Hoodwinked!

Hoodwinked! Image
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 112 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 29
  2. Negative: 7 out of 29
  1. The result is a wacked kiddie Rashomon in which the different versions dovetail with a logic as impeccable as it is flat-out buggy. So who do we root for? Everyone and no one. Hoodwinked's most radical feature is that it's a ride without heroes.
  2. 67
    There's no getting around the fact that it all looks like a cutscene from a kiddie video game. It's a great showreel. Now someone give these folks a real budget so they can make a movie that looks as good as it sounds.
  3. Hoodwinked may be a poor cousin to the Shrek franchise, but this made-on-the-cheap computer-animated feature still has more style and snarky gags than Disney's recent CG hit, "Chicken Little."
  4. 50
    Like an early Woody Allen film or a classic Marx brothers feature, more of Hoodwinked's gags flop than hit, but they come at such a steady rate, you hardly notice.
  5. 40
    Sluggishly paced and stiffly animated, Hoodwinked pulls out all the stops to keep its attention-deficient audience occupied, but the snowboarding, skiing, hang-gliding, and kung fu sequences will still be a lot more fun in the Hoodwinked video game.
  6. The film's voice talent is good, as are the characterizations. However, the film's computer animation leaves much to be desired.
  7. Hoodwinked is a computer-animated, "Shrek"-style satire of "Little Red Riding Hood" that offers a few laughs but overall is pretty tired.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 46
  2. Negative: 8 out of 46
  1. Sep 16, 2015
    10
    Any journalist who'd put a very enjoyable, clever, charming, and warm film down simply for poor fidelity and animation quality ought to beAny journalist who'd put a very enjoyable, clever, charming, and warm film down simply for poor fidelity and animation quality ought to be stoned on the spot. This is an attitude that's common amongst the blogging trash that review video games, it has no place with the movie going critic. It's just bad critiquing. It's like saying that every film that's been created with substandard equipment is bad.

    Hoodwinked is a lovely movie. I recommend it, unless you're possessed of an intellect so small you need the shiniest shinies to keep your miniscule attention-span and empty mind stimulated.
    Expand
  2. BenH.
    Jun 13, 2006
    10
    i work at a movie theater and am part time screen writer at UCF. I was originally going to go see tristen and isolde but it was sold out and i work at a movie theater and am part time screen writer at UCF. I was originally going to go see tristen and isolde but it was sold out and all the other movies looked horrible, so my friend convinced me to see this one, and i said i was leaving if i didnt like it. i stayed through the entire thing and got a good luagh out of it too. it was a great comical twist and adaptation of all the characters. and as for the guy at the very bottom, i could take a crap in a bag and put a jingle to it and it would be a better movie then the corpses bride. Expand
  3. JasonE.
    Jan 16, 2006
    9
    Good grief, some people really need to lighten up. Maybe it helped that I was with my friends and it was late at night, but we laughed almost Good grief, some people really need to lighten up. Maybe it helped that I was with my friends and it was late at night, but we laughed almost the whole time. Well, not the beginning. The beginning sucked, in fact we were about ready to walk out, but as soon as the wolf and the squirrel showed up it was excellent from there. Note: do not try and enjoy this movie by its animation quality or sophisticated storyline. It has neither. It's just funny. Expand
  4. B.W.
    Jan 25, 2006
    8
    I thought this movie was great, it was funny and witty, yea it didnt have the greatest animation, so what, does that make a great movie, no. I thought this movie was great, it was funny and witty, yea it didnt have the greatest animation, so what, does that make a great movie, no. I was entertained and had a good time. This isnt shrek 3 nor is it trying to be, and thats a good thing. Expect to be entertained and to have a good time and you will. Expect to be overawed by amazing cgi and you wont. Expect a typical animated show, and thats what youll get. It sounds to me like those critics who didnt like it, couldnt have a good time if they wanted to, heck they watch movies for a living, how can you expect them to be entertained, thats not why there watching these movies. It was great, ill see it agian and recommend to my friends. Expand
  5. Jan 12, 2013
    7
    Very entertaining. You will be surprised.
  6. Jul 15, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. All in all, this movie was nothing special. There were a couple funny parts in it, but the thing that dragged it down the most is the animation itself. It is so rough it distracts you from the movie itself. For example, when Red was in the cable car filled with dynamite and she got herself loose, there was a moment when she turned around to face the camera. It looked super cheesy. It was almost as if she was on a moving pedestal that rotated her around in a glitchy mess instead of her moving her feet. Expand
  7. SeanD.
    Jan 14, 2006
    0
    Wow, this movie is terrible. It seems tired, old, very used and drawn out. I was hoping for something as clever as many of the other animated Wow, this movie is terrible. It seems tired, old, very used and drawn out. I was hoping for something as clever as many of the other animated movie that have come out in the past several years, however, this does not come close. This movie isn't even enjoyable for little children, makes little sense. The only good part about this movie is it was very short, otherwise I would've walked out. Expand

See all 46 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2011 Spring Movie Scorecard

    2011 Spring Movie Scorecard Image
    Published: May 9, 2011
    With the spring movie season officially over, we highlight the best and worst films of early 2011, and evaluate box office performance for the year so far.
  2. 12 Films to See in September

    12 Films to See in September Image
    Published: August 30, 2016
    Our editors select the month's most promising releases, including a Blair Witch revival and new films from Clint Eastwood, Andrea Arnold, Oliver Stone, Ron Howard, and more.
  3. The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best

    The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best  Image
    Published: August 27, 2016
    We rank this summer's highest-grossing films by Metascore.
  4. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  5. Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Kenneth Lonergan's Manchester by the Sea, Damien Chazelle’s La La Land, Adam Wingard's Blair Witch, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.