Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 19
  2. Negative: 10 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Sep 26, 2012
    11
    Shue, to her credit, looks like she's trying to crawl out of her skin, but hey, anything to get away from this hell house, right? Right.
  2. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Sep 22, 2012
    25
    This is a terrible little movie even by the standards of the genre.
  3. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Sep 21, 2012
    16
    This is the rare horror film so bad that you almost wish it had turned into a good old connect-the-gory-dots slasher movie. The only mystery at work is how Lawrence's agent ever let her sign on to this.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Sep 21, 2012
    30
    Lawrence's natural, disarming screen presence is ill-suited to something as mannered and labored as House at the End of the Street, and at moments it's as if she freezes up, unable to simply throw on a scared-face for no good reason.
  5. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Sep 21, 2012
    25
    The film is essentially toothless, but it never stoops to humorless torture-porn theatrics.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Sep 22, 2012
    20
    At a certain point this would-be shocker suddenly jerks into high gear and becomes a blatant, incompetent rip-off of "Psycho."
  7. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Sep 21, 2012
    16
    We assure you, it's not worth taking a trip to down to the House at the End of the Street. Something horrible might have happened there, but it can't be worse than this movie.
  8. Reviewed by: A. A. Dowd
    Sep 25, 2012
    20
    Utterly incompetent psychological thriller.
  9. Reviewed by: Geoff Berkshire
    Sep 21, 2012
    30
    Exploiting Lawrence's newfound fame is the only hope this ill-conceived, poorly executed venture has of connecting with audiences before poisonous word of mouth sends potential buyers in search of a more attractive address.
  10. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Sep 21, 2012
    38
    Most of the comedy, however, is unintentional. House At The End of the Street may not draw much of an audience during its initial run, but the movie's preposterousness certifies it for future midnight screenings, where the story will get the jeering it deserves.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 107 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 39
  2. Negative: 11 out of 39
  1. Oct 22, 2012
    4
    Dumb plot, dumb scares and unsure of what it wants to be. I still love you Jennifer, good on you for not promoting this piece of crap. http://www.facebook.com/ElvisPresleySonElvisAaronPresleyJr Full Review »
  2. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    The house at the end of the street is the most emotional, powerful, moving cinematic piece. This film needs a nomination for Best Picture and may I go to say Best Film Of The Decade, my grandma even said that it deserves a Best Picture Ever sticker, I mean its that good. Go and see it NOW.....please Full Review »
  3. Sep 21, 2012
    7
    The House at the End of the Street, the new Jennifer Lawrence's movie, and I wanna say that I like it, the movie is very intereseting, but the development have some mistakes, the performances are good -the better is Lawrence- and the funny can be interesting for much people. Full Review »