Columbia Pictures | Release Date: February 11, 2005
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 218 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
175
Mixed:
34
Negative:
9
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
cryhardhumorFeb 26, 2015
With any other lead Hitch would be just a slightly above average romantic comedy, but because of Will Smith's smooth and clever acting, Hitch is elevated from just another rom-com to a much more memorable and funny movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
NickS.Feb 21, 2005
Is this the ultimate date movie?? That's what most people I've talked to are saying. And that's exactly where this film delivers! There are no special effects, no crazy actions scenes, and no over-the-top romantic moments. Is this the ultimate date movie?? That's what most people I've talked to are saying. And that's exactly where this film delivers! There are no special effects, no crazy actions scenes, and no over-the-top romantic moments. It's a very real, relationship film with witty dialogue and captivating performances from Smith and the gang. It's perfect for a 2nd or 3rd date or anything after. Do not see it on a 1st date!! It'll make the end of the night way too awkward. If you want to have fun at the movies with a significant other, this is the movie to see. It could also substitue for Dating 101. And make sure you don't miss a hysterical cameo by Maulik Pancholy of 'Diwali' fame as Will Smith's doorman, Raoul. [Ed: Diwali...By all means! Great flick...] Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JaredC.Dec 4, 2007
Hitch is an amiable if rote romantic comedy that maximizes the charms of its quartet of leads. Unfortunately, the film mines most of its narrative ore from the tiresome notion that modern-day males are complete idiots, as mystified by the Hitch is an amiable if rote romantic comedy that maximizes the charms of its quartet of leads. Unfortunately, the film mines most of its narrative ore from the tiresome notion that modern-day males are complete idiots, as mystified by the female gender as a coyote is by the moon. Will Smith did a marvelous job as the Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JaredB.Jun 18, 2007
First of all, I'll just say that, except for the truly awful "Wild, Wild West," I have absolutely loved everything Will Smith has been in. "Hitch" was no exception. This was a refreshing, funny and sweet film. Will was perfectly cast as First of all, I'll just say that, except for the truly awful "Wild, Wild West," I have absolutely loved everything Will Smith has been in. "Hitch" was no exception. This was a refreshing, funny and sweet film. Will was perfectly cast as the "Date Doctor." Watching Kevin James totally screw everything up with Allegra was absolutely gut-bustingly funny. Eva Mendes is delightful as the woman who finally tames Hitch. Altogether a terrific movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
I keep going back to it--even after all this time. There's something about it that shines uncontrollably. I'm not sure if it's the performances or the story or a combination, but it certainly does work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleSep 3, 2015
Hitch was a film I expected to not like, but at the end of the day, I really had a lot of fun with this one. A funny and charming buddy comedy, Hitch features a great comedic duo in Will Smith and Kevin James that really carry this one.Hitch was a film I expected to not like, but at the end of the day, I really had a lot of fun with this one. A funny and charming buddy comedy, Hitch features a great comedic duo in Will Smith and Kevin James that really carry this one. Smith's charisma was a perfect match for James' awkwardness. The film was also really well written for a comedy and the jokes were, largely, smart instead of low brow, which I greatly appreciated. The main sin committed by this one is the classic love story element here where an unexpected guy manages to land the gorgeous girl that is way out of his league. In addition, much of the conflict arises from easily explainable situations that just get blown out of proportion. Without these, the film would be better, but also likely wouldn't exist, so I cannot complain too much. Overall, Hitch is a fun film that is light entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
UntoldAv3nGerJul 10, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hitch is a nice "romance" movie. Will Smith is the perfect matchmaker, doing amazing acting the whole time. Allegra, the hooked-upped women didn't really seem too "good" for her boyfriend (her boyfriend is being aided by Smith). Smith's girlfriend turns out to be totally unlikable in the end. Why did Smith ever try to get her back? She ruined his career and didn't even care. The plot was overall pretty solid. How can the Ellis Island scene get any more awkward? Good movie, but it wasn't very funny and I was expecting it to be. 7/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EvancharlesJan 15, 2014
It's as slick and smooth as a mainstream film comes nowadays. Very enjoyable yet ultimately predictable. Will smith delivers the charm and humor in a surprisingly original fashion while Mendez and James offer up solid supporting performances.It's as slick and smooth as a mainstream film comes nowadays. Very enjoyable yet ultimately predictable. Will smith delivers the charm and humor in a surprisingly original fashion while Mendez and James offer up solid supporting performances. What separates itself from many other feel good romcoms is that it stays true to its theme and also makes you think. If you like will smith or feel good movies that will entertain you and rattle your emotions throughout, then you'll enjoy this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ydnar4Feb 2, 2015
Hitch is a romantic comedy that can kind of appeal to both sexes. Will Smith is obviously a big box office draw and males generally enjoy his work and Kevin James is known for King of Queens and other really funny projects. Both areHitch is a romantic comedy that can kind of appeal to both sexes. Will Smith is obviously a big box office draw and males generally enjoy his work and Kevin James is known for King of Queens and other really funny projects. Both are heartwarming performers that you can get behind despite any flaws that they could have. It may be laced with cliché but its still an entertaining. It would have been nice to see Smith and James working together in a comedy film late on their career and sadly 10 years later there is still nothing, but I'll wait. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews