User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 65
  2. Negative: 2 out of 65
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 16, 2014
    10
    Heartbreakers is a classic comedy with excellent acting from a talented cast. The movie has refreshing
    laughs and the movie doesn't drag or lose your interest for two hours.
  2. Oct 9, 2010
    9
    Heartbreakers surprised me. Being a huge Jennifer Love Hewitt fan it was inevitable that I'd get around to this movie eventually but it was one of the last one's starring her that I saw. When I sat down to watch it I was expecting it to be like most of her movies, fun if a little lacking, but from the moment Heartbreakers opened I was thoroughly entertained. It has a great story, theHeartbreakers surprised me. Being a huge Jennifer Love Hewitt fan it was inevitable that I'd get around to this movie eventually but it was one of the last one's starring her that I saw. When I sat down to watch it I was expecting it to be like most of her movies, fun if a little lacking, but from the moment Heartbreakers opened I was thoroughly entertained. It has a great story, the acting of all the main characters (especially Hewitt and Weaver) is remarkably good, and the jokes are genuinely funny. I've re-watched the move several times since and it's kept me equally entertained each time. So if a movie is incredibly entertaining, hits all the notes it wants to hit, and has great acting to boot, it must be the perfect movie right? Well in this case, nearly. Expand
  3. JayH
    Sep 13, 2009
    7
    What a delightful surprise, I wasn't sure what to expect, but this film had such charming twists and surprises. What was really amazing was how good Jennifer Love Hewitt was. Sigourney Weaver was expectedly fabulous. The scene of which one of them could get a guy to by her a drink first is a classic hysterically funny scene.
  4. HugoA.
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    I Love That Wonderfull Actress And Singer She Is So Pritty.
  5. michaelh.
    Oct 7, 2005
    7
    I just loved looking at jennifer love hewitt in all those short little dresses. couldn't take my eyes off her.
  6. AndrewM.
    May 31, 2004
    7
    I have said before that some folks seem to take certain movies way too seriously. This is a comedy, a coarse, mischievious, shady film that, while open to some criticism, should not be taken nor analysed too seriously. A question: While it may not be better than Dirty, Rotten Scoundrels, is it any more immoral or wrong, or worthy of strong criticism? I think not. It's a laughable I have said before that some folks seem to take certain movies way too seriously. This is a comedy, a coarse, mischievious, shady film that, while open to some criticism, should not be taken nor analysed too seriously. A question: While it may not be better than Dirty, Rotten Scoundrels, is it any more immoral or wrong, or worthy of strong criticism? I think not. It's a laughable film, but a very enjoyable one, with great performances all round. Ray Liotta is a standout, and Weaver, Hackman, Bancroft and Lee revel in their roles. Hewitt, I thought, was superb. Her acting was top notch in this film and what more can one say but...hubba hubba...hubba! Expand
  7. Benha*MenesesS.
    Jun 9, 2003
    6
    Even if this comedy uses some of the most common cliches ("There is just one man") and stereotypes applied to both men and women (the neediness of men to find someone to 'take care of' and the impediment of turning down an attractive female, the interest of women to 'be protected', and a long etc.) it has a strong message that redeems all the earlier. There is a Even if this comedy uses some of the most common cliches ("There is just one man") and stereotypes applied to both men and women (the neediness of men to find someone to 'take care of' and the impediment of turning down an attractive female, the interest of women to 'be protected', and a long etc.) it has a strong message that redeems all the earlier. There is a massive consciousness awakening that let us see through the actions of the characters. As well there's Jason Lee's character that without being a wimp he takes the risk that loving someone represents (all the characters assume that risk eventually) and victimizing himself. It's quite refreshing to see a character with integrity in a comedy that has 'romantic' tendencies in it. Even if classified as a comedy I found some scenes truly confronting and well acted (like when Mrs. Madress watches the repulsion that Tensy causes in Ulga). Gene Hackman and Ray Liotta are excellent in their respective parts. Expand
  8. DanJ.
    Oct 14, 2001
    10
    Hewitt is fantastic as the hot daughter and this movie brings out a right combination.
  9. TedB.
    Oct 9, 2001
    3
    A good cast can't overcome a tired script and poor direction. Weaver, Liotta, and Lee deserved better than this windbreaker.
  10. Harper
    Oct 2, 2001
    2
    Wallet-breaker!!
  11. TomT.
    Aug 20, 2001
    8
    An OK movie on the whole, however dull in some places. Hewitt saves the film with her role and it is a joy to watch her...A good film but probably one to watch when it comes out on video.
  12. AggieH.
    Jul 16, 2001
    10
    It was a great movie. I never stopped laughing throughout the entire movie. It was excellent!
  13. MattS.
    Jul 15, 2001
    8
    Top movie. One of the best this year. Ray Liotta kicked ass and so did the rest of the gang. A good watch and has a good feel to it.
  14. NickS.
    Apr 7, 2001
    4
    This film was barely entertaining. Ray Liotta saved this film. I was just waiting all the time for him to return to the screen. His performance as well as Hackman's were pure comedic genius. Sigourney was extremely dry and Jennifer Love overacted as usual. But it was nice to see her in a more grownup role. Or more specifically, showing more cleavage and just plain skin.
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 32
  2. Negative: 6 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Cody Clark
    40
    Folks who are desperate to ogle Hewitt and Weaver probably can't be warned off this turkey.
  2. 50
    A sporadically amusing romp modeled on "Dirty Rotten Scoundrels."
  3. To its credit, Heartbreakers lives up to expectations. Almost.