Lions Gate Films | Release Date: June 10, 2005
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 80 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
44
Mixed:
16
Negative:
20
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
RobusualsuspectMar 12, 2011
Un film angoissant et bien dans l'esprit du cinéma d'horreur francais, avec une cecile de france convanquante dans son role pourtant compliqué a jouer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JohnF.Nov 16, 2005
I have no idea who "Chad S" is, nor do I have any idea what the "Metacritic Advance Scout Team" entails. But I must ask... why are poorly written, xenophobic rants given a stamp of approval on this site? This cretin's profoundly idiotic I have no idea who "Chad S" is, nor do I have any idea what the "Metacritic Advance Scout Team" entails. But I must ask... why are poorly written, xenophobic rants given a stamp of approval on this site? This cretin's profoundly idiotic review (which housed some of the worst grammar in the history of the English language) not only misunderstood the film in question, but also managed to throw in some indescribably vulgar cultural elitism that couldn't possibly have been more wide of the mark. I like this site. But don't start bigging up meatheaded mouth breathers, lest your fanbase head for the tomato hills.... ANYWAY, this film is superb. The infamous plot twist IS a massive misjudgement, but when a director has spent the past eighty minutes thrilling you to the bone, forgiveness is all that it deserves. A cult classic in the making. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LukeLOct 25, 2005
No, the story wasn't all that great, but it kept me gritting my teeth and sitting on edge, which is a tribute to the camera work and editing. Brutal, but that is what a slasher film is suppose to be. Ending twist was so much better than No, the story wasn't all that great, but it kept me gritting my teeth and sitting on edge, which is a tribute to the camera work and editing. Brutal, but that is what a slasher film is suppose to be. Ending twist was so much better than what Hollywood ever puts out and that flashlight swaying back and forth - classic suspense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Toki_WartoothDec 26, 2010
Carries on the tradition of slasher films. Tons of violence and gore, but not ridiculous like the Saw series. The movie doesn't make too much sense until the end where you'll either be surprised by the ending and or get pissed because you'veCarries on the tradition of slasher films. Tons of violence and gore, but not ridiculous like the Saw series. The movie doesn't make too much sense until the end where you'll either be surprised by the ending and or get pissed because you've been over-analyzing the entire film looking for a reason why. I was in the surprised "that's unexpected" camp, because it's a horror film. When was the last time you saw a horror film with an epic story? It's good for what it is and I don't think it was every trying to be more than what it is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
wranghamDec 22, 2011
This film is an excellent shocker, which is more than I can say for most contemporary horror films.
The style in which its shot keeps the viewer on edge until the end and the soundtrack adds to the heightened feeling of terror Alexandre Aja
This film is an excellent shocker, which is more than I can say for most contemporary horror films.
The style in which its shot keeps the viewer on edge until the end and the soundtrack adds to the heightened feeling of terror Alexandre Aja has created another great modern slasher horror movie. Be warned this film is not for the faint hearted but a must see for any horror fan. Alexandre Aja is part of The Splat pack who all look up to and worship Tarantino so it is not surprising that the violence is so superbly gritty.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RobbyT.Oct 9, 2005
Honestly, High Tension is not a good movie... but I loved it! it is the definition of what a horror movie was supposed to be ten years ago. So get out your official Slasher handbook and let's run down the checklist. Weapons: axe, Honestly, High Tension is not a good movie... but I loved it! it is the definition of what a horror movie was supposed to be ten years ago. So get out your official Slasher handbook and let's run down the checklist. Weapons: axe, butcher knife, barbwire, shotgun, chainsaw, revolver, switchblade. Check. We'll obviously need a dark cornfield (must be easy to get lost in). Check. Cut the phone lines. The police should be of absolutely no help. Check and check. Stir in some nudity and extremely graphic violence (including, but not limited to, decapitation). Check. But wait... there must be a twist... one that has been used so much that the viewer almost might not be expecting it. Check. How about some creepy music? Muse's "New Born" fits so perfectly in this film that it is amazing it wasn't tailor made for it. Bottom line: if you want to see a horror movie that reminds you why you started watching horror movies in the first place... High Tension fits the bill. Although (ironically) the film is entirely in French. Wait! I almost forgot the most important part: Enough blood to flood New Orleans all over again... Check. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
zachattackJul 1, 2012
I was one of those people who loved the twist in the plot - I didn't see it coming. Give this movie a shot. Its not 'too' scary, just tense and gory.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
returntosender9Aug 28, 2013
The film had a decent budget and the effects were pretty good. It lost me about half way through, but picked up again for a nice ending. Not a bad movie overall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
horcrux2007Sep 15, 2014
"High Tension" is one of the better entries in the New French Extremity Movement. It's a very gory slasher film (it's one of the goriest mainstream films I've ever seen) with amazing cinematography and acting. I don't hate the ending as much"High Tension" is one of the better entries in the New French Extremity Movement. It's a very gory slasher film (it's one of the goriest mainstream films I've ever seen) with amazing cinematography and acting. I don't hate the ending as much as everyone else. There are some very subtle hints to how exactly the ending works, but they're not very obvious. You have to watch it again and pay attention to really get it. The biggest gripe I have with the film is that the dubbing is really bad. I suggest watching a subtitled version of the film if you can. If you can handle the extreme gore, I recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews