House of 1000 Corpses

House of 1000 Corpses Image
Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 149 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Two young couples take a misguided tour onto the back roads of America in search of a local legend known as Dr. Satan. Lost and stranded, they are set upon by a bizarre family of psychotics. (Lions Gate)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 15
  2. Negative: 7 out of 15
  1. If your expectations aren't too high, there's lots of cool shit on-screen.
  2. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    60
    A cobwebbed, mummified horror entry that makes obvious, cartoonishly grotesque demands for attention.
  3. Shock-rocker Rob Zombie's loving homage to flat-out nasty horror films of the 1970s will leave many post-"Scream" (1996) horror fans cold because of what it's not. It's not slick or glossy. It's not funny or self-referential.
  4. 40
    The setup almost needs footnotes, which makes it all the more puzzling that Zombie's obvious love for horror's past would translate into such a joyless, grisly rehashing.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    38
    Zombie's film plays more like an experimental pastiche than an outright homage to those classic road-trip-gone-wrong movies.
  6. 30
    Zombie wants his film to be gleefully demented, but he fails to grasp that loud, inbred evil people torturing stupid, grating benign people isn’t disturbing as much as tedious.
  7. Reviewed by: Todd Levin
    10
    Rips off so many splatter movie tricks at once that it becomes totally frustrating.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 73
  2. Negative: 29 out of 73
  1. AlanB.
    Feb 9, 2008
    10
    This is a good movie for those who like the sick & twisted. Anyone who gave it a really bad vote are the type of people who dislike twisted This is a good movie for those who like the sick & twisted. Anyone who gave it a really bad vote are the type of people who dislike twisted movies and are most likely very close minded people. I give it a 10 because it's unique and a refreshing view from the mainstream slew of run of the mill movies. Expand
  2. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    Rob Zombie gives us a cult classic horror film that we all have been craving for quite some times. I remember first seeing this film and beingRob Zombie gives us a cult classic horror film that we all have been craving for quite some times. I remember first seeing this film and being terrified by the Firefly family. I would highly recommend. Expand
  3. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    It's scary, suspensful, funny, and features a ton of great characters that will haunt your dreams. Rob Zombie has created something specialIt's scary, suspensful, funny, and features a ton of great characters that will haunt your dreams. Rob Zombie has created something special with this movie. I loved it. Expand
  4. Mar 15, 2016
    7
    Rob Zombie's debut film has stylized graphics and bizarre sadism that you just can't look away from. Very reminiscent of the original 'TheRob Zombie's debut film has stylized graphics and bizarre sadism that you just can't look away from. Very reminiscent of the original 'The Texas Chainsaw Massacre', and has basically the same old plot. The movie stars Zombie's friends and wife (a future trend) as a psychopathic evil family that kills whoever they want for fun. A group of nitwit teens come across a side-of-the-road tourist trap, and fall prey to stupidity after trying to investigate some sketchy story told by a killer clown. Rob Zombie's film is fun and gory. A must see for any slasher film lovers. Expand
  5. Sep 1, 2010
    5
    Rob Zombie's take on 1970's B-Movies.
    Full of weird and wonderful characters especially Sid Haig as the almost iconic Captain Spaulding.
    The
    Rob Zombie's take on 1970's B-Movies.
    Full of weird and wonderful characters especially Sid Haig as the almost iconic Captain Spaulding.
    The acting is pretty bad throughout (I assume this was to get the B-Movie feel in parts) & it gets a bit silly at the end.
    A mention for the great use of Slim Whitman's "I remember you" in quite a morose scene as well.
    Not as good as Robert Rodriguez's Planet Terror which is in the same genre & done a lot better.
    Expand
  6. Feb 24, 2013
    2
    I have one word to describe this movie AWFUL! It doesn't even compare to it's sequel, The Devil's Rejects. This is just a weird, drugged out,I have one word to describe this movie AWFUL! It doesn't even compare to it's sequel, The Devil's Rejects. This is just a weird, drugged out, gore fest, that makes absolutely no sense. It's not even funny, It's a complete waste of time. Even Rob Zombie's sister was said to have walked out of the screening in disgust, saying, "what the F is wrong with you!?" Expand
  7. Philter137
    Sep 16, 2005
    0
    I am not being extreme, I honestly believe this film deserves a zero. My friends stopped watching after half and hour, one by one they found I am not being extreme, I honestly believe this film deserves a zero. My friends stopped watching after half and hour, one by one they found something better to do. I watched for as long as I could, a full 30 minutes longer than the others, but eventually I did something I've never done with a rental film before... I hit fast-forward and watched the film fly past, just so I could get to the end and put this behind me. I must have stopped and watched 20 times before reaching the end, but it was the same old sh*t. I'm sure there are fans of this flick out there, someone on Rob Zombie's wavelength, and that's great. I hope you enjoyed it. You're on your own in a very small, special group of people. Expand

See all 73 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  2. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.