Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: November 19, 2010
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 934 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
731
Mixed:
138
Negative:
65
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
Jord68Dec 7, 2010
this one really kept to the book and i like that. actually made me feel like i was reading the book again XD. overall i really enjoyed this movie, and i cant wait to see part 2.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DolactionNov 27, 2010
If you read the book, you will appreciate the attempt made to include as much as possible from the source material. The only problem isn't this movies fault, prior books did not do a worthy job of establishing the mythology. Many of theIf you read the book, you will appreciate the attempt made to include as much as possible from the source material. The only problem isn't this movies fault, prior books did not do a worthy job of establishing the mythology. Many of the movies before it were too short for their own good and had to pass over the history and culture of the wizard world. So while some characters seem like a convenient filler for a plot hole, people who read the book will be thrilled to see all the little things that made them cherish the book included. I think its the best one so far, even if it is a little slow. But the slowness pays dividends as it makes the more tense scenes all the more nail biting. July is a long time to wait though, for what is sure to be the most thrilling Harry Potter yet. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
brewcrewprideNov 30, 2010
Even though the world is always an abnormally grey color and there are a couple parts that are a bit weird (i.e. a silver Harry/ Hermione make-out illusion), "The Deathly Hallows" is put together very well and doesnt have many problems withEven though the world is always an abnormally grey color and there are a couple parts that are a bit weird (i.e. a silver Harry/ Hermione make-out illusion), "The Deathly Hallows" is put together very well and doesnt have many problems with itself, but in all, it just drags out the franchise and adds more fuel to the fire for the wait of the final conclusion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Walrus500Nov 24, 2010
Overall, Deathly Hallows isn't terrible. If you are a die hard potter fan, then you will love the movie. I'm a moderate fan of the series, and "Hallows" would have been great, if it wasn't for one thing. The movie drags on and on. There isOverall, Deathly Hallows isn't terrible. If you are a die hard potter fan, then you will love the movie. I'm a moderate fan of the series, and "Hallows" would have been great, if it wasn't for one thing. The movie drags on and on. There is absolutely no reason this had to be made into two movies. They could have cut out the boring stuff and had one great movie, but they didn't. The characters are roaming around for a large chunk of the movie, not really accomplishing anything. For me, this was a real disappointment. Now, if you don't mind movies dragging on a little too much, then this is for you, because everything else is fine. Acting is good, and the scenes that do have something happening are terrific. But unfortunately the movie is brought down by that one fatal flaw. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
kram789Nov 30, 2010
This is unlike any previous HP movie. If you have not see the others, I don't recommend this as your first. That said, the emotional depth and character defining moments in this movie make this more than just your standard adventure flick.This is unlike any previous HP movie. If you have not see the others, I don't recommend this as your first. That said, the emotional depth and character defining moments in this movie make this more than just your standard adventure flick. This movie is much less about wand waving, special affects with a dash of humor. There is some of that, but it is about the isolation, angst and cost of persevering in doing what is right, when it seems that everyone has deserted you. It left me feeling depressed, which is exactly how I expect the characters feel. I am hoping for a triumphant ending this summer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
nintendoid13Jul 12, 2011
Very well done. Although, they seemed to drag on in certain parts almost as an excuse to make a "part 2". But altogether, this movie is probably one of the closest adaptions of the book in the whole series. I can't wait for Part 2!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GVirus16Dec 25, 2010
By far the best film in the series to date. They did the one thing I wish was evident in ALL of the Harry Potter movies: they took the risk of taking their time to explain the storyline, and to give the characters time to develop, instead ofBy far the best film in the series to date. They did the one thing I wish was evident in ALL of the Harry Potter movies: they took the risk of taking their time to explain the storyline, and to give the characters time to develop, instead of everything happening within days of each other. The traveling scenes, the vast landscapes, really touched me; they separated the three teenage wizards from the world, as they were in the books. I also love the Three Brothers sequence; one of the coolest things I've scene in the Harry Potter movies. Why people say this movie wasn't good is in no way apparent to me; it was incredible. Yeah, a little slow, but that's the point: to build the feeling of isolation and loneliness, to distance the audience from the rest of the wizarding world, and focus on the three main characters and their own personal challenges. CANNOT wait until the last movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
julara13Nov 22, 2010
One of the best films from the Harry Potter series. Prisoner of Akaban is my favorite but Deathly Hallows comes in at a close second. Action sequences were amazing and David Yates is able to give you more emotional depth with the three mainOne of the best films from the Harry Potter series. Prisoner of Akaban is my favorite but Deathly Hallows comes in at a close second. Action sequences were amazing and David Yates is able to give you more emotional depth with the three main characters. Deathly Hallows Part 1 will make you fall in love with Harry Potter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
skanteaNov 30, 2010
I'm not sure if I even have the right to comment as this film isn't even in the same universe of what I normally pay to see. However as someone who enjoys films where the point is NOT to turn of your brain and escape but to turn on yourI'm not sure if I even have the right to comment as this film isn't even in the same universe of what I normally pay to see. However as someone who enjoys films where the point is NOT to turn of your brain and escape but to turn on your brain and enjoy the herculean efforts of fine artists at their peak, I may as well impart an opinion for those of you who were similarly dragged to see it (or will be).
First, It's a kids movie. Don't let adult fans tell you different. If they need an excuse to regress to a child like state, let them have it but don't walk in expecting the 'magic' to work for you. Similarly, don't expect to understand it if you haven't read the book - it doesn't really matter as the plot is just a mish-mash of a dozen things you've seen a dozen times. Many holes you'll see will be glaring and unexplained, while at other points the set up will be so ham handed you'll see the twist coming from well before mesmerized audience surrounding you. Try not to laugh as something so obvious to you causes others to gasp and tear up. Bottom line, it's sometimes cute but mostly dull, uninspired and overlong by about 45 minutes (one movie stretched into two to double the profits - Smart!). If you find yourself nodding, you can try amusing yourself by marking the consistently odd tendency for the 'spells' to be monstrously difficult when doing something easy, yet simple as breathing when attempting the monumental.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BrickNov 19, 2010
Harry Potter, like most film or book franchises has it's own rabid fan base. The people who will go to see Deathly Hallows are people that have fallen in love with the series as a whole. David Yates and company have made a film for the fansHarry Potter, like most film or book franchises has it's own rabid fan base. The people who will go to see Deathly Hallows are people that have fallen in love with the series as a whole. David Yates and company have made a film for the fans and it is beautiful. If you have spent the last over a decade invested in the story that is Harry Potter. If you have read every book and seen every movie again and again because you can't get enough then you will love this film. If you have never jumped on the bandwagon that is Harry Potter and never considered yourself a fan then quite honestly, you will never understand. Anyone who has read the book knows that it is full of bleakness and raw emotion. It's the kind of book that can ruin your day after reading a few chapters and this is pulled off perfectly on screen. The film pulls on your heartstrings and plays with your nostalgic mind the entire way through. The battle between good and evil has truly reached it's highpoint and you can actually feel the character's struggles while watching these events unfold. The acting from this veteran cast is, as expected, superb. The music matches the mood perfectly. The slower scenes in the movie are in some way just as tense as the action scenes and that is a very big compliment. So what you have is a movie that was made for a very loyal fan base and as a fan I can say that we got exactly what we wanted. And just to address the point that this film feels unfinished, that would be because it is. And when Part 2 hits us next summer i'm sure we will be just as happy with the conclusion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
filmfanaticNov 22, 2010
This movie is pretty fantastic. It might just be the greatest Potter film yet. It's very well-made, with great acting, cinematography and incredibly creative touches throughout. Of course, it feels like reading half of a book, but never haveThis movie is pretty fantastic. It might just be the greatest Potter film yet. It's very well-made, with great acting, cinematography and incredibly creative touches throughout. Of course, it feels like reading half of a book, but never have 2 1/2 hours rushed by so fast. Bring on part 2 now! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
makrtik2Nov 20, 2010
We are huge Harry Potter fans: however, the latest movie has none of the charm of the earlier stories or movies. Gone are the byplay with fellow students & teachers; absent the interesting magic lessons, goodhearted adventures and youthfulWe are huge Harry Potter fans: however, the latest movie has none of the charm of the earlier stories or movies. Gone are the byplay with fellow students & teachers; absent the interesting magic lessons, goodhearted adventures and youthful infatuations. Gone too are the fresh-faced engaging young child actor wizards we came to know and love, replaced now with their own grown-up mediocre adult actor selves... too glum by half, and far less charming, in a story more worthy TV's "The Seeker" than the amazing J. K. Rowling. We will absolutely be there for the final installment of H. Potter the movie... Sadly though, we undoubtedly sorely miss the youthful Harry, Hermione, and Ron... and the lively halls o' Hogwarts, now transformed into barren cold sere rocky heights and damp dingy woods, with many fiends and few friends along its path. We know it's the story, as written, but it makes a glum end to a dazzling series of stories. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TheTouchDec 5, 2010
Yet again they essentially just filmed a bunch of scenes from the book and threw them together without taking a single moment to think about how they interact to form a cohesive movie. And Dan Radcliffe still gurns his way through things andYet again they essentially just filmed a bunch of scenes from the book and threw them together without taking a single moment to think about how they interact to form a cohesive movie. And Dan Radcliffe still gurns his way through things and passes it off as acting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
scrieciuNov 21, 2010
If your a Harry Potter fan, your gonna like this movie ! If not, you will hate it. Of course, there's a lot of details from the book (for those who had read the books) that weren't in the movie. But the main parts from the story where their,If your a Harry Potter fan, your gonna like this movie ! If not, you will hate it. Of course, there's a lot of details from the book (for those who had read the books) that weren't in the movie. But the main parts from the story where their, which is good. The drama between the characters was perfect. For those you give a bad review of this movie is that they only saw the movies and had never read the books. I recommend to read the books before seeing the movie, because you will understand even better the film and sometimes, the books give more information. I tough it was a great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AerthosNov 22, 2010
"Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1" does exactly what it is meant to do--develop characters and create tension in anticipation for the great climax that will be coming in less than a year.

Is there some action? Yes, but only
"Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1" does exactly what it is meant to do--develop characters and create tension in anticipation for the great climax that will be coming in less than a year.

Is there some action? Yes, but only enough to create more tension. The core of HP 7.1 revolves around our three young heroes (Harry, Ron, and Hermione) and their dynamic relationships with each other and the world at large as Voldemort steps into the driver's seat to create a kind of world/empire not unlike the Third Reich.

Moviegoers should already have a strong grasp on the franchise and its characters by this point, and you assuredly will not be disappointed. Those who are not familiar with the characters or what a muggle or a horcrux is are better off skipping over this one.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
manic221May 18, 2011
My favourite film of last year and arguable the best in the franchise while the film is essentially a fetch quest David Yates and the rest of his crew turn it in to a wonderful movie which visits tonnes of beautiful locations within greatMy favourite film of last year and arguable the best in the franchise while the film is essentially a fetch quest David Yates and the rest of his crew turn it in to a wonderful movie which visits tonnes of beautiful locations within great Britain the acting is phenomenal the actors have matured greatly in the 10 years and so have there acting abilities.

This one is worth anybody's money buy the Blu-Ray and enjoy the magic over and over again. Because you will definitely want to after you've watched the movie once.

Deathly Hallows part 2 will be a fantastic finale and I can't wait to see it!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CriticalNov 19, 2010
By far... it is the best movie of the harry potter so far. The story of harry potter has at last, reached its climax! The Boy who lived is going to risk his life....
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
alex2542Nov 19, 2010
This is a piece of genius. Nothing short. All the scenes in the movie looked exactly like they did while I was reading, or better. That's magic. Perfect blend of humor and tension. The parts left out, don't bring the movie down at all. Not aThis is a piece of genius. Nothing short. All the scenes in the movie looked exactly like they did while I was reading, or better. That's magic. Perfect blend of humor and tension. The parts left out, don't bring the movie down at all. Not a disappointment. Twilight joke=win Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
kickinwoodNov 19, 2010
As a HUGE fan of the books, I'm shocked that my score for this movie is as high as it is. My expectations were consistently lowered from movie to movie over the years due to key characters being left (older Weasley brothers, Dobby removedAs a HUGE fan of the books, I'm shocked that my score for this movie is as high as it is. My expectations were consistently lowered from movie to movie over the years due to key characters being left (older Weasley brothers, Dobby removed from all but one movie, etc.) and the omission of key moments from the books (Dumbledore's funeral, blah blah blah). But I have to say, they did not do a bad job! Sure, if you want to sit back and nit-pick, you'll have your chance. But most of the liberties taken with the story are in the action department and I would much rather have an action scene embellished rather than a major plot moment glossed over, ignored or changed into a warped version of itself. The movie is well directed, the casting is near-perfect and each member of the cast turns in a solid performance. The pacing is handled incredibly well with scares, laughs and tears sprinkled throughout. If you're a fan of the book and immediately wanted to stab yourself in the throat with a wand after seeing the train wreck that was The Goblet of Fire, don't be so quick to write this one off! If you approach it with an open mind, more often than not you will find yourself pleasantly absorbed in this film instead of sitting on the outside staring at it with scorn. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
UmbrellaSpyNov 19, 2010
Finally we have a Harry Potter movie full of dark enviroments and situations like all we imagine in the books. This new Potter movie is a great mix of sentimental and tragic moments with Ron and Hermione relationship and with the fury andFinally we have a Harry Potter movie full of dark enviroments and situations like all we imagine in the books. This new Potter movie is a great mix of sentimental and tragic moments with Ron and Hermione relationship and with the fury and power of Lord Voldemort, in this part Harry, Ron and Hermione takes the lead in the movie, this is a movie of his adventures to find the Horrocruxs, nothing more nothing less, the exciting final part is coming (8 months) and i enjoy this part like no other in the series. The technical information like the score is awesome always adaptable according the situation of cou rce with the base of John Williams original score. The movie running time is nice (146 Min's) you are not going to be bored, Photography, Special Effects nice like always in the series. Not everything is perfect i miss some parts of the book but im pretty sure that this part is the best book-adaptation in the series, now we have to wait 8 months to see the epic final battle Potter vs Riddle Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JibbyjackjoeNov 19, 2010
A thrill ride from the very first scene. I laughed, I shed a tear; this is not a movie to miss, especially if you're a fan. For me, the disappointment from movies 5 and 6 were vindicated. This is it. This is the film us Muggles have beenA thrill ride from the very first scene. I laughed, I shed a tear; this is not a movie to miss, especially if you're a fan. For me, the disappointment from movies 5 and 6 were vindicated. This is it. This is the film us Muggles have been waiting for for a while now. Its here. Go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Antnguyen89Nov 20, 2010
It's about time that they decide to make a movie that stays true to the book. As a huge fan of Rowling's entire series, I absolutely loved this movie. I will admit it did feel dreary around the middle, but it was supposed to. It was a longIt's about time that they decide to make a movie that stays true to the book. As a huge fan of Rowling's entire series, I absolutely loved this movie. I will admit it did feel dreary around the middle, but it was supposed to. It was a long and frustrating journey they embark on to find the Horcruxes. Cannot wait to see the thrilling conclusion in July. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Madhouse6Nov 20, 2010
considering the enormity of their task, the filmmakers did a fantastic job at adapting an massive book, all with an eye towards setting up the last 1/4 of the book. loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JaredJul 12, 2013
Disappointing. Sucks the utter life out of this finale. Part 1 begins with an exciting tone, but continues to disappoint and surprisingly drags to a state beyond any form of dullness in movies. Leaving unexcited, confused, and not knowingDisappointing. Sucks the utter life out of this finale. Part 1 begins with an exciting tone, but continues to disappoint and surprisingly drags to a state beyond any form of dullness in movies. Leaving unexcited, confused, and not knowing what to think. Giving it time for the movie to settle in, it begins to stick. It had by far the best level of acting from the main three so far in the series. As well as the manner in which the reminiscent elements and major plot points were visualized gave it somewhat an unforgettable essence. In combination, the two parts probably deliver the ultimate Potter conclusion harmoniously. But as being a part of a movie doesn't take away the fact this will be treated as a movie by itself. This movie alone, made well, just stalls the flow of the story. It needs some push, some audacity, some passion. With some interesting elements in the story and something unforgettably alluring in its tone and filmmaking, making some powerful moments, this altogether is a molding story that drags to a dud and sucks the utter life and excitement out of this finale. It's shrieking for Del Torro's pizzazz. In spite of, overdue David Yates synthesizes a thoroughly sauteed and seared production, but lacks any density of zest, or moxie, or hurrah. A bitterly soulless Potter film with no magic, yet still a ravishing and stimulating & extraordinary vision. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Super-Evil-DOOMNov 21, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. They did a good job making the movie stand on it's own. I was expecting a really lame and dragged out setup for the second part and a silly cliffhanger ending out of nowhere with "AND NOW WE GO FIGHT VOLDEMORT" before the credits. Luckily, that didn't happen. As always there are omissions from the books and differences altogether, but for what it was, it was a good movie overall. Not the best Potter film (Prisoner of Azkaban and Goblet of Fire still hold those honors) but I enjoyed it more than all of the other movies in the series aside from the two already mentioned.

I wish they would have shown some of the deaths, particularly Mad Eye Moody. It didn't give the same impact when something happens and they just mention that a person died, it was kind of lame. I did like the extensive torture that Bellatrix does to Hermione though. Even though it didn't happen that way in the book, it was really gruesome sounding and cringeworthy when it first happens.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MG1595Nov 21, 2010
I agree, best movie of the Franchise so far... I'ts exciting, and so like the book I'm a little sad because of Part II won't be available until the next year...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BabbsNov 22, 2010
As a huge Harry Potter fan, and as somebody not dissuaded by a slow burning plot, I enjoyed every second of the film. That's what makes the abrupt ending such a slap in the face. Even die-hard fans will leave wishing the studio had eitherAs a huge Harry Potter fan, and as somebody not dissuaded by a slow burning plot, I enjoyed every second of the film. That's what makes the abrupt ending such a slap in the face. Even die-hard fans will leave wishing the studio had either committed to making a complete, behemoth final film or had picked a different spot to end the film. Depending on your patience for the series, you will either find the movie gorgeously true to the novels and emotionally well-wrought, or a mind numbing snore-fest. People who think the latter probably disliked the book, and there's no shame in that, but people who enjoyed the relative desolation of the first half of the book (because of the psychological and emotional impact it had on our heroes) will be equally transfixed. It almost seems a shame that the first six movies weren't this devoted to detail, until you consider having to go through 14+ films (admittedly, I would probably preferred each film to be as long as necessary, but I am more patient than most).

As a final note, this is easily the least family-friendly film in the series...which should be expected. Keep the little ones at home for this film. There is little they will gain from it, and plenty to lose.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
henryslavensNov 22, 2010
This movie is dark in a very, very good way. All the material that fits inside this installment will make fans happy the book was separated into two parts. The pacing of is good, as are Watson and Radcliffe's performances. There is finallyThis movie is dark in a very, very good way. All the material that fits inside this installment will make fans happy the book was separated into two parts. The pacing of is good, as are Watson and Radcliffe's performances. There is finally substantial character development and a focus more on story than special effects. The scene in the ministry is a clear highlight, and the only drawback is the overabundance of shots depicting picturesque locations where the teenagers camp. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
mixxalotNov 22, 2010
As a fan of the HP movies, this film was ok but the middle was too slow and could have been cut out to make the movie faster paced and more exciting. I almost fell asleep during the boring camping scene.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
podunk411Nov 22, 2010
I thought in making the movie they would at least cut out the fat from the book that everyone complained of--but no, they decided to keep one of the most glaringly long-winded tangents-- the wondering in the woods saga, rather than any of theI thought in making the movie they would at least cut out the fat from the book that everyone complained of--but no, they decided to keep one of the most glaringly long-winded tangents-- the wondering in the woods saga, rather than any of the more exciting elements--especially regarding Dumbledore.
I have to say, other than awful pacing, the other pieces of this movie are there. Which makes it really frustrating and you feel sort of conned out of a Harry Potter movie. The acting was great, the fx were pretty cool and well timed--the plot elements are there if you look hard enough, yet what they focused on were the most uninteresting parts of the book--and they really focused on them! I hope the last chapter finds it's mojo again.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
arbohcik1393Nov 23, 2010
Absolutely brilliant. Firstly, I have to believe that the naysayers are probably self made HP cynics, which is fair enough, but this is the series that defined a generation and its influence still carries on; my own 7 year old brother isAbsolutely brilliant. Firstly, I have to believe that the naysayers are probably self made HP cynics, which is fair enough, but this is the series that defined a generation and its influence still carries on; my own 7 year old brother is devouring the books at a frantic pace and watched the film with me. This film does that legacy immense justice. It completely outstrips the previous 2 or 3 films which were mediocre at best. The most faithful, well acted film in the series, the effects are also brilliant and the way the dark atmosphere is created and sustained is fantastic. This film has rekindled my love of the series. Go and watch it. Now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
sockemeyeNov 23, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This latest installment of the Harry Potter phenomenon didn't live up to the hype. This film had its moments, and I enjoyed its darker, more serious themes, but the majority of the film is just a camping trip without beer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
PocketEntrtnmntNov 23, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. he beginning of this film is awesome. The acting, directing, and editing are all spot on. The scene in which Harry is supposed to be transported to a safer location than his summer home is hectic and exciting. +1 point for being so great. That actually starts this film off at 11 and rightfully so. But this opening scene unfortunately turns out to be the best part of the film. The camera work in this film is awful. Almost every shot is handheld and not by a steady arm. There are times when the camera is shaking so much that it becomes incredibly difficult to comprehend what exactly is going on. Hold on to your butts, because it gets worse. The camera becomes so obtrusive that it is distracting. A simple dialogue scene does not require all that camera shake. - 1 point. But here's another issue with the film. 85-90% of the film is exposition via dialogue. So much so that it seems that the Director and D.P. were trying anything to make the scene interesting. Dutch angles cutting to flat shots and unmotivated camera moves are only some of the techniques they tried to liven up a scene that would otherwise be 45 minutes of talking heads. I can't blame them too much for that though. That's a script issue and the director was clearly trying to do the best with what he was given. It's enough of an irritation that it deserves - 1 point. Be aware that this movie is long. Too long in my opinion. I would think that part of the benefits of splitting the book up into two films is to help the pacing which has always been an issue with the Potter films so one would hope that pacing would be easier to find. Unfortunately this is not the case. It's not as simple a qualm as with the previous attempts. It would nice if I could simply tell you that the pacing was too slow, but this film never finds a rhythm. It starts off so quick and exciting and then stalls before picking up a little only to stagnate further. The editing has no rhyme or reason and the overall experience is a bit off-putting. - 1 point. Now I will say that the movie was a surprisingly good adaptation of the novel. Dark story elements that I didn't think Warner Bros had the balls to allow were clear and present, even if off-screen. It's not all peaches and cream though. The plot issues and superfluous scenes in the book are also present. In a novel, long scenes of dialogue are interesting and develop the characters, but when translating that to the screen, it comes off as boring and unnecessary. Again, I'm brought back to the fact that a large portion of this film is expository dialogue. Films are a visual art. Show me, don't tell me. - 1 point. A point that I feel inclined to acknowledge is the lack of consistency throughout the whole series. Now that every storyline is coming together, the continuity errors in the visual style and story changes are revealed. For example, the house elves Dobby and Kreacher may as well be different species and their screen time together exposes this. Now it isn't fair to deduct points for this as this film was obligated to use previously established character designs, but I felt it worth pointing out. Another gripe I have is that the film is presumptuous in that it expects that it's audience has read the book. Don't get me wrong, I am an advocate for reading, but I'm surprised that they would alienate anybody who hasn't read the seventh book. Important character development that was ignored in previous films is now all of sudden mentioned in passing one liners. Am I supposed to care? Let's spend some time developing supporting characters. Audiences already know who Harry, Ron, and Hermoine are. Instead of long, drawn out scenes that don't tell us anything, they could have focused on some of the supporting cast that the movie franchise hasn't bothered to introduce us to. The film relies on the readers' love of the characters to transfer to the film. They don't spend any time actually bringing these characters to life. Here's where I feel the line between producing a quality flick and a cash grab is defined. - 1 point. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part 1(Horrible title by the way. Easily could have been retitled as "I Was a 30 Year Old Harry Potter") is by no means a bad film. It's just regrettably average. It strikes me as no different than the latest Mission Impossible or Fast and Furious movie. It's a means to line someone's pocket with gold while attempting to please a large fanbase. It's an entertaining bit of cinema that could have been better, but certainly could have been worse. The amount of exposition is exhausting, but perhaps part 2 will make it all worth it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AndriesClaesNov 24, 2010
Don't look at the bad reviews, for real Harry Potter fans this is the movie of the year! And by far the best film in the franchise! Awesome action scenes, camera work & perfect acting!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BlackThunder10Nov 24, 2010
So here we are at the beginning of the end. Speaking of the end I hated it: I wished part 2 came out next week. Ok, though I am a big fan of the books, I am very lenient (though not a pushover) when it comes to adaptations. This adaptationSo here we are at the beginning of the end. Speaking of the end I hated it: I wished part 2 came out next week. Ok, though I am a big fan of the books, I am very lenient (though not a pushover) when it comes to adaptations. This adaptation was the bomb. We're at a point in the series that if you haven't been following the movies and/or not paying close attention, you're going to be dazed,confused and frustrated. Though every film since the Goblet of Fire has ended with the death of an important character, none of them has the scale of darkness that Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 1 has.

Harry, after the devastating conclusion of the Half-Blood Prince, walks away from his childhood in order to begin his dangerous hunt to destroy Lord Voldemort's Horcruxes, evil objects that contain portions of Voldemort's soul. Seeing as these Horcruxes act almost like fail-safes to prevent death, Lord Voldemort cannot be stopped until they are destroyed. As Harry and his best friends, Ron and Hermione, skip their final year at Hogwarts, Lord Voldemort is choking the life out of the Wizarding world grows stronger and stronger. No longer guided, fed, disciplined and protected by adults, the three young wizards have to apply everything they have ever learned in order to prepare for the final battle.

As a college freshman, Harry, Ron and Hermione's plight hits a lot closer to home for me than it does a lot of people. Now, one may say I'm bias because not only am I a fan, I have grown up alongside these characters. But it doesn't. At first, splitting the films in half sounded like an unpleasant money grab but now (even though it still is a money grab) it feels totally necessary to give the series the justice it deserves.

Did film drag a bit in the middle. Yes, but that's a part of the story. The characters are aimless, tired and frustrated and it puts a serious strain on their friendship, allowing the actors what they haven't been allowed before inside Hogwarts: a time to shine. Rupert Grint and Emma Watson especially deliver some award-worthy performances. When you add the exceptionally eerie score, magnificent animation sequence and the spectacular cinematography, it almost doesn't feel like a Harry Potter movie: it feels adult. I was a little worried of how David Yates would handle this sort of movie but not only did he deliver, but he delivered with style.

Whether the Deathly Hallows can be called the strongest movie of the series has yet to be seen (Part 2 opens July 2011), it can be easily said that this is the most emotional and darkest of all Harry Potter movies.

Problems: everyone knows the pacing in the middle act dragged. And it certainly did drag with a vengeance. If you aren't into passive acting (body language, facial expressions, subtle characterization), and pure plot, it's going to make you anxious and bored. Other than the aggravatingly perfect cliffhanger, that sums up the film's cons.

Now, as I wrap this up, there will be people who will dislike the movie for it drags in the middle, has holes, doesn't feel like Harry Potter and an anti-climatic (albeit tear jerking) ending. Keep in mind that this is only part 1. No true movie warrants a 0. And there will be people who will like the movie simply because it's very similar to the book, and otherwise, would be and are very upset because it's not verbatim. Get over yourselves. The human imagination works wonders and the books are brilliant. Read them. Movies tend to suffer if they slave themselves to their source material.

You don't have to be a die-hard fan to love this film. You just have to get it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ckaryNov 26, 2010
It's quite amazing how much the Harry Potter movies have matured since the release of the first installment. This film has by far blown me away more than any other outing I have seen yet. Much like "The Half-Blood Prince," the dark tone ofIt's quite amazing how much the Harry Potter movies have matured since the release of the first installment. This film has by far blown me away more than any other outing I have seen yet. Much like "The Half-Blood Prince," the dark tone of the film seems to have advanced the hard-hitting emotional bareness of the franchise, and has truly brought out the most genuine and visceral performances we have yet to see from this set of actors. "The Deathly Hallows" is truly a spine-tingling thriller, which seems at times like more of a horror movie than an adventure flick. The performances are truly advanced in nature; the actors, especially the young three main stars of the franchise, show just how much the they have grown since the young and somewhat immature outing that was "The Sorcerer's Stone." The franchise has truly become a respectable and memorable film series, mostly attributed to the continuously darkening tone. Having said that, the darkness of the film may surprise you. It's a killer emotional thrill ride at moments, and some of the scenes made me, an avid movie buff, cringe and shudder. Be prepared for a truly amazing thriller which will shake your spine to the core, and impose the most unexpected tones on a series once seen as a magical and bright children's fantasy. The nine may have been a ten had this film been a little bit more masterful in it's entirety. Though I feel that the film was almost brilliant, the tone still feels like it's missing something... heavy. Maybe the final film can fulfill my ultimately insatiable hunger for this series to hit the dark, emotional core I know it is capable of hitting. It's so close, but the echoes of the first films are still bouncing around these sequels. For the last one, I hope it's as dark as can be; a true emotional beatdown that brings the series to a hellish climax before we never see another installment again. I loved the flick. Go see it. Even if you aren't into Harry Potter, you will still see that this film is doing what it is supposed to. 9/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MapontoNov 26, 2010
Fantastic beginning of the end of the series that has captivated the whole world over a decade. A true gift for fans of the books, and an incredible cinema masterpiece. With a dark tone, the hunt for the Horrocruxes begins in an intense runFantastic beginning of the end of the series that has captivated the whole world over a decade. A true gift for fans of the books, and an incredible cinema masterpiece. With a dark tone, the hunt for the Horrocruxes begins in an intense run in which our beloved trio must do their best to keep alive. Congratulations to director David Yates, the cast that has highly improved, and the marvelous crew. Can't wait for the second part! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
phongmartinNov 27, 2010
This is the best of Harry Potter ever. I don't know how people think about the story, some people just go to the cinema for the action and want to cut all of the moment which made a lot of change to Harry. This book and maybe this movie wouldThis is the best of Harry Potter ever. I don't know how people think about the story, some people just go to the cinema for the action and want to cut all of the moment which made a lot of change to Harry. This book and maybe this movie would only the rubbish without those moment. This is the best installment of the Harry Potter franchise so far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cfhDec 18, 2010
I loved the movie, but I didn't like that there was two parts. At the end of the movie, it let you hanging. The thing that disapointed me was that Harry and his friends didn't go to Hogwarts. If you didn't see 5 or 6 you will be confusedI loved the movie, but I didn't like that there was two parts. At the end of the movie, it let you hanging. The thing that disapointed me was that Harry and his friends didn't go to Hogwarts. If you didn't see 5 or 6 you will be confused because they go back to some of the things in the last 2 movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KreftNov 28, 2010
One of the best movies of all time. I was really doubtful when they announced that Deathly Hallows would be split up into 2 parts. I understood why, since the book was so long, but I remained doubtful that splitting the movie would be a goodOne of the best movies of all time. I was really doubtful when they announced that Deathly Hallows would be split up into 2 parts. I understood why, since the book was so long, but I remained doubtful that splitting the movie would be a good idea. After watching it however, I'm really glad they did. If they hadn't I'm not sure what would have came out, but Deathly Hallows part 1 was an amazing film. I loved every moment of it. It manages to entertain you even with scenes that seem like they should be boring. Just an all around awesome movie. Definitely recommend it. I'm going to go watch it again in a week. If you haven't watched it. GO SEE IT! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
OscarPicks2010Nov 29, 2010
It is a shame that Warner Bros decided to split the franchise into 2 parts, but that was however a very smart move. Even though the movies were made to satisfy the fans, but its main reason was to make more money with Harry, Ron, andIt is a shame that Warner Bros decided to split the franchise into 2 parts, but that was however a very smart move. Even though the movies were made to satisfy the fans, but its main reason was to make more money with Harry, Ron, and Hermoine. We'd watched all three of them grow for a decade, now to think that they're all adults and the franchise is going to be over soon, it is an odd feeling to say the least. The wizard world is corrupting because Lord Voldemort is back with his powers. Even the Ministry of Magic has to hide. The movie takes us on a journey with the three friends rather than giving us a battle between Harry and Voldemort. This is the number one reason fans are complaining about: there wasn't enough action and adventure. But in my opinion, the movie is just building tension for the next one. Even though the film doesn't give much on action, the acting is perfectly where we want it. The three friends give it their all but standing out is Ralph Fiennes (Voldemort) and his evil companion Bellatrix (Helena Bonham Carter). The make-up part in the franchise is always mesmerizing to see. These artists must've worked really hard to have Voldemort's face looked like that! Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows: Part 1 does not disappoints at all, not with its fine acting and brilliant make-up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Ruler101Nov 30, 2010
A very intriguing movie that keeps you on the edge of your seat and wanting more. Though the movie seemed to be choppy and leaving gaps to where you wonder if there are clips of the movie gone. This is the first part to a compelling two partA very intriguing movie that keeps you on the edge of your seat and wanting more. Though the movie seemed to be choppy and leaving gaps to where you wonder if there are clips of the movie gone. This is the first part to a compelling two part movie leaves the second a most see and a want to see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
big-bad-bearDec 2, 2010
not my favorite harry potter movie but it provided good performances from the cast and continued the story of harry potter well. the only disappointing thing was it felt like an incomplete story by the end so now welll just have to wait fornot my favorite harry potter movie but it provided good performances from the cast and continued the story of harry potter well. the only disappointing thing was it felt like an incomplete story by the end so now welll just have to wait for the next one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
XmanZDec 4, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. DEFINITELY the best movie of the series so far, i loved the dark tone and the much more mature tone to the film, something the earlier films lacked, with the exception of OOTP. the acting from dan, rupert and emma has more passion by far. i enjoyed the fact that this film is one that adults can go and watch by themselves without looking foolish. The film reminded me of the prisoner of azkaban, it is as David yates says "a road movie" the trio are constantly changing location in order to escape the snatcher and death eaters. i think some of the scenes were very well done, especially ones involving heavy VFX like the kiss between harry and hermione and the interaction with the house elves. some scenes like the one with the snake in godrics hollow was a pure suspense moment, it had a real dark edge to it and it almost felt like i was watching a horror movie (i love horror movies) the harry potter movies never dissapoint me, infact i would go as far as saying this movie could really win an oscar, if not this one then definitely part 2 because because i know that movie will be insanely dramatic and unique. i think the main success of this movie is down to Yates who i admire, all 4 of the potter movies he has directed have had a proper fitting theme to them, the style of directing is instantly recognizable from that of Chris Columbus or Alfonso, and i think Yates if it were possible should have directed ALL potter movies, although i would like to have seen quentin tarantino direct the deathly hallows. lol. Overall this film IS the best and i cannot wait until part 2 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
rayrayDec 7, 2010
HP7 is the best of the series. I thought it was going to be a disappointment, but I really got into this one. It has everything you would want from a movie, action,drama,suspense. You dont need to be a die hard fan to like this movie. itHP7 is the best of the series. I thought it was going to be a disappointment, but I really got into this one. It has everything you would want from a movie, action,drama,suspense. You dont need to be a die hard fan to like this movie. it grabs you from the start and never lets go, cant wait for the finale. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
chelsea_rawrrDec 8, 2010
this movie has literary no sense of harry potter what so ever this is nothing like any of the other ones this is more concentrated on the main characters personal life as in with who they are crushing on and who they are with and fights thatthis movie has literary no sense of harry potter what so ever this is nothing like any of the other ones this is more concentrated on the main characters personal life as in with who they are crushing on and who they are with and fights that they have over those if you want to see go and see this movie don't go in expecting to see something like the others i'm not saying that this is such a bad thing but i just think that its very different to what we are all use to and differences can be a good thing at times but in this case it isn't. i think that the movie was good with tis intense scenes and drama that all the harry potters have always had. but this has a bit more personal drama and teenage feel to it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ricardocmDec 9, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. it is so trilling this first part...like an intro to the real action that it's gonna be on the second part...however...this film individually...is not more exciting that the sixth film was... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SupaCriticDec 10, 2010
One best of the best in the Harry Potter series; it did end a little suddenly, however, this isn't something that is negative, it just makes the anticipation for part 2 so much harder to deal with. More on the positive note, it's nice to seeOne best of the best in the Harry Potter series; it did end a little suddenly, however, this isn't something that is negative, it just makes the anticipation for part 2 so much harder to deal with. More on the positive note, it's nice to see the actors you've grown up with come full circle. This film reminds you that the journey that started a decade ago, is almost over. Harry Potter 7 part 1 is full of action, drama, and great lighthearted comedy. It's Definitely a must see for any Harry Potter addict. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RayHeartDec 10, 2010
Absolutely mesmerizing. It almost captured the book in the best way it possibly could have done. DH surely is the best of David Yates' achievements.
The score would have been better with John Williams returning to the series, but I must
Absolutely mesmerizing. It almost captured the book in the best way it possibly could have done. DH surely is the best of David Yates' achievements.
The score would have been better with John Williams returning to the series, but I must admit that Desplat did a great job which shouldn't been overseen.
Anyway, the movie is amazing!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
thestephanieDec 15, 2010
I find this film does not quite grasp the atmosphere that Rowling created in her work.. Nonetheless, in it's own way, this film is a success. Dark, captivating, and visually stunning, it gives us a better look at the inner worlds of the mainI find this film does not quite grasp the atmosphere that Rowling created in her work.. Nonetheless, in it's own way, this film is a success. Dark, captivating, and visually stunning, it gives us a better look at the inner worlds of the main characters as they set out to find Voldemort's horcruxes, and makes us start looking at the Wizarding World, with all it's wand-waving and spell-casting, much more seriously.
The down side is that it was rather dull, emotionally. The scenes that in the book appeared moving were rushed through and did not leave an impression on the viewer. Turning a blind eye on this, Deathly Hallows: Part 1 is one of the best Harry flicks made.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
NickkkDec 17, 2010
My expectations were so high ... and the film is not bad, but so disappointing that I have still the doubt I've overrated it (because I'm still a fan of the book and film series). In my opinion they should have made one film for every book,My expectations were so high ... and the film is not bad, but so disappointing that I have still the doubt I've overrated it (because I'm still a fan of the book and film series). In my opinion they should have made one film for every book, even for the seventh, and there's no excuse to say that it's much longer or thick that the other books. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CreativitaJan 14, 2011
Having read the books a number of times and being a huge fan of the Harry Potter series (particularly the books) I expect the best. And the latest in the Harry Potter saga has just about lived up to that standard. This was a huge step up fromHaving read the books a number of times and being a huge fan of the Harry Potter series (particularly the books) I expect the best. And the latest in the Harry Potter saga has just about lived up to that standard. This was a huge step up from the previous film which was a huge disappointment in my opinion. Though certain areas became very slow and somewhat boring the newest addition to Harry's journey was the best that it could be, missing very little with stunning effects truly capturing the magic of Harry's world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerMay 31, 2011
After the last two Harry Potter films I was beginning to feel the series was beginning to lose it's magic (no pun intended), the plots were getting lame, and they were losing there humor, but this movie changes that, the plot is enjoyable,After the last two Harry Potter films I was beginning to feel the series was beginning to lose it's magic (no pun intended), the plots were getting lame, and they were losing there humor, but this movie changes that, the plot is enjoyable, and it's funny again, and it never really felt over dramatic, a must see for fans of the series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
vgramaDec 19, 2010
Definitely one of the better films of the franchise, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows provides viewers with a much darker, more dramatic view on the story of our favorite wizard. Unfortunately, parts of the film are poorly explained whichDefinitely one of the better films of the franchise, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows provides viewers with a much darker, more dramatic view on the story of our favorite wizard. Unfortunately, parts of the film are poorly explained which ultimately ends up negatively effecting the quality of the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TokyochuchuDec 8, 2014
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part I is one of the most satisfying entries into the franchise. The action scenes are dark, violent and scary and the emotional core of the film runs higher than before. That said, there is also time forHarry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part I is one of the most satisfying entries into the franchise. The action scenes are dark, violent and scary and the emotional core of the film runs higher than before. That said, there is also time for some extremely fun old-school style Potter too, most notably in the Ministry of Magic infiltration sequence. All in all, this is truly one of the best Potter films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MichaeIDec 21, 2010
After the all the hype and expectations about the newest addition to the Harry Potter franchise I was quite skeptical before going to see it and yet I was still not pleasantly surprised. The first part of the Deathly Hallows appears to justAfter the all the hype and expectations about the newest addition to the Harry Potter franchise I was quite skeptical before going to see it and yet I was still not pleasantly surprised. The first part of the Deathly Hallows appears to just include a hurried set of events building no real tension in any of the dramatic scenes and instead including a prolonged dull camping trip that includes Harry and Hermione dancing and reading. The acting of Daniel Radcliffe was, putting it lightly, uninspiring and really the only real good acting I could see in the main trio was that of Rupert Grint. After being disappointing the most memorable and heart-warming part of the movie was not that of the actual plot but of the story inside the story - the tale of the three brothers portrayed by beautiful animation that was quite sensational. Maybe it's just because I have read the book and I expected something even closer to the actual story written by JK Rowling but still the main feeling I felt coming out of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows was a feeling of mediocrity but still a longing to see the last part to the tale. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SugarFloydTysonDec 21, 2010
KateM is a blubbering lunatic who knows nothing about the flow of the movie. It is EASILY the most accurate of all tthe HP films and definately feels the most mature. It turns a fru fru kiddy franchise into a legitimate film. Don't listen toKateM is a blubbering lunatic who knows nothing about the flow of the movie. It is EASILY the most accurate of all tthe HP films and definately feels the most mature. It turns a fru fru kiddy franchise into a legitimate film. Don't listen to the crazy critics, this is far more than a 65. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
NicholasandrewJan 1, 2011
Harry Potter is the world's best known film, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, for me it was the best Harry Potter story, very funny and engaging, with enough adventure and thrills that can come to leave the audience crying with someHarry Potter is the world's best known film, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, for me it was the best Harry Potter story, very funny and engaging, with enough adventure and thrills that can come to leave the audience crying with some scenes I hope that makes the most success, and I hope the second part is even better ... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
2GUI2Dec 30, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's obvious that this Part I was going to be "unfinished". But the film wasn't bad... It was good! The problem was that all Harry Potter movies end in a good way and this was the only one that didn't... It was a little boring in the beginning... And we all expect the last movie to be awesome! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
dumbuldoreFeb 11, 2011
Absolutely the best one yet. I know it's gloomy but I've read the book and it's about to get A LOT better. In the next movie (and hopefully they don't cut it out because it's my favorite chapter) there's a scene where they go to Gringotts toAbsolutely the best one yet. I know it's gloomy but I've read the book and it's about to get A LOT better. In the next movie (and hopefully they don't cut it out because it's my favorite chapter) there's a scene where they go to Gringotts to steal from Bellatrix Lastrage"s vault. It's really exciting because they take the thieves drop and they have to get out and they do. Then they go to the vault and open it but the treasure burs them because it's hexed. It's really exciting!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
seiferJan 6, 2011
This is truly a world class film, suitable for 12+, The plot is fantastically constructed but the down side is that it needs a little bit more difference to the other movies... I have many people tell me the exact thing......
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
absiddJan 5, 2011
Fantastic job by David Yates and also the other cast and crew. It's dark, it's mystery, it's adventure, overall a delightful watch. Congratulations! Dying to see what happens in the second part. Come on July, come faster so that I can watchFantastic job by David Yates and also the other cast and crew. It's dark, it's mystery, it's adventure, overall a delightful watch. Congratulations! Dying to see what happens in the second part. Come on July, come faster so that I can watch Lord Voldemort die in Harry's hand. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ALangdonJan 5, 2011
I think that thtis film was definatly been the best in the franchise. The main three have all improved (even somewhat suprisingly Emma Watson). Daniel Radcliffe has some actually powerful moments. I feel out of all the films if this filmI think that thtis film was definatly been the best in the franchise. The main three have all improved (even somewhat suprisingly Emma Watson). Daniel Radcliffe has some actually powerful moments. I feel out of all the films if this film hadn't been associated with the Harry Potter franchise I would still love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JonnyFendiJun 25, 2012
We have finally come to the last page of J.K. Rowling
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Commen0136Jan 6, 2011
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows isn't the bast Potter movie but its still really good. The movie didn't feel like a movie it felt like an incomplete one. The movie was really good though. The movie was interesting but there were someHarry Potter and the Deathly Hallows isn't the bast Potter movie but its still really good. The movie didn't feel like a movie it felt like an incomplete one. The movie was really good though. The movie was interesting but there were some parts that confuses people who haven't read the book. Overall this was a good Potter movie(better than the 5th one) its the darkest of all Potter films and its really good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
juan1224Jan 7, 2011
increadible movie, the best of the series and it also follows the book pretty acurately, funny and sad all in one movie. I actually teared up a little when dobby died.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheTimJan 9, 2011
Some people will expect a work as great as Shakespeare's Hamlet from any and every movie they critique, but be honest with yourselves, a sequel of a book-to-movie children's series will always be a different matter from a non-series originalSome people will expect a work as great as Shakespeare's Hamlet from any and every movie they critique, but be honest with yourselves, a sequel of a book-to-movie children's series will always be a different matter from a non-series original such as the first Jurassic Park or the first Jaws. Sequels are always somewhat disposable by nature because there's not much they can do new.

I have read all of the books and seen the previous movies before watching this installment and personally I was impressed: most specifically when part of the movie plunged us into a stylized cartoon atmosphere slightly reminiscent of A Nightmare Before Christmas to me.

In a lot of the other scenes in the other movies (particularly in the fight scenes where all the evil wizards just zoom around the rooms as black clouds for some completely random reason) I would think to myself "Wow, this fight sucks, such a let down, some college interns could've written a more interesting scene..." The above-mentioned deathly hallow scene was not that kind of disappointment though, it was actually an art-worthy depiction which would be worth saving even after many of the "Let's use our wands like guns, BANG BANG BANG" scenes get thrown in the trash where they belong.

See this movie if you enjoyed the previous Harry Potter movies. This movie is certainly an improvement over many of the previous films which focused on wearing dresses and dancing (that seems like half of Goblet of Fire.) I do not know why anyone would watch a sixth sequel to an original movie if they did not like it already.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SCJ1991Jan 13, 2011
This movie is absolutely amazing. I've been a fan of the Harry Potter franchise for a long time. The filming was just perfect. The acting was mind-boggling. Fans will enjoy this film for sure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MalasawasJan 14, 2011
Well... diffincult to talk about... I think Harry Potter franchise has been passing thru a lot of steps... we've got the ''children'' one (Chris Columbus)... that it's almost the book itself but... it was intended to be seen by children...Well... diffincult to talk about... I think Harry Potter franchise has been passing thru a lot of steps... we've got the ''children'' one (Chris Columbus)... that it's almost the book itself but... it was intended to be seen by children... not a decission of Columbus himself but JK Rowling's books. The we've got a ''poor'' one from Alfonso Cuaron (3rd movie), it has funny stuff but no so much at all. Following... Mike Newell's one... which give more ''attention'' to adults, because of the movie of course, but it comes from the book also. Ok then. And then we've got David Yates starting from the Order of the Phoenix... don't know neither if it's the fact he came when the story plot was gaining more... maturity, nor if it was just him... but the movies have been raising from there a lot. And here is almost the last prove of it... it really comes as no surprise after watching the 6th movie that this one was gonna be a success. But... in my case, even saying that this movie is terrific and really powerful, it kept a lot of things aside... like important events in Dumbledore's life (if you read the book you know better, or in this case, you KNOW something), while the 6th (which tell us the life of Lord Vodemort) is more accurate to the book and tell us what we expect (if we read) or what we need to know about Voldemort's life (what ends in his propose in real time). So... good enough to be an ''epic final'' but not better than the Half Blood Prince. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LillyanneS1Jan 16, 2011
This film really gets you wondering what will happen next. With a brilliant ensemble cast & amazing special effects it at least deserves & Golden Globe Or An Oscar
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
PlagueJan 17, 2011
Deathly Hallows: Part 1, the penultimate film in the HP series is certainly darker than it's predecessors, opting to take a much darker tone than the previous films. Being split into two, this movie already carries the problem of having noDeathly Hallows: Part 1, the penultimate film in the HP series is certainly darker than it's predecessors, opting to take a much darker tone than the previous films. Being split into two, this movie already carries the problem of having no real conclusion/closure within itself. Harry Potter as a series is known for it's magic and fantasy settings, all of which were lost within this movie. Taking the darker, supernatural route has stripped this movie of that which made Harry Potter so brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MoviebuffreviewJun 19, 2011
Dazzling, emotionally gripping, wonderfully acted, and faithful to the source material, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part I is a masterpiece, and is the best Harry Potter film in the series! I can't wait for Part 2 to blow audiences away.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AlnORTIZJul 11, 2011
Deathly Hallows: Part I is part epic and part narrative. The plot is as complex as ever (a good thing) and the performances show how the characters felt throughout the first half of the novel. The visuals are another part of what makes thisDeathly Hallows: Part I is part epic and part narrative. The plot is as complex as ever (a good thing) and the performances show how the characters felt throughout the first half of the novel. The visuals are another part of what makes this film great! The spells look like spells and there is no abuse of CGI! Overall, make this a definite watch in preparation for the this final chapter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Sparkyibew100Jan 30, 2011
This movie is a very good setup for the second half. Now let's hope that the second half delivers. I agree with some other reviewers that it is hard to rate a film that has no ending, however, if you assume the ending holds up to the firstThis movie is a very good setup for the second half. Now let's hope that the second half delivers. I agree with some other reviewers that it is hard to rate a film that has no ending, however, if you assume the ending holds up to the first half then the movie leaves you wanting more, in a good way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jrmintMay 8, 2011
Out of all the later films, this one is the best. If you're a HP fan this should deliver on all the important aspects: romance, action, cinematography, storyline - and I think they stopped at a great part in the novel in order to keepOut of all the later films, this one is the best. If you're a HP fan this should deliver on all the important aspects: romance, action, cinematography, storyline - and I think they stopped at a great part in the novel in order to keep interest between the two last films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
By far the best in the saga. In this, Kloves could make a great script that appeals both fans whose worry too much about fidelity to the book about the fans who prefer a movie that flows well (like me). Yates proves to be the best director ofBy far the best in the saga. In this, Kloves could make a great script that appeals both fans whose worry too much about fidelity to the book about the fans who prefer a movie that flows well (like me). Yates proves to be the best director of the saga, and hits in all scenes, including creating beautiful scenes like the dance between Harry and Hermione and when Harry visits the grave of his parents, scary scenes like the house of Bathilda Bagshot and great action scenes like the battle of the seven Potters. In terms of performances, it's also the best one. Radcliffe finally shows a nice dramatic flair, Grint won't disappoint those scenes (and still shows its good comic timing). However the highlight of the trio goes all the way to Emma Watson, as her character Hermione also gets an interesting highlight in this chapter because it is the best in magic, it is she who takes care of Harry and Ron on the journey in search of the Horcruxes. And Emma doesn't disappoint, delivering a fantastic performance (the scene in which it erases the memory of their parents is one of the most beautiful of the saga for sure, thanks to her acting). The older actors do not appear much in this, since the movie focuses on the trio most of the time, but it doesn't disappoint in small moments in the scene (as always Raplh Fiennes as Voldemort is fantastic). Technically, is not the best of the series but is one of. The visual effects, Oscar nominations, although they are well used, are way far from being very realistic (the Chamber of Secrets, Dobby, was better than the new and the Prisoner of Azkaban, dementors, were much more realistic). The art director Stuart Craig has always been perfect, and that, even without the backdrop of Hogwarts, is still very good (the landscapes are gorgeous, and some scenes of destruction are great), deservedly nominated for an Oscar as well. The photograph although not as good as the Half-Blood Prince, is beautiful. But the coach will focus entirely on the soundtrack of Desplat. Many fans were calling for the return of Williams for the final chapters of HP, and I can say it was good he didn't return. Williams could hardly write a novel as beautiful as that Desplat composed. Besides beautiful tracks, Desplat also appears to be able to create good tracks for scenes of action and horror. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
UNAPCriticJun 2, 2011
Handsome. Exciting. Harrowing. That along with J.K. Rowling's vision, and good film techniques equals quite a good film. The filmmakers stretch out for it quite far, but they reach it. Since the end is coming, they try and put as much as theyHandsome. Exciting. Harrowing. That along with J.K. Rowling's vision, and good film techniques equals quite a good film. The filmmakers stretch out for it quite far, but they reach it. Since the end is coming, they try and put as much as they can in it. Trying to stuff back in what they left out in the previous chapters. Maybe it was a miracle, maybe it was with new producers J.K. Rowling's help, but whatever it was, they succeeded. From the start of the film, I can tell they have advanced in their film-making ways. No more depending on the greatest and never tiring land of Hogwarts to save you anymore. They must bring something new to the table, but making us feel just as much as watching a Harry Potter movie of any others. Whether the film felt like a trailer for part 2, or not, there is no doubt that the film can still satisfy any hardcore Harry Potter fan and critics. However, may not do the same for those entering the Harry Potter world for the first time. Those newcomers might just expect a cheery group of kids at a magical school, and everything is wonderful in the bright world of magic. They were quite confused on the absent of a magical school, and the dark talk of murder and soul philosophy. The characters aren't these little kids anymore. The filmmakers perfect in drawing out all the character development created by Rowling. It was perfect in a character aspect. Overall, this movie is a little more than your average blockbuster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
commonviewerFeb 28, 2011
I loved the film, but as just according to my opinion there should have been a bigger fight scene - one of the many things I like about the movie. But I didn't get - for a fraction of a second - bored. I understand that making the last filmI loved the film, but as just according to my opinion there should have been a bigger fight scene - one of the many things I like about the movie. But I didn't get - for a fraction of a second - bored. I understand that making the last film in two parts is important to the storyline. As a true Harry Potter fan I just wish they'd realized that sooner and perhaps with the previous film(s). Can't wait for the 2nd part which will be spectacular without any doubt. 10/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sohelMar 5, 2011
deathly hallows is delicious from every possible angle...its by far the most faithful adaptation but all fueled with endless magical innovations....its like a comment on the book itself.....the Nazi undertones....the gripping spine-chillingdeathly hallows is delicious from every possible angle...its by far the most faithful adaptation but all fueled with endless magical innovations....its like a comment on the book itself.....the Nazi undertones....the gripping spine-chilling music....the heart-breaking scenes....emotional scenes.....cinematography is spell-binding,and what amazing performances.....it was a visual treat as well as a treat for the brains....its intelligent....its a beautifully crafted movie....it doesn't drag....and remains true to the spirit of friendship.....i loved the dark and gloomy feel....the ominous speech of scrimgeour at the starting of the movie.....its one heck of a movie......finally David Yates proves that Harry potter is all grown n mature...and clearly its not fit for the younger audience...it requires lot of maturity to understand the tale...as it picks up loads of references from the past.....its absolutely brilliant and should have got a nomination for best picture this year at he Oscars....but it still remains bloody amazing..... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KendylKlownfishMar 5, 2011
Even for unfamiliar audiences, The Deathly Hallows packs enough action, laughs, and drama to sporadically entertain and garner itself an even larger fan base.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ImUnavailableMay 12, 2011
This is a strange movie to review. It is based on half a book so you can't fault the movie for having no real conclusion or resolution. The first half of any story is usually comprised of the build-up before the big finale and that's whatThis is a strange movie to review. It is based on half a book so you can't fault the movie for having no real conclusion or resolution. The first half of any story is usually comprised of the build-up before the big finale and that's what this movie is. It's a build-up, and cannot stand on its own until the second part is released. Part 1 is a movie with flaws, the biggest of which is its pacing problems. The first 40 minutes are action packed and frantic but soon things slow down and stay that way for most of the movie. I don't want to judge Part 1 too harshly for this, however, because it is in the unfortunate position of being one half of an adventure. Other than that, I found this movie very enjoyable, with all three leads giving their best performances of the series so far. The emotional toll and tensions of life on the run were well-handled and made for a more mature movie. As I mentioned, Part 1 is a strange movie to review. To enjoy it, the viewer must accept the compromises the filmmakers had to make. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
anonreviewMar 14, 2011
If I had never read the books, this movie would have been given a 10. However, due to my expectations (that Warner Brothers never live up to in making HP films), this movie has been given an eight. The best plot of any story ever written, itIf I had never read the books, this movie would have been given a 10. However, due to my expectations (that Warner Brothers never live up to in making HP films), this movie has been given an eight. The best plot of any story ever written, it would have been pretty hard to get any worse than an eight. Effects, visuals, audio- these elements are all alright. I hope you understand what you have done to the greatest book series of all time, Warner Brothers. Disappointingly worse than the books. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Ridz43Mar 21, 2011
They've done it again! The penultimate film in the Harry Potter franchise brings forth the new dark tinge of Harry Potter's journey to defeat Lord Voldemort. Without a doubt, you'll be salivating for more and more until the last second ofThey've done it again! The penultimate film in the Harry Potter franchise brings forth the new dark tinge of Harry Potter's journey to defeat Lord Voldemort. Without a doubt, you'll be salivating for more and more until the last second of what a breath taker! Love it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RoscoMay 25, 2011
A spectacular return to form for the Potter series in what is arguably the best film of the franchise. A much darker outing than previous installments resulting in a more direct approach all the light-hearted and cheerful themes are long goneA spectacular return to form for the Potter series in what is arguably the best film of the franchise. A much darker outing than previous installments resulting in a more direct approach all the light-hearted and cheerful themes are long gone bar a few funny comments to break the ice at times. Part 1 of The Deathly Hallows picks up from were The Half Prince left off with Harry, Hermione and Ron on the search of Horcruxes to bring and end to Voldemort once and for all. The start is frantic and doesn't mess around with a chase through London very well shown as the dark forces hunt for Potter. However very quickly the focus switches purely to the Harry and co and their quest for the Horcruxes. I was worried about the setting as for the first time in a film Hogwarts is not at the heart of things but any doubts I had were soon forgotten and thus really drives at home that the protection they were all once under is truely gone! The search for Horcruxes sees Harry, Ron and Hermione face danger at every turn they, under false identites, head to an infiltrated Ministry. However their quest takes its tole as the effects of a Horcrux are shown by Ron who wonders off half way threw. During this a clever scene involving Harry and Hermione dancing which was a great inculsion to lighten the tone ever so slightly. When Weasley eventually returns it leads to the destruction of a Horcrux but leads to the unravelling of an old myth - The Deathly Hallows. As the pieces of the puzzle begin to fall into place Harry is now aware of exactly what Voldemort is after. The climax to Part 1 left us with a teary-eyed goodbye to an old favourite and with a minor cliffhanger setting things up perfectly for the enevitable emotional finale and the final chapter of an epic series. Part 2 can't come quick enough! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
pulkmeesApr 6, 2011
Can't believe people criticize this movie, because of it's pace in the 2nd act.Have you morons actually read the damn book ? They can't just skip the whole part THAT TOOK PLACE DURING MONTHS IN THE BOOK.Watch less Michael Bay movies, you ****Can't believe people criticize this movie, because of it's pace in the 2nd act.Have you morons actually read the damn book ? They can't just skip the whole part THAT TOOK PLACE DURING MONTHS IN THE BOOK.Watch less Michael Bay movies, you **** imbeciles, not every HP movie doesn't have to be full of CONSTANT action.I hate the previous movies for being basically summaries of the books.They were just mixed scenes of the books.All I could think of was the important parts they left out.At least this HP FEELS like an actual movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
rotkuApr 8, 2012
More of the same from the Harry Potter franchise although this movie seemed to indicate a turn towards the dark moody end to the series which was hinted in the Half Blood Prince film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CursedKnight187Apr 29, 2011
When it comes to Harry Potter, I'm a fan. I like all of the movies in the series, simply because they are able to take all of the major events of the books and squash them into a decent adventure movie. This isn't the worst of the series byWhen it comes to Harry Potter, I'm a fan. I like all of the movies in the series, simply because they are able to take all of the major events of the books and squash them into a decent adventure movie. This isn't the worst of the series by far, but it isn't the best. As a film, it's good, but when you have read the book, you instantly notice that some of the major details of the book that relate to the plot are only just squashed into the movie, and sometimes they're not even noticeable. Splitting the film into two parts was a good idea, but even that isn't enough to include all the details required to understand the movie. If I hadn't read the book, I would struggle to know what was going on! But as a film, it is quite good. The elements of comedy, action and adventure work well together, and the fact that the whole environment of the film has changed with the absence of school life worked surprisingly well. Detail wise though, it desperately needs to be longer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
phxsikhJul 8, 2011
Contains the major events, but as I have read the books, i'm quite biased toward how the book was "better" in the sense that I truly felt everything was tied much better as opposed to the movie's quick entrance. Still worth to watch!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CAGUYCAMay 19, 2011
PART 1 is a very disappointing Harry potter film it doesn't have any magical feeling that the other films have.Its more of a Dark dull and often boring journey. Hopefully the Second part will have more of that magical world that we have comePART 1 is a very disappointing Harry potter film it doesn't have any magical feeling that the other films have.Its more of a Dark dull and often boring journey. Hopefully the Second part will have more of that magical world that we have come to love.Also the cliffhanger feels very strange and out of place,then again splitting the movie into two parts is also a very weird idea in the first place.That is why i have given it a 7 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ScottyLovinsMay 22, 2011
Hopefully the final one will blow us away because this one was good but not great!! This may have been the darkest so far in the series. I'm banking the final chapter will be darker yet. The character's are shaping up very nicely for theHopefully the final one will blow us away because this one was good but not great!! This may have been the darkest so far in the series. I'm banking the final chapter will be darker yet. The character's are shaping up very nicely for the final chapter. Can't wait!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
misssassyMay 30, 2011
The Harry Potter movies leave out a lot of details from the book.Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows was my absolute favorite book in the Potter series,but a lot of detail got left behind in the movie.....
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
randomdudeJun 6, 2011
Better than the book by far, but then all the movies have been...

This installment reveals Harry is not a god, which is refreshing... In the realm of magical competence he's reduced to the standard of, above-average, but no more. That was
Better than the book by far, but then all the movies have been...

This installment reveals Harry is not a god, which is refreshing... In the realm of magical competence he's reduced to the standard of, above-average, but no more.

That was rather a nice turn of plot from the chosen-one, uber-retarded theme of the past.


Harry isn't so special, he just lives in special circumstances. Nice save JK.

Anyway, the cast give solid performances, cinematography rocks, effects are great... good fun all around.

Honestly, I think Emma Watson is the most interesting talent to come from the franchise. I like guys, but can't wait to see what she makes of her fame(cache), she's just a treat to watch!!! Is it just me, or is she a force we'll see on the silver screen for some time to come?
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
filmtrashreviewJul 11, 2011
It's a great film and the latest in the franchise. It's amazing that it is able to still hold it's own after six films. I know it's pretty redundant to say but the film does feel incomplete and because of that it gets a slightly lower score.It's a great film and the latest in the franchise. It's amazing that it is able to still hold it's own after six films. I know it's pretty redundant to say but the film does feel incomplete and because of that it gets a slightly lower score. It is just part one but if you make a film, I expect to see a complete one not just part of one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
blumuunJun 14, 2011
It is so nice to see the Harry Potter franchise "all-growed-up". The actors and their respective characters have morphed into mature, sympathetic, and genuine individuals. The 'trio' shine in their determination and quiet [yet palpable]It is so nice to see the Harry Potter franchise "all-growed-up". The actors and their respective characters have morphed into mature, sympathetic, and genuine individuals. The 'trio' shine in their determination and quiet [yet palpable] sadness. The scene in which Harry and Hermione dance to a well-placed Nick Cave tune (which was demonstrably absent from the novel) was both enthralling and calmly tragic in its pure simplicity. It is part of what makes the film convey a desperate longing for some sort of peace from the inevitable conflict that follows. Although I have loved each installment of Harry Potter--in both novel and film format, Deathly Hallows Part I has surpassed the previous films by leaps and bounds. It is a dark and beautiful portrayal of the main characters' inner turmoil; coupled with brilliant screenwriting, impressive [and what I would call understated, based on the previous films] visual effects, and what amounts to an honestly sincere coming-of-age narrative. All of these factors make this film more than merely entertaining. In fact, it leads the viewer into a world that is no longer that of the silly storybook tales that they have seen in the previous films. Deathly Hallows Part I makes the viewer at once both truly feel for the characters and their many troubles and desperately wish for the final film to be released. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
asjklasAug 5, 2011
Even for noobies -- like myself -- Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1 is a magical experience with a ton of action, thrills, laughs, and melodrama.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ZuZuZuJul 31, 2011
The worst in the series. The only good thing at this movie is the part where Hermione leaves her house, the snake fight and the fight between them. Incredibly dull.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Bender99Jul 5, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm a huge fan of Harry Potter (books and movies) but today I'm reviewing from a normal person's point of view. I thought that some of the action scenes were a bit cheesey and corny. It is one of the better Harry Potter films, but not the best. Dobby is one of my favorite characters and seeing him die was so sad that I almost cried. I can't wait for Part Two the finale. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HasrionaJul 20, 2011
Magnificence. With its darker tone and melancholic mood, not to mention it's spellbinding effects and the dazzling acting of the older cast, Deathly Hallows Part 1 comes forth as the best Harry Potter film to date, even if it does have someMagnificence. With its darker tone and melancholic mood, not to mention it's spellbinding effects and the dazzling acting of the older cast, Deathly Hallows Part 1 comes forth as the best Harry Potter film to date, even if it does have some problems with pace and an over reliance on the still patchy acting of Radcliffe, Watson and Grint. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
manurockAug 6, 2011
A great film, much better than the second one, which makes you want to read the book again and go for the second (which is a little deceptive) film. It was a good idea to split the film in two as this made it 90% follow the book. It reallyA great film, much better than the second one, which makes you want to read the book again and go for the second (which is a little deceptive) film. It was a good idea to split the film in two as this made it 90% follow the book. It really makes you thrill and touches you like very few films of this saga do. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Potter17Dec 18, 2011
Beautifully photographed, loaded with a tense, gloomy tone and displaying touching performances of its young leads, the first-half of "Deathly Hallows" serves as a magnificent build-up for the climax of the series .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews