Columbia Pictures | Release Date: August 8, 2012
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 94 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
47
Mixed:
35
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
Meth-dudeJun 25, 2016
The movie is painfully unfunny, boring, predictable and unoriginal. Apart from the acting performances by Tommy Lee Jones, Meryl Streep and Steve Carrell, the movie is a total disaster.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
sammieteeApr 25, 2013
I was incredibly uncomfortable watching this movie. It didn't have any funny moments and it just made me feel very weird. I don't want to watch a mediocre movie about unhappy people. It's not a fun movie to watch and there are many otherI was incredibly uncomfortable watching this movie. It didn't have any funny moments and it just made me feel very weird. I don't want to watch a mediocre movie about unhappy people. It's not a fun movie to watch and there are many other movies about unhappy couples which are much better. Not worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
lancekozDec 15, 2012
If my relationship was as bad as the one pictured, this film may be of benefit, or at least parts of it might be considered a bit therapeutic. But as a mainstream entertainment vehicle, it is not profound enough to be gripping and it isn'tIf my relationship was as bad as the one pictured, this film may be of benefit, or at least parts of it might be considered a bit therapeutic. But as a mainstream entertainment vehicle, it is not profound enough to be gripping and it isn't entertaining in any other way. And casting the excellent Steve Carell as a therapist mislead me, and who knows how many others, into thinking of this as at least a sometimes humorous Hollywood look into marriage, which it is not. That may be a fault of my expectations but also should be a concern of those who market the film. As a non-comedy, the music is too overpowering and inappropriate, the scenery too pretty, and the cliched actions of the husband too broadly cruel and inexplicable for any of it to have real gravity. Then, suddenly, there is repair and a cheerful ending, a disservice to the real work needed in saving a marriage this badly derailed. There is a nugget for a tough, revelatory film about the common marital issue it tries to portray... but Hollywood is possibly too timid to make it. In any case, if you are looking for a light evening's entertainment, this IS NOT IT. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
birdwriterSep 20, 2012
Terrible movie. Save your money. I was wishing I had a fast forward button on my seat so I could get through the boring parts, which was most of the movie.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
chosethemovieSep 8, 2012
The most awkward movie ever..... If you aren't at least 60 wanting a cheap alternative to couple's therapy I recommend steering clear from this one! However, the movie is great for those that wish to start a diet as one scene in particular isThe most awkward movie ever..... If you aren't at least 60 wanting a cheap alternative to couple's therapy I recommend steering clear from this one! However, the movie is great for those that wish to start a diet as one scene in particular is sure to leave you with deep mental scaring. How this movie was green-lit I'll never know! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
2
BobdeaAug 31, 2012
Just because "Hope Springs" has well known stars with historically big box office draw does not a good movie make. Merrill Streep is OK in her part but Tommy Lee Jones is bad for this movie. Just like Clint Eastwood in "Bridges" he is totallyJust because "Hope Springs" has well known stars with historically big box office draw does not a good movie make. Merrill Streep is OK in her part but Tommy Lee Jones is bad for this movie. Just like Clint Eastwood in "Bridges" he is totally miscast. He (and Clint) has one persona and a whipped salaryman is not it. Then the dialog- it is slow and over the top sexual, making everyone in the theater squirm and occasionally issue nervous giggles. Not recommended by me. Bridges had some redeeming qualities and I watched it several times over the years but this is "hopelessly broken springs".
Bob
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
1
CaniacAug 19, 2012
This movie was horrible!!!. NOT FUNNY AT ALL!!! I am not young and I was grossed out watching Tommy Lee and Meryl Streep make out and talk about their sex life. Thank God we only payed $6 to watch this disaster of a movie.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews