Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: May 6, 2005
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 430 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
294
Mixed:
67
Negative:
69
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
LoRevisorJan 23, 2015
Um dos melhores filmes de terror de todos os tempos!!!.
Totalmente subestimado e desvalorizado pelos críticos insensíveis,pessimistas e idiotas.
Elisha Cuthbert é fenomenal dando uma super performance gata,Chad Michael Murray também é
Um dos melhores filmes de terror de todos os tempos!!!.
Totalmente subestimado e desvalorizado pelos críticos insensíveis,pessimistas e idiotas.
Elisha Cuthbert é fenomenal dando uma super performance gata,Chad Michael Murray também é ótimo,Jared Padalecki é incrível E Brian Van Holt é excelente como Serial Killer.
Roteiro excelente de Carey Hayes e Chad Hayes.
Jaume Collet Serra arrasa como diretor desse puta filme.
Um filme de terror perfeito com muitos sustos e cenas incríveis de ação.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
lukechristianscOct 27, 2014
this is one of the freakiest of the freakiest movies of the horror colllection yet. Some how this is not creeper then Jaume Collet- Serra's film ' The Orphan ' suddenly it isn't better then orphan. this movie has a lot of teen humor with sexthis is one of the freakiest of the freakiest movies of the horror colllection yet. Some how this is not creeper then Jaume Collet- Serra's film ' The Orphan ' suddenly it isn't better then orphan. this movie has a lot of teen humor with sex and rage which horror movies deal with but these teenagers are idiots well some ot some are dumb like Paris Hilton and the guy from scary movie 1. Grade A- Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
Potter17Sep 26, 2011
The wax statues were well-done as well as the ghost town. And I must admit that I had some chills but, even them weren't enough to compensate the bad acting (except for Cuthbert) and poor storyline.
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
1
vini1904Aug 14, 2012
One of the worst films of all time. Bottom line for the poor performance of Paris Hilton. Does she really think that's an actress? Note 1. Because dying to see Paris Hilton always worthwhile.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
Zanessa250QIJul 13, 2015
.......................................................................74 Idiotas.......................................................... que não.......................... sabem o que é filme de terror............................... ainda.......................................................................74 Idiotas.......................................................... que não.......................... sabem o que é filme de terror............................... ainda mais ................................recheado de cenas de ação Expand
10 of 14 users found this helpful104
All this user's reviews
9
sicranoJul 20, 2015
.......................................................................................................................................................................................................74 Imbecis que não curte o melhor do terror.......................................................................................................................................................................................................74 Imbecis que não curte o melhor do terror ação... Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
GuilhermeLeme13Apr 12, 2015
Não sei o porque, as esse filme foi tão marcante para mim, uma história de dar medo, efeitos especiais que condizem com a realidade, enfim, é o meu filme de terror preferido da atualidade, mesmo sabendo que tem melhores.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
5
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
Seriously, I donâ
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
3
SteveS.May 7, 2007
Not scary and dull. I kept pausing it and walking away.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
JimS.Dec 28, 2005
I expected this movie to follow in the footsteps of the orignal classic House Of Wax. Totally disappointed with screenplay and artwork.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
AndrewB.Feb 28, 2007
HORRIBLE MOVIE! I never seen the original but this movie is bad, just the main point in travel, they left to go to the super bowl which they didn't even have tickets to and if they scalpt tickets they would be REALLY expensive. but they HORRIBLE MOVIE! I never seen the original but this movie is bad, just the main point in travel, they left to go to the super bowl which they didn't even have tickets to and if they scalpt tickets they would be REALLY expensive. but they make it far enough to a town they never heard of before(well two of them do) and the others go on even farther to the super bowl and then deside to turn around and go back after being stuck in trafic on a highway which there is no turn around while people in the back seat are sayin "TURN AROUND, LETS GO BACK!" STUPID!!! so they do turn back, retarded. and the other part i remember is when those 2 first go into the wax house and then she see's something outside in the window looking in and gets freaked out, and he goes outside to see what/who it was, it's a free country, people can be outside, and besides that whoever it was, they were just looking in the window, no actually walking into the place and touchin and metting a little wax. and she stays INSIDE the wax house while he goes outside to see what it was outside, f-ing stupid. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
4
ManioMar 21, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The only take-away is seeing Paris Hilton getting a spear impaled through her head.

The movie on its own is incredibly dull, and the characters are extremely unlikeable, case in point with Paris Hilton, who at-least gets killed off in a hilarious way. The horror is really dull too. You'd think a film relying on a town full of "wax figures" would be able to employ some great horror feeling, but all it pulls off is lackluster fluff.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
BrunoADJun 16, 2013
House of Wax is a great horror ..

I honestly think this amazing film, a screenplay correct, that holds you from beginning to end, with frightening scenes, not denying that the strengths of the film are: Art Direction Soundtrack and makeup,
House of Wax is a great horror ..

I honestly think this amazing film, a screenplay correct, that holds you from beginning to end, with frightening scenes, not denying that the strengths of the film are: Art Direction Soundtrack and makeup, I think it really is a film that deserves to be seen and revised and I'm very happy that Warner has made ​​the continuation of this movie, because it would not work.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
RikiegeJan 22, 2013
A movie very unpredictable and full of gore and scenes that will leave you open-mouthed.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
7
SuperTakashiiMar 8, 2011
The plot is admittedly predictable at parts, and the cast a bit generic, but this movie gives it to you in a way few others have. Tense and gory scenes interlocked with a consistent pace that picks up plot pieces and sets them down for laterThe plot is admittedly predictable at parts, and the cast a bit generic, but this movie gives it to you in a way few others have. Tense and gory scenes interlocked with a consistent pace that picks up plot pieces and sets them down for later with brilliant efficiency make this a solid, enjoyable horror film. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
5
davenbettridgeNov 14, 2011
The film makers do a really good job of creating characters whom you wish would shut up and die so when the time comes for their horrific deaths you are relieved. Its also not a good thing that Paris Hilton is the movie's most convincingThe film makers do a really good job of creating characters whom you wish would shut up and die so when the time comes for their horrific deaths you are relieved. Its also not a good thing that Paris Hilton is the movie's most convincing actress either. The set and props of the House of Wax scenes were pretty good but mostly misused. Just another lamed out horror movie. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
RegOzJan 28, 2012
I did like it...I watched it first when it was released and now, again (2012). I still like it! In the beginning it is a bit slow- which was okey, because it builds-up) and there was some unnecessary sub-plots that did not add anything toI did like it...I watched it first when it was released and now, again (2012). I still like it! In the beginning it is a bit slow- which was okey, because it builds-up) and there was some unnecessary sub-plots that did not add anything to the movie (e.g. Paris' Hilton's characters'pregnancy)...but overall it was good. Although I am not that fun of gore, I have to say this was smartly used, and even though the movie was quite visual and there was indeed gruesome stuff, it was there when it was needed..Some may argue that there are some parts in the movie that are unbelievabIe... well, if we give real attention to the movie we will realise that these part are not that illogical really and make sense; any case, the movie is a horror movie,and horror movies are not meant to be always 'realistic'-although we would prefer if they were. Of course this is not a 'superior' movie, but it is fun and keeps you in suspense. As for Paris Hilton's performance (everybody seems to have a said about it), I am not fond of her, but I think she did all right. The movies is not about her, so go and watch the movies seeing her just a one more actress and not as a 'socialite' performing in a movie, because if you do, then your own bias would give you a hard time and you would be unfair to her or/and to the other actors involved. In general, the performances were decent, no more, not less.Paris' role was little, not particularly important but since there were only two girls of the movie, her role was complementary to Alysha's. Period. Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
8
DenisCOct 30, 2005
Very efficient, scary at some parts, love the special effects of certain shots. I recommend this movie for those who love to be seated on the edge of their seats. Don't drink and watch, you will spill your drink in a matter of time!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndyW.Oct 31, 2005
[***SPOILERS***] This is probably one of the best movies of 05. just because....a)elisha cuthbert lives, she's a babe b)paris hilton gets absolutely owned in the middle of the movie c)tons of guts and gore and d)the plot was very[***SPOILERS***] This is probably one of the best movies of 05. just because....a)elisha cuthbert lives, she's a babe b)paris hilton gets absolutely owned in the middle of the movie c)tons of guts and gore and d)the plot was very effective because it practically had me on the edge of my seat, wondering what was going to happen. if any of those reasons were not sufficient in this movie, i would've pulled out my hair at it. this for once, was actually a pretty scary movie. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
6
WallyS.Dec 8, 2005
The remakes just keep getting worst, and here it achieves the unnatural gift of beeing stupid and dreadfull, the teens have no skill, and even though the art direction is excellent, everything else is trash.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
imthenoobNov 10, 2012
It was a pretty solid movie suprisingly. Not much in terms of suspense though but it was interesting enough to keep you watching. I enjoyed it and saw no real problem with it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
inaneswineNov 14, 2017
In spite of its negligible plot - a group of youths are thrown in the path of a deranged wax sculptor - this film has a lot going for it. The script may be less than brilliant, but it has a fairly tight story, impressive special effects and aIn spite of its negligible plot - a group of youths are thrown in the path of a deranged wax sculptor - this film has a lot going for it. The script may be less than brilliant, but it has a fairly tight story, impressive special effects and a great sense of tension and atmosphere as opposed to simple gore tactics. It's just a shame that the film-makers still felt compelled to throw in Paris Hilton, who is there for no reason other than some gratuitous T&A scenes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
EpicLadySpongeMay 9, 2016
A disgrace to the 1953 film that makes you wonder why it still exist up to this day and for on and on. House of Wax is nowhere near that horrifying from the original that is way better (but not scary as well) than this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RafaFigueiredoJul 9, 2016
É um filme perfeito, com ótimas atuações principalmente da Elisha Cuthbert, que dá ao filme uma forte dose de entusiasmo com o seu desempenho semelhante ao de Jamie Lee Curtis
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews