User Score
1.9

Overwhelming dislike- based on 139 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 139
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 19, 2010
    3
    The horrors of Haunted Hill might have worked for children, but sadly the true horror here is how ridiculous, rickety and perplexing the twist is, and despite the successful, seductive performance by Janssen, this gothic B-movie is a nauseating waste of time.
  2. May 17, 2015
    0
    House on Haunted Hill is one of the dumbest thrillers from 1999. The movie intends it's thrills to be creepy and jolting but all the thrills fall flat. Even the acting form Janssen and Rush couldn't save this movie and they are outstanding actors. Both those actors were miscast in this movie though because they don't star in horror movies. Why they wanted to star in a horror movie, I'llHouse on Haunted Hill is one of the dumbest thrillers from 1999. The movie intends it's thrills to be creepy and jolting but all the thrills fall flat. Even the acting form Janssen and Rush couldn't save this movie and they are outstanding actors. Both those actors were miscast in this movie though because they don't star in horror movies. Why they wanted to star in a horror movie, I'll never know why. The only reason I can imagine that they starred in this movie is that they were desperate for a check and had no projects at the time. Expand
  3. Jan 25, 2013
    7
    A fairly good Popcorn horror flick. It's no masterpiece and nowhere near as good as the original. On its own, it is highly entertaining with some masterful & memorable performances by Geoffrey Rush & Famke Janssen. A shame about the the ending as the CG effects are unconvincing and kind of ruin the flow of the narrative up to that point. Practical effects would have been far better in thisA fairly good Popcorn horror flick. It's no masterpiece and nowhere near as good as the original. On its own, it is highly entertaining with some masterful & memorable performances by Geoffrey Rush & Famke Janssen. A shame about the the ending as the CG effects are unconvincing and kind of ruin the flow of the narrative up to that point. Practical effects would have been far better in this instance as it worked really well for the rest of the film. Overall: A great movie to watch with a bowl of popcorn at home on a dark and stormy night. Expand
  4. JoshC.
    Feb 5, 2004
    9
    The movie rocked! it kept me on my toes the whole time.
  5. JenniferU.
    Oct 30, 2001
    9
    This movie is the best. It keeps you on your damn toes if you're seening it for the first time. I saw it a while back. When i saw the movie it scared me, made me jump out of my seat. I love horror a lot, when that movie made me jump that is good. The part when is looking for her friend Danny and in the room the pink ghost rattling the cage... that scared me. I just love that movie This movie is the best. It keeps you on your damn toes if you're seening it for the first time. I saw it a while back. When i saw the movie it scared me, made me jump out of my seat. I love horror a lot, when that movie made me jump that is good. The part when is looking for her friend Danny and in the room the pink ghost rattling the cage... that scared me. I just love that movie but it don't top "The Exorcist" black and white version...sorry. Expand
  6. KrisR.
    Aug 10, 2001
    7
    This is an ok movie that really didn't scare me the first time I saw it, but the blood and gore is enough to make you cringe and think "I'm glad that isn't happening to me!" There is only about one thing that bugs me about the film, and that is whenver someone starts clapping slowly and saying "Bravo," which is WAY too overused in the film. I guess the writers ran out of This is an ok movie that really didn't scare me the first time I saw it, but the blood and gore is enough to make you cringe and think "I'm glad that isn't happening to me!" There is only about one thing that bugs me about the film, and that is whenver someone starts clapping slowly and saying "Bravo," which is WAY too overused in the film. I guess the writers ran out of ideas. This is an overall ok movie, with a few surprises, and LOTS of blood and gore, so if you are squeamish, I don't suggest it!! Expand
  7. ScottM.
    May 7, 2003
    2
    I'm not easy to scare. And this movie didn't scare me but what it did do is make me think of how desperate moviemakers are to get you to be scared. Too much gore and disturbing images but what do you expect from the director of Fear dot com.
  8. CodyS.
    Dec 26, 2004
    9
    I loved it because i like scary movies. but it could of been a little scarier.
  9. CraigW.
    Dec 28, 2001
    9
    When I first watched this film, I thought, my god, this is fantastic, the bit where the reporter tapes those surgeons that look up at her, brrrrr, if your into horror, get into this! I dont know many more fantasticaly made horrors, like this one besides the exorcist. All can say is watch it, watch it, watch it. Plus people who gave it a 1-5 i bet u were peeing your pants!
Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 17
  2. Negative: 10 out of 17
  1. 38
    Contains too little of the original's campy spirit and too many whistles, bells, explosions and screams.
  2. 50
    Low-budget, high-camp.
  3. The kind of horror movie that's not a bit scary and quite a bit gross.