User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 334 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 334

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 26, 2011
    2
    The perfect adjective for Horrible Bosses is right there in the title. Horrible Bosses is an abysmal attempt at eliciting laughs out of disturbing and disgusting situations. Bosses has a decent cast with Kevin Spacey, Colin Farrell and Jennifer Aniston playing the bosses. All three give decent performances considering the material they are given (Spacey even makes a joke about a grandmothers nickname pass as funny despite the fact its awful. I mean you feel bad for laughing not because of how mean Spacey is but because you feel as though you just degraded yourself.) Its the trio of actors who try and pass as the sympathetic yet weird underlings who plan to have their bosses murdered Strangers on a Train style who let the side down (if the script hadn't already done that). Jason Sudeikis brings nothing to the table despite his extensive comedy work on Saturday Night Live, Jason Bateman just plays the same old regular everyman character that he does in just about everything (Where is State of Play Jason, I liked that guy). Finally Charlie Day, as funny as he is on Its Always Sunny In Philadelphia seems to shout his lines in hope that loud noises will be interpreted by the audience as amusing instead of just plain annoying. Its a film that grates constantly because it never gets the dark comedy tone right because its too busy relying upon Hangover style jokes involving pubic hair and nymphomania (not necessarily in that order) Expand
  2. Jul 23, 2011
    1
    If you have any semblance of a brain or intelligence or a tuned sense of humor skip this film. Its tres' weak and just like so not funny. Bad. Pedestrian. #fail.
  3. Jul 11, 2011
    2
    I liked the cast, I liked the premise, the only problem was they forgot the funny. I can literally count on my fingers the number of times I heard even a chuckle come from the relatively packed theater.
  4. Aug 23, 2011
    0
    I'm with YOU, Brendan, I went to see it last night, I thought IT was going to be very funny.....I was looking forward to see what kind of "vengeance" They were going to execute on their bosses..maybe it WAS...just a Little...my friend and I found it to be extremely crude and crass...we left the theater after not even an hour into the movie. We are not prudes !!!!
  5. Oct 22, 2011
    2
    How this movie has a better overall user score than Drive is mind-boggling to me. Clearly these are very different types of movies, but after seeing drive in the theaters last night I decided to rent Horrible Bosses. After 30 minutes we stopped watching this steaming pile. Nothing was humorous, the entire thing was painful. Apparantly I'm in the minority, but this movie sucks.
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    An ugly little movie. Assuming that production of this movie started with only a story outline, otherwise why would Bateman, Ferrell, Anniston, and Spacey get involved with a script that read like the movie I saw. Seems like actors asked to improvise in quite a few spots: and they improvised none too well. I have liked some movies of this genre, but this one is poorly executed. Ferrell l I have really enjoyed in other roles: but shouldn't he have entirely eliminated his Irish accent for this role? [No set-up for having it, e.g., adopted from Irish orphanage.] I am surprised by high critic ratings on this one. Collapse
  7. Oct 6, 2011
    4
    Horrible bosses isn't that horrible, but it tragically failed as a comedy, because, this 'comedy', isn't funny at all. Just skip this movie, and save your hour and a half of your life on doing something. Do the dishes
  8. Apr 17, 2012
    2
    Some funny moments. For the most part a piece of fluff that is so over the top that there is nothing believeable in this film. You'd get more laughs watching a few Three Stooges shorts. The three male leads are engaging but just plain stupid. Kevin Spacey is the standout and even his performance is just a little over the top and had this been a serious dramatic piece people would have been talking about Spacey in the Best Acting Supporting category. Anniston is pathetic. She proves she too can attend the Kirtsen Wig school of acting. That being how to enlighten the public with just how vulgar women have become. Come on Jenn you're better than this type of crap. Expand
  9. May 17, 2013
    0
    Too many talkings, bra, bra, bra, boring.
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    Jul 22, 2011
    40
    These bosses cannot justify either murder or lasting comic memories, fatally compromising a farce that could have been great but ends up merely mediocre.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jul 11, 2011
    75
    For something like Horrible Bosses to sparkle, the actors have to shine... and shine they do.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jul 8, 2011
    33
    The coarseness wouldn't be so bad if at least the steady stream of obscenities were funny.