Universal Pictures | Release Date: July 11, 2008
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 323 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
234
Mixed:
61
Negative:
28
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
samc.Jul 20, 2008
Hellboy 2 was great. There were lots of cool action sequences, and some stunning (but sometimes bizarre) visuals. Hilarious at times and exciting at others, Hellboy 2 needs to be watched at least once. Plus, Selma Blair was pretty sexy in Hellboy 2 was great. There were lots of cool action sequences, and some stunning (but sometimes bizarre) visuals. Hilarious at times and exciting at others, Hellboy 2 needs to be watched at least once. Plus, Selma Blair was pretty sexy in her panties... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
johnwJul 20, 2008
Del Toro's great visuals and imagination makes it unforgettably entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NickK.Aug 20, 2008
Painful viewing experience. The first movie wasn't very good but much easier to take than number II. The ending of the movie is thrown in your face about half way through and then when it actually happens you're still expected to Painful viewing experience. The first movie wasn't very good but much easier to take than number II. The ending of the movie is thrown in your face about half way through and then when it actually happens you're still expected to be surprised by it. Hey, but the visual effects are great! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DanaM.Aug 3, 2008
I must admit I was quite disappointed in this movie having been a huge fan of the first movie. I thought the plot delved in silliness, especially the drinking sequence, and the German robot/agent. Sorry, this movie did nothing for me. I must admit I was quite disappointed in this movie having been a huge fan of the first movie. I thought the plot delved in silliness, especially the drinking sequence, and the German robot/agent. Sorry, this movie did nothing for me. HellBoy 3 here we come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TanyaMAug 5, 2008
Holy crap. What a flaming bag of dog doo. I thought this was supposed to be even mildly good. It ain't. So boring (effects included). And the comedic moments were absolutely painful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayH.Nov 5, 2008
As with all of Guillermo Del Toro's films, it is visually incredible, that alone makes the film worth watching. It has the touches of humor like the original. Amazing special effects but they take precedence over character development. As with all of Guillermo Del Toro's films, it is visually incredible, that alone makes the film worth watching. It has the touches of humor like the original. Amazing special effects but they take precedence over character development. It's glossier and more shallow than the original, but still an amazing film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TonyO.Dec 4, 2008
For me, one of the most enjoyable films of the year. Lots of laughs, lots of weird monsters, lots of fun. Admittedly there was a little laboured pseudo-moral angst about the harsh lot of well-meaning monsters that defend mankind against For me, one of the most enjoyable films of the year. Lots of laughs, lots of weird monsters, lots of fun. Admittedly there was a little laboured pseudo-moral angst about the harsh lot of well-meaning monsters that defend mankind against eldritch forces or whatever, (Shock! Horror! The plebs just don't care about the love life and well being of aforesaid monsters). Thankfully the soul searchingdoes not duplicate the whining of the last X-men movies. More Hellboy please. The franchise has Spiderman and Batman well and truly on the ropes, as far as I am concerned. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JessE.Jul 11, 2008
I enjoyed this movie so much I will be going back for a second viewing. Ron Perlman was once again charismatic and funny and the visuals and action set pieces were downright stunning. Everything is so good in this fun movie that is a must I enjoyed this movie so much I will be going back for a second viewing. Ron Perlman was once again charismatic and funny and the visuals and action set pieces were downright stunning. Everything is so good in this fun movie that is a must see for action film fans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TDKinDallasJul 10, 2008
Hard to choose which one (Iron Man, Hulk, Hellboy and no I did not forget any) is better so far this summer, but Hellboy is a don't miss! The special effects, action and "guillermagination" are plentiful and amazing. The only thing I Hard to choose which one (Iron Man, Hulk, Hellboy and no I did not forget any) is better so far this summer, but Hellboy is a don't miss! The special effects, action and "guillermagination" are plentiful and amazing. The only thing I could have asked for was more of it. I hope the director's cut is about 30 minutes or more longer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AndrewR.Jul 10, 2008
A good movie. Maybe not liking it as much as I might, Maybe because of the hype.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MichaelG.Jul 13, 2008
What a piece of crap! We walked out 40 minutes into the movie and actually demanded a refund from our theater. This is possibly the final reason to never go to a movie theater again. The makers of this film should be embarrassed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JacobK.Jul 13, 2008
I wanted to love this movie. Desperately I longed to embrace this as a movie I would forsake the Dark Knight to see. I am quietly relenting that sentiment. I adored the first Hellboy, however, this one seems to lack the personal touch that I wanted to love this movie. Desperately I longed to embrace this as a movie I would forsake the Dark Knight to see. I am quietly relenting that sentiment. I adored the first Hellboy, however, this one seems to lack the personal touch that had Hellboy confronting the nature of his own existence. Hellboy 2 seems content to act as an entertaining, though sadly forgettable tale to keep the crowds amused until Hellboy 3 can shake the mythos to it's core. that brings many good, even great things to the table. However, Hellboy 2 suffers from inappropriate characterization, and unnecessary scenes that hurt more than they help. The fight scenes are good, most of the dialog is fresh and endearing. A fine movie. I would place it above the Hulk, however it falls desperately short of Iron Man or (I'm guessing) The Dark Knight. Go in there with expectations too high, and you will inevitably leave dissatisfied. Go in there without a clue and you will be pleasantly surprised. either way this is a summer move that should not be missed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ConcreteTesterJul 13, 2008
Better then the first. Well made. The costumes and story worked together. Defiinitely worth seeing in the theater.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveGJul 14, 2008
It is precisely Del Toro's not taking this material too seriously that makes this film entertaining. It is like a comic book, both visually and in content. And that's fun. This is not the Godfather, nor is it even Pan's It is precisely Del Toro's not taking this material too seriously that makes this film entertaining. It is like a comic book, both visually and in content. And that's fun. This is not the Godfather, nor is it even Pan's Labyrinth, but the movie is fun to watch and a pleasant summer distraction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DonDJul 14, 2008
It should have been called (Hellboy...a love story). The love story built into the film does not work and that slows the pace of the film to a halt. Why does he love Liz(you only see them on screen when there is a fight or when they argue) It should have been called (Hellboy...a love story). The love story built into the film does not work and that slows the pace of the film to a halt. Why does he love Liz(you only see them on screen when there is a fight or when they argue) There is no heart in the love story. The film looks great, but it is all visual and little substance. The villain jumps around and talks about the Golden Army, but you know little about him except he can fight. The pace of the film is interesting. Can someone tell me why Liz hardly ever uses her powers...she is using a gun? Mmmmm...use your FLAME..the golden army is attacking...mmmmmm...use your FLAME.. This film would have been incredible if the director has put as much into the script and story as he had into the visuals...Hellboy is...well...a boy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnE.Jul 15, 2008
A fantastic film. Very satisfying, and does not try to be anything other than what it is. An action packed summer film with really cool special effects and creatures. Tired of all of you negetive people out there. You try making a movie then A fantastic film. Very satisfying, and does not try to be anything other than what it is. An action packed summer film with really cool special effects and creatures. Tired of all of you negetive people out there. You try making a movie then try to critise something like this Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewO.Jul 15, 2008
Great humor, awesome effects, amazing movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
HarlanK.Jul 16, 2008
I really have no respect for critics anymore. How they can give good ratings to a movie with horrifically bad plot and continually cringe inducing dialogue is beyond me. Aren't plot and dialogue essential elements to a good movie? Given I really have no respect for critics anymore. How they can give good ratings to a movie with horrifically bad plot and continually cringe inducing dialogue is beyond me. Aren't plot and dialogue essential elements to a good movie? Given some of the ratings this visually good looking but completely stupid and boring movie has recieved, I guess not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadSJul 17, 2008
I utterly cannot believe how many negative reviews there have been for this film. I don't know if people have come to expect every movie del toro comes out with to be oscar worthy or what, but Hellboy 2 does everything it should do I utterly cannot believe how many negative reviews there have been for this film. I don't know if people have come to expect every movie del toro comes out with to be oscar worthy or what, but Hellboy 2 does everything it should do right. First of all lets realize that this is a summer comic book movie. To re-emphasize that, it is a summer comic book movie. With that being said, i expected to laugh, see tons of action, and have great visual effects, Hellboy 2 delivers on all accounts. Sure the storyline is basically just dude wants to take over world and hellboy has to save them and del toro doesnt dive into horrendous amounts of back story to tell you why everything is happening, but seriously why would you want that from a summer comic book movie. Give me a break. The action is great, the comedy had the entire, and i repeat, entire audience laughing, and trust me the movie looked extremely good. Hellboy 2 is the best comic book movie i have seen by far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JohnT.Jul 17, 2008
This one had great visuals and fight sequences, but the story was absolutely painful to endure. Horrible acting mixed with a haphazard script leads to one that I hope you avoid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BarbaraA.Jul 18, 2008
The first movie set up such great expectations that just weren't totally fulfilled as is often the fate of sequels. Still Hellboy is great super hero in a not so great time, providing a good escape of everday life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RafaelL.Jul 18, 2008
In this movie we can see other kind of hero. He want to be a human like us and be accepted, he has to fight versus his ideas but also versus villains. Del Toro made axcellent movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TrajanLJul 21, 2008
It was an ok movie. a few too many story lines which slowed things down. and the comic relief wasn't particularly comical or necessary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MikeK.Jul 23, 2008
I love how the bad guy in the movie could and should have been easily killed off in the second scene of the movie. Far too many plot holes and boring storyline. My friends and I actually fell asleep for part of the movie. The only reason I love how the bad guy in the movie could and should have been easily killed off in the second scene of the movie. Far too many plot holes and boring storyline. My friends and I actually fell asleep for part of the movie. The only reason this actually doesn't get a 0 is the scene where they get drunk as that was funny. But the rest of the movie was just dull. I hope Del Toro doesn't do the same thing to the Hobbit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
boogerboyJul 24, 2008
Opening sequence is amazing. Really fun movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
G.D.Jul 26, 2008
Yeah, it was great to finally have Mike Mignola get the screen credit(s) he deserved, and as always, Guillermo Del Toro provides the most breathtaking visual effects (tho original response to the first 30 seconds of peeking at them in the Yeah, it was great to finally have Mike Mignola get the screen credit(s) he deserved, and as always, Guillermo Del Toro provides the most breathtaking visual effects (tho original response to the first 30 seconds of peeking at them in the trailer elicited a "hey, this looks like Pan's Labryinth" response from me)...it was waaaayyyy too predictable for anyone who's been paying attention (my sister's boyfriend treated us to opening day tix, tho he never saw the first "Hellboy", didn't seem to miss a thing), and when they introduce the German um, agent, his accent struck me as eerily similar to that of that weird goldfish in that asinine "American Dad" cartoon - lo and behold he was listed in the credits as voiced by flippin' Seth MacFarlane! Let's see, for some reason the Prince kept making me think of Tom Cruise (then when i found out it was Luke Goss, 1/2 of the 80's duo BROS, well...); the Princess was very Calista Flockhart with a movie accent; still am not convinced that Selma Blair was the best choice for Liz Sherman; they wasted the Genius of Jeffrey Tambor with a pretty much disposable part; don't even get me started on the Hellboy "kid" with his weak voice (the story goes as the discovered youngin', his vocal chords had to adapt from a growl, so his voice was much deeper in his youth!); and speaking of voices I know the credits claim Doug Jones is Abe Sapien in both films, but his voice sounds so much different in this one!...truly, there was loads of style in the sequel, but it lacked the more satisfying substance of the original movie. Already long story short, the final word is the "Golden Army" was released by the behemoth Universal, whilst the first "Hellboy" was a Revolution Studios (read: "independent") film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveF.Jul 8, 2008
Director Guillermo Del Toro makes Hellboy II a must-see movie with the heft of his epic, mythic vision. Furthermore, his direction and creativity are such that he turns what would have been a standard, wondrous fantasy world into one that Director Guillermo Del Toro makes Hellboy II a must-see movie with the heft of his epic, mythic vision. Furthermore, his direction and creativity are such that he turns what would have been a standard, wondrous fantasy world into one that seems everyday in nature, and thus more sublime. Best art direction and visual effects so far this year. The first Hellboy movie was cartoonish, and was fun and enjoyable mostly due to the curmudgeonly movie namesake. The sequel contains the same fun and some predictable and standard Hollywood shtick and humor, which is handled with class and persuasiveness. In the end, with what would normally have been a standard fantasy story, our star storyteller, Del Toro, sweeps the movie-goer into his mythic world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickBAug 15, 2008
Most satisfying surrealistic action fantasy movie I've ever seen, and noticeably better than the first Hellboy. I may have watched Dark Knight and thought, "here is a film which transcends its genre", but with Hellboy 2 I saw a film Most satisfying surrealistic action fantasy movie I've ever seen, and noticeably better than the first Hellboy. I may have watched Dark Knight and thought, "here is a film which transcends its genre", but with Hellboy 2 I saw a film that had mastered its own genre, and made it fun, as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VezarAug 17, 2008
Tsk, tsk! You can't recognize greatness when is front you, because you are so closed minded, this is one of the best fantasy movies ever, and a true work of art.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChrisKAug 22, 2008
Good visuals. Nearly everything else to do with the plot was contrived, and obvious. If you didn't see the ending coming within the first scene i'm sorry, you've failed miserably. There are just so many plot holes... if you Good visuals. Nearly everything else to do with the plot was contrived, and obvious. If you didn't see the ending coming within the first scene i'm sorry, you've failed miserably. There are just so many plot holes... if you sit back and think for one second it becomes a huge joke. Oh and the 'reason'... did she just swap one word and rip the Neo/Trinity speech at the end of The Matrix? The action is passable, but largely boring (and goes with the Underworld Evolution approach of 'aah, so they are immune to bullets.... what shall i do..... fire more bullets'... It's not even funny. Equallying Crystal Skull in sheer rubbishness. I nearly fell asleep a few times, and i almost left. You could only make this film worse by giving Lucas some control, and even then he'd only add some stupid small animals and some extra sound effects for no good reason at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful