Hotel Transylvania

Hotel Transylvania Image
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 234 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Welcome to the Hotel Transylvania, Dracula's lavish five-stake resort, where monsters and their families can live it up, free from meddling from the human world. But here's a little known fact about Dracula: he is not only the Prince of Darkness; he is also a dad. Over-protective of hisWelcome to the Hotel Transylvania, Dracula's lavish five-stake resort, where monsters and their families can live it up, free from meddling from the human world. But here's a little known fact about Dracula: he is not only the Prince of Darkness; he is also a dad. Over-protective of his teenage daughter, Mavis, Dracula fabricates tales of elaborate dangers to dissuade her adventurous spirit. As a haven for Mavis, he opens the Hotel Transylvania, where his daughter and some of the world's most famous monsters – Frankenstein and his bride, the Mummy, the Invisible Man, a family of werewolves, and more – can kick back in safety and peace. For Drac, catering to all of these legendary monsters is no problem – but his world could come crashing down when one ordinary guy stumbles on the hotel and takes a shine to Mavis. (Sony Pictures Animation) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 32
  2. Negative: 5 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Sep 27, 2012
    75
    The cutest darn thing in Hotel Transylvania is the way Count Dracula spazzes into a brilliant red devil-face when provoked. The second-cutest thing is his annoyed response to being misquoted by idiot humans.
  2. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Sep 30, 2012
    70
    The pleasantly disposable animated flick Hotel Transylvania, which gathers all the monsters in the world under one roof, is better than it should be, if not quite as good as it could be.
  3. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Sep 28, 2012
    63
    A serviceable animated movie about a soft-hearted Dracula.
  4. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Sep 27, 2012
    50
    Has a big-name cast, a cute premise and... and... hang on, thinking here. Nope. That's about it.
  5. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    Oct 8, 2012
    40
    An animation that never drags itself out of mediocrity despite the best efforts of gifted animator Tartakovsky.
  6. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Sep 25, 2012
    40
    So why does this animated kids' film fail to come together? Bursts of manic pacing steamroll over most of the wit, a little of Sandler's thick-accent shtick goes a looong way, and by the time the requisite life lessons about letting your offspring leave the nest get rolled out, the undead-on-arrival jokes are outnumbered by anemic sitcom gags.
  7. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Sep 26, 2012
    11
    As for Hotel Transylvania,, no need to put a stake in it, it's deadly dull already.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 55
  2. Negative: 6 out of 55
  1. dpc
    Oct 3, 2012
    10
    Loved it. Took my 6 year old and we both laughed a lot. Being a fan of Tartakovsky from his Dexter's Laboratory days (and others), I thoughtLoved it. Took my 6 year old and we both laughed a lot. Being a fan of Tartakovsky from his Dexter's Laboratory days (and others), I thought the animation was incredible, yet warm unlike other recent computer animated films. The director actually uses the method to its fullest. Plus, I LOVED that they didn't throw in pop culture jokes for the adults, instead they found humor within the art style and situations. Yes, the story's kind of just ok. And, yes, there's a few gaps in the character development. The voice acting is great, even Sandler who is NOT over the top as some critics have pointed out. Got kids? Go see it, get the stick out of your butt and just have fun! (Not everything has to be Pixar, you know...) Expand
  2. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    This movie was totally cute and entertaining. I can't believe it isn't rated higher. The animation is fun, the voices are cast well. It is aThis movie was totally cute and entertaining. I can't believe it isn't rated higher. The animation is fun, the voices are cast well. It is a sweet and goofy story for all ages. It is what it is meant to be. Expand
  3. Apr 6, 2014
    9
    what a good movie . it is not funny it just coolwhat a good movie . it is not funny it just cool ........................................................................................................ Expand
  4. Oct 20, 2012
    7
    Written by a fabulous team of acclaimed writers, this move had lots of laughs for kids and adults. My only concern was once the boy wasWritten by a fabulous team of acclaimed writers, this move had lots of laughs for kids and adults. My only concern was once the boy was introduced, the monsters became much less of the focal point of the movie. Still lots of of fun! Expand
  5. Oct 31, 2015
    7
    it's is a good story, and a interesting way to depict Dracula.The extra characters that doint appear in the Dracula story make a very greatit's is a good story, and a interesting way to depict Dracula.The extra characters that doint appear in the Dracula story make a very great role, this movie is underrated and dose not deserve it. Expand
  6. Oct 15, 2012
    6
    A fast, funny and wildly inventive animated tale with enough laughs and heart to appeal to audiences of all ages.A fast, funny and wildly inventive animated tale with enough laughs and heart to appeal to audiences of all ages. http://www.facebook.com/pages/Carrie-2013-has-hemorrhoids-/154149308058300 Expand
  7. Oct 10, 2012
    0
    Unfunny and unimaginative, and this from Tartakovsky(Powderpuff Girls, Dexters Labrotory) and Smigel(SNL's TV Funhouse, and Triumph the insultUnfunny and unimaginative, and this from Tartakovsky(Powderpuff Girls, Dexters Labrotory) and Smigel(SNL's TV Funhouse, and Triumph the insult dog). After 3 days had gone by since watching this, I asked my kids what they thought. "Ok" was the best it got. We all agreed the human character played by Adam Samberg was annoying to the extreme. In fact, the entire audience was rather quiet throughout. If you want a Halloween-themed animation to watch, seek out ParaNorman, thats the reel deal! Expand

See all 55 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.