Rogue Pictures | Release Date: April 20, 2007
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 686 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
630
Mixed:
40
Negative:
16
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
GaetanS.Apr 21, 2007
I had a great time. I didn't like it as much as Shaun, but then again, I'm a zombie film addict. Fuzz is funny and you'll be surprised by the quality of the action scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WayneAug 10, 2007
The way they parodied themselves with reworking of jokes from "Shaun of the dead" is pure genius. Maybe more suited to UK sense of humour than USA but I'm sure most of the jokes carry across. BTW England isn't really like this film The way they parodied themselves with reworking of jokes from "Shaun of the dead" is pure genius. Maybe more suited to UK sense of humour than USA but I'm sure most of the jokes carry across. BTW England isn't really like this film LOL, well most of it isn't ;) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CarolynM.Apr 23, 2007
Started out hilariously, in that dry English way, but deteriorated into a highly graphic and violent shoot-'em-up which--even though a satire--left our Virginia audience (1 week after Virginia Tech) stunned.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JamesApr 20, 2007
Smart. just when you think it's fallen into the conventions it parodies, the film reveals a joke 20 minutes in the making. That level of investmet is too rare these days and much appreciated in this one. It also gets better the more you Smart. just when you think it's fallen into the conventions it parodies, the film reveals a joke 20 minutes in the making. That level of investmet is too rare these days and much appreciated in this one. It also gets better the more you think about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CarrieJ.Apr 27, 2007
Great movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CcwApr 29, 2007
Very funny, good, jokes, and hilarious action, a little slow at the start.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JacobS.Apr 30, 2007
I don't give out 10s lightly, but this film deserved. I literally could not stop laughing. I completely forgot about the popcorn I bought, and nearly busted a rib laughing. However, the 8 of us who went were pretty much the only ones I don't give out 10s lightly, but this film deserved. I literally could not stop laughing. I completely forgot about the popcorn I bought, and nearly busted a rib laughing. However, the 8 of us who went were pretty much the only ones making any noise, but we made a lot of it. I intend to watch this movie at least two more times in theatres, and will buy the DVD in an instant. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JohnT.Apr 30, 2007
It was not funny at any time during the movie. This should be classified as a manual boring body ache.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
10
EthicsE.May 6, 2007
This movie is brilliant, when my buds and I came out of it we all agreed it evoked the same feeling as Shawn of the dead. I would say this movie is perfect and henceforth deserves the rating 10 out of 10.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ThomasH.May 7, 2007
Enjoyed shawn of the dead so much is was just great seeing most of the cast again in another strange and humorous farce.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RirenJun 15, 2007
Nowhere as creative a response to cop movies as Shaun of the Dead was to zombie movies, Hot Fuzz is still pretty funny. It could have survived shaving twenty minutes off, and there's a good deal of worthless and even annoying antagonism Nowhere as creative a response to cop movies as Shaun of the Dead was to zombie movies, Hot Fuzz is still pretty funny. It could have survived shaving twenty minutes off, and there's a good deal of worthless and even annoying antagonism and uncomfortability that doesn't need to be there and doesn't entertain, but the remaining film is quite amusing, with a familiar chemistry between the two lead cops and an irreverent spirit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StacyB.Aug 20, 2007
Wonderfully funny. I loved it. Not quite as good as Shaun but still enjoyable. Lots of wit!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewC.Apr 17, 2007
Ridiculously entertaining - the most fun I've had at the movies in what seems like years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PhilipH.Apr 21, 2007
Very funny movie. But, not the kick ass movie advertised. In the end, the Fuzz never got that hot. As a matter of fact, they were real pushovers. My skinny nephew Larry could have put up more of a fight.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JefframoneApr 21, 2007
Freakin' HILARIOUS! It pokes fun at how brainless and idiotic American action movies are without being brainless and idiotic itself. It's smart, it's quick (editing, not running time) and best of all funny as hell. I noticed Freakin' HILARIOUS! It pokes fun at how brainless and idiotic American action movies are without being brainless and idiotic itself. It's smart, it's quick (editing, not running time) and best of all funny as hell. I noticed that the only "bad" review it got was from "The Hollywood Reporter", which said "All the action is staged with energy, but it gets relentless without anything really funny going on." Nothing funny going on? Either this person did not even see this movie or he fell asleep. Or, and this is my guess, he is such stupid and numbed by what passes for a good movie by American standards, he didn't get that they were being spoofed. This movie is a great time. See it NOW! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarkG.Apr 21, 2007
Everything about the movie is awsome! Far better than Shaun of the Dead (another great movie)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NK.Apr 20, 2007
Amazing. just go and see it. you will not regret it. much much better than shaun of the dead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattA.Apr 22, 2007
Loved it. My favorite movie of all time is Shaun of the Dead, and this lived up to my expectations. Edgar Wright does such a great job blending comedy and violence in his films. One of most talented directors of our age. Simon and Nick pull Loved it. My favorite movie of all time is Shaun of the Dead, and this lived up to my expectations. Edgar Wright does such a great job blending comedy and violence in his films. One of most talented directors of our age. Simon and Nick pull off the parts effortlessly. Great. a solid A. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnK.Apr 22, 2007
Probably the best comedy of the year. So spot on; there's not a better parody of action films out there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GregA.Apr 22, 2007
It almost got 4 if it were not for a couple of genuinely funny moments....yes call me someone "shallow" who can't appreciate a good comedy if it slapped me in the face - but I really didn't find it that funny. Sorry!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RyencokeApr 24, 2007
Did I see the same movie as everyone else? This movie was not funny. It's nothing like Shaun of the Dead, and is really a very boring movie until the last 30 minutes. When I got out of the theater I had the worst head-ache from watching Did I see the same movie as everyone else? This movie was not funny. It's nothing like Shaun of the Dead, and is really a very boring movie until the last 30 minutes. When I got out of the theater I had the worst head-ache from watching this movie. I've never gotten a head-ache from watching a movie, reason being they change the camera angle every..3 seconds? maybe 2? If you're expecting Shaun of the Dead don't go. If you have very high expectations like I did. Don't go. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
DWillyApr 29, 2007
What a toad of a movie. Not really that awful, but I just got so tired of feeling obligated to find this funny because it's made by British people with above average I.Q.s I had to walk. There's certainly no real acting (even What a toad of a movie. Not really that awful, but I just got so tired of feeling obligated to find this funny because it's made by British people with above average I.Q.s I had to walk. There's certainly no real acting (even though they got lots of successful Brit character actors to drop by for a goof), there's no compelling characters and...oh, yeah... IT'S NOT FUNNY. Expand
1 of 11 users found this helpful
8
MattApr 20, 2007
Dear USA Today. Monty Python's Flying Circus is almost 40 years old. Please get the f*** over it. Comparing it with Hot Fuzz is somewhat like comparing South Park to Sergeant Bilko. BTW Hot Fuzz is a great movie. Not as good as Shaun Of Dear USA Today. Monty Python's Flying Circus is almost 40 years old. Please get the f*** over it. Comparing it with Hot Fuzz is somewhat like comparing South Park to Sergeant Bilko. BTW Hot Fuzz is a great movie. Not as good as Shaun Of The Dead but still worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonS.May 14, 2007
This is the best movie I have seen in a long time. The movie starts out with blantely hilarious stuff. Then you movie to the crime mystery part. Then you top it all off with the 45min of over the top action. This one of the best action I This is the best movie I have seen in a long time. The movie starts out with blantely hilarious stuff. Then you movie to the crime mystery part. Then you top it all off with the 45min of over the top action. This one of the best action I have watched. For those who did not like it why don Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeG.May 21, 2007
The funniest movie of the year by far, British comedy has never been better! It is slightly boring in the middle, however the ending action sequence balances it out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BillyS.May 2, 2007
Hot Fuzz is Simon Pegg and Edgar Wright's take on all those big budget action/buddy films in the same way they did zombie pics in Shawn of the Dead. It's very well done with a lot of good British actors and Pegg and Nick Frost Hot Fuzz is Simon Pegg and Edgar Wright's take on all those big budget action/buddy films in the same way they did zombie pics in Shawn of the Dead. It's very well done with a lot of good British actors and Pegg and Nick Frost prove to be the next great comedy team in movies today, but because action/adventure is my least favorite genre I just didn't laugh as much as I thoght I would. There are some very funny scenes and Frost gets most of the great lines but after Shawn Of the Dead I was just a little disappointed that it didn't require astronaut diapers to watch it. (But that doesn't mean I can't wait for whatever they team up to do next). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DwightT.May 2, 2007
Good Lord. Reading the low reviews by the people who never get anything is infuriating. This movie delivers if you have a brain. Enjoy!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanS.May 2, 2007
Though the twitch editing combined with the loud wooshing sound effects became tiresome after a while, the film is genuinely funny, and the action scene during the final push was hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanP.May 23, 2007
Smashing! This movie blew me away because it was both funny and action-packed. Sure, "Shaun" was great too, but this was another step for British film-making.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ElliotP.May 20, 2007
You have to be able to appreciate English (i.e. sick Monty Python) humor to enjoy this movie.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
3
RichB.May 3, 2007
Loud and over-rated.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
2
RobD.May 5, 2007
I am big fan of Shaun of the Dead and Simon Peg in general, but this lacked hugely for me. Ended up leaving before the end and simply couldnt understand why this film is so critically acclaimed - a massive dissapointment.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
10
BeckyS.May 5, 2007
Even Better than expected, kept me laughing from beginning to end
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatrickC.May 7, 2007
The funniest Comedy of the whole year. Following Shaun of the dead, gave me mixed feelings about this film. Shaun was very good but this film is much better. The film is one movie you must run to the theaters to see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattH.May 9, 2007
Whilst not capturing the success (crictially) of Shaun of the Dead, I believe the boys have done it again with a funny police comedy. Not hitting the heights of Shaun, this still has an intriging story and engaging characters. If Shaun was Whilst not capturing the success (crictially) of Shaun of the Dead, I believe the boys have done it again with a funny police comedy. Not hitting the heights of Shaun, this still has an intriging story and engaging characters. If Shaun was all about Simon Pegg, this is Nick Frosts's movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WilliamB.Jun 21, 2007
While not as good as Shaun of the Dead, of course what is, this was a blast although a bit slow at first.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
KrisS.Jun 26, 2007
Went in with high expectations because I really enjoyed Shaun of the Dead. Came out quite disappointed. It wasn't funny, wasn't witty, and the action sequence to end the movie was absurd.
0 of 5 users found this helpful
4
WayneD.Jun 30, 2007
This is humor? What is funny about visual scenes of a man impaled through the mouth, or of a half dozen young people killed and their bodies hidden in a castle crypt? This would rank with showing the beheading of David Pearl as a comedy.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
8
AlexG.Jul 2, 2007
This is a sophisticated and an authentic parody. The duo made it again, but with class and knowledge.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricaPJul 30, 2007
I know it may be outrageous to say this, but I have to admit I enjoyed this movie a great deal more than I liked Shaun of the Dead. I found myself laughing till I hurt, 'aww'ing in all the right places, and leaving the movie with a I know it may be outrageous to say this, but I have to admit I enjoyed this movie a great deal more than I liked Shaun of the Dead. I found myself laughing till I hurt, 'aww'ing in all the right places, and leaving the movie with a great feeling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MartinS.Jul 9, 2007
Mildly amusing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RayS.Aug 19, 2007
This is a parody of action/buddy cop movies, along with references to other genres. It was consistently amusing, with a lot of dry British humor. Those giving the flick a low score just don't like parodies. Yes, the ending is over the This is a parody of action/buddy cop movies, along with references to other genres. It was consistently amusing, with a lot of dry British humor. Those giving the flick a low score just don't like parodies. Yes, the ending is over the top, but in a good way! Shaun of the Dead was a different parody, and the filmakers did not want to repeat themselves. With all the sequels out there it is refreshing to get an original film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Sanderv.Aug 6, 2007
Brilliant. Just brilliant. I told my wife about this film and she asked what kinda movie it was. Well, eh... it's a comedy, and a drama, and a thriller, a little bit of horor, a buddy movie, a cop spoof, an action flick and so on. Best Brilliant. Just brilliant. I told my wife about this film and she asked what kinda movie it was. Well, eh... it's a comedy, and a drama, and a thriller, a little bit of horor, a buddy movie, a cop spoof, an action flick and so on. Best thing released this year (at least). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaveFAug 6, 2007
Hilariously over-the-top, but also subtle and inventive. I was expecting a (real) British Austin Powers, but got something brilliant. Definitely one-ups Shawn of the Dead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimBJun 30, 2008
Hot Fuzz will ruin the buddy-cop genre for you, and you'll love it for it. While it's not an amazing action film or an outstanding comedy of its own right, the way it blends the two into both an homage and a satire is brilliant. Hot Fuzz will ruin the buddy-cop genre for you, and you'll love it for it. While it's not an amazing action film or an outstanding comedy of its own right, the way it blends the two into both an homage and a satire is brilliant. Its characters, plot, setting, and style (especially its use of absurdly fast cuts, a la The Bourne series) all say "Isn't this awesome?" and "Isn't this stupid?" at once, and it's right about both. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful
10
maxjFeb 11, 2009
Very funny and full of silly and fun action and an impressive storyline makes me want to watch it over and over again.
12 of 12 users found this helpful
10
JamieC.Mar 9, 2009
This movie is cleverly written with great comedy and a unique plotline. Like no other movie out there. I've watched it several times and it gets better and better...
5 of 6 users found this helpful
10
BobBApr 18, 2007
I live in the uk so i saw this movie back in february. Its' absolutely brilliant. so much fun. i wish there were more movies like this. it works on two levels. a hilarious comedy, and a killer action film. it's not a spoof like mostI live in the uk so i saw this movie back in february. Its' absolutely brilliant. so much fun. i wish there were more movies like this. it works on two levels. a hilarious comedy, and a killer action film. it's not a spoof like most movies are but a tribute to awesome actin movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilM.Apr 21, 2007
I thought it was hard to top shaun of the dead, but this movie managed to top it in so many ways, this movie had so much more and the parodies were just classics. Definitely go and see this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Apr 21, 2007
This was a most enjoyable film to watch; everyone in the audience had a great time as evidenced by their constant laughter. This isn't Talladega Nights or Dumb and Dumber. The comedy in Hot Fuzz is subtle and subversive. The play on the This was a most enjoyable film to watch; everyone in the audience had a great time as evidenced by their constant laughter. This isn't Talladega Nights or Dumb and Dumber. The comedy in Hot Fuzz is subtle and subversive. The play on the buddy-cop genre is masterfully executed. The masterful editing the crisp and innovative directorial style give the film a slick look and sometimes gleefully frenzied pacing. For those looking for smart in their funny, this is the comedy movie to watch this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnMorrisonApr 21, 2007
Starts out slow and gets faster and faster. The latter half is screamingly funny. Saw it here in Washington, DC with a whole bunch of Americans. As a middle aged Brit, who was a cop in the 80s close to where this was supposed to be set, IStarts out slow and gets faster and faster. The latter half is screamingly funny. Saw it here in Washington, DC with a whole bunch of Americans. As a middle aged Brit, who was a cop in the 80s close to where this was supposed to be set, I didn't think this would translate. But it does. In large part because the movie isn't a parochial UK comedy, its a play on action movie stereotypes of the last 20 years. Great fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
theLexApr 21, 2007
Smashing! I loved it! It makes my want to shoot my gun and yell "bang" "bang" each time I fire it! See the film. You'll totally get what I'm saying! I cannot recomend this film more! Go see it, and be prepared to laugh your head Smashing! I loved it! It makes my want to shoot my gun and yell "bang" "bang" each time I fire it! See the film. You'll totally get what I'm saying! I cannot recomend this film more! Go see it, and be prepared to laugh your head off! Cheers! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CiaranG.Apr 21, 2007
As the movie progresses, it gets better and better (and crazier).
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MikeD.Apr 21, 2007
Great movie. Very funny and original. I liked Shaun of the Dead better but both actors are great in these roles. Not the same characters as in Shaun of the Dead but hilarious nonetheless. Well worth the price of admission.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexanderN.Apr 21, 2007
Best movie ever. If you haven't seen it yet, you need to. right now. Seriously stop reading this and go to the theater.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ECApr 21, 2007
Not quite as good as Shaun of the Dead, but still worth seeing. I haven't seen anybody spoof action flicks this well since Loaded Weapon 1, and that was 14 years ago.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MatthewM.Apr 22, 2007
I just really have to agree with the metacritic rating and other peoples thoughts on this movie. [Ed: you mean disagree?] Nine times out of ten I've thought that the metascore and the user vote were pretty dead on, with this film I just really have to agree with the metacritic rating and other peoples thoughts on this movie. [Ed: you mean disagree?] Nine times out of ten I've thought that the metascore and the user vote were pretty dead on, with this film however I just have to disagree. I saw this film during my trip to New Zealand and I was just very disappointed. The jokes didn't really hit half the time. The never ending action near the end of the film just bored me about half way through. I thought, "Ohhhh I get what they're trying to do here, making fun of movies like Bad Boys. Cute." Past that point I was just tired of it. The plot was just LAME. The ending was just plain bad. Again, I understand that they were making a farce of a genre, but you have to make that farce funny or at least interesting. It was only kinda funny and just completely uninteresting by the last 45 minutes of the movie. On top of that, if you have flashing light induced siezures do NOT see this movie. I felt like a camera bulb was flashing in my eyes through about have the movie. The editing was just BAD. I mean, I understand doing that flash during the scenes where the officer is booking people and taking their pictures with the numbers, but they did it for EVERY little thing. It really just gets to you. So in the end, it had moments that were funny, but overall I just can't recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RoadRangerApr 22, 2007
Great premeise, pretty good actors but I fell asleep a couple of times during the movie. I enjoy British comedy but on the laugh meter this movie was mediocre for the amount of laughs it produced.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AideenM.Apr 22, 2007
About time the Brits made another comedy in the tradition of Ealing Studios and the Terry-Thomas and Carry On movies of the 1960s.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JasonP.Apr 23, 2007
This movie was a big disappointment. I loved Shaun of the Dead and this film was no where as good. I wish I didn't see the trailer for this film, because then a lot of the jokes would of been fresh. When I saw SOTD, I didn't know This movie was a big disappointment. I loved Shaun of the Dead and this film was no where as good. I wish I didn't see the trailer for this film, because then a lot of the jokes would of been fresh. When I saw SOTD, I didn't know anything about it except that my friends loved it. I'm sure if I saw the trailer for SOTD, it would of spoiled half that movie for me as well. Overall, this movie was humorous, but I thought it spent way too much time trying to make fun of Michael Bay and other action junky directors like him. It should of just made a good action film with loads of laughs. That's where SOTD succeeded and Hot Fuzz failed. SOTD made a regular zombie movie that was "laugh out loud" funny. Also, the supporting cast of this film was annoying and no where close to being funny. The only funny moments came from the two main characters, Simon Pegg and Nick Frost. SOTD's supporting cast helped make a more interesting and entertaining film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
StephenH.Apr 23, 2007
This movie is hilarious. You could bring up Virginia Tech with any movie with gun violence; if you're not comfortable with it yet then see a different movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewGApr 23, 2007
A little slow in the beginning, but never dull. The end is an amazing tribute to all action films. SOTD fans will love it. Spaced fans will too! Don't believe these negative reviews. I feel pity for the people that don't get it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JawaT.Apr 23, 2007
Not 'funnier than Shaun of the Dead' only funny in a completely different way. The film offers not only cerebral laughs for the first two thirds but a whiplash change into slapstick for the last thirty minutes. It's not that Not 'funnier than Shaun of the Dead' only funny in a completely different way. The film offers not only cerebral laughs for the first two thirds but a whiplash change into slapstick for the last thirty minutes. It's not that anyone giving this a bad score has no sense of humour... it's just that they would much prefer to watch something like 'Epic Movie' for their laughs. High quality viewing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WillT.Apr 24, 2007
As Shaun of the Dead was a Zombie movie with comedic elements this is more of a comedy with an action theme. This was (i think) funnier, but SOTD was a better made movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaustApr 25, 2007
This is not SOTD so don't go into the theater expecting it. Also, it's British so if you don't 'get' British comedy, you might not enjoy this. Otherwise, I advise all to see it. (And yes the quick cuts are This is not SOTD so don't go into the theater expecting it. Also, it's British so if you don't 'get' British comedy, you might not enjoy this. Otherwise, I advise all to see it. (And yes the quick cuts are superfluous but they are symbolic of Nicholas Angel's character - big city cop). This comedy team is the best! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TimM.Apr 25, 2007
Overrated. I tried SOOOOOOO hard to like this, but it just fell short in my opinion. Not half as funny as Sean of the Dead. Actually, yes. It was half as funny as Sean of the Dead. Exactly half.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
3
CompoteApr 25, 2007
See and can't believe how high critic have appreciate the movie. Here and there it's funny but rating 81 is too high for the very boring movie.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeH.Apr 26, 2007
A perfect film that works both as a satire and as the kind of "shoot-'em-up" film it satirizes. Expertly written and directed, well paced impeccably cast. One of the best comdies AND action films in many a year!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
R.JonesApr 26, 2007
I was smiling the entire time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
EeganracApr 27, 2007
I love how this movie just makes fun of those crappy buddy cop movies. I really like this movie, but I have to warn you, there are some dull periods in the movie. The end of the movie was just phreaking sweet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaveN.Apr 28, 2007
Funniest movie I've seen in a long time! Not quite perfect, but damn funny. I'm a big fan of Brit comedies, and this is one of the better ones -- better, IMHO, than "Shaun of the Dead."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichelH.Apr 28, 2007
An almost Twilight Zone lampoon of an English rural village. A hip, intelligent ripping off the vineer of a bucolic, peaceful , but hypocritical English Township by an overachieving London Bobbie bent on solving crime that locals pronounce An almost Twilight Zone lampoon of an English rural village. A hip, intelligent ripping off the vineer of a bucolic, peaceful , but hypocritical English Township by an overachieving London Bobbie bent on solving crime that locals pronounce doesn't exist. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ItaiF.Apr 28, 2007
Love how they combined intense action with dry uproarious humor 2 thumbs up.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ShaneS.May 12, 2007
This is a straight up a true action masterpiece!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulF.May 12, 2007
What can I say but that this movie was the most brilliant comedy of the year thus far. I have not seen a comedy this smart since Little Miss Sunshine. Almost everything was spot on from the story line to the acting to the special effects. What can I say but that this movie was the most brilliant comedy of the year thus far. I have not seen a comedy this smart since Little Miss Sunshine. Almost everything was spot on from the story line to the acting to the special effects. [***WARNING POTENTIAL SPOILER****] Keep in mind it is a very slow but interesting build for about 4/5ths of the movie and then things really break loose, but this makes the absurdity all the more funny. Also it will help if you've seen a lot of cop movies before especially "Point Break", which was another great movie of a more serious vein. It seems the Brits have done it again. I cannot more heartily recommend this movie. Though it should be warned there is some gore and parents should be advised before taking the kiddies to see this one. In any case I consider this film a piece of art in my book. I was kind of surprised to see it in the major theaters. Maybe there is hope for pop culture after all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndyW.May 12, 2007
It's hard to compare this movie to Shaun Of the Dead, because they're both on completely different levels. Yes, they're both smart, and at some occasions they're gorier, (mostly Shaun Of the Dead in particular), but the It's hard to compare this movie to Shaun Of the Dead, because they're both on completely different levels. Yes, they're both smart, and at some occasions they're gorier, (mostly Shaun Of the Dead in particular), but the plot to Hot Fuzz seems more consistent, as for some weird reason it actually keeps you guessing until the very end, in which most comedies these days fail. i've always thought Simon Pegg to be a genius, and I'm equally impressed with the writing for this movie. Overall, this could be one of the best comedies of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobR.May 1, 2007
This is (In my opinion) the BEST movie since Shaun of the Dead. Not only is it very funny throughout the movie, it also reminds you of what made shaun of the dead such a good movie, A GOOD STORY LINE. Very funny while having very serious This is (In my opinion) the BEST movie since Shaun of the Dead. Not only is it very funny throughout the movie, it also reminds you of what made shaun of the dead such a good movie, A GOOD STORY LINE. Very funny while having very serious scenes of action, and this movie was actually scary at times! Some may say that this is bold, but not only is this the best movie in 3 years, It may be the best movie I have ever seen! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RamzeezeB.May 13, 2007
It was really funny and great action. I highly recommend it. The only reason I gave it a 9 is because it wasn't as funny as I thought it would but it was still awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PnArdyPnArdyMay 13, 2007
Awful grotesque dark humor action with plot that makes no sense. A perfect police officer must identify the killer(s) in a small, clean good-looking English town with zero crime rate where deadly accidents happen to occur one after another.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
2
ScottD.May 19, 2007
The only reason I didn't walk out during the first 30 minutes was because I was with friends. If you like intelligent--or even quality--comedy, go elsewhere. I have no idea how this movie got such a high rating, but it suggests the The only reason I didn't walk out during the first 30 minutes was because I was with friends. If you like intelligent--or even quality--comedy, go elsewhere. I have no idea how this movie got such a high rating, but it suggests the reviewer(s) are not as discerning as I'd assume. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.May 19, 2007
What if "Local Hero" was produced by Jerry Bruckenheimer? That's "Hot Fuzz" in a nutshell. Those cute Irish comedies about some small-town of eccentric provincial folks with their quaint crises will never be the same again after this What if "Local Hero" was produced by Jerry Bruckenheimer? That's "Hot Fuzz" in a nutshell. Those cute Irish comedies about some small-town of eccentric provincial folks with their quaint crises will never be the same again after this deadpan, then high burlesque send-up. Interestingly, the action-half of "Hot Fuzz" is so convincing, the testosterone bombast, which is prevalent in every film from Danny's DVD collection, becomes the very thing he cherishes and the filmmaker mocks. The final action-driven sequence seems to go on forever, just like your average Michael Bay-directed flick. "Hot Fuzz" is more of a homage, than a parody of Hollywood blockbusters. This comedy is grounded in a realism we're not accustomed to. The actors aren't aware they're in a comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TedL.May 25, 2007
One of the worst films I've ever seen. The slam-bang editing was used to cover up the fact that nothing interesting, talented or funny was going on. It has an overbearing sound mix from hell. A total assault on my senses and One of the worst films I've ever seen. The slam-bang editing was used to cover up the fact that nothing interesting, talented or funny was going on. It has an overbearing sound mix from hell. A total assault on my senses and sensibilities. Now original wit or creativity at all. Don't wast your time. Major disappointment on all levels. Expand
0 of 12 users found this helpful
5
ChrisN.May 4, 2007
I was hoping for something a lot better. The last twenty minutes, to me, really shone, but the majority of the film was dull exposition with a laugh maybe cropping up once every five minutes. A let down, really.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoshP.May 5, 2007
Hey those of you that gave it low ratings. Go watch the George Lopez show for your canned laughs. The movie was phenomenal. Of course the kitsch and the plot are all tongue in cheek as Point Break was a node of inspiration for some scenes. Hey those of you that gave it low ratings. Go watch the George Lopez show for your canned laughs. The movie was phenomenal. Of course the kitsch and the plot are all tongue in cheek as Point Break was a node of inspiration for some scenes. There hasn't been a movie this funny in awhile and if you've already seen the mediocre Blades of Glory, go see something a little smarter. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
AndrewF.Jun 13, 2007
One of the least funny, most overrated films ever. Long, dull, contrived, short on laughs. Avoid at all costs.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
DangdangJun 16, 2007
This movie is sooo funny. The story is very creative. I love this movie. Some woman sit in front of me couldn't stop laughing during the whole 2 hours.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanielBJun 30, 2007
One of the best comedy movies make this year. If you haven't seen it then your really missing out, its serious and funny. Its the end was ok, but at least it ended properly unlike other movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FXTJun 5, 2007
Hilarious! From the begining to the end, a little gory at some points but british are used to this so it's ok. Waiting for some kind of seqwel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ValS.Jun 8, 2007
It seems that Ted L doesn't understand satire otherwise he'd be laughing his head off with the rest of us.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JonBoyJul 16, 2007
Kind of went in expecting a lot more from this film and the team behind it. Some brilliant comedy scenes split up by filler, really. Still a massive step ahead of the laughs-by-numbers tripe that Hollywood calls comedy these days, but it Kind of went in expecting a lot more from this film and the team behind it. Some brilliant comedy scenes split up by filler, really. Still a massive step ahead of the laughs-by-numbers tripe that Hollywood calls comedy these days, but it lacked some of the genius of Shaun... Still looking forward to Peggs next effort though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BitBurnJul 2, 2007
Hey Hollywood movie makers: watch and learn! Pure fun, adrenalized, great cast, hilarious, all the right ingredients for an entertaining night at the movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HM.Jul 31, 2007
This is far and away my favorite film of the year. It functions perfectly as action and comedy, and is both in-your-face and nuanced.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BeckyAug 21, 2007
When i saw this film, i laughed so hard i nearly cried. I love the whole plot and i loved to acting. This is easily one of my favorite films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
R.D.Aug 28, 2007
I only looked at my watch once when it started to drag slightly about 40 minutes from the end... at which point it ramped up steeply to a fantastic finish. Worth your attention. I rated Shaun of the Dead a "10".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
abbylSep 3, 2007
This movie was so good and ridiculously funny.
4 of 4 users found this helpful
6
MattLSep 6, 2007
Overall, I was disappointed by the movie. As a huge Shaun of the Dead fan, I had high expectations. Unfortunately, while Hot Fuzz follows the same path Shaun did, it fails to incorporate a strong affinity towards the characters. The side Overall, I was disappointed by the movie. As a huge Shaun of the Dead fan, I had high expectations. Unfortunately, while Hot Fuzz follows the same path Shaun did, it fails to incorporate a strong affinity towards the characters. The side characters especially are weak. Still worth seeing, but don't expect it to be as good as Shaun of the Dead ever was. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MaxC.Sep 7, 2007
This is a great movie that I thoroughly enjoyed. While being made by the same people as Shaun of the Dead, it is not the same kind of humor and really shouldn't be compared with. This is an english spoof of cop movies, while the other This is a great movie that I thoroughly enjoyed. While being made by the same people as Shaun of the Dead, it is not the same kind of humor and really shouldn't be compared with. This is an english spoof of cop movies, while the other is a spoof of zombie movies. Not exactly comparable. Anyway, see this movie and Shaun of the Dead, then the next movie they make, which I believe has something to do with a spoof of space invaders or something. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
MuttD.Feb 27, 2008
Incredible action comedy which manages to both lavish, lampoon, and love the genre while also managing to distinguish itself from it's counterparts.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
CraigAApr 10, 2008
Not as good as Shaun, but near perfection anyway.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JakeH.Jun 20, 2008
Awesome Movie!!! So funny and violent!
3 of 3 users found this helpful