Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: A father (Paul Walker) struggles to keep his infant daughter alive in the wake of Hurricane Katrina.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Dec 16, 2013
    80
    An ingeniously simple setup is cunningly exploited for maximum suspense in Hours, a slow-building, consistently engrossing drama.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    Dec 10, 2013
    80
    The film stirs richer, truer feelings once it becomes a one-man show. This is due both to Heisserer's and Walker's skill — the tension is strong, the scenario elemental, and Walker's harried, urgent hero is compelling — but also the fact that the movies are really good at dudes doing things, especially when those things are scrappy, desperate, and heroic.
  3. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Dec 19, 2013
    70
    The film’s brooding tension would probably work even without the recent tragedy of real-life events. But now, while uneven, the film is uniquely involving — right down to a final shot that will break your heart into a million pieces.
  4. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Dec 12, 2013
    60
    Most of the movie elicits tense empathy, which builds to a genuinely nerve-wracking sense of dread.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Dec 12, 2013
    50
    One only wishes Walker had stronger, better developed material instead of a promising drama that eventually unravels and seems overlong even with a running time of 96 minutes.
  6. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Dec 10, 2013
    40
    Though Walker, in his most demanding part, does his best to transcend his characteristically bro-ish demeanor, he’s ultimately failed by this film, whose script and questionable taste hardly add up to a eulogy-worthy goodbye.
  7. Reviewed by: Tomas Hachard
    Dec 9, 2013
    25
    The film's fealty to history is both unnecessary and a hindrance, pulling us out of a story that could have easily been set in an anonymous city hit by a nondescript hurricane.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jan 24, 2014
    10
    This movie will probably be missed by many, which is sad because it's a great film. Paul Walker does a great performance (R.I.P, Paul) and heThis movie will probably be missed by many, which is sad because it's a great film. Paul Walker does a great performance (R.I.P, Paul) and he manages to carry this movie on his shoulders (similar to Sandra Bullock and George Clooney in Gravity, and Robert Redford in All Is Lost, both of which I liked and reviewed). He manages to keep interest from dwindling. Hours is a compelling film.

    If you liked this review, read my other ones on a wide variety of movies, TV shows, and video games and mark this review as helpful. Remember, every vote counts.
    Expand
  2. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    rip paul walker . this is a epic cool movie but is it based on a true story ? . it is fun and epic and watching paul walker survive with hisrip paul walker . this is a epic cool movie but is it based on a true story ? . it is fun and epic and watching paul walker survive with his movie baby but some scenes paul walker can be a idiot . Expand
  3. Aug 3, 2014
    9
    It´s a great movie which captures from beginning to end through the constant obstacles Paul Walker has to face in this suspension-packedIt´s a great movie which captures from beginning to end through the constant obstacles Paul Walker has to face in this suspension-packed movie. You can actually feel with him as he tries to save his newborn daughter by keeping the machine working manually. I was literally praying for him to make it. It´s definitely worth a peak! Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2014
    7
    Size doesn't matter as Hours manages to be a powerful movie for the late Paul Walker by being substantially compelling and emotional despiteSize doesn't matter as Hours manages to be a powerful movie for the late Paul Walker by being substantially compelling and emotional despite its blemishing final scene. Expand
  5. Dec 26, 2013
    7
    Paul Walker shines in this small but powerful movie. While some scenes were out of place and the ending is too abrupt, Hours has an engagingPaul Walker shines in this small but powerful movie. While some scenes were out of place and the ending is too abrupt, Hours has an engaging story and is compelling for the most part. Expand
  6. Feb 22, 2014
    4
    Ya se que varios "fanboys" estarían esperando esta película por la trágica pérdida de Paul Walker. No hay nada para recordar. La película másYa se que varios "fanboys" estarían esperando esta película por la trágica pérdida de Paul Walker. No hay nada para recordar. La película más aburrida que he visto en mucho tiempo (casi me duermo en el cine) y también recordemos que no son más de 100 minutos en el cine. ¿Por que razón es tediosa y aburrida? Por no tener movimiento; la película está atascada en su propia trama como Paul Walker está atrapado en ese hospital, lástima que los creadores de la película no supieron como avanzar y se quedaron presionando en una acción que el pobre actor debe realizar alrededor de la película, y, si se lo están preguntando, eso no es actuar, eso es obedecer. Muy aburrida y vacía. Collapse
  7. Mar 14, 2014
    4
    "Fast & Furious" star Paul Walker (R.I.P) stars in this drama/thriller about a man trying to keep his infant daughter alive during the events"Fast & Furious" star Paul Walker (R.I.P) stars in this drama/thriller about a man trying to keep his infant daughter alive during the events of hurricane katrina. It takes a while for Walker's performance to acquire the required emotion needed to keep the movie afloat, but he does get it right after a while. My problem with this movie is that I never really cared about Walker's character at all. I cared about his infant daughter's fate, but I found him and his wife character to be really unenjoyable and almost unlikable. This made it hard for me to really get into the movie.

    I can definitely see why people would like this movie, as it definitely pull at your heart strings. The problem in is that by using the baby girl in the way it does, it plays off of your emotions in an incredibly basic way. It's almost as if the movie was exploiting me. Overall I was curious to see how the movie ends, but I didn't enjoy the majority of it. To be honest "Hours" felt like it was going on for hours. It's definitely got an emotional core to it, but everything surrounding that core I found to be boring. Because of that I didn't enjoy the movie and can't recommend it. I give it a score of 4.8/10-Bad.
    Expand

Trailers