User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 729 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 62 out of 729

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    Thrilling with some great performances, and dazzling visuals and Potters most complex story yet, and definitely the most entertaining of all of the Potters. I give this movie 92% of a good film.
  2. Sep 23, 2011
    8
    The movie's story is very linear. However, the Potter cast & crew makes the story very easy to follow. Overall a enjoyable summer blockbuster you can't miss.
  3. Aug 27, 2010
    5
    Though the book was tantamount for the series, this is most definitely the weakest of the Harry Potter movies. The biggest travesty is that the movie completely loses steam halfway through and ruins arguably the best climax of all seven books because of it. It's also frustrating to watch the movie straddle between being a "grown-up" vs. a "kiddie" movie, as if the producers struggled to plaster the movie with a PG rating while it was destined to be PG-13. Expand
  4. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    My personal favorite in the series and in my opinion the best in the series, it's funnier and has more action, and the story is the best yet, a must see and deserving of nothing less than a perfect 10 not because it's the best Harry Potter, but because it will suck you in, a must see for fans.
  5. Mar 21, 2011
    9
    A near perfect adaptation of the book, and one of my top three Harry Potter movies so far. This movie really set a high point for the franchise back in 2005. And this will probably be the only time Robert Patterson is in a movie that wasn't terrible.
  6. Jul 17, 2011
    9
    This has to be the best Potter film in the series, aside 'Half Blood Prince'. It's not as dreadful as the first two movies, which kinda sucked, and it's not like the 'Prisoner of Azkaban' which is over forced. But you have to give props to the third one, cause it definitely gave the franchise a new spooky, interesting dimension which made the franchise more enjoyable by adding some depth to it. In 'Goblet of Fire' there are some scenes that could have been done better, but overall the movie is quite fun, enjoyable and action peaked. Besides, I'm looking forward to 'Deathly Hollows Part II'. I think it will be the best one to date. Expand
  7. Aug 9, 2011
    8
    This is an incredibly entertaining movie. It has intense action sequences, solid performances all around and maybe the most interesting new characters in the whole series, such as Professor Moody.
  8. Aug 21, 2010
    8
    A very good and exciting movie that goes by the book reasonably well. It was really fast-paced and there was loads of action. However I wish two things better. First, the maze for the third task did not have any of the obstacles or creatures from the book. Why take that out and put in really nothing is kind of stupid. Also, I really wish that they had Voldemort with his hood on like the book covers/illustrations. It really looks cooler that way and more menacing. Expand
  9. Dec 3, 2010
    9
    What's most amazing about Goblet of Fire is the sheer comprehension of the book. If you've ever read the fourth, you know it's a very long read, making it a hard feat when it comes to film translation. Somehow though, everything important seems to come together very nicely, and the inspiring with the combination of catastrophic events unfold nicely here.
  10. Dec 10, 2010
    9
    Not only does this film emphasise how HP has matured, it also shows more invention, action, and romantic, the result of which being probably the second-best film in the series thusfar.
  11. Aug 16, 2010
    10
    This film builds up the tension and energy of Voldemort's arrival so brilliantly and enthusiastically that it's impossible to think anyone didn't love the book as they were filming it. The tasks are incredible to watch and even though I had read the book before I watched the film, I was constantly on pins and needles as I watched Harry struggle. This is probably the best of the series, definitely my personal favorite thus far. Expand
  12. Feb 10, 2011
    7
    movie is good and decent. the thrill ride of 3 competitions are really exciting. one of the better movies of harry potter saga. the movie could"nt get 8 or 9 due to its length and dragged first half.
  13. Feb 13, 2014
    8
    Where the Prisoner of Azkaban saw a transition process from lighter fare and youth appeal, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire steps into an obviously-darker world where the student of Hogwarts begin to deal with realities that are years beyond them, mostly due to the growing influence of Lord Voldemort. The result is the best Harry Potter yet - one that will rope in more mature audiences while still remaining somewhat enjoyable for the younger viewers. Expand
  14. Jul 5, 2011
    8
    As Harry Potter and his friends begin their fourth year at hogswarts as well as meeting new friends from their respective schools, a Tri-Wizard tournament has just been taken place and only three students have been chosen. Now the fourth student to overcome that event, little does Harry Potter know that the servants of the Dark Lord are planning to reborn their master as he encounters all three of these tasks. I was amazed and speechless (not to mention frightened) when I saw this dark and epic entry of the series and I was excited to see it taking the franchise into new heights. The actors did a lot of talent and charm of the now changed personalites of the characters, The action and CGI were pretty unique and very intense, The storyline from the fourth book stayed faithful and Ralph Fiennes deserved some credit (as well as the others) for his amazing performance as Lord Voldemort. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire is the most darkest entry of the series that took the franchise into new heights in fantasy history and one of the best movies from the past five years. 8/10 Expand
  15. Nov 25, 2011
    7
    What you see in this film is something you dont see much in the other films, The characters growing up. You see the characters deal with the problems of growing up and that is something I rather enjoyed. The acting was ok. The older members of the cast were great while the younger cast did over-act quite a bit and I didnt enjoy them as much as the others.

    While the film (that runs
    nearly 3 hours) takes a toll on you while you watch it and can get a bit boring at times, The ending more then makes up for it (The ending is easily the best part of the film). Still though, Its an enjoyable film and one of the best in the series. Expand
  16. Nov 22, 2010
    9
    Mike Newell directs the 4th film from the Harry Potter novels. This is a major improvement from the 3rd movie, while still giving a variety of great intense sequences of action, and a well developed story. It is the most entertaining so far, and proves to be brilliant. I was liking the franchise once again, after the unfortunate downfall of the Prisoner of Azkaban, in my opinion. Harry matures and developes more intimate relationships with others, and develops a better understanding of the severity of Lord Voldemort. And so as the characters mature, so does the film, into one of the best directed and produced of the franchise. Expand
  17. Jul 28, 2013
    9
    Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire was the tipping point of the franchise for me. The first two movies were decent but nothing to get overly hyped about. The third one kicked off the darker tone but was seriously overlong. Goblet of Fire is long too but it doesn't feel anywhere near as long as the Prisoner of azkaban. It's a much more exciting and scarier ride than the previous Potter movies. This was the first film in the series to make me think "Wow! We might have something special here after all!" Now that the franchise is finished, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire still ranks among the best potter movies. Expand
  18. Jul 17, 2011
    0
    personally, the worst of the whole "Harry Potter" series, which is a shame, this chapter doesnt represent part of the saga,but just something completely apart, and the romance scene are too many and just plain. Sure had his own good special effects and im always impressed by them, but they just dropped out the storyline this time.
  19. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    Goblet of Fire has something that no other Harry Potter film before it had: a deep, dark and moving tone with heart. As well as the book, the plot is very dark and simple with the performances really showing how the plot was executed. The visuals are on par with Prisoner of Azkaban and really show how magical the spells really are. This is one of the better additions the series and one that show loads of magic. Expand
  20. Feb 16, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Man, oh man! Now this is where things really start to get interesting! Hello, everyone! I am DramaStorm. And this is my review for the fourth Harry Potter Movie: Goblet of Fire. Well, if anyone says this movie is overrated, then they have not watched it enough times yet! With a deep and dark plot and maybe even a few sub-plots, you can't go wrong if you want to watch a random film one dark and stormy night. The best part of this movie: When Harry Potter becomes one of two Champions of Hogwarts. Imagine his shock when his name flew out of the Goblet of Fire! The worst part of this film: When Cedric Diggory was killed. It really would have been nice to have him become a long-time friend of Harry and his friends. Really, I mean it. Ta-Ta! Expand
  21. May 29, 2011
    7
    So many things to comment on this movie, I'll hold me in two, one is the soundtrack, since I failed to mention the three previous films, and I love so much. We also have a change of director, this being the first Briton to take the saga. Talking about the soundtrack, I love that John Williams did, but this film surpasses it be so... The arrival of Patrick Doyle has only increased my devotion, I confess that this change was great, John Williams was great, but there was something missing... What about Mike Newell, the first Briton to direct a film of the Harry Potter saga, a good choice, everything works, the rush is visible, noting that the possibility of division into two movies, the book is huge, had already been contemplated in with various things out in the book that only you can find the answers. Even so, Mike Newell managed to hold the bar, showing all that should be showing the Quidditch World Cup, Triwizard Tournament, the Yule Ball and the return of the Dark Lord, despite the ludicrous speed, I was thrilled with everything, everything, every Following is wonderful! The big problem is the same speed, should have more time each event of this magnitude. And if he had abused a little more time, he took the place still held by the Prisoner of Azkaban, the best film ever made. Expand
  22. Jun 18, 2011
    9
    Easily one of the best in the Potter series, Goblet of Fire is a fantastic movie. The entire casts acting has improved since the first film, and the characters now have a certain depth. Ralph Fiennes is fantastically evil as Voldemort, and whoever plays Mad- Eye Moody does so perfectly. The music is the most brilliant of the series, and the film is visually dark and satisfying. The main problem comes form the differences from the book. Quite a lot is changed or cut out, which may anger some readers. But overall, if you do not think about the book when watching, Goblet of Fire is a fantastic film. Expand
  23. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    its my favorite movie in the series till date... i have seen the first seven.. i liked Newell's style of making this film.. he didn't make this movie as dark and a little boring as its successors.. this film had everything from wonderful cinematography to good performances.. it also had the required amount of humor.. and the end sequences were awesome.. specially the return of the Dark Lord.
  24. Jul 13, 2011
    9
    Taking a step away from the more moody and intimate Prisoner Of Azkaban, Mike Newell instead gives us an immersive and thrilling adventure. There are more characters to deal with and the scope is much bigger than any of the previous films. This film is a joy to watch with lots of thrills and humor to be had. The return of Voldemort is done well and scary enough as to not frighten little children. All the actors once again are top notch in their roles, and the newcomers provide some great moments as well. A lot of fun. Expand
  25. Jul 20, 2011
    8
    An enjoyable, thrilling and alluring entry with better acting than the first three and some captivating debut performances. Itâ
  26. CRL
    Jul 27, 2011
    7
    When I first saw Goblet of Fire, I probably would have called it the worst of the series. Since then however I've come around and realized why its flaws weren't that bad. As a fan of the books, the first thing that turned me off was how much was cut from this movie. However (unlike Part 2), the director kept the most important parts and managed to piece it together to make it seem like nothing was missing, and now it doesn't feel as bad. The acting, as always, is superb. The special effects are some of the best of the series, and the Ralph Fiennes makes an incredible entrance. It's not the best, but it's not as bad as it could have been. Expand
  27. Oct 11, 2011
    8
    It has a more childish tone when compared to the dark tone of "The Prisoner of Azkaban" but Mike Newell gave a solid adaptation of a very extensive and detailed book. I think this is the last time in the series when a non-reader can really understand the story.
  28. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    This one is darker, more intense and funnier than previous installments. Teenage hormones have taken the forefront at Hogwarts, but so has a dangerous threat. The story and the characters are excellently adapted by Steve Kloves and it's brilliantly acted. I love all the Harry Potter films, but if I had to choose a favorite, Goblet of Fire would be it. 4/4 stars.
  29. May 25, 2012
    8
    Its most likely not the best Harry Potter, but the action and story are still pretty good after multiple sequels.
  30. Jul 14, 2013
    8
    There is a lot going on in the fourth Harry Potter film, love is in the air, there is a magical wizarding tournament happening in Hogwarts and Harry Potter is beginning his fourth year, Mike Newell certainly has the eye for a set-piece extravaganza, the new film is brimming with them. But we are also introduced to the darkest tale yet of the ongoing adventure, with the introduction of one of the most frightening characters to appear on screen.
    But Harry, played again by the ever growing Daniel Radcliffe, and his ever tolerant friends Ron (Rupert Grint) and Hermione (Emma Watson) have their friendship with the leading man tested to its core when Harry's name is picked from the Goblet of Fire, something only seventeen year olds or over can do, Harry is then a true public enemy within the school as many wonder, including Harry himself, how is name was entered, when Harry says it wasn't him?
    As the hostility and suspicion grows around Harry, we can see that this is a very different Potter film than we have seen before, the whole friendly shock and awe of 'this is magic' is gone, and we are shown a very credible threat to Harry and to the wizarding world, we have heard about Death Eaters, and we see them rein terror at the beginning of the film, they are signalling a return to power, a return that we don't have to wait too long to see.
    With a large plot and addition of two wizarding schools for the Triwizard Tournament comes a much larger cast, we see the the likes of Snape (Alan Rickman) McGonagall (Maggie Smith) and various other characters make sporadic appearances, but we are introduced to an array of new faces, Viktor Krum (Stanislav Ianevski) a Triwizard 'champion' and Fleur Delacour (Clémence Poésy) the same. We also have Ralph Fiennes and Brendan Gleeson added to the cast. This indeed can be off putting as a reader of the book, simply because of the limited screen time these characters and actors receive, but also for the amount of scenes that obviously had to be removed.
    There can be a sense of rush while watching the movie, even though it clocks in at over two and half hours, but when the film hits a high note, it hits it with some force, combining its riveting story with some spectacular special effects, including a frightening and edge of your seat chase through a maze and a fight in the air with a dragon.
    Its clear to see how far the franchise, the story and the real life actors involved have come in four years, how much the story has developed into a less child friendly and more gritty approach, but being as faithful as they can to the source material, another epic adventure has been created, and certainly starts quite the interesting chain of events.
    Expand
  31. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    This movie shows the stresses of growing up, as well as the spirit of bravery. Harry is almost alone for half of the movie but yet he doesn't give up at all. There's no more of that kiddie stuff. This is a true representation of Harry and his future. Yet another 10, Potter!
  32. Aug 11, 2012
    5
    Out of all the Potter movies, this ranks as the worst. while adapting any book there are problems but this can be solved by cutting some side plots to make way for character moments and the main plot. not what they did here which is to say, cutting most of the main plot and character moments to focus on the side plots. There are some great performances from the main trio and the rest of the main cast working around some truly terrible dialogue that the script gives them. If you haven't read the book you're probably going to be lost. Apparently the explanation given at the end of the book where the entirety of Voldemort's evil scheme is revealed and making some seemingly random events all connected isn't good enough for the movie so most of the plot makes no sense if you haven't read the book. This is the first Movie to feature the brilliant Ralph Fiennes as Voldemort so at least we have that to be thankful for. Also, why is the hair of all the boys so ridiculously long? Could they not afford hairdressers? Too much focus on the side plots, not enough explanation for the main plot and an atrocious script make this the black sheep in an otherwise amazing film series. Expand
  33. Dec 2, 2011
    8
    I think its easily the best film in the series so far. The acting is far better then it ever has been in the series and the older cast members have an expanded role as well (which is good). The confrontation at the end of the film is the peak of the film and makes the film well worth watching for that alone.
  34. Jan 11, 2012
    10
    It is funny, creepy, and it has lots of amazing and wonderful action. But it will never get above Prisoner of Azkaban. But I am a huge fan so it was a good film.
  35. Dec 31, 2012
    8
    This movie easily has the most changes in terms of book-to-movie out of the four movies thus far. However, while there were many changes, this is also based on an incredibly long book so I totally expected it. Out of the changes, however, only one really bugged me. I hated what they did with Dumbledore's character. After Harry's name gets called by the goblet, he goes absolutely berserk in the movie and even shoves Harry. This never even almost happens in the book and is so outside of the character established already that it felt wrong. Nonetheless, if I try and look at it strictly from a moviegoer's perspective, it was probably the best of the movies so far. The acting was better than in the prior three, the plot progressed more smoothly, and the effects seemed better... especially the dragon sequence. While I wish they would've stuck more closely to the great book, they did do it justice. I would say I only deducted 2 points from the 10/10 maximum for the change to Dumbledore's character and for the fact that there seemed to be a couple of points in the movie where I would've missed what was happening if not for having read the book already. It's easy to get ahead of the movie somewhat if you already know the entire story so I might be exaggerating this effect somewhat but I thought it stood out. Still, this was a very good movie and I look forward to finishing the series. Expand
  36. Dec 2, 2013
    8
    Since I got into the Harry Potter series a few months ago, I've been asking people what they think of it. To my surprise, most of them said they stopped after the Prisoner of Azkaban. Personally, I think Azkaban was the best one so far, so why not continue? The unanimous answer was that they didn't really want to see the kids grow up. In the Goblet of Fire, they aren't quite there yet, as in their 4th year at Hogwarts, the kids are 14. The story this time isn't centered around some mysterious artifact or person, but rather a world wide competition of student wizards. The Goblet of Fire decides who the best of the best are, allowing only one student from each school to participate. This film was special, but also lacked some of the intrigue that got us addicted to Harry Potter in the first place. Finally, a Harry Potter film focuses entirely on Harry and we get to see some of the great things that he is supposedly capable of. In fact, Ron and Hairmony's roles amount to little more than bit parts, where as in the other three films, they were all on equal ground. The fact that this was a competition takes something major away from the film. In the Goblet of Fire we aren't introduced to any new artifacts, games, or spells, there really isn't anything here that will amaze you. While it's a small thing, it's an expected thing, that does take something away from the film. What makes up for it is a terrific ending, that has to be seen in order to continue on with the series. For years, I thought Harry Potter was just overrated, pop culture, bull but once I sat down to actually watch it, I came to realize that this series is as magically as the world it portrays. Every one of the first four films has been fantastic and I can't wait to see what the future has in store for the wizards of Hogwarts. Expand
  37. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Loved the film's portrayal of the Yule Ball, and the teenage anxiety surrounding it. I was genuinely emotionally moved by Amos Diggory's anguish over the death of his son, and seeing Harry crying along with him augmented the scene's poignancy. No fantasy story is truly complete without some dragons, and the film doles out that particular justice with a truly awesome dragon and a truly awesome battle scene, if not without taking some liberties from the book. All in all, one of the best of the HP films. Expand
  38. Aug 28, 2014
    7
    Enjoyable (and to the fans even more so I believe). The pace of the movie is the familiar one already set by the previous parts: in the beginning, a threat is declared, but nothing happens before Christmas is safely over.

    The characters are angrier and less superficial this time. A lot of tension runs under the skin.

    To my delight, there were a lot of short moments with Fred and
    George Weasley - my current favorites. Severus Snape also had a little part to play, and again, unfolding past events is interesting. There is plenty to tell on that department, but alas, the movies focus on Harry and his young friends.

    References to earlier movies are littered around. They might be hard for random viewers to process, but for fans they no doubt bring a lot of joy and a sense of knowledge and familiarity.
    Expand
  39. Jan 28, 2012
    7
    The first thing I really liked about this film is how it had moments (such as Ron and Harry looking for dates) that werent really in the book but are put in to prove its not all about magic, There is a lot of personal things happening as well. The acting is good ,as expected, and the action is good. I didnt really enjoy the film that much until Voldemort got into the picture, the only good part of the film imo was Harry's entire confrontation with Voldemort. I just couldnt get into it. Expand
  40. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    One of the most better films ever!! This new movie of Harry Potter is really interesting, funny, amazing, incredible, with excellent effects. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire is amazing.
  41. Aug 25, 2014
    7
    Despite a now annual director change, Harry Potter continues to shine bright. The Goblet of Fire is complex and shows true signs of maturity. The cast has also begun to follow suit. May the greatness continue!
  42. Mar 25, 2012
    6
    This Harry Potter is pretty good especially the ending, which might have the best scene in Harry Potter to date. But i had one major problem with this film which was the dancing and the modern day kind of music mixed with the dancing . What was up with that?
  43. Jun 11, 2013
    9
    This is the one Harry Potter movie that is clearly distinctive from the rest, and that is why it is one of the best of the series. Sensationally atmospheric and skillfully paced.
  44. May 27, 2014
    8
    When I watched it before becoming a Potterhead, this was my favorite HP movie. It still stands today as my favorite, for now.

    But it wasn’t the same as before. I was amazed by the story that time before I got a chance to read the book. I was impressed with the book more than the movie.

    Let me first start by saying about how much it was cut from the source material. I was upset at
    first, but then I remember how long the book and they cannot extend the movie longer. I understand why a lot of parts have to be cut.

    But let me list down some of the things of the chances that I am not okay with because I felt like they’re unnecessary or they’re important to the story.

    Hermione hugging Harry Potter before Rita Skeeter gets a chance to take a picture of them for more publicity of the Tri-Wizard Cup.
    The scenes where Hermione was training Harry for the first task.
    Mrs. Weasley, Dobby and Winky were absent in this movie. Those three characters had important character development, with the last two mentioned having important story development as well.
    References of Dementors’ connection with Lord Voldemort is removed.

    Despite the numerous cuts, I still enjoyed it. But it’s sad it comes along with the irritation of how many cuts it have to take for the required running time.

    I feel like some parts of the movie might not be understandable to viewers who haven’t read the book beforehand. They would make sense to them if they do. This is a common problem for books being adapted into movies, though this problem is (kinda) solved for YA movies such as The Hunger Games and Divergent.

    The humor is still retained in the movie which is good because Harry has some quite sassy humor in the books.

    They showed Rita Skeeter but she wasn’t featured much in the movie. She is a lot worst when I read the books.

    I give props to the scenes where the tasks were held. They were better than what I imagined.

    The movie felt a bit of a teenager movie but then again, the characters are growing up and that shows maturity among the characters. This is actually good if you wanted a story about wizardry but it also has a sense of realism.

    I like how the tone suddenly became dark in this one. I hope this isn’t an unpopular opinion.

    I enjoyed the movie and this remains my favorite Harry Potter movie despite its flaws. I like the book better though, sad to say.
    Expand
  45. Aug 14, 2012
    9
    All books and films previous to Goblet of Fire are just setting up the events that take place in this story, that will shape the course of the coming saga. The films now look to be more dark and gritty with a focus on survival and a bitter war between good and evil. The special effects may be back in a large quantity but unlike CoS they are used correctly making epic scenes even more epic. Best HP film yet. Expand
  46. May 4, 2012
    6
    This was not a movie I really liked but it's at lest watchable for most people. Never had really spesal stuff for me .But you guy's might like it. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire 6.1/10
  47. Nov 1, 2013
    8
    "Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire" is the fourth movie in the series and is the most complex and mature yet. Director Mike Newell has improved on the previous films on all edges and has made an excellent violent movie with style and craft.
  48. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    Spectacular film. The kids are just as good of actors as the adults now. Oh, I love that trio so, so much! Goblet of Fire takes a more dangerous approach and has a very spectacular and interesting premise. Pure magic for the young & old.
  49. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    This is an amazing movie, first the plot is well done everything you need to know is in the movie even more ( i red the book ), the effects fitted well, then you can really feel the magic in this movie, with the soundtrack amazingly fitting the storyline, the acting was great also, this is one my favorites of the series, Nice Job.
  50. Nov 8, 2012
    7
    I'll admit the gang has grown up a bit, and not all the magic of the first three films is present here, but Goblet of Fire is still a visually captivating fantasy adventure that is packed with surprises and some well done action sequences.
  51. Nov 10, 2012
    9
    One of the darkest entries in the series. The magical feeling is still there, but a new feeling starts to make itself apparent. That would be the feeling of fear. A thrilling film!
  52. Dec 21, 2012
    9
    Goblet of Fire is in my opinion the best written out of all the Harry Potters besides maybe the last one. The adrenaline and excitement race in this one. Not to mention the best ending to any of the first 4 Harry Potters. All in All if your looking for excitement this film gives it to you.
  53. Nov 25, 2012
    3
    For some reason, I didn't really care for this installment. Maybe it's because the entire series was finally getting into the 'dark stage', which is (book-wise) the way in which the saga was unfolding. Also, the effects didn't seem to grab me too much. I do want to point out that, even though I didn't like it, I still would recommend it...if anything, just to maintain the continuity of the film series. I may change my feelings about it at a later date, but for now I'll stick with my wand...uh...guns. Expand
  54. Jun 7, 2013
    8
    The turning point in the series. The Goblet of Fire is probably my favorite HP film in the series. I loved the Tri-Wizard Tournament, and I really enjoyed Brendan Gleeson's performance as Professor Moody. Voldemort's first physical appearance is what made the film for me; the film builds perfectly to a strong ending that really adds depth to Harry's character. Ralph Fiennes is terrific as the Dark Lord. Expand
  55. May 10, 2013
    10
    First of all the PG-13 is accurate, it is darkest and the scariest Harry Potter and his friends are now teens (romance alert) and there are defiantly so magical scenes with dark potion added to them, it is a fun yet entertaining ride that absolutely deserves a 10! Meant for teens
  56. Jun 28, 2013
    8
    Definitely one of the best Harry Potter movies. It's full of amazing set pieces, such as giant dragons and elaborate mazes, all of which seem alive and realistic. The acting, as usual, is very good. It is a very entertaining and easy to follow Harry Potter movie.
  57. Apr 14, 2013
    8
    I thought that this one's action scenes and climax were awesome compared to the previous one. I especially liked how Voldemort finally came into the picture again after his absence in the third film. If you are a fan of the first three, this one is simply a must see.
  58. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    Superb action! Amazing story! "Goblet of Fire" is for sure a great experience! If you watched the previous parts, you're gonna love this one too! My final score is 9/10, near perfect!
  59. Mar 24, 2013
    7
    This film would have been fantastic if they hadn't left out so much from the book.
  60. Sep 8, 2013
    8
    While (in my opinion) it at first felt like it wasn't going anywhere as far as telling a story relating to the purpose of the books, it starts to feel more and more engaging as far as storytelling goes up until the big point in the movie. Overall, truly eventually got better and better the further into this movie. Be sure check out my YouTube channel, "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies.
  61. Mar 15, 2014
    10
    At first I thought the movie was going to be lame. It started of with weak diolouge and then after 20 minutes in...I realized I was actually leaning forward in my seat with anticipation. This movie is awesome! I have to say the the Death Eaters, and the plot around them was awesome! The Dark Lord's raising a duel with Harry in the graveyard was stunning! This movie certainly had a creep factor at parts...which is great for the HP frachise! Expand
  62. Jun 14, 2013
    9
    Goblet of Fire is not the favorite Harry Potter movie but my impression on me, especially the script.

    One thing we can never deny the script Goblet of Fire is better, because we know that adapting a book of over 400 pages is not easy. The trail did not please me much (missed impacted) the effects are wonderful as the dragon is imagined Ralph (Voldemort) was the right choice for the
    villain, not denying that Voldemort makeup is beautiful .'s from that movie that things change, now no longer a child, evil takes over and the film begin to get darker and Mike managed to arrive at the right point of change Expand
  63. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire is visually stunning, dark and incredibly mature, with scary moments and romantic blooms, the PG-13 is accurate, and the story is thrilling, scary and dark, but still it is outstanding and awesome.
  64. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    While not completely like the source material, it still keeps the same feel of the book- the intensity, the action, the fantasy (everything you can expect from a Harry Potter film). The film gets darker but continues on with its great acting, amazing visuals, great music (while John Williams is sadly missed, Patrick Doyle really steps it up and does not disappoint), set design and direction. This film is another grand slam success in the Harry Potter series. Expand
  65. Oct 25, 2013
    6
    I find 'Goblet of Fire' luridly monotonous. Though effects are as great as they will be, I found that the films began to degrade significantly after this sequel.
  66. Dec 8, 2013
    9
    I loved this movie so much, I almost forgot that it was almost 3 hoirs long. This film will deliver you everything gou can expect from a Harry Potter plus better stuff that I never expected from an HP film.
  67. Nov 28, 2013
    7
    the goblet fire wasn't as good as the prisoner of azkaban but it was another great movie from the franchise,it finally have an dark touch wich will do great business up ahead.
  68. Oct 24, 2013
    8
    'The Goblet of Fire's intriguing plot makes it one of the more tense films of the franchise, however, like its predecessor, its story line is mostly unimportant.
  69. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    Harry Potter bewitches a four installment with impressive entertainment.
    The Goblet of Fire proves Harry is far from done, and that being a wizard really is all its cracked up to be.
  70. May 4, 2014
    8
    Harry is on a streak, because Goblet is a blast. The film runs on the long side but doesnt feel it because you get so invested in the story and characters. what a great time. keep it up Harry.
  71. Aug 12, 2014
    5
    Even though Voldermort's debut, this fourth installment is inferior to the previous one. The romances between the characters, even if they show the kids growing to teens, cover an irritatingly large part of the film. There are pretty amazing visuals, however, and some well-crafted screenwriting, that will keep fans mostly satisfied.
  72. Oct 18, 2014
    9
    Harry and friends are back in this fourth installment of the series when the stakes are risen as the Triwizard Tournament comes to Hogwarts and Harry is forced to compete in it.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. The best one yet.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    Last year's "The Prisoner of Azkaban" seemed dark, but this excellent fourth film derived from J.K. Rowling's books is the darkest "Potter" yet, intense enough to warrant a PG-13 rating.
  3. Reviewed by: Angie Errigo
    60
    Terrific effects and considerable charm, but, once again, you can't help wishing the filmmakers had been bolder with the adaptation.