User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 282 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 97 out of 282
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 19, 2011
    2
    Normally I would be able to appreciate a comic book movie for what it is trying to do with the story, trying to go deeper with the character, but not with a movie like Hulk, where every other aspect of the film doesn't work at all. The slow moving plot, underwhelming and boring action sequences, and the unconvincing performances from some talented actors makes Hulk the most disappointingNormally I would be able to appreciate a comic book movie for what it is trying to do with the story, trying to go deeper with the character, but not with a movie like Hulk, where every other aspect of the film doesn't work at all. The slow moving plot, underwhelming and boring action sequences, and the unconvincing performances from some talented actors makes Hulk the most disappointing movie Marvel has made along with Daredevil and Fantastic 4. Expand
  2. PaulL.
    Jul 15, 2008
    2
    This is far the worst superhero movie ever yet. Dear Ang lee, please i forbid to stop making those American superhero comic strip or else you continued to ruin them. Here the mistakes. You turned this Superhero movie into a more of a drama. Plus the action scenes wasn't that great eiter. Kid might like those. But for older people it is boring.Way Way Way too much talking man. you This is far the worst superhero movie ever yet. Dear Ang lee, please i forbid to stop making those American superhero comic strip or else you continued to ruin them. Here the mistakes. You turned this Superhero movie into a more of a drama. Plus the action scenes wasn't that great eiter. Kid might like those. But for older people it is boring.Way Way Way too much talking man. you don't know any action that well and so does you partner name James sclamcus. do you know any actions that well? Guess not! You should study more action appealing to American Audiences. OR even better, they should hired John woo, another Chinese Director who know more action better. He directed Face off. the story and the action in Faceoff is beautifully crafted. Expand
  3. Tamatha
    Jun 6, 2005
    1
    Absolutely terrible. I would rather watch a sappy soap-opera then be put through watching this again. The only reason why it got a one is because I was able to take a nap.
  4. Bob
    Jun 19, 2003
    0
    BAD!!!
  5. Fantasy
    Jun 27, 2003
    1
    I gave it one point for at least getting the Hulk's color right? As for the rest of the movie it was as bad as could be.
  6. JonathanB.
    Jun 27, 2003
    0
    This was one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Ang Lee isn't fit to direct a studio sitcom. This movie was too long and all flash and no substance. The endless use of wipes, split screen, snap zooms and swoosh cuts were painful to watch. The dialogue was laughable, with faux depth. "You gave him fear of life." Well you gave me over 2 hours of complete garbage. This film is just This was one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Ang Lee isn't fit to direct a studio sitcom. This movie was too long and all flash and no substance. The endless use of wipes, split screen, snap zooms and swoosh cuts were painful to watch. The dialogue was laughable, with faux depth. "You gave him fear of life." Well you gave me over 2 hours of complete garbage. This film is just another step toward the complete disintegration of any kind of artistic merit or meaning in mainstream cinema. Films have become nothing more than eye candy. You know what next time I feel like paying 9 dollars to sit through another piece of crap hollywood blockbuster I'll just stay home and throw on a winamp visualization. Expand
  7. Jan 17, 2015
    3
    Hulk,il film del 2003,รจ stato per me uno dei peggiori film di sempre basati sui supereroi ed una trama orribile,dei personaggi con un carisma inesistente.Non guardatelo.
  8. AnsonG.
    Jun 6, 2006
    1
    Worse and nothin special about this movie. Hulk is the worse and terrible i ever seen. Even this movie and cartoon was famous from US, but Ang Lee was mistaken to create this movie. Ok, here i disspointment of this movie. 1st, the lovers dont get on. 2nd, when hulk fighting against tank and helicopter comanche, doesnt explode at all, it just crash and trash only. For the kids, yes, they Worse and nothin special about this movie. Hulk is the worse and terrible i ever seen. Even this movie and cartoon was famous from US, but Ang Lee was mistaken to create this movie. Ok, here i disspointment of this movie. 1st, the lovers dont get on. 2nd, when hulk fighting against tank and helicopter comanche, doesnt explode at all, it just crash and trash only. For the kids, yes, they like to see that. I doubt Eric Bana was wrong to choose as character Hulk. This movie doesnt make any sense at all and very boring. If u havent watch this, i advise u dont. Expand
  9. MattG.
    Aug 4, 2003
    0
    I can sum up it up in two words: "Green Garbage."
  10. R.Cast
    Jun 20, 2003
    2
    Toooooo looooong! it took spider man 10 min. to get bit with the genetically altered spider, we have to wait 1 hour for bruce banner to get the dose of gamma radiation. this is not batman and joker. rent the dvd and go directly to the bust sh.t up parts.
  11. M.O.
    Jun 22, 2003
    3
    How do you make the Hulk boring? Well, you remove any sense of humor. You remove all conflict between the Hulk and "Puny" Banner. You have his only real fight scene take place at midnight so you can't see anything. And you make the climax so "artful" as to be devoid of any hope of a satisfying conclusion. All that, plus you make the Hulk look like rubber. Ang is a talented director, How do you make the Hulk boring? Well, you remove any sense of humor. You remove all conflict between the Hulk and "Puny" Banner. You have his only real fight scene take place at midnight so you can't see anything. And you make the climax so "artful" as to be devoid of any hope of a satisfying conclusion. All that, plus you make the Hulk look like rubber. Ang is a talented director, but just the wrong guy on this film. Expand
  12. T.G.
    Jun 22, 2003
    3
    Cluttered story and very boring movie. Dont see it, its not worth the money.
  13. Kent
    Jun 23, 2003
    3
    Normally when you see a DVD you will find that they include many outtakes and scenes that they removed in order to make the movie flow more quickly and smoothly. It seems that the person who normally does the "cutting" in films was asleep, because there was a TON of loooong boring crap in this film that should have been removed, or re-editted/re-written to GET TO THE POINT quickly, and Normally when you see a DVD you will find that they include many outtakes and scenes that they removed in order to make the movie flow more quickly and smoothly. It seems that the person who normally does the "cutting" in films was asleep, because there was a TON of loooong boring crap in this film that should have been removed, or re-editted/re-written to GET TO THE POINT quickly, and get on with the movie. This film took over an hour to even "start" to get interesting. I mean, come one already, the story of what happened in the past and how the hulk came to be, plus the character development could have been done in 10 minutes or less. The rest of it could have been exciting stuff (with the HULK in it).....I mean, the HULK is the reason we went to see the movie in the first place.....not sitting in our seats listening to an endless barrage of bla bla blaaa-ing that goes nowhere. I hope they edit this piece of garbage before cutting the DVD so that it can be a shorter, faster, more exciting movie at home. (At least this would save me the effort of fast forwarding through 80% of the movie to get to the only good parts.) Expand
  14. DinuF.
    Jun 29, 2003
    1
    1 point for beeing a funny example of a trash-blockbuster movie. splitscreen was perma used like the director would have been on ice since 1960 when they first started playing with it (and found out that it sucks). the female role followed such conventional patterns that it fits good adding to a movie tasting like a used chewing-gum, chewed over and over with the hope to find some sugar 1 point for beeing a funny example of a trash-blockbuster movie. splitscreen was perma used like the director would have been on ice since 1960 when they first started playing with it (and found out that it sucks). the female role followed such conventional patterns that it fits good adding to a movie tasting like a used chewing-gum, chewed over and over with the hope to find some sugar left. no sugar comes of this one. Expand
  15. BobH.
    Jul 1, 2003
    0
    Just terrible. Don't waste your time. Word of mouth will end this dud quickly. Now don't get me mad. You would hate to see me when I get mad?
  16. RoyS.
    Jul 2, 2003
    0
    This was the worst movie I have ever seen.. I wanted to burn out my eyes.. This movie made the phantom look like an oscar winner.
  17. DanK.
    Jul 24, 2003
    0
    I have fallen asleep at two movies in my life, a 1:00am showing of "Fantasia" (and I was drunk when it started), and "The Hulk". Boring, stupid, and slow. The worst movie I have seen this year.
  18. Emily
    Jul 25, 2003
    0
    Horrible- no plot, boring, too long, what a waste of money on all sides.
  19. TitoY.
    Jul 31, 2003
    1
    I gave it 5 because I'm a marvel heroes fan. But it really doesn't work without an enemy, Lee maybe should thought in the evil Blackheart. The movie doesn't make more sense and it becomes really boring like the 70's TV series.
  20. JamesW.
    Aug 1, 2003
    3
    As a big fan of the hulk, i was hoping to watch a movie that would show the destructive power of the hulk as well as Bruce Banner's struggle with the monster within. I believed that, with comments i had heard before, i was going to watch quite a good movie. However, after watching the hulk, i was severly dissappointed. The way in which the Hulk was born went from a simple explosion As a big fan of the hulk, i was hoping to watch a movie that would show the destructive power of the hulk as well as Bruce Banner's struggle with the monster within. I believed that, with comments i had heard before, i was going to watch quite a good movie. However, after watching the hulk, i was severly dissappointed. The way in which the Hulk was born went from a simple explosion to a far too complex, intricate chain of events that didn't even make sense anyway. Betty Ross went from a strong willed character to a slobbering female side character. The actual Hulk scenes were very good though and the cgi, while not perfect, was much better than any Hulk before it. The fights with the Hulk were visually pleasing, but on the other hand. there were just too many faults in the film to make it good, too many to put down here and to fans of the big green man, i shall tell you you'll probably be better off watching the cartoons. Expand
  21. Dr.Ed
    Aug 5, 2003
    0
    Please tell me that they will never make a Hulk 2? You wouldn't like it if I get angry? Seriously, this is pure drek. How does Hollywood regurgitate this garbage?
  22. M.Taylor
    Aug 9, 2004
    0
    1st scene the main characters experimenting on animals, so straight away I want them to die, all empathy gone, well played ang lee!
  23. C.H.
    Sep 30, 2006
    1
    You've got to be kidding.
  24. KevinL.
    Jun 20, 2003
    2
    I was lucky to go to a screening of this movie the day before it came out. With Ang Lee directing and the memories of Spiderman fresh in my mind - expectations were running high. I must say; I was sorely disappointed. The scenes did not flow very smoothly, and the dialogue (while OK for a comic book) was terrible for a movie. The worst part was the movie dragged on forever. The split I was lucky to go to a screening of this movie the day before it came out. With Ang Lee directing and the memories of Spiderman fresh in my mind - expectations were running high. I must say; I was sorely disappointed. The scenes did not flow very smoothly, and the dialogue (while OK for a comic book) was terrible for a movie. The worst part was the movie dragged on forever. The split screens in some part of the movie were also distracting. Save your money; and skip past this movie. Expand
  25. MitchH.
    Jun 23, 2003
    2
    I really didn't like this movie. It took WAY to long to get to the hulk, and when it did, the hulk was boring and he didn't do anything. He just got shot at and while he wrecked stuff. I can say the fight scene with him and the dogs was pretty cool, but the whole movie was a let down. Boring, dull, and uninteresting. Don't waste you time seeing this one. rent Spiderman I really didn't like this movie. It took WAY to long to get to the hulk, and when it did, the hulk was boring and he didn't do anything. He just got shot at and while he wrecked stuff. I can say the fight scene with him and the dogs was pretty cool, but the whole movie was a let down. Boring, dull, and uninteresting. Don't waste you time seeing this one. rent Spiderman instead. A much better comic book movie. Expand
  26. Seethru01
    Jun 23, 2003
    3
    For those who think this movie is deep, watch something with true emotional father/son power like Road to Perdition. This movie is terrible, boring, and just godawful. I am bitterly disappointed that Lee comes nowhere even close to capturing anything redeeming in Hulk. I mean it is a freaking 15 foot smashing machine and I guess it is some sort of achievement to make a boring film out of For those who think this movie is deep, watch something with true emotional father/son power like Road to Perdition. This movie is terrible, boring, and just godawful. I am bitterly disappointed that Lee comes nowhere even close to capturing anything redeeming in Hulk. I mean it is a freaking 15 foot smashing machine and I guess it is some sort of achievement to make a boring film out of it. Connelly and Bana make for a couple with all the sparks of two people in rubber shock absorbing suits. Nick Nolte might have achieved a new award in the overacting, I mumble my lines and then shout crazily to show my character is out of control. The directing has a very distracting "24" split screen direction that undermines any seriousness in the dialogue or scenes. People I was in the theater with wanted to laugh and to be awed by the rampage of the Hulk. Instead they got a BORING, PRETENTIOUS, and MUDDLED effort from a great director. Somebody tell Lee never to take a big studio project again. He wasn't ready or up to it. Expand
  27. WAKOJAKO
    Jun 23, 2003
    3
    Below average comic book adaptation--way too presumptious for its own good, and reminiscent of way too many other films recent and ancient. (Paying occasional tribute is one thing, quite another to relentlessly keep your mind wandering into other films instead of absorbing you into the "new" material.) The most original aspect of this film was the nausea-inducing editing with its myriad Below average comic book adaptation--way too presumptious for its own good, and reminiscent of way too many other films recent and ancient. (Paying occasional tribute is one thing, quite another to relentlessly keep your mind wandering into other films instead of absorbing you into the "new" material.) The most original aspect of this film was the nausea-inducing editing with its myriad swish, swash, slip, slash flim-flam cutting--very odd for a film that moves at a snail's pace. Also, for a film with so much scientifically charged mumbo-jumbo, it is amazing how some basic laws of physics seem to have ignored. Example: wouldn't the hulk's accelerating mass have burned during it's reentry into the atmosphere??? I'm trying not to give away too much. I'm no scientist, but some things seemed annoyingly messy for a film that seems to be striving for so much more than just fun summer entertainment. It should have been that, and not the sappy, blundering, annoyingly boring mess it is. Expand
  28. JonC.
    Jun 24, 2003
    0
    Ang Lee has proven himself as a fine director, never more than with the breathtaking Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon. But something goes awry in Hulk from the get-go. Take for instance the opening sequence, which most films use to pique the viewer's interest and get the mind set for the adventure to come. Not only was it confusing but it was just plain boring. You could walk in five Ang Lee has proven himself as a fine director, never more than with the breathtaking Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon. But something goes awry in Hulk from the get-go. Take for instance the opening sequence, which most films use to pique the viewer's interest and get the mind set for the adventure to come. Not only was it confusing but it was just plain boring. You could walk in five minutes late and not miss a thing because the whole premise is reviewed, remasticated, reswallowed, and regurgitated several more times before the film is over. I found Spider-Man's opening titles just set to music much more entertaining. I am sorry, but the Hulk as a character film simply did not work. I found more dramatic poignance in the father-son relationship of Finding Nemo, which ironically also features a wider range of dramatic nuance in each of its computer animated characters than The Hulk does with its entire live cast, let alone the embarrasingly rubbery, computer-animated green dummy. The Hulk should have been an action/adventure picture, which it sorrily is not; Ang Lee was obviusly not the right director for this project. Thus The Hulk will not hold among the recent beloved spew of fun, intelligent, and faithful comic book adaptations (Spider-Man and X-Men) but will join malaised, ill-conceived scrap like Daredevil and many other soon to come, I am sure. Expand
  29. BobS.
    Jun 26, 2003
    3
    The movie's dramatic plot is ill conceived, and boring. The characters are hard to believe as real, the scientific backdrop is ridiculous, and the hulk himself is not exciting. You never for a second believe that anything in this movie could really happen. Especially the military characters are extremely one-dimensional, and predictable. Also there's way too much dialogue, and The movie's dramatic plot is ill conceived, and boring. The characters are hard to believe as real, the scientific backdrop is ridiculous, and the hulk himself is not exciting. You never for a second believe that anything in this movie could really happen. Especially the military characters are extremely one-dimensional, and predictable. Also there's way too much dialogue, and the sequence with the knife is truly disturbing for younger viewers, and should have been implied only. Overall the movie is not worth the price of admission. In general I think the movies reviewed on Metacritic are worth the price of admission multiplied by the metascore percent. That puts this movie at $8*0.58=$4.64. About right! Expand
  30. David
    Jun 26, 2003
    0
    Hulk of Crapola.
  31. JoeyR.
    Jul 1, 2003
    3
    About 30 minutes too long and 60 wipes/fades too many. laughable dialogue and a completely absurd ending that left my friends and i simply asking: "what in the..." i give it no bouns points for action since the subject matter so obviously lends itself to destruction that even my mom could have come up with 'the hulk smashes stuff'. minus points for not going with the obviousAbout 30 minutes too long and 60 wipes/fades too many. laughable dialogue and a completely absurd ending that left my friends and i simply asking: "what in the..." i give it no bouns points for action since the subject matter so obviously lends itself to destruction that even my mom could have come up with 'the hulk smashes stuff'. minus points for not going with the obvious climax (which i thought was already foreshadowed earlier in the movie) which would have been way better than what we were "treated" to. rent it or steal it. Expand
  32. PavelS.
    Jul 8, 2003
    0
    The worst movie I've seen in the last year.
  33. filmisdead
    Oct 10, 2005
    2
    What the hell was Ang Lee thinking? How dare he film the equivalent of a random, delirious fart and release it bigtime? So laughably misguided it's almost tragic, yet not even brimming with enough written, performed and filmmaking ineptitude for said ineptitude to even matter. Eric Banal, Josh Puke-ass and a beyond slumming Nick Nolte are pathetically out of their acting What the hell was Ang Lee thinking? How dare he film the equivalent of a random, delirious fart and release it bigtime? So laughably misguided it's almost tragic, yet not even brimming with enough written, performed and filmmaking ineptitude for said ineptitude to even matter. Eric Banal, Josh Puke-ass and a beyond slumming Nick Nolte are pathetically out of their acting 'league', while J.-Co and Sam Elliott's efforts to salvage this DOA wreck are in obvious and pitiful vain. Oh yeah, HULK is terrible, all right, and yet better than all of the Hollywood crapola I saw this summer. Next to absolute sh..fests like War of the Worlds and Revenge of the Sith, its own hideously childish effects are anything but! How loud a volume do y'all think that speaks? Expand
  34. abbey
    Jun 13, 2005
    3
    This movie is an absolute train wreak. I would expect more from Ang Lee. The plot itself was okay, but all of the action scenes were terrible and too drawn out. In my opinon, Eric Bana was a very poor choice for the hulk. And even wonderful performances by Jennifer Connelly and Sam Elliott were not enough to save this movie.
  35. AnthonyS.
    Oct 21, 2008
    0
    I went to the movies to see this with my girlfreind in 2003 or so and omg this movie sucked complete garbage i actully fell asleep during this movie id rather cut my penis off then watch this bull crap ever again.
  36. KiloM.
    Jul 15, 2008
    0
    Horrible. Dear Ang lee get out of here. You made this Superhero movie into a drama. What a complete waste.
  37. JamesH.
    Jul 15, 2008
    0
    This movie sucks man. need more action and lower down the dialogue.
  38. FrenchBench
    Jul 16, 2008
    0
    This is one the ang lee worst movie 0f 2003. Ang lee, you never come back to American Superhero universe again. Ever!!
  39. MadisonS.
    Dec 12, 2003
    2
    I did not like the Hulk movie so much, it was gross and gory. your kids should not wach it.
  40. RyanM.
    Jun 21, 2003
    0
    Not only does Ang Lee's film fail in any way a film possibly could--it literally hurts to watch this manifestation of all tanked films of the last 21 centuries drag on for nearly 2 and a half hours.
  41. Walt
    Jun 24, 2003
    0
    Hated it.
  42. HANOB.
    Jun 25, 2003
    0
    This is one terrible, turgid, green turd of a movie which implodes on itself by giving us absolutely nothing new (except for one laughably bad, booooooooooorriiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiig special effect). Look, I go to the movies to be entertained. I have liked most of the comic book adaptations ever made...even Daredevil. And to be fair, the little bits of action here and there in the hulk This is one terrible, turgid, green turd of a movie which implodes on itself by giving us absolutely nothing new (except for one laughably bad, booooooooooorriiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiig special effect). Look, I go to the movies to be entertained. I have liked most of the comic book adaptations ever made...even Daredevil. And to be fair, the little bits of action here and there in the hulk are OK. But so much of it is so unsatisfyingly stupid. Like the hulk running underground through the streets of San Francisco??? Oh, did he just crash through an underwater wall and decide to go digging? And I suppose he could tell exactly where and what direction the street laid on from underneath? And then his father bites through this cable and transforms into a mutant??? What shall we call him, Electrico? Whatever. Stupid and nonsensical bul*&%#t. Do not waste your money. Expand
  43. Flukester
    Jun 26, 2003
    0
    It was so bad that I was embarassed to leave the theater and be seen. Avoid at all costs.
  44. EricS.
    Jun 28, 2003
    0
    About 3/4 of the way through the movie, one character said, "I'm sorry." I said, "Me too. For coming to this movie." That comment received applause from the people sitting around me. After the final battle between the Hulk and another character (don't want to give anything away), the screen went black and I thought my agony was over. But text appeared on the screen and I said, About 3/4 of the way through the movie, one character said, "I'm sorry." I said, "Me too. For coming to this movie." That comment received applause from the people sitting around me. After the final battle between the Hulk and another character (don't want to give anything away), the screen went black and I thought my agony was over. But text appeared on the screen and I said, "Ahhhh, (expletive)." This received both applause and laughter. I have never walked on a movie I paid money to see. This one almost became the first. On a scale of 1 to 10, this movie sucked. Expand
  45. HamishG.
    Jul 13, 2003
    1
    Awful, awful, horrible film. Shit action scenes and a weird ass plot that should have ended when he changed back to human form. The last 20 mins were absolutely pointless. Ang Lee is an over rated director who should stick to making martial art films.
  46. RichardG.
    Sep 24, 2003
    1
    What are you talking about, Nick Nolte, had the best performance in this movie. After watching this movie I was convinced that an all nolte anll the time show, with Nolte going crazy, would be more entertaining. This was long teadious, unfulfiling, mindless, predictable garbage. I gave it a one for Nick Noltes and Jennifer C.'s combined performance.
  47. Droog
    Jul 27, 2005
    2
    I avoided this movie when it hit the theaters a few years back, but my library had a copy when I was browsing the shelves this afternoon, so I figured what the heck. Wow. This is one of the worst movies made in the past 5 years, and definitely one of the worst superhero movies ever made. The special effects are, in a word, awful. The Hulk looks like a digitally-animated booger. And far I avoided this movie when it hit the theaters a few years back, but my library had a copy when I was browsing the shelves this afternoon, so I figured what the heck. Wow. This is one of the worst movies made in the past 5 years, and definitely one of the worst superhero movies ever made. The special effects are, in a word, awful. The Hulk looks like a digitally-animated booger. And far too many of the action scenes take place in the dark. Maybe it was just my TV, but I couldn't see anything happening (ie. the Hulk's fight with the mutant dogs is 5 minutes of barking and total darkness. But the worse transgression is the plot, which totally overcomplicates Bruce Banner's narrative history. The beauty of the comic-book Hulk is his simplicity. He is based on the Jekyll & Hyde archetype, brilliant and weak as Bruce Banner, dumb and unstoppable as the Hulk. The Hulk taps into our inner child, the angry id of anyone who has ever been beaten up or been stepped on and has wished for vengeance. But by throwing in all the extra shenanigans of repressed memories, Oedipus complex, and Foucaltean rantings about power, this movie detaches itself from anything resembling personal experience and becomes a self-involved, CGI monstrosity. Expand
  48. john
    Mar 13, 2008
    0
    This was the worst movie ive ever seen in my life, my god was it just ridiciulous. Id rather stand in front of a moving train then watch this movie again, it was so boring, stupid and weird that I walked out 20 minutes in. I hate this movie so much and I can't believe garbage like this will be shown to people.
  49. JamesK.
    Jul 15, 2008
    0
    I had to agree with people who gave this film a negative review. Ang lee was trying to turn this piece of art of action into a drama. And the enemies are the U.S military? Weak man. Get a life Ang lee. You don't know any action at all. This of one of the worst movie for the past 5 years. You nearly destroyed this piece of crap and the no sequels just a reboot. you know what. Get the I had to agree with people who gave this film a negative review. Ang lee was trying to turn this piece of art of action into a drama. And the enemies are the U.S military? Weak man. Get a life Ang lee. You don't know any action at all. This of one of the worst movie for the past 5 years. You nearly destroyed this piece of crap and the no sequels just a reboot. you know what. Get the **** out of here and stop making American superhero comic books anymore. You can't expect a superhero movie without more action. Anyone It a complete Trash and Ang lee ruined this crap. Expand
  50. Starfox
    Nov 15, 2003
    1
    Was there any point during the making of this film that the filmakers or executives thought, "Wait a minute, this is really dull." An incomprehensible bore that uses every new found editing filter in the Avid cookbook to cover up the fact that it is incomprehensible and boring. And I haven't even mentioned the horrific CGI.
  51. AlyssaS.
    Dec 12, 2003
    0
    I hated the Hulk movie. It was nothing like the story only except the part where he turned into the hulk. He did'nt look much like the hulk only that he was green. But his face did not look like the hulk. I think that this show was changed altogether.
  52. Aug 12, 2012
    3
    This is one of the worst superhero movies i have seen. Me and my brother watched this movie mistakenly thinking this was one of those avenger movies. The movie has a very slow pace and there is not enough action. Action sequences are generally in the dark and i couldn't see what was happening. I did not care enough about Bruce to keep watching this movie after watching half of this weThis is one of the worst superhero movies i have seen. Me and my brother watched this movie mistakenly thinking this was one of those avenger movies. The movie has a very slow pace and there is not enough action. Action sequences are generally in the dark and i couldn't see what was happening. I did not care enough about Bruce to keep watching this movie after watching half of this we turned it off. I'm giving this movie a 3 just because i did not watch this whole the way through and maybe it's better towards the end but a 3 is the max i can give it really you're better of watching the Avengers which has a better Hulk Expand
  53. Apr 21, 2012
    3
    This movie is the worst MARVEL movie ever.the Hulk is terrible,visuals are confusing,there are so many errors.the Betty character is confusing most of all.The only good thing about this movie is the action,but overall I hate it.
  54. Apr 21, 2014
    2
    Really, really bad film. Not only did i not really like the Hulk before seeing this film, usually when i walk in to see a marvel movie i like to be amazed and introduced to a new character and do some research, this film put a really bad taste in my mouth, it bored me to tears, the acting was terribly average and the plot tried to take itself way to seriously. Bad movie dont watch.

    2/10
  55. May 2, 2015
    2
    nothing about this film works! it is otter garbage! event when i was younger i hated it and always thought there was so much wrong with this movie. thank god no sequels followed
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. 50
    The main problem with The Hulk, really, is that there isn't enough Hulk in it.
  2. 70
    The real star is the splendid computer-generated Hulk, though his King Kong-like story is compromised by the need to keep him around for the inevitable sequel.
  3. The Hulk has a split personality: Two-thirds come from director Ang Lee, one-third from '60s comic book creator Stan Lee.