Hidden

Hidden Image
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 251 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Georges (Auteuil), a television talk show host, and his wife Anne (Binoche), are living the perfect life of modern comfort and security. One day, their idyll is disrupted in the form of a mysterious videotape that appears on their doorstep. On it they are being filmed by a hidden cameraGeorges (Auteuil), a television talk show host, and his wife Anne (Binoche), are living the perfect life of modern comfort and security. One day, their idyll is disrupted in the form of a mysterious videotape that appears on their doorstep. On it they are being filmed by a hidden camera from across the street with no clues as to who shot it, or why. As more tapes arrive containing images that are disturbingly intimate and increasingly personal, Georges launches in to an investigation of his own as to who is behind this. As he does so, secrets from his past are revealed, and the walls of security he and Anne have built around themselves begin to crumble. (Sony Pictures Classics)
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    100
    This brilliantly disturbing movie is constructed with surgical precision. Haneke lets no one off the hook least of all the viewer.
  2. In this movie, Auteuil ("Jean de Florette") and Binoche ("Chocolat") are such marvelous actors, they can shift us in almost any emotional direction with a speech or a glance.
  3. Haneke echoes the theme of Hitchcock's "Rear Window": Moviemaking is basically an act of voyeurism. We secretly examine people's lives in every movie. But in this one, there is a hidden camera, a movie within the movie as it were, forcing us to observe a character along side a mysterious stranger.
  4. This is the most Hitchcockian of Haneke's films. A seemingly well-adjusted man in a well ordered universe is brought to the brink.
  5. Reviewed by: Deborah Young
    80
    A tightly plotted and paced thriller whose not-so-hidden agenda is to expose the bad conscience of the world's haves toward its have-nots, "Hidden" is one of Austrian helmer Michael Haneke's most watchable and pungent works.
  6. Wall Street Journal
    Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    80
    Demanding, quietly breathtaking film.
  7. In the important things, in all the ways that really count, Caché is a handsome fraud.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 125
  2. Negative: 45 out of 125
  1. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    Beautiful film. Long, silent shots set a perfect tone and built the tension for the more shocking and passionate scenes. Best of 2005 and oneBeautiful film. Long, silent shots set a perfect tone and built the tension for the more shocking and passionate scenes. Best of 2005 and one of the best of the decade. Collapse
  2. ClaudeC.
    Feb 22, 2006
    10
    This was , by far, one of the best films I have ever seen. It not only had me spellbound but it made me think for days to follow. It This was , by far, one of the best films I have ever seen. It not only had me spellbound but it made me think for days to follow. It isn't about who filmed or who didn't film the family's home but much more about the GUILT felt (or that SHOULD be felt) for the mistreatment of Algerians. The man felt guilt and whether or not this was ALL in his head, the guilt was real. I think Americans, overall, aren't intelligent enough to understand the racism in it or the sophistication it requires to "get" it! If you want a film you can understand then I suggest you see a Disney movie or watch the umpteens of bad sitcoms on today's television sets. But don't come in here and rate a movie for which you weren't armed/equipped to understand. But then again: typical American reaction and display of stupidity and foolishness. Expand
  3. May 16, 2016
    9
    I literally gasped and felt my heart race with real fear. I was entertained. A must watch.

    Watch it online for free:
    I literally gasped and felt my heart race with real fear. I was entertained. A must watch.

    Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-260136-Cache
    Expand
  4. MartinS.
    Aug 27, 2006
    7
    I found the story intriguing it was just the telling that I found incredibly dry. I never thought I'd say this but an American remake I found the story intriguing it was just the telling that I found incredibly dry. I never thought I'd say this but an American remake would probably be a much better movie. Expand
  5. MichaelG.
    Aug 9, 2007
    4
    The film is interesting and well done technically. That being said, I would go into it knowing that you will leave unsatisfied. When I The film is interesting and well done technically. That being said, I would go into it knowing that you will leave unsatisfied. When I realized that the movie wasn't going anywhere (about 1/3rd of the way in,) I kept giving it the benefit of the doubt. I think that was a a mistake. I wouldn't say it was overwhelmingly "creepy" like some critics. More: overwhelmingly frustrating. It gave me blue balls without even enticing me all that well. Expand
  6. DougM.
    Jun 29, 2006
    2
    Very slow paced film with characters that don't imbue any sympathy. Takes an intimate understanding of French history and the Angolian Very slow paced film with characters that don't imbue any sympathy. Takes an intimate understanding of French history and the Angolian conflict to draw any real meaning. Overall a boring assemblage of small sparks of interest/possibility that never really comes to fruition. You'll find yourself reading the dialogue more than paying attention to the characters. Expand
  7. shawn
    Dec 27, 2005
    0
    I simply cannot believe how many reviewers are liking this ridiculous waste of film. An unoriginal idea (David Lynch already did this) with I simply cannot believe how many reviewers are liking this ridiculous waste of film. An unoriginal idea (David Lynch already did this) with shots held far too long for no apparent reason. When Tarchovsky does it, it works. When Haneke does it, it's akward, almost clumsy. What I also do not understand is why no one seems at all bothered by the slaughter of an animal onscreen. Are we supposed to be impressed by this lame attempt to get under our skin? Slasher films ran their course some time ago. Perhaps someone should tell Europe that the 80's are over. And I don't even know where to begin with all the comments comparing this hack to Hitchcock. Cache reminded me far too much of a student film that needs about 100 minutes edited out of it. Expand

See all 125 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best Movies of the 21st Century (So Far)

    The Best Movies of the 21st Century (So Far) Image
    Published: February 11, 2016
    Check out our lists of the best (and worst) movies of the century so far, ranked by Metascore overall and in a variety of genres.
  2. Film Friday (12/11): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (12/11): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: December 11, 2015
    Get a quick update on the latest film news and watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at X-Men: Apocalypse, The BFG, The Legend of Tarzan, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon: Sword of Destiny, The Nice Guys, and much more.
  3. Lost in Translation: Second-Guessing the Academy's Foreign Language Picks

    Lost in Translation: Second-Guessing the Academy's Foreign Language Picks Image
    Published: April 16, 2010
    Oscar-winning foreign language film "The Secret in Their Eyes" arrives in American theaters this weekend. But it's not the best-reviewed foreign film of the past year, continuing the Academy's decade-long trend of selecting lesser titles. What films have they overlooked?
  4. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.