Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Sep 19, 2012
    75
    I can imagine a broader comedy in which the situation might work. Remember Mrs. Robinson or Stifler's mom? But here there's a fugitive undercurrent of sincerity. Hello, I Must Be Going raises questions it doesn't have the answers for.
  2. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Sep 5, 2012
    83
    Working from a script by his wife, Sarah Koskoff, "High Fidelity" actor-turned-director Todd Louiso shapes the movie to Lynskey's rhythms.
  3. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Oct 18, 2012
    75
    The movie's sharp-tongued and softhearted, a Sundance kind of film that mostly sidesteps generic Sundanceyness.
  4. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Sep 6, 2012
    50
    Even though as a whole Hello I Must Be Going lets us down in the second half, the pleasure of watching Lynskey and Abbott never diminishes.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Sep 13, 2012
    75
    While it's too hastily and neatly resolved, Hello I Must Be Going is a funny, well-written, involving and emotionally honest tale.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Sep 7, 2012
    67
    Abbott has a compelling unpredictability, though, and in a couple of his scenes with Lynskey, you can spot the stirrings of a more complex film than the one we finally ended up with.
  7. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Sep 27, 2012
    67
    The film is worth seeing for the performances, but the drama is a nonstarter.
  8. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Sep 6, 2012
    60
    This is ultimately a tale of affirmation, self-acceptance and second chances, and its lessons, while not unwelcome, are a bit too forced and neatly packaged to make it fully satisfying.
  9. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Sep 20, 2012
    63
    There are times when the facile flimsiness of Hello I Must Be Going threatens to float right off the screen. But Lynskey has her ways of surprising us, even when nothing in the script itself is doing so.
  10. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Sep 1, 2012
    50
    A credibly drawn central character is trapped inside a half-cooked dramatic stew in Hello I Must Be Going.
  11. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Sep 20, 2012
    58
    The script's contrivances and the director's lax handling aren't enough to hold you.
  12. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Sep 1, 2012
    70
    If it's too subtle (and too similar to several other low-key indie romcoms) to make a big splash, it's got lovely performances and really builds strength as it goes along.
  13. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Sep 8, 2012
    60
    Writer Sarah Koskoff's nuanced script and director Todd Louiso's ("Love, Liza") delicate tone follow indie terrain, but go the right way.
  14. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Sep 5, 2012
    67
    The film plays like a strenuous tug of war between the inhuman machinery of a wildly misguided plot and the low-key humanism of Melanie Lynskey's warm yet unsentimental performance.
  15. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Sep 21, 2012
    63
    Hello I Must Be Going isn't heavy lifting, to be sure. But it's still worthy of a little end zone dance.
  16. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Sep 4, 2012
    40
    Lynskey has raised the quality of innumerable feature films (as a soft-spoken New Republic reporter in Shattered Glass; a housewife on the verge of a nervous breakdown in Away We Go-that film's sole saving grace). So it's a delight to see this stalwart character actor move to center stage, even when the result is so by-the-numbers.
  17. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Sep 5, 2012
    75
    Thanks to Melanie Lynskey's performance, the movie feels like a believably worked-out, sympathetically presented study in thirtysomething uncertainty.
  18. Reviewed by: Calvin Wilson
    Oct 19, 2012
    75
    At once an intriguing character study and a refreshingly offbeat romance.
  19. Reviewed by: James Rocchi
    Sep 1, 2012
    83
    Warm and funny, real and raw, Hello I Must Be Going deserves a hearty welcome from moviegoers looking for an honest and frank comedy that never forgets to help us care about its characters.
  20. Reviewed by: G. Allen Johnson
    Sep 20, 2012
    50
    The mind-numbingly predictable, but admittedly watchable Hello I Must Be Going needed less whine and more surprise.
  21. Reviewed by: Farran Smith Nehme
    Sep 7, 2012
    88
    There are some catches, including a breathy-voiced indie-rock soundtrack so bad you wonder if it's contributing to Amy's malaise. But overall, the comedy is a lovely showcase for Lynskey and the rest of the cast.
  22. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Sep 4, 2012
    60
    With a digital sheen exacerbating the aura of slightness, Hello vamps along in its low indie-rom-com key toward a climactic mother-daughter moment not nearly as harrowing as the one in Lynskey's 1994 debut, but moving nonetheless.
  23. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Sep 1, 2012
    40
    As a director, Louiso operates within a narrow emotional range; while not as bleak as "Love Liza," the film feels similarly monotonous and desperately needs more dramatic fluctuation.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    7
    I liked it cause I can relate to anybody who says when will I reach my Bottom.This movies real cause love does not always come from places you expect it to. Full Review »
  2. Sep 11, 2012
    6
    Lynskey is one of those actors who is so talented, so versatile, she essentially steals every scene she's in. She did it in Heavenly Creatures, she did it in 2 1/2 Men, and she does it here. The problem is that the writing isn't brilliant, and there's just not enough to it. She had a bad marriage, her parents have a bad marriage, and life sucks. The young love interest - the guy from HBO's "Girls" is sorely out of his league - they could have cast that role so much more succesfully. Full Review »