has been done in the most perfect and beautiful way. Congrats again for David Yates and the Actors that have truly mastered their performances with this one, like Ralph Fiennes, Daniel Radcliffe, Alan Rickman, Helena Bonham Carter and a lot of others. Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows Part 2 will definitely be remembered for eternity by the people who grew up with the saga and for those that know how truly see it's magic. Expand
  85. Jul 16, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you're a fan of the films you will enjoy this greatly, for it brings an end to Harry Potters journey and wraps it up in a neat little bow. However, if you are a fan of the books, like myself, you will be disappointed, for the great amount of detail and important side stories left out, which left me feeling a bit empty. Things like the ignorance of the deaths of certain characters (eg: Fred being killed off screen), lack of reactions to Voldermorts and Snapes deaths were just a small selection of anti-climatic moments. I could go on and list everything the film failed to include but it would be better to just go and re-read the books as the films, especially this one, don't do them justice. Expand
  86. Jul 16, 2011
    5
    I have to say I was really disappointed by the final Harry Potter film. This is the opening weekend, and the reviewers are all raving... and they are all wrong; it's like they saw a different film than I did -- is it because I didn't read the book? I've generally enjoyed the films, but this was far from the best Potter film -- and frankly it leaves me continuing to wonder how this series managed to stay so beloved and highly hyped for so long. Really, this is what it was all building to for all these years?

    The kids put on Prisoner of Azkaban this morning; ah, the good 'ol days.
    Expand
  87. Jul 16, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am fan of the HP books, and went with great expectations to see this movie, Sadly I went out very dissapointed. It was a very superficial, flat vision of the book. The scene with Harry and LV and the end was just created to show up the 3D effects. The most important thing, the core of the whole story the death of LV was incomprehensible and lack of the rich nuances of the book. Other scenes, like the moments before the death of Snape with Nagini on the floor instead of the sphere of the book for example took away the magic details of the magic world and focus on the butchery of regular action movies. I agree with the person who points that David Yates doing have moved the movies away from the books.The only satisfaction I got was seeing such an impeccable cast working together. Expand
  88. Jul 19, 2011
    0
    I have to agree with Xavygravy
    This is ridiculously overrated. The first one still remains the best, and it pretty much decreases in quality from there. I would give this a 7, but it needs a 0 to throw off the inaccurate rating.
  89. j30
    Sep 20, 2011
    8
    I really liked the film. I heard a lot of people who read the books were disappointed. I think the film was one of the best in the series. Great pacing, good drama. It's pretty much all you could hope for in a conclusion of a film series BASED on the books from J.K. Rowling.
  90. CRL
    Jul 28, 2011
    2
    Overrated doesn't even begin to describe how terrible this movie was. I went into that theater about a week late, after my friends had raved about how spectacular it was. I expected a masterpiece. When I came out, I said "this is it?" David Yates, after making his masterpiece in Part I, reverted back to what he'd been in Half-Blood Prince and chopped away half of the book, the result being a movie that reached a climax twenty minutes in and seemed to want to hold it for its entire running time. Everything about this film seemed rushed and abrupt, as if each scene was cut until there was almost nothing left. It jolts from one place to another, one climax to another, as if it has a dinner date that it has to keep and needs to finish as quickly as possible. Sadly, all of that overshadows what should be an Oscar-winning performance by Alan Rickman, and leaves you with a film that could have been so much more if it had just paid attention to detail and kept a little more to the source. Expand
  91. Jul 23, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie didn't need to exist. I'm not going to say that it was not a good idea to make the movie from a financial standpoint as it has sold extremely well, but from a logical perspective it does seem pointless. A book that in itself should only be read by fan-girls that was divided into two parts; the first which has the character running around like chickens with their heads cut off for two hours and the second based around one short battle. This movie could have been reduced to a twenty minute battle without the attempt at an existential crisis and a lot of standing around. I don't blame the producers as anything they seem to put out will sell like hotcakes so it only makes sense to pull this out to two movies, but doesn't mean you should. I'm not a fan of J.K Rowling's writing. As her audience got older with each of her novels she attempted to grow the series with them. This, in my view, failed because she does not have the skills to write anything other than children's novels or how to properly end a series. Keeping this in mind the movie didn't really have a chance to be a good movie, although the ending was better. It probably wasn't possible to get worse as the final battle between Harry and Voldemort lasted longer than one spell. The epilogue bothered me to no end. I was hoping they wouldn't include it as it wraps the book up like a preschooler's picture book. This along with what was seemingly 15 cents as a budget just made it that much worse. To wrap things up, this movie was terrible and didn't need to happen. Expand
  92. Jul 24, 2011
    0
    This Movie is **** **** it is **** retarded, **** this movie !!! The last 3 Harry Potters were **** **** the Director **** sucks !!!
  93. Jul 27, 2011
    1
    Frankly, it was boring!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  94. Jul 27, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Neville should have killed Nagini in front of Voldemort :( Expand
  95. Aug 2, 2011
    4
    Shame....shame...shame...That is not how the book ended, not even close and why would they do that after a brilliant part I...I have to believe if you read the last book then you would be mortified at how they butchered the ending...and argueably the most important scenes...Nevilles defiance ...the end of Nagini ...and the batlle between Voldemort and Harry....I was so disappointed...I have seen all of the previous movies more than once but not this one...It was by far a major letdown and the most egregious movie of the series....bahhhhhhhh! Expand
  96. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    This was a perfect final installment. Everything from technical achievements to emotion and the surprisingly stellar performances especially from Fiennes and Rickman. It left me incredibly satisfied coming out of the theater. The perfect ending to an excellent series.
  97. Aug 11, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There are two reasons to watch the final installation of the Harry Potter movies: the Battle of Hogwarts and the final duel between Harry and Voldemort. The battle was alright. I expected more, thought they'd come up with some really innovative effects or cinematography, but it was pretty good regardless. The reason I give the Deathly Hallows Pt. 2 such a low score is because it absolutely RUINED the Harry-Voldemort duel. In the book, this scene derives all its drama from the fact that it happens in front of a packed Great Hall, where all eyes are on the two main characters fighting for their lives. Not so in the movie. Also, what was with Voldemort crumbling away like a vampire exposed to sunlight? It's so important that he die like a normal human, to illustrate the point that he *wasn't* some kind of god-like evil force, but just an evil man. This film screwed that up, too. Bad, bad, bad. Expand
  98. Aug 15, 2011
    8
    I think this movie is the most interesting of Harry Potter series. From begining to ending is so hot competition. It is so exciting. My faborite scene is last scene. It is charming.
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 41
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 41
  3. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jul 18, 2011
    80
    When the movie was over, a young boy sitting behind me said, "That was great!" He was satisfied, and rightly so.
  2. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Jul 14, 2011
    83
    The excellent news is that Yates and company took their time adding visual depth to the film -- they shot it as 3-D -- and the result feels immediate and real and not at all slathered-on.
  3. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Jul 14, 2011
    100
    The epic and impassioned close that the saga deserves, a sweeping Wagnerian finish that's taut with suspense and wet with emotion.