Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: December 16, 2005
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 120 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
76
Mixed:
25
Negative:
19
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
PAMADec 7, 2016
Wow... some people take life way too seriously. This movie had great voice acting and every scene was hilarious with its 'behind-the-scenes' look at Red Riding Hood. So many great lines, so many funny characters, and a little twist at the endWow... some people take life way too seriously. This movie had great voice acting and every scene was hilarious with its 'behind-the-scenes' look at Red Riding Hood. So many great lines, so many funny characters, and a little twist at the end that will leave you shaking your head and saying 'I should have seen that coming... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FreedomFightersNov 3, 2016
"Hoodwinked" might not look amazing (seriously, the animation is not good at all), but it's a surprisingly solid animated film: it's witty, it's funny, it has some pretty great characters, and overall, it's a lot of fun. It may not be for"Hoodwinked" might not look amazing (seriously, the animation is not good at all), but it's a surprisingly solid animated film: it's witty, it's funny, it has some pretty great characters, and overall, it's a lot of fun. It may not be for everyone, and the poor quality of the animation might put more than a few people off, but it's certainly an enjoyable film for people of all ages. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Tiber5Oct 4, 2016
Wow... some people take life way too seriously. This movie had great voice acting and every scene was hilarious with its 'behind-the-scenes' look at Red Riding Hood. So many great lines, so many funny characters, and a little twist at the endWow... some people take life way too seriously. This movie had great voice acting and every scene was hilarious with its 'behind-the-scenes' look at Red Riding Hood. So many great lines, so many funny characters, and a little twist at the end that will leave you shaking your head and saying 'I should have seen that coming... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SimpsonFansAug 4, 2016
Wow... some people take life way too seriously. This movie had great voice acting and every scene was hilarious with its 'behind-the-scenes' look at Red Riding Hood. So many great lines, so many funny characters, and a little twist at the endWow... some people take life way too seriously. This movie had great voice acting and every scene was hilarious with its 'behind-the-scenes' look at Red Riding Hood. So many great lines, so many funny characters, and a little twist at the end that will leave you shaking your head and saying 'I should have seen that coming... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MordoReviewerMay 22, 2016
Even if the animation is poor, the script is hilarious! The jokes, the characters, the references. Its not a Shrek, but its a good fairy tale parody. The rest is just Ok, the soundtrack, the voices, its decent. But the best of the movie areEven if the animation is poor, the script is hilarious! The jokes, the characters, the references. Its not a Shrek, but its a good fairy tale parody. The rest is just Ok, the soundtrack, the voices, its decent. But the best of the movie are the story and the script
A good choice to have some fun.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AuldWolfSep 16, 2015
Any journalist who'd put a very enjoyable, clever, charming, and warm film down simply for poor fidelity and animation quality ought to be stoned on the spot. This is an attitude that's common amongst the blogging trash that review videoAny journalist who'd put a very enjoyable, clever, charming, and warm film down simply for poor fidelity and animation quality ought to be stoned on the spot. This is an attitude that's common amongst the blogging trash that review video games, it has no place with the movie going critic. It's just bad critiquing. It's like saying that every film that's been created with substandard equipment is bad.

Hoodwinked is a lovely movie. I recommend it, unless you're possessed of an intellect so small you need the shiniest shinies to keep your miniscule attention-span and empty mind stimulated.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
DanBurritoSep 10, 2015
For the love of god, stop comparing it to Shrek! Reaching the quality of Shrek isn't easy you know. It's like comparing "Monsters vs. Aliens" to "Monsters inc". I enjoyed this movie overall. The animation isn't very good but the story isFor the love of god, stop comparing it to Shrek! Reaching the quality of Shrek isn't easy you know. It's like comparing "Monsters vs. Aliens" to "Monsters inc". I enjoyed this movie overall. The animation isn't very good but the story is pretty solid and the characters are funny (especially the wolf). Watch it for what it is people! It's a good fun, flick. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
SixtyforceJan 11, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do admit that the movie does have abysmal animation on the wood-cutter character and just... NO!!! And there are some really embarrassing moments in the movie in which... spoiler alert. No seriously, spoiler alert. Granny is doing extreme sports to a rap song... urgh. BUUUUUUT there are some genuinely funny moments in the film with the character dialogue and with the squirrel's fixation on coffee during the movies ending scenes. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
f3l1p3Oct 10, 2014
Deu a Louca na Chapeuzinho é uma animação marcante, com vários pontos excelentes. Ele é outro filme que marcou minha infância, porque ele é muito divertido.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysMay 26, 2014
You can do much better when it comes to animated movies than Hoodwinked, but this Disney-esque kid movie goes beyond the normal formula to produce a more original film than most, and has some great actors and actresses to voice the characters.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
RikiegeJan 12, 2013
Very entertaining. You will be surprised.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
grandpajoe6191Dec 26, 2011
It ain't sensational, but "Hoodwinked!" is one wacky helluva interpretation of lil' Red Riding Hood and the gang.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
8
heyitsmegrif4Dec 23, 2011
It's smart, with wit, a whole lot of humor, heart, mystery, and great action. I think critics should give it more credit even if it doesn't hit the levels of Shrek which failed after two movies. I give this movie 78%.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
ZilcellNov 27, 2011
Hoodwinked is underated. Despite a few plot holes, there is a lot of charm from this film. It has some of the same ideas as Shrek but executes them in a different way. The jokes are funny as well.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
CRLAug 27, 2011
Wow... some people take life way too seriously. This movie had great voice acting and every scene was hilarious with its 'behind-the-scenes' look at Red Riding Hood. So many great lines, so many funny characters, and a little twist at theWow... some people take life way too seriously. This movie had great voice acting and every scene was hilarious with its 'behind-the-scenes' look at Red Riding Hood. So many great lines, so many funny characters, and a little twist at the end that will leave you shaking your head and saying 'I should have seen that coming...' Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
jordyboyMay 6, 2011
wow this is funny i love this movie i could watch this a million times
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
RogerSmith97Apr 19, 2011
A Great Childrens Movie For All Ages!!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Oct 22, 2010
this is definitely an awesome CGI hit.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
JaimyV.Jul 4, 2008
Without pixar's animation quality (mind you this is sort of an indie CG animation!) the only things you can rely on is: good plot, good songs, good voice actors and great jokes. Hoodwinked doesn't succeed summa cum laude, but it Without pixar's animation quality (mind you this is sort of an indie CG animation!) the only things you can rely on is: good plot, good songs, good voice actors and great jokes. Hoodwinked doesn't succeed summa cum laude, but it doesn''t fail either. Now, every once in a while a joke will misfire, true, but Hoodwinked! has loads an loads of jokes. There are enough funnies to go around with. Like in most cases of CG entertainment, the hero- in this case heroine, Red, is the most boring of all. Anne Hathaway does a great job in voice acting. But she's the girl-scout. That can't be interesting. Unless she's played by Tim Curry (öowilderness guwls, see loaded weapon 1 if you still haven't figured that one out). She finds herself surrounded by great characters. Wolf (a great Fletch parody for which Patrick Warbuten is perfect, perhaps only outclassed by mr. Chevy C himself! Boingo - I won't go into this much. Triple G Granny (a reference to Vin Diesels XXX), Nicky Flippers, The Woodsman (who sells schnitzel on a stick to kids), Japheth, a singing hillbilly goat (Japheth is by far the most brilliant creation for this film). Twitchy a squirrel with ADHD. The incompetent keystone PIGS (get the pun?). The movie plays on the fact that we got Little Red Ridinghood all wrong, and this is her real story. This twist is nice and original, but it can't carry a tune over an odd 80 minutes. The real twist is to play the plot like rashomon (Kurosawa, 1950). All the important Little Red Ridinghood characters are suspects and they are being interrogated. This is by far the most distinguishable thing from the movie. This sets this movie aside and above from all other mediocre tries to CG enterainment. It creates an opportunity to have the stories intertwine and interact. Which the creators have done perfectlty and only during the last interrogation all things fall together (if you have been paying enough attention to every detail -even the minor details -hence the term "detail") The jokes are funny, though I agree some may misfire, and maybe, they rely on too many injokes. A lot of jokes aimed at all-ages or us adults too! I love this movie. If you can see through the mediocre animation, you'll see the great characters and smart plot and storytelling. Although the animation style with the fairy tale style, so I didn;t think it was annoying. Besides, the characters, the rashomon style and the jokes distracted me from the animation. Overall an above average movie that could have been great. Now, it's "only"a whole lotta fun! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SheriAJan 7, 2007
In our house, we have two ratings for kids films: worth buying on DVD, and not worth buying on DVD. Hoodwinked is definitely worth buying on DVD. It's a movie you can watch over and over and still find new things that make you laugh. In our house, we have two ratings for kids films: worth buying on DVD, and not worth buying on DVD. Hoodwinked is definitely worth buying on DVD. It's a movie you can watch over and over and still find new things that make you laugh. The wolf and Twitchy the squirrel are a riot. (The DVD extras with them are also great.) We're looking forward to Hoodwinked 2. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
8
JeffM.Sep 21, 2006
I really expected to hate this movie, since it looked like it desperately wanted to be clever and painfully smart-alecky, but my kids and I both enjoyed very much.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BenH.Jun 13, 2006
i work at a movie theater and am part time screen writer at UCF. I was originally going to go see tristen and isolde but it was sold out and all the other movies looked horrible, so my friend convinced me to see this one, and i said i was i work at a movie theater and am part time screen writer at UCF. I was originally going to go see tristen and isolde but it was sold out and all the other movies looked horrible, so my friend convinced me to see this one, and i said i was leaving if i didnt like it. i stayed through the entire thing and got a good luagh out of it too. it was a great comical twist and adaptation of all the characters. and as for the guy at the very bottom, i could take a crap in a bag and put a jingle to it and it would be a better movie then the corpses bride. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
DavidM.May 18, 2006
Nay sayers say what you want. I dropped $20 to buy the DVD of the movie, something rarely done.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
8
NatMay 18, 2006
This is a great movie! I don't know why this is getting such bad reviews. I usually don't like movies like this one, but it actually has smart and funny plots and lines.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PeteMay 5, 2006
Can't believe so many people are panning this film for poor animation. Looks pretty awesome to me, especially compared to some of the kids cartoons out today. The movie has some incredibly laugh out loud scenes as well. I think the Can't believe so many people are panning this film for poor animation. Looks pretty awesome to me, especially compared to some of the kids cartoons out today. The movie has some incredibly laugh out loud scenes as well. I think the success at the box office and rental store says it all. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
SeanM.May 2, 2006
Ok it may not be the best animated movie ever, but it is def worth a watch. The animation itself was a little lacking but it was still a step forward, not back. You just need to sit back and enjoy this movie and put your mind into a younger Ok it may not be the best animated movie ever, but it is def worth a watch. The animation itself was a little lacking but it was still a step forward, not back. You just need to sit back and enjoy this movie and put your mind into a younger mind set. Too bad some of you have grown up Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ThomasFeb 10, 2006
Innocuous and amusing, this certainly fits the bill for harmless film fare. Those viewers incapable of overlooking animation that isn't groundbreaking (ah, you jaded souls...you ADD sufferers ought not see this, but instead stay home Innocuous and amusing, this certainly fits the bill for harmless film fare. Those viewers incapable of overlooking animation that isn't groundbreaking (ah, you jaded souls...you ADD sufferers ought not see this, but instead stay home and pop Ritalin like candy) would be well-advised to stay home. Those looking for humorous, diversionary, inoffensive entertainment---perhaps a bit fluffy, but it's animated---will find this much to their liking. "Brokeback Mountain" this ain't. That's a bloody good thing, too. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JakeH.Feb 2, 2006
It was hilarious I laughed my head off especially twitchy the hyper active squirrel. People are just saying that cause they have no child side or sense of humor.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
8
B.W.Jan 25, 2006
I thought this movie was great, it was funny and witty, yea it didnt have the greatest animation, so what, does that make a great movie, no. I was entertained and had a good time. This isnt shrek 3 nor is it trying to be, and thats a good I thought this movie was great, it was funny and witty, yea it didnt have the greatest animation, so what, does that make a great movie, no. I was entertained and had a good time. This isnt shrek 3 nor is it trying to be, and thats a good thing. Expect to be entertained and to have a good time and you will. Expect to be overawed by amazing cgi and you wont. Expect a typical animated show, and thats what youll get. It sounds to me like those critics who didnt like it, couldnt have a good time if they wanted to, heck they watch movies for a living, how can you expect them to be entertained, thats not why there watching these movies. It was great, ill see it agian and recommend to my friends. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TonyM.Jan 24, 2006
Boy are there some dumb comments about this movie, and clearly a lot of critics made up their mind in advance. Yes, it is low budget animation--so what? And no, Shrek did not invent the idea of parody. If you can get over those two notions Boy are there some dumb comments about this movie, and clearly a lot of critics made up their mind in advance. Yes, it is low budget animation--so what? And no, Shrek did not invent the idea of parody. If you can get over those two notions you'll find a pretty funny movie. My wife and I laughed as much as our kids (10 and 7). Forget the animation snobs and just go--you'll enjoy it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
PaddyO.Jan 17, 2006
This is a better movie than most of the reviews would have you think, and much more entertaining and funny (for both kids and adults) than Disney's latest, Chicken Little. My six year old loved it (as did most of the other kids in the This is a better movie than most of the reviews would have you think, and much more entertaining and funny (for both kids and adults) than Disney's latest, Chicken Little. My six year old loved it (as did most of the other kids in the theater, judging from their laughter) and keeps asking when the DVD is coming out. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
E.GarciaJan 16, 2006
We loved it. My kids, my wife and I laughed throughout the movie. The story was clever and there were no annoying characters. The animation was weak at best but the story, the voices and the fact that it was short kept my families attention. We loved it. My kids, my wife and I laughed throughout the movie. The story was clever and there were no annoying characters. The animation was weak at best but the story, the voices and the fact that it was short kept my families attention. The kids were already asking about the DVD release. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
JasonE.Jan 16, 2006
Good grief, some people really need to lighten up. Maybe it helped that I was with my friends and it was late at night, but we laughed almost the whole time. Well, not the beginning. The beginning sucked, in fact we were about ready to walk Good grief, some people really need to lighten up. Maybe it helped that I was with my friends and it was late at night, but we laughed almost the whole time. Well, not the beginning. The beginning sucked, in fact we were about ready to walk out, but as soon as the wolf and the squirrel showed up it was excellent from there. Note: do not try and enjoy this movie by its animation quality or sophisticated storyline. It has neither. It's just funny. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful