Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Former collegiate wrestler, Scott Voss, is a 42-year-old apathetic biology teacher in a failing high school. When cutbacks threaten to cancel the music program and lay off its teacher Scott begins to raise money by moonlighting as a mixed martial arts fighter. Everyone thinks Scott is crazy – most of all the school nurse, Bella – but in his quest, Scott gains something he never expected as he becomes a sensation that rallies the entire school. (Columbia Pictures (Sony)) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 26
  2. Negative: 5 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Oct 11, 2012
    63
    When the comedy connects, it can deliver with funny force
  2. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Oct 11, 2012
    60
    Like James in the ring, it doesn't pack a lot of power, but it comes out swinging and sweats for applause.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Oct 13, 2012
    50
    Here Comes the Boom is stale and vanilla. We know we're in trouble early when the first joke fails.
  4. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Oct 11, 2012
    42
    A cloddish, harmlessly drecky comedy from the Sandler factory of crude mush.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Oct 11, 2012
    40
    The film works hard at its inoffensiveness. Throughout, jokes are left on the table, setups never pay off in any significant way.
  6. Reviewed by: Inkoo Kang
    Oct 10, 2012
    40
    The first half hour of Here Comes the Boom is so good moviegoers might be fooled into expecting something better than an obvious wish fulfillment fantasy so patently implausible it's almost insulting.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Oct 11, 2012
    0
    As a comedy, the film aims low and manages to miss the mark entirely.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Jan 20, 2013
    10
    Its a really good movie, i recommend it for people of 7 to everyone.

    Its a funny movie i like the UFC theme, that makes it fun.

    Its a
    good movie in my opinion so 10. Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2012
    8
    The only comedy movie at the local theatre, so went in with low expectations. So, to my surprise, this was a really funny family, action, comedy movie that kept me engage from start to finish. Although the plot at times seemed to lack substance, it held through as the funny moments outweigh the bad ones. If you have enjoyed other films by Kevin James, then this one is no different. Expand
  3. Jun 11, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers. For me this movie has action and comedy. Though it's difficult to combine well this two kinds, this movie succeeds and the result is an entertaining film. Of course the end is the usual but it's entertaining all the time. I really liked Kevin James and Salma Hayek. Collapse
  4. Nov 4, 2012
    6
    Kevin James plays it safe with Here Comes the Boom, a movie that will remind you of Nacho Libre in many ways. Its a overall fun time at the movies, even if it is somewhat predictable. Expand
  5. Jul 22, 2013
    6
    Here Comes the Boom was an uplifting story. It expresses a powerful message to viewers. Kevin James was the right actor to play this role. He was good at showing off his passion for his school and his students. It wasn't the most amazing film, but I really enjoyed it. This is a great family film and I would recommend it. Expand
  6. Mar 1, 2013
    6
    If it doesn't focus too much on James' antics, 'Here Comes the Boom' is at times a surprising poignant tale of a teacher, trying to save his school from being bankrupt. While the premise seems ridiculous at first, the film actually took traction in the second half, with MMA fight sequences that were realistic. Sure the pacing drag at times, but it's an entertaining diversion. Expand
  7. Oct 23, 2012
    2
    It's not very funny and the fact that the big turning point of the "final battle" between Kevin James' character and the actual MMA fighter was a move that you regularly see in MMA today really is very disappointing. I personally didn't have high hopes for this movie in the first place, fully expecting it to be just a feel good movie. However the movie came off as too corny and just poorly done. Bas Rutten's character was probably the best part of the movie as his bubbly, craziness was on full display. I love Bas and, as a huge MMA fan, his presence really added something to what was otherwise a dead, lifeless cash grab. Even MMA fans won't like this movie. Save your cash and go something else. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews

Trailers