User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 234 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 234

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 3, 2014
    2
    Hot Tub Time Machine attempts to make a decent film strictly out of outrageousness. The film is lazy and, at no surprise, unfunny. Uneven and not worth following these boys back in time.
  2. May 25, 2014
    6
    Hot Tub Time Machine is a average movie this is the 3rd time i have watched it now and i can say that its not really that bad but its not that good either. Some of the jokes are funny while some dont fit and feel forced. I like the cast though John Cusack, Craig Robinson, Rob Corddry, Lizzy Caplan, Clark Duke, Chevy Chase as the hot tub repairman was great. The running gag throught the movie is Phil(Crispin Glover) an employee of the resort town they visit gets himslef into sitations where his arm might get chopped off i did find that pretty funny especially when it finally does it chopped off. I did enjoy the movie but its difinitely a movie you would put on for background noise or if someone likes 80's films and hasnt seen it.

    Overall i give it a 6.5 i didnt really think i was going to like this movie when i first seen it but i was surprise that it wasnt has bad as i thought it was going to be. Still though i dont know why Hollywood thinks making a sequel is a good idea oh well lastest news is that the sequel is coming out in December this year.
    Expand
  3. Dec 12, 2013
    3
    This film might have a promising idea, but most of the potential is wasted on unoriginal and stupid gags that just get worse as the movie progresses. This makes it just become more and more desperate.
  4. May 25, 2013
    6
    Three old friends (Adam, Nick and Lou) along with Adams nephew find themselves transported back to 1986 thanks to an incident involving a banned Russian energy drink and a hot tub. At first they determine not to do anything that will affect their futures but soon realize that maybe they have been given an opportunity to change things for the better.

    Exploring many of the same concepts
    it is difficult not to be constantly reminded of the classic sci-fi comedy Back to the Future and in this regard there really is no comparison. While Hot Tub Time Machine may falter in terms of originality and pacing however it certainly has a good enough cast and enough genuinely funny moments to make for a fairly entertaining watch for the majority of its running time. Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2012
    7
    It may be a tad silly, but "Hot Tub Time Machine" is also supremely funny and contains a hefty amount of charming nods to a fun decade.
  6. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    Follows a Hangover type plot with a Hangover type cast. The script is, unfortunately the only thing about Hot Tub Time Machine that doesn't echo The Hangover, but hey- it's still funny.
  7. Aug 24, 2012
    7
    I thought the film would be fairly rubbish, but despite having been born in the 90s, this film was fantastic. It had me yearning for the 80s.I have watched it several times and I feel that the first viewing doesn't do it justice. I can understand people who wouldn't like the film as well as those who will love it. For me, I'm kind of in the middle but leaning more towards the 'love it' side.
  8. Jul 25, 2012
    7
    I don't ask for much when it comes to comedies. All I want is for it to make me laugh. I don't care about the plots or character development, I just want to laugh. That's exactly what I got with Hot Tub Time Machine. Some of the jokes were really clever and the time period helped define these jokes. I also loved the on running joke about how the porter lost his arm. It's not a great film, but it did exactly what I wanted, so I'm happy. Expand
  9. Jun 3, 2012
    7
    The 80s weren't nice but for movie comedies they were great, hot tub time machine brings us back to that experience. This movie shows that R-rated comedies is what we want. The story works beautifully and the jokes are almost always very funny. The big win tough is the cast.... there great to say the least. Of course not everything is so great there are a couple of lines which are a bit misplaced but all-in-all its fun. Expand
  10. May 13, 2012
    6
    There were some pretty funny parts, but a lot of boring moments. The characters were well done though, so that keeps you interested. Kind of a boring ending, but good enough.
  11. Mar 20, 2012
    0
    So, I was looking at different time travel films to watch, and I was appalled that this film has a 6.6 metascore. What the hell is wrong with society? This is just some raunchy, lazy, worthless piece of crap excuse for horny males. I mean, how many boobs, F* bombs and sex jokes does Hollywood need to make? This genre should be banned, its not art. Its CRAP.
  12. Feb 10, 2012
    7
    Hilarious! Stupid premise but that's the god damned point people. Everything from the really cool opening credits to the getting f*cked up scene in the hot tub right onto the closing credits is enjoyable. Don't try and take it seriously, just enjoy.
  13. Feb 5, 2012
    3
    Too make up for an unfunny script the film makers had to resort to cheap swearing, sexual innuendo and cheap jokes for no purpose other than to make up for a lack of substance... this is the definition of a BAD MOVIE. Pass on this one.
  14. Feb 2, 2012
    8
    Hot Tub Time Machine not only understands what is needed from an adult comedy, it doesnâ
  15. Dec 27, 2011
    8
    "Hot Tub Time Machine" Brief Review - B!

    I was really looking forward to this movie from the first time I saw the absurd trailer and the ridiculous concept - I knew it was going to be silly fun. I was not disappointed - aimed primarily at your 40ish crowd, this silly Time Travel comedy delivers pretty much what you expect from a movie named Hot Tub Time Machine. Silly laughs, retro gags
    and jokes, and a buddy movie plot from a different era. The acting and characters were all great, and the bottom line is I had fun while watching it. Not as memorable as movies like Anchorman or the Hangover, still a fun movie to watch and hey - No movie with "Once in A Lifetime" by Talking Heads can be that bad. So if you know what you're getting into, there's definitely a lot of fun to be had. I give it a B! Expand
  16. Oct 2, 2011
    9
    simply hilarious! very clever script and the cast is epic. the only thing that buged me was snowboarding was invented in like 82 and this movie took place in 86 and one of the ski patrol men asked "Whats that plank thing that guy is on?" they wouldve known what a snowboard is after 4 years.... that just me being me though.
  17. Sep 27, 2011
    7
    The movie is sorta similar to "The Hangover" with its chronologically misplaced plot. But its surprisingly fun.
  18. Sep 19, 2011
    5
    Disappointing and unfunny movie which doesn't work. Why John Cusack wasted his talent on this rubbish baffles me, he must have owed somebody a big favour!!! The only saving grace was the performance of Rob Corddry as Lou who at least gave me some reason to chuckle and stopped me from hitting the off button.
  19. Aug 28, 2011
    6
    Hot Tub Time Machine is the ideal example of a movie that you like in spite of yourself, it applies to all the lowest forms of comedy and half-assed homage, but succeeds simply as a laugh generator due to its own enthusiasm and confidence in itself to be such.
  20. Jun 7, 2011
    5
    Watchable, when you're bored off your ass, otherwise forget it.

    I need 150 chars... here we go 12345678901234567890234567890234567890234567890234567890234567890234567890234567890234567890234567890234567890234567890
  21. May 15, 2011
    9
    hilarious. this movie had me crying. it was so funny. if you hated this movie you have no sense of humor. it was funny and good. hahahahahahahahahahahaah lou was my favorite character. funny as ****
  22. Apr 10, 2011
    6
    I only could watch 20 minutes of this so from what I've watched, there pretty much is only one word to describe this film: DIRTY.
  23. Jan 7, 2011
    9
    this film has all the makings of a timeless classic. A great cast, superb dialouge, great plot and an original atmosphere. It gets funnier every time you watch it. I had no idea it would become one of my favourite comedies when I first watched it, but it's really grown on me. So damn funny.
  24. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    Hilarious. By the end you will be "Is that what were going with? Awesome!" At first I thought this would be serious about the issues with time traveling and then it so funny you don't care.
  25. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    One of my favorite movies of the year. Had a lot of hilarious moments and the characters were awesome, especially Lou. Made me want to go to a ski resort.
  26. Oct 7, 2010
    7
    The trailers made this movie look unfunny and lame but when I saw it I was actually surprised to see that it actually was funny. Even though some parts were lame it was an all around good movie. I was very entertained. I've heard lots of people complain about how they did not explain enough of the inside joke like "the great white buffalo" but for me that didn't ruin it and left more for the imgination. I thought this movie hada life is good parkty hard kind of mood. Expand
  27. Oct 1, 2010
    3
    Just a generally poor movie. I didn't think the movie executed much of what it set out to do. The plot was weak. This of course was no surprise it is a movie about a Hot Tub Time Machine after all, but that set them up with a lot of potential and yet the movie still fell flat on its face. The movie pretty much just tries to live off of the 1980s nostalgia for teen movies. The sad thing is that its a worse picture than many of the 1980s teen comedies and that's saying something. Its raunchy, which can be ok, but this movies humor just generally fails. It certainly doesn't find the perfect match between raunchiness and laughs like a movie such as The Hangover or Superbad does. Overall unless your really in the right mind set for this movie it isn't worth your time. Expand
  28. Sep 26, 2010
    10
    Occasionally a comedy comes along that's so great, it's guaranteed to be enjoyed for generations to come. Hot Tub Time Machine is one such comedy, and it's earned its place among great comedies, as everyone in Hot Tub Time Machine is in top form, and it shows as the laughs keep coming in this time-traveling bromance.
    The plot is simple, Adam (John Cusack), Nick (Craig Robinson), and Lou
    (Rob Corddry) are best friends who have grown apart as adults, but after an alleged suicide attempt by Lou, their **** friend" (as Adam points out, every group has one), Adam and Nick (with Adam's nephew, Jacob (Clark Duke), in tow) decide it's time to revisit Kodiak Valley where they attended Winterfest in 1986. Their return visit initially produces a rundown town littered with closed businesses and an empty hot tub in their cabin. Once the hot tub is mysteriously fixed, filled, and operating, the guys hop in only to be taken back to the very night they hoped to relive, but there's a catch, the mysterious hot tub repair man (whom you'll recognize immediately) tells them they have to relive the night exactly as they did in 1986. This may sound as lame as the title, but the director, cast, and writers know what their doing and provide one of the most enjoyable comedies I've seen in a while.
    The unrated version has enough boobs, barfing and bad behavior to go around, as Craig Robinson delivers a performance every bit as good as his roles in Pineapple Express (2008) and Zack and Miri Make a Porno (2008). Robinson has great comedic timing and always brightens up a scene. John Cusack has been hit and miss with me for years, but he shines here as Adam, whose recently single and lives with his nephew, Jacob, who never leaves the basement or the internet, at least until they go to Kodiak Valley. Speaking of Jacob, the young Clark Duke proves himself a force to be reckoned with, I expected him to be the weakest link, but in Hot Tub Time Machine, there is no weakest link and Duke holds his own among the more experienced actors. Rob Corddry has been showing up in various roles since gaining popularity on The Daily Show (1996), however, he's never been used to his full potential until now. Lou is the perfect fit for Corddry as he's able to cut loose with nothing to hold him back except himself. Lou's the **** friend to a tee, but we like him enough to want him to succeed.
    It's no secret that I'm a huge fan of Crispin Glover, it's also no secret that Glover can deliver a performance like no other. His unmistakable appearance and willingness to go in any direction for a role, make him a constant joy while on screen. I won't give away the details of his character, except to say you won't be forgetting Phil anytime soon.
    Hot Tub Time Machine is bromance comedy through and through, and beneath all the "dick and fart" jokes, there's a solid message about lifelong friendships and how important it is to maintain them in your adult life, even if one of those friends can be difficult at times. Now, if you'll excuse me, I have an old **** friend" to call.
    Expand
  29. Sep 22, 2010
    8
    Much better movie than i expected initially. Hilarious movie. Good jokes, funny actors, absolutely random but funny plot. A very interesting and funny comedy.
  30. Sep 7, 2010
    3
    Not that funny. I laughed maybe once or twice the whole time. I had a friend tell me this was funnier then The Hangover. I no longer accept movie recommendations from this friend
  31. Sep 5, 2010
    8
    I love comedy. Comedies are stupid and donâ
  32. Aug 25, 2010
    6
    Hot Tub Time Machine suffers what I like to call "post-Hangover syndrome." The bar for R-rated comedies was raised by 2009's smash hit, and now movies like Hot Tub Time Machine, which are occasionally funny but madly inconsistent, have to suffer for it. Unfortunately, Hot Tub Time Machine falls into just about every problem a comedy can fall into (actors going through the motions, plot-hole filled storyline, lame ending), except that it manages to avoid the cardinal sin of being unfunny. The jokes aren't top notch, but there are some very funny moments. Sometimes it forgets that crude does not automatically equal funny, however, and it seems to wear pretty thin after the first hour or so. Probably worth at least a rental for those who like raunchy comedy, but those expecting any level of sophistication or the laugh-out-loud moments that were prevalent in The Hangover will be sorely disappointed. Expand
  33. Aug 21, 2010
    6
    a decent comody in the years of alot of epic fails . really the last decent comodey ive seen befor this film was the hang over . it seems like hollywood is getting less funny with there films as time goes by. it has some good funny moments to it . the premise is rediculas but its a comodey so who cares right ? its worth a rental atleast but dont expect to be rolling on the floor laughing or any thing close to that. you will get some good laughs and some mild entertainment out of it . which for a rental i didnt think was so bad. Expand
  34. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    This could've been John Cusack's best movie of all time. All the actors whose names you, just can't **** remember, outstanding humor that we all know and love. Even though it involves time- travel, which isn't a very good starting point, the rest was hilarious and, that kind of stupid, that makes it even funnier, like Airplane!. The storyline, except the time travel part, is unpredictable and as funny as you will want it, if you have a sense of humor like me, or course. Filled with quotes and events you will bring up in conversations for the rest of the time that it takes this movie to be old crap of yesterdecade, or longer, if the good ratings of this movie reach out to the people begging for a good movie so much as to trust strangers on the internet. Expand
  35. Aug 13, 2010
    7
    I thought this movie was a Hangover knock off but you know what it was just too damn funny for me to call it like that. Hold on I need my bright blue leg warmers to write this review. This movie has one of the funniest titles since Snakes on The Plane. The plot is as well pretty much ridiculous but what the hell letâ
  36. Aug 11, 2010
    8
    While it may not resonate with viewers as well as 'The Hangover', 'Hot Tub Time Machine' is hilarious, raunchy comedy that is cut from similar cloth.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Dan Kois
    70
    A fundamentally lazy comedy that will probably make you laugh like an idiot.
  2. 60
    Like the "Scream" series, Hot Tub Time Machine is a cake-and-eat-it-too experience; you get both a vintage Brat Pack comedy, albeit one regrettably drenched in post-Hangover raunch, and an ongoing metacommentary at the same time.
  3. 63
    A sloppy, raucous, time travel farce in the grown-men-gone-wild "Hangover" style, it’s a surprisingly satisfying, if not exactly LMAO, riot.