Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: October 29, 1999
1.1
USER SCORE
Overwhelming dislike based on 323 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
26
Mixed:
9
Negative:
288
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
FitriAmirrolNov 19, 2010
The horrors of Haunted Hill might have worked for children, but sadly the true horror here is how ridiculous, rickety and perplexing the twist is, and despite the successful, seductive performance by Janssen, this gothic B-movie is aThe horrors of Haunted Hill might have worked for children, but sadly the true horror here is how ridiculous, rickety and perplexing the twist is, and despite the successful, seductive performance by Janssen, this gothic B-movie is a nauseating waste of time. Expand
41 of 43 users found this helpful412
All this user's reviews
0
Paramilitary400May 17, 2015
House on Haunted Hill is one of the dumbest thrillers from 1999. The movie intends it's thrills to be creepy and jolting but all the thrills fall flat. Even the acting form Janssen and Rush couldn't save this movie and they are outstandingHouse on Haunted Hill is one of the dumbest thrillers from 1999. The movie intends it's thrills to be creepy and jolting but all the thrills fall flat. Even the acting form Janssen and Rush couldn't save this movie and they are outstanding actors. Both those actors were miscast in this movie though because they don't star in horror movies. Why they wanted to star in a horror movie, I'll never know why. The only reason I can imagine that they starred in this movie is that they were desperate for a check and had no projects at the time. Expand
24 of 26 users found this helpful242
All this user's reviews
7
Rox22Jan 25, 2013
A fairly good Popcorn horror flick. It's no masterpiece and nowhere near as good as the original. On its own, it is highly entertaining with some masterful & memorable performances by Geoffrey Rush & Famke Janssen. A shame about the theA fairly good Popcorn horror flick. It's no masterpiece and nowhere near as good as the original. On its own, it is highly entertaining with some masterful & memorable performances by Geoffrey Rush & Famke Janssen. A shame about the the ending as the CG effects are unconvincing and kind of ruin the flow of the narrative up to that point. Practical effects would have been far better in this instance as it worked really well for the rest of the film. Overall: A great movie to watch with a bowl of popcorn at home on a dark and stormy night. Expand
1 of 33 users found this helpful132
All this user's reviews
10
KadeemluvmusicSep 22, 2016
Seriosly Metacritic, you might wanna go to Rotten Tomatoes because House on Haunted Hill is indeed one of the best horror remakes of all time. Hell, it even almost this close by getting a 100% Tomatometer score. How come this only has a 25 rating?
.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
tdebugAug 13, 2016
Oh, wow. 1.1, seriosly? This is the most underrated movie on metacritics. It is really not that bad! Sure it won't give you nightmares, but it has some story and humor and worth at least 7 point in my opinion.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
JoshC.Feb 5, 2004
The movie rocked! it kept me on my toes the whole time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JenniferU.Oct 30, 2001
This movie is the best. It keeps you on your damn toes if you're seening it for the first time. I saw it a while back. When i saw the movie it scared me, made me jump out of my seat. I love horror a lot, when that movie made me jump This movie is the best. It keeps you on your damn toes if you're seening it for the first time. I saw it a while back. When i saw the movie it scared me, made me jump out of my seat. I love horror a lot, when that movie made me jump that is good. The part when is looking for her friend Danny and in the room the pink ghost rattling the cage... that scared me. I just love that movie but it don't top "The Exorcist" black and white version...sorry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KrisR.Aug 10, 2001
This is an ok movie that really didn't scare me the first time I saw it, but the blood and gore is enough to make you cringe and think "I'm glad that isn't happening to me!" There is only about one thing that bugs me about the This is an ok movie that really didn't scare me the first time I saw it, but the blood and gore is enough to make you cringe and think "I'm glad that isn't happening to me!" There is only about one thing that bugs me about the film, and that is whenver someone starts clapping slowly and saying "Bravo," which is WAY too overused in the film. I guess the writers ran out of ideas. This is an overall ok movie, with a few surprises, and LOTS of blood and gore, so if you are squeamish, I don't suggest it!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ScottM.May 7, 2003
I'm not easy to scare. And this movie didn't scare me but what it did do is make me think of how desperate moviemakers are to get you to be scared. Too much gore and disturbing images but what do you expect from the director of I'm not easy to scare. And this movie didn't scare me but what it did do is make me think of how desperate moviemakers are to get you to be scared. Too much gore and disturbing images but what do you expect from the director of Fear dot com. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CodyS.Dec 26, 2004
I loved it because i like scary movies. but it could of been a little scarier.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CraigW.Dec 28, 2001
When I first watched this film, I thought, my god, this is fantastic, the bit where the reporter tapes those surgeons that look up at her, brrrrr, if your into horror, get into this! I dont know many more fantasticaly made horrors, like this When I first watched this film, I thought, my god, this is fantastic, the bit where the reporter tapes those surgeons that look up at her, brrrrr, if your into horror, get into this! I dont know many more fantasticaly made horrors, like this one besides the exorcist. All can say is watch it, watch it, watch it. Plus people who gave it a 1-5 i bet u were peeing your pants! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful