Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: December 23, 2005
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 258 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
170
Mixed:
18
Negative:
70
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
nonoMay 26, 2006
I watched this film with a native French speaker just to make sure the clues werent in the actual language. I watched it at Cinema Paradiso in Nothbridge Perth. What a let down. I love alternative films but they have to have something going I watched this film with a native French speaker just to make sure the clues werent in the actual language. I watched it at Cinema Paradiso in Nothbridge Perth. What a let down. I love alternative films but they have to have something going for them -this had nothing. Metallic acting,poot cinematography,cheap stunts to shock the audience. At the end of the film, the entire audience was asking each other "What was all that about". How can a film disappoint so many people and all at the same time? So sorry I wasted my time and Icant remeber a film I've ever had to say that about except "Atarnarjuat.Last of the Eskimo Runners" which was filmed entirely in the Arctic watching snow melt!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
hiddenisgreatJul 29, 2006
the washington post got it bang on. the movie ends perfectly, the final scene and it's 'revelation' (in the bottom left) are designed to provide potential answers and further questions. this works excellently as a film the washington post got it bang on. the movie ends perfectly, the final scene and it's 'revelation' (in the bottom left) are designed to provide potential answers and further questions. this works excellently as a film studying the domestic situation of the family being subjected to torment. it works best however as an allegory. brilliantly in fact. [***SPOILERS***] the movie ends after the real answer has been given - laurent's crime. by ending here haneke suggests that he wants france to confront it's past regarding algeria and admit and come to terms with it. if the movie had continued to reveal what you expect haneke to reveal it's intent would have been lost within standard mystery fare. the acting is also brilliant, and it is creepy and menacing at times. admittedly, to fully understand and appreciate the film i had to do a little research, but this doesn't detract from it at all. if i understood the france/algeria history prior to viewing the movie, i think i would have grasped it. if possible, read about this first before viewing. this is one of very few movies that i have been thinking about a lot since i watched it, this is definately a good thing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MaxL.Sep 17, 2006
Beware - This movie is just a fraud! There is No Drama, No Suspense, certainly No Thrill! Too bad it cannot be rated negatively I would give it a - 10. Let's create a new category "Wasted Time", then it would get the 1st prize! 2 hours Beware - This movie is just a fraud! There is No Drama, No Suspense, certainly No Thrill! Too bad it cannot be rated negatively I would give it a - 10. Let's create a new category "Wasted Time", then it would get the 1st prize! 2 hours wasted. Any critics and papers that gave a positive review should be taken to court for misleading the public! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CraigCNov 20, 2007
Unlike the movie, I'll be brief. It's a pretentious waste of time. I kept the DVD fast forward pressed through the interminable slow shots where nothing happens, and it STILL bored me. My condolences to those who suffered through Unlike the movie, I'll be brief. It's a pretentious waste of time. I kept the DVD fast forward pressed through the interminable slow shots where nothing happens, and it STILL bored me. My condolences to those who suffered through this in the theatre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BernardR.Feb 18, 2007
People who rated this movie lower than 5 are just too dumb to watch such superior movie. I like the comment from someone here about Jeniffer Aniston. Those people who didn't get this movie might rate Aniston's movies as EXCELLENT.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnO.Apr 15, 2007
It toys with you for hours, perhaps days after its conclusion. Fantastic stuff!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdPJul 24, 2007
I loved this movie. It keeps you thinking. You're on your toes the whole film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DustinCJul 26, 2007
why is my only question. why after spending 2 and a half hours of this drek would anyone try to convince anyone else to watch it. i was duped. i advice you not to listen to the so-called "critics on this one who rant and rave over its why is my only question. why after spending 2 and a half hours of this drek would anyone try to convince anyone else to watch it. i was duped. i advice you not to listen to the so-called "critics on this one who rant and rave over its meaningfulness. this is the only movie that when the credits started rolling i felt truly jipped. everything that made this movie interesting completely died and i was left feeling like 3 hours of my life had been literally stolen from me. shame on you, France. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JackBlackAug 17, 2007
The movie had a good point, but that was about it. I thought the acting was horrible. The responses to the video "threats" and the drawings was not realistic. I think that this movie could be remade into a 30 minute movie if you take out all The movie had a good point, but that was about it. I thought the acting was horrible. The responses to the video "threats" and the drawings was not realistic. I think that this movie could be remade into a 30 minute movie if you take out all the really drawn out parts of silence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EdRMay 25, 2008
It seems that anyone criticizing this film will be immediately dismissed as an idiot, or someone who only watches and/or understands Hollywood dreck, but this is just the same kind of dull snobbery that presumably leads to people claiming to It seems that anyone criticizing this film will be immediately dismissed as an idiot, or someone who only watches and/or understands Hollywood dreck, but this is just the same kind of dull snobbery that presumably leads to people claiming to like a film like 'Caché'. It's an abysmal film, a clearly signposted "mystery" in which a dull, unlikable character wanders around disinterestedly heading towards a silly, thudding conclusion. Haneke's attempts to imitate the graceful, leisurely pace of directors like Tarkovsky are merely flat and self-important, the film's ploddingly obvious plot of interest only to those betting on how long it will go on for. A psychological thriller with no thrills and no psychology, which expects us to care about tedious, underwritten characters and, in failing to portray them in anything but the most heavy-handed, uninteresting terms, criminally wastes Auteuil and Binoche, two of the most talented actors of the last twenty years. The allegorical story about the relationship between France and Algeria ostensibly provides some depth, but that does not mean that the film is any less of an interminable cop-out. On as objective a level as is possible - it's dire. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GeorgeKDec 21, 2005
Bogus, largely dull, silly "thriller". What the hell were they thinking? If you blink during the long slow dull final shot, you miss whatever "meaning" is supposedly there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelD.Dec 25, 2005
This movie is such a breath of fresh air. An intelligent political thriller that doesn't pull its punches. It's thrilling to watch Binoche and Auteuil. Wow!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JeffP.Nov 25, 2006
This had to be the dullest, most pretentious thriller I've ever seen. Great lead performances are smothered by the director's static, "penetrating" style, which basically consists of letting his camera run endlessly with almost This had to be the dullest, most pretentious thriller I've ever seen. Great lead performances are smothered by the director's static, "penetrating" style, which basically consists of letting his camera run endlessly with almost nothing going on. In scene after scene. And we never even learn who was leaving the tapes. What an absolute sham. I want the two hours of my life back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
Michael Haneke's "Cache" is absolutely flooring - in the long span of cinematic "mystery," it has been since the days of Hitchcock that a film has reveled so much in the very aura that its own genre demands.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
Andys_ReviewsAug 3, 2013
I found this one quite a compelling watch; albeit at a very slow pace. The way the drama is slowly drawn out is, I felt, quite hypnotic and it all added to the tension of the piece. All of the performances were excellent; particularly DanielI found this one quite a compelling watch; albeit at a very slow pace. The way the drama is slowly drawn out is, I felt, quite hypnotic and it all added to the tension of the piece. All of the performances were excellent; particularly Daniel Auteuil and Juliette Binoche; they portray the married couple who have hidden parts of their lives so perfectly. It’s all beautifully shot and gets over the essence of French life very well (I speak from experience here having stayed there with a family, albeit very briefly). Yes, I guess I have to tell those that fear the subtitle that, yet again, I have chosen a film with the dreaded words at the bottom of the screen. That aside, I did enjoy this one up to a point. There are many many good things going on but it’s one of those that ends quite abruptly. This caught me off my guard and, I’m afraid, it left me feeling slightly disappointed (hence the slightly lower score that I might have given). I guess it’s definitely one the critics will indeed do) love and one that many a cinephille will also get a lot out of.

SteelMonster’s verdict: RECOMMENDED

My score: 7.4/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jean-doNov 17, 2010
Beautiful film. Long, silent shots set a perfect tone and built the tension for the more shocking and passionate scenes. Best of 2005 and one of the best of the decade.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
killerfistyFeb 6, 2011
Emperor's new clothes. According to the other reviews here, this film was over 2 hours long. It felt like twice that. Pretentious, vacuous and pseudo-intellectual. If you don't care about the characters, then, by extension, you won't careEmperor's new clothes. According to the other reviews here, this film was over 2 hours long. It felt like twice that. Pretentious, vacuous and pseudo-intellectual. If you don't care about the characters, then, by extension, you won't care about whatever they are metaphors for. So what's the point? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
CineAlohaApr 7, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sort of a spoiler. At 10:09, while we are looking at a surveillance shot pf the house, we see a full camera shadow as the husband drives by in his car. Normally just a minor technical flaw, in the context of this movie, about "hidden" cameras watching the family, this really blows up the whole premise of the movie for me. And yes, it is the camera shadow. The first assistant left the dumb side follow focus knob on; you can see its shadow just below the matte box.

I don't think anyone has ever pointed this out before; I saw this flaw six years ago, and I'm claiming it now!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
EthancFeb 13, 2012
In all fairness, I ejected this film after the chicken slaughter scene. I know that was an integral and symbolic scene but the senseless torture of animals for a movie is unacceptable and I have no respect for a director who condones suchIn all fairness, I ejected this film after the chicken slaughter scene. I know that was an integral and symbolic scene but the senseless torture of animals for a movie is unacceptable and I have no respect for a director who condones such acts. I can't believe there isn't more uproar in the reviews about this particular. Also, the premise has a major flaw. If someone is stalking you with surveillance video and footage of familiar (childhood) locations and then leaving these tapes at your doorstep, why not set up a video camera yourself to see who is doing this? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Nesbitt10Jan 22, 2013
A perplexing and unsettling masterpiece where solving the mystery is not necessary, but can be, to acknowledge it's complexity and genius. So many things are "hidden" here-the identity of the videographer, his or her motives, and perhaps mostA perplexing and unsettling masterpiece where solving the mystery is not necessary, but can be, to acknowledge it's complexity and genius. So many things are "hidden" here-the identity of the videographer, his or her motives, and perhaps most disconcertingly, Georges' part in psychological thriller. As soon as this quietly terrifying film starts, the unease slowly begins to fester.
Georges (Daniel Auteuil), who hosts a TV literary review, receives packages containing videos of himself with his family shot secretly from his street, and alarming drawings whose meaning is obscure. He has no idea who may be sending them. Gradually, the footage on the tapes becomes more personal, suggesting that the sender has known Georges for some time. Georges feels a sense of menace hanging over him and his family but, as no direct threat has been made. As more tapes arrive containing images that are disturbingly intimate and increasingly personal, Georges launches in to an investigation of his own as to who is behind this. As he does so, secrets from his past are revealed, he continues to conceal this to his family as the walls of security he and Anne (Juliette Binoche) have built around themselves begin to crumble. Haneke's shot selection plays with us. He is meticulous about the way in which the videotapes are photographed, and he replicates their style repeatedly throughout the movie (long-range, unbroken shots made by a camera that is stationary). There are sequences where the audience is watching ordinary daily events, only to discover it's continuously shot footage of surveillance tapes. "Caché" interrogates the nature of reality by obliterating the borders between the movie and the videos within the movie. Michael Haneke doesn't play by traditional thriller rules, leaving audiences to work out whodunnit from a clue discreetly buried in the final shot. Even if you don't spot it, you'll come away satisfied. Haneke refuses to decode the scene's meaning: "About half the viewers see something and the other half don't, and it works both ways." He adds, invoking his protagonist's own mental journey, "We always fill the screen with our own experiences. Ultimately, what we see comes from inside us."
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Bob_LoblawMay 1, 2014
In my not so humble opinion, Cache is the greatest mystery/thriller film ever made, and the finest of the 21st Century along with There Will Be Blood.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MattBrady99Sep 3, 2015
Michael Haneke is a true genius when it comes to directing films and Caché (Hidden) is another one of he's brilliance.

The story to Caché (Hidden) is about Daniel Auteuil character George, who hosts a TV literary review. Then suddenly he
Michael Haneke is a true genius when it comes to directing films and Caché (Hidden) is another one of he's brilliance.

The story to Caché (Hidden) is about Daniel Auteuil character George, who hosts a TV literary review. Then suddenly he starts receiving packages containing videos of himself with his family--shot secretly from the street--and alarming drawings whose meaning is obscure. He has no idea who may be sending them. Gradually, the footage on the tapes becomes more personal, suggesting that the sender has known Georges for some time. Georges feels a sense of menace hanging over him and his family but, as no direct threat has been made, the police refuse to help.

Now I've seen many movies like this where it involves a person being stalked or being threaten by a known or unknown figure. Some of those movies normally have that realistic feel to it that the movie really needs if it wants to give the viewer interested and not feel fake. This can easily be pulled off if it's directed fantastically, as the director can build up the suspense and create a sense of realism to the films atmosphere to make it more effective. Some movies can pull it off successfully but some sadly don't. But Caché (Hidden) takes all the best elements that I just named off and put it into one movie that's truly flawless, because Caché is one of the best movies I've seen from 2005.

The only movie I've ever seen from Michael Haneke is the 2012 film ''Amour' that I saw back in early march this year. I haven't seen many of Michael Haneke movies yet, but I will get around to watching them as I feel I need to watch them in a special time when I'm not so busy. For what I've seen in Amour really showed me the talent and the brilliance that Michael had as I felt that every scene and every second of the movie matted, and it got me interest in he's other films right afterwards, and I'm so glad I picked Caché, because Michael Haneke directing in this movie was absolutely spectacular and probably the best directing I've seen in a while. The reason why I think the directing in this movie was so excellent is because while watching the movie I got that feeling of someone breathing down your neck kind of feel that only happens when everything is shot, acted, and directed excellently. Michael really injects the sense of anxiety and the feeling of being watched, and that was through the camera work and the directing. All throughout the movie I thought I was watching an Alfred Hitchcock movie, because this movie got the Hitchcock brilliance written all over it; you could say it's a modern day Hitchcock film that Alfred himself never directed. I'm so glad that Michael won best director at the 2005 Cannes Film Festival because he absolutely deserves it. Magnificent work Michael Haneke.

Daniel Auteuil and Juliette Binoche are both unknown actors to me as I haven't seen any movies that they stared in and this is basically my first time I get to see these two act, and let me just say that I was completely amazed by their performance in this movie. When I saw these two act in a scene together I didn't see two actors delivering lines to each other, I only saw a couple trying to deal with their issues and having a real conversation that troubled couples will have. Daniel Auteuil and Juliette Binoche sold they performance in this movie and they were brilliant.

Another thing that made this movie truly great is the writing as it was absolutely astonishing. The movie is about 117 minutes long and those 117 minutes you get to know and deeply understand the characters of the film. Michael Haneke wrote the movie and within a flash he gives away a lot on the character's just by the movement, the way their act, and how people speck made the characters and the environment that the movie is set in feel realistic. The writing made everything seem so down to earth and Michael Haneke wrote this movie brilliantly that he put his soul and heart into this work.

Caché (Hidden) dose stay true to it's title, what I mean is that the movie dose have it's hidden messages that I know a lot of viewers (Including me) may not catch on the first viewing. Yes it's one of those 'Need to watch more than once' kind of movie that I honestly don't mind re-watching, but some may not. After the movie was over I straight away re-watched it because I felt like I missed something and I was right, the things I missed on the first viewing really made the story and the movie itself even more fantastic, because the movie only gives little hints on things that relate to the characters past life and the movies theme. The movie can be analyzed by many ways possible, as people can make creative and challenging theories for this movie with the films hidden secrets that lies beneath. That's just the brilliance of what a movie can do and that's making you come back and learn more.

Now for the problems: I have none.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
choomtabi31May 16, 2016
I literally gasped and felt my heart race with real fear. I was entertained. A must watch.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-260136-Cache
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Al-BorzApr 7, 2016
فیلم پنهان ساخته میشائیل هانکه با فضایی تکان دهنده داستان یک خانواده را روایت می کند. مانند دیگر کارهای هانکه دوربین ثابت و نمادها حرف اصلی را در فیلم می زنند.فیلم پنهان ساخته میشائیل هانکه با فضایی تکان دهنده داستان یک خانواده را روایت می کند. مانند دیگر کارهای هانکه دوربین ثابت و نمادها حرف اصلی را در فیلم می زنند.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
pdw123Sep 19, 2016
Loved this film, simply loved it, although a couple of scenes are really bothersome, but that's reality...One of the themes of this film, the fact that we all have an impact on other people's lives around us whether we know it or not and onLoved this film, simply loved it, although a couple of scenes are really bothersome, but that's reality...One of the themes of this film, the fact that we all have an impact on other people's lives around us whether we know it or not and on our community, is a theme of social conscienceness which is severely lacking in America today...Everyone should watch this at least once and think about it, whether bothered by it or no!!! Great acting too, hats off, Juliette Binoche and the other actors here...and marvelous direction too, Michael Haneke! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews