User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 582 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 70 out of 582
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 14, 2011
    9
    I Am Legend is what you get when you take the Zombie apocalypse but replace the Zombies with vampires, Will Smith makes a great performance in this movie, I wasn't sure what to expect with this movie but it turned out to be a emotionally moving, pulse quickening experience, and one of the best movie i've ever seen.
  2. Apr 14, 2013
    9
    This is a riviting sci-fi apocalyptic that really gets your heart rate beating. There's just something about Will Smith's performance that really puts you on the edge of your seat. Even though he's "technicaly" the only one in this new world, he keeps you entertained with the fear of the so-called zombies. It has its dramatic scenes also which were just outstanding. By the way, Sam's deathThis is a riviting sci-fi apocalyptic that really gets your heart rate beating. There's just something about Will Smith's performance that really puts you on the edge of your seat. Even though he's "technicaly" the only one in this new world, he keeps you entertained with the fear of the so-called zombies. It has its dramatic scenes also which were just outstanding. By the way, Sam's death was to tragic. I mean seriously, who didn't cry when Robert had to put down his dog? I never thought a movie like this could not only amaze me with its suspense, but also tug on my heart strings at the same time. The only real problem is that this movie is kinda short. I really wish this movie was much longer. But other than that, it's an amazing apocolyptic thriller done better than any other apocolyptic movie. Expand
  3. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    Virtually any movie Will Smith is starring in, the movie and his own performances is of A standard and this is not excluding I Am Legend. Robert Neville the main protagonist played by Will, is a scientist globally recognised, but not even he could contain the petrifying virus at has appeared to be unstoppable. The mystery behind his immunity is unidentified but what is clear is he's "TheVirtually any movie Will Smith is starring in, the movie and his own performances is of A standard and this is not excluding I Am Legend. Robert Neville the main protagonist played by Will, is a scientist globally recognised, but not even he could contain the petrifying virus at has appeared to be unstoppable. The mystery behind his immunity is unidentified but what is clear is he's "The last man on earth". After a Cancer cure gone wrong it has transformed those injected with the so called vaccine into infected man eaters who have hunted down almost every human remaining. By the time the sun rises its safe due to the infected unable to appear under the sun for unknown reasons but once the sun begins to falls the "zombies" of more intelligences seen before hunt for any life form to eat. In the end it is up to Robert Neville to find the cure in an attempt to save the remaining world. A true classic and must watch for all Zombie fans. Expand
  4. Jul 9, 2014
    9
    AWESOME FILM,LOVED IT-Smith turns in a terrific performance, TOUCHING ACTING, STUNNING visuals
    A GOOD ENTERTAINING FILM BY WILL SMITH!!!Just a great movie -it is my opinion - i really enjoyed it- and add to my favorite film gallery .
  5. Dec 30, 2012
    9
    Will Smith did a great job in the movie. The dog was really a great part of the movie and I almost cried when he had to kill his own dog. The ending was amazing and sad at the same time. Its a great accomplishment when you can make a grown man nearly cry in a horror movie.
  6. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    A very enjoyable film featuring a very stellar performance by Will Smith. The story is very captivating even if a little too short for my liking. As a fan of sci-fi titles, this one stands among some of the better, more refined. I can easily recommend this movie to anyone, even those who do not care to much for the horror.
  7. Nov 18, 2013
    9
    This movie is a very good adaptation of the original novel, the novel being my favorite book ever. It doesn't follow the book to the fullest though... As the book was written in the fifties they updated it more, and don't follow the main story of the book.
    Such as in the book Robert Neville does not have a dog, while in the movie, Robert Neville (Played by Will Smith) has a dog.
    Will
    This movie is a very good adaptation of the original novel, the novel being my favorite book ever. It doesn't follow the book to the fullest though... As the book was written in the fifties they updated it more, and don't follow the main story of the book.
    Such as in the book Robert Neville does not have a dog, while in the movie, Robert Neville (Played by Will Smith) has a dog.
    Will Smith does a very good job in this movie, and it makes you feel lonely, as did the book. The movie did a very good job of making you ask what was going to happen next. Like in the book, Neville has flash backs about his family, these are not well done.
    One scene made me almost cry, a movie has never done that before.
    There is two endings but the second one is crap.
    The only thing that ruins this movie is CGI monsters. WHY?
    I don't remember the book having poor CGI monsters in it that don't look scary.

    But anyway...
    Unlike the book he has a dog, and this dog is awesome. In this world you see what Neville has to do to survive, and that is very well done.

    There isn't much more I can say without spoiling it so I will leave it at that.
    Watch this movie!
    More importantly read the book, one of the best.
    Collapse
  8. JasonP.
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    Brilliant flick! Will Smith's best performance to date. And love the dog!
  9. DavidB.
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    This is the third time the book I Am Legend has been adapted into a movie (the first being the Last Man on Earth starring Vincent Price and the second being the omega man starring charlton heston) and this one is probaly the best although not the truest to the book. However the ending still works, the scenes featuring empty streets and avenues of new york are breathtaking, superb acting This is the third time the book I Am Legend has been adapted into a movie (the first being the Last Man on Earth starring Vincent Price and the second being the omega man starring charlton heston) and this one is probaly the best although not the truest to the book. However the ending still works, the scenes featuring empty streets and avenues of new york are breathtaking, superb acting from Will Smith and the dog - excellent portrayal of solitude and despair - and the CGI is pretty awesome. All these things make one awesome epic movie and another great adaption of the book. And to everyone who criticised this movie with untrue low scores, what could of made it better? It is an excellent movie but still, everyone should read the book. The book beats all adaptions, and I hate books and prefer movie adaptions. All in all a pretty tense, thrilling and ultimately excellent movie. Expand
  10. PatrickB.
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    I don't know what you all were smoking, its as if you have to have everything spelled out for you. To the guy who asked about electricity, did you not see the generator? I loved this movie, contender for 2007 film of the year.
  11. BraydanB.
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    Was a fantastic film with great acting. yes the monsters could have been alot better with the use of actual humans, but i thought they did an excellent job
  12. DanW.
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    Well done from start to finish. Not really sure what people were looking for in the ending. I left the theatre thinking, "that was a solid ending," yet people are ripping it apart. Confused about that, but overall it was one of the best films of the year for me. It had it's chance to be a typical, feel good story, but it deviated from that and I found the writing to be outstanding. Well done from start to finish. Not really sure what people were looking for in the ending. I left the theatre thinking, "that was a solid ending," yet people are ripping it apart. Confused about that, but overall it was one of the best films of the year for me. It had it's chance to be a typical, feel good story, but it deviated from that and I found the writing to be outstanding. I'm convinced that some people are just haters and had their negative views written down before the movie began. Oh well, if you like movies, go see this. Expand
  13. guy!
    Feb 5, 2008
    9
    This is a masterpiece, no matter what anyone else says. It's great to see that good horror/suspense/sci-fi movies do exist, considering the garbage most contemporary horror films dish out every few weeks. The movie wasn't quite clear on how (possible spoiler) the infected humans had super-strength and agility, but they couldn't be exposed to sunlight either, so I guess it This is a masterpiece, no matter what anyone else says. It's great to see that good horror/suspense/sci-fi movies do exist, considering the garbage most contemporary horror films dish out every few weeks. The movie wasn't quite clear on how (possible spoiler) the infected humans had super-strength and agility, but they couldn't be exposed to sunlight either, so I guess it balances (end spoiler). The only reason I'm giving it a 9 is because of the ending, which came way too quickly and made the whole movie seem too short. Having said that, a must see for everyone who loves Smith. Expand
  14. DamienR.
    Mar 25, 2008
    10
    Easily one of the best movies of 2007. The special effects are great, the story is great, the acting by Will Smith is some of the best he's ever delivered and this movie is just generally a thrill ride from start to finish. I also thought the ending was very suitable and cant imagine why it was prone to such criticism when it suited the story so well.
  15. SeanF
    Jun 7, 2009
    10
    An interesting updating of the original novel. Will Smith shows that he can actually act. Sometimes when I make that statement people give a quizickle look, but, remember that most of the film is Smith acting on his own with a dog, and he holds the audiences interest. One of the few films that brings a tear to my eye during one certain scene. However, what the hell is up with the new An interesting updating of the original novel. Will Smith shows that he can actually act. Sometimes when I make that statement people give a quizickle look, but, remember that most of the film is Smith acting on his own with a dog, and he holds the audiences interest. One of the few films that brings a tear to my eye during one certain scene. However, what the hell is up with the new ending? It sucks,and also makes the film title itself nonsensical. Expand
  16. DanielD.
    Dec 16, 2007
    9
    I thought the movie was very well done. Will gave a wonderful performance as Robert Neville.
  17. Chris
    Dec 17, 2007
    9
    Not really like the book, but good in its own right. Will Smith was pretty believable and the action was heart pounding.
  18. AndrewK.
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    It's one of the best short story movies I've ever saw. I recommend it to everyone who's big fan of short stories.
  19. jessec
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    i dont wanna hear it i jus saw it a couple of days ago and its the best movie ive seen in years!i love it alonf with every single person i know...the cgi was good smith was good sam was good can they're definately not supposed to be vampires or zombies there diseased humans.....gahh i recommend it to anyone.
  20. LyndellK.
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    This movie with Will Smith's performance deserves a 10. The monsters some say were not scary well they were not supposed to be these horrible thing they were people infected by a virus the thought of these soulless shells of what used to be a human had me at the edge the entire time. Then how it showed this man who had lost everything at the edge releasing that all he has are himself This movie with Will Smith's performance deserves a 10. The monsters some say were not scary well they were not supposed to be these horrible thing they were people infected by a virus the thought of these soulless shells of what used to be a human had me at the edge the entire time. Then how it showed this man who had lost everything at the edge releasing that all he has are himself and these In-Human creatures it was amazing. The movie go's from Thriller to Horror to Drama then has an ending that was unexpected and that Greatly Combined all of the genres that went from absolutely nothing anyone could possibly do, too an Amazing miracle happening That left me want to know so much more about the apocalyptic time. the only draw back is i prefer reaL people instead of GFX. great movie 9-10 and one of the best performances i've ever seen by an actor. Expand
  21. DanaM.
    Jan 30, 2008
    9
    Having read the book I was surprised at how different the movie plot was. But I felt the movie told the better story. Excellent acting by Smith. Special effects were a bonus. Plenty of action and thrills. See it.
  22. MarcB
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    One of the best movies i've ever seen. Scary, sad and funny.
  23. JackS.
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    This film is a jump-a-minute thriller for adreneline junkies, sentimental people and pretty much anyone looking for a fun time.
  24. KenM.
    Feb 1, 2008
    10
    Realizes its full potential. Absolutely brilliant cinematography and film-making. First Rate!
  25. HeatherB.
    Mar 1, 2008
    9
    I really enjoyed this movie. I thought it was a nice blend of comedy and drama with a little action thrown in. People who did not like the movie Cast Away will not like this movie.
  26. GeorgeN.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    What an amazing movie! I read the book and enjoyed it but this movie not only expanded upon some of the original concepts but gave it much greater depth. It was obvious by reading the book that the author had a limited understanding of human physiology but this movie was put together with a much more realistic approach. I am very excited for the DVD release!
  27. BladeU.
    Mar 6, 2008
    10
    A zombie flick for anyone, including those who can't handle the gore of the Resident Evil Antagonists. I Am Legend amazes viewers, a story that can be enjoyed by anyone even with only one main character. It wows audiences with it's remodeled post-apocalypse environment. The Flash-back-filled story line thrilled me and I'm sure it will thrill most audiences. Bravo I Am Legend.
  28. FurduiA.
    Apr 8, 2008
    9
    Take all the bad zombie movies, put them toghether, add some new technologies and some good actors and you'll get to "I am legend", which is a great movie. It has only one weak spot - when Will is saved from the gazillion zombies by one lady and her kid :))) In the next evening you'll see that all the lights, bombs and other devices placed around Will's house are unable to Take all the bad zombie movies, put them toghether, add some new technologies and some good actors and you'll get to "I am legend", which is a great movie. It has only one weak spot - when Will is saved from the gazillion zombies by one lady and her kid :))) In the next evening you'll see that all the lights, bombs and other devices placed around Will's house are unable to keep the zombies away, but apparently the night before they had a headacke and the Rambo lady kicked their asses. Expand
  29. TWood
    Nov 26, 2009
    9
    Great acting from Will Smith and plenty of edge of the seat (as well as poignant) moments. Overall, an entertaining and emotional journey.
  30. JayD.
    Dec 12, 2007
    10
    Edy C...please learn the English language before writing another review.
  31. Dane
    Dec 14, 2007
    10
    I thought it was good movie. Good effects and overall the movie reminds me a bit of 28 weeks/days later.
  32. WillH.
    Dec 17, 2007
    9
    Pay attention to amplitude in reviews. This is a kind of movie that some people would love and some would love to hate. If you don't want to watch a horror film with zombies, simply do not go. In any other way, it's a wonderful piece with superior everything - acting, artist work, gfx, and good story.
  33. CloydE.
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    I don't know what people really look for in movies , I have read most of the reviews and some of them I was really surprise at some of there comments. Will Smith did well, when I go to a movie I don't expect very thing to each up to all of my expectation but I do want to to really enjoy the movie. If a movie is bad to me it's because it was total out of text form what I I don't know what people really look for in movies , I have read most of the reviews and some of them I was really surprise at some of there comments. Will Smith did well, when I go to a movie I don't expect very thing to each up to all of my expectation but I do want to to really enjoy the movie. If a movie is bad to me it's because it was total out of text form what I thought it would be like. The movie was good , the man played the part well and all the other action effects did just what they were suppose to do, what more do you want Some people just don't want to give credit where credit is due. Expand
  34. PeterO.
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    Warning: People who digged Transformers (and such High Octane - Emotionless movies) do not bother with I Am Legend, because it's not for you.
  35. RusselS1
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    Im from Russia, Siberia! Super movie! Stupid americans, go eat gamburgers! Will Smith respect!
  36. ChrisM.
    Nov 14, 2008
    10
    Excellent acting by Will Smith, Really brought you into the mood of the movie.
  37. RobertS.
    Jan 15, 2008
    9
    Visionary genius, fantastic acting and a wonderful atmosphere makes this (in my opinion) the best film of 2007. You fear for the characters rather than the film scaring you, which is a nice variation, and only works because of the acting skills of Will Smith and some thoughtful direction. The only things that seperate this film from a perfect ten rating are the slightly frustrating ending Visionary genius, fantastic acting and a wonderful atmosphere makes this (in my opinion) the best film of 2007. You fear for the characters rather than the film scaring you, which is a nice variation, and only works because of the acting skills of Will Smith and some thoughtful direction. The only things that seperate this film from a perfect ten rating are the slightly frustrating ending (not because of a certain death, but because the village on uninfected seemed too convinient. It should have been overrun, thus showing the failiar of the human race.), and the length of the film. It should have been longer, the opening scenes are beautiful and the relationship between Smith and his dog works perfectly, emphesising the fact that the dog, Sam and his music are all that root him to humanity. Anyway, definate buy. Expand
  38. Saskia
    Jan 15, 2008
    10
    A splendid melancolic movie with a strong after-effect and brillant lasting images
  39. ChrisS.
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    I don't agree with a lot of the reviews for this movie by both critics and normal people. Will Smith is such a good actor, I don't care what anyone else says. This movie is suspenseful from the start until the end, and the CGI effects are gorgeous. This is not like any Zombie-infection-end of the world movie ever made. The back before sunset twist just adds to to the atmosphere I don't agree with a lot of the reviews for this movie by both critics and normal people. Will Smith is such a good actor, I don't care what anyone else says. This movie is suspenseful from the start until the end, and the CGI effects are gorgeous. This is not like any Zombie-infection-end of the world movie ever made. The back before sunset twist just adds to to the atmosphere of this horror. I did think(slight spoiler) that bringing that lady and the kid in near the end was unnecessary, but it didn't take anything away from the film. Best movie I've ever seen in theatres. Would give it a 11/10 if I could. Expand
  40. Brent
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    Wow, I was blown away how good this movie was. Will Smith is an amazing actor and this is definitely one of his best performances. The special effects were great and there were many scary moments. Excellent Movie. I'd strongly recommend it.
  41. liamf.
    Oct 22, 2008
    10
    I loved this movie, but i thought the alternate ending would of been so much better and of made so much more sense and would of been closer to the book. it would of made the title make sense.
  42. JakobK.
    Jan 28, 2008
    9
    I went in expecting a light-hearted, enjoyable sci-fi action movie in the vein of I, Robot, but I Am Legend turned out to be more. It's certainly one of the scariest and most visually appealing movies in a long time, but it's also an achievement in the story department: the scriptwriters made some good decisions that really added to the experience, and Will Smith is brilliant in I went in expecting a light-hearted, enjoyable sci-fi action movie in the vein of I, Robot, but I Am Legend turned out to be more. It's certainly one of the scariest and most visually appealing movies in a long time, but it's also an achievement in the story department: the scriptwriters made some good decisions that really added to the experience, and Will Smith is brilliant in his role. I Am Legend is definitely up to par with the top movies of the modern sci-fi genre. Expand
  43. TylerD.
    Jan 4, 2008
    9
    Spectacular movie. Personally, I loved the plot, the CG, Will Smith's acting...The only disappointing part for me was the ending. While I liked what they did with it very much, it seemed rushed. I highly recommend it, though.
  44. Albin
    Feb 10, 2008
    10
    This movie was great, with a superb performance from Will Smith. Not amazingly high in action, but it kept me on the edge of my seat regardless if any part of the plot was predictable. The movie was well done.
  45. VíctorZ.
    Feb 11, 2008
    9
    Though it is kind-of-short, this movie it's a memorable piece.
  46. PeterJ.
    Mar 21, 2008
    9
    Will Smith comes away with another great performance! It is a shame he does not get the credit he deserves. He should have won an Oscar for The Pursuit of Happyness. Or at least been nominated...
  47. FrederickM.
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    its a pretty stellar movie until the mutated come in, thats when things spiral out of control, also has a pretty dumb ending.
  48. JoseR.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    This movie is one of the best I've ever seen. Not only is it suspenseful but it also gives you a sense that its real. For ME this movie is the best.
  49. JasonD.
    Jun 9, 2008
    10
    This was yet another great movie with Will Smith. I really enjoyed it. I'm looking forward to seeing his next movie....Hancock.
  50. AnthonyK.
    Sep 13, 2008
    9
    "...this was a powerful film will smith plays a wonderful performance this film it was just as good as 28 days later & 28 weeks later.it just goes to show yo how much heart & passion the man had into finding a cure".
  51. kristianv.
    Oct 14, 2009
    9
    A terrific movie. Great acting, amazing music, unbelievable atmosphere and overall just a really good movie. The only reason I'm not giving it a 10, is because the night scenes aren't nearly as strong as the day scenes.
  52. DanyA.
    Dec 11, 2007
    9
    Enjoyable, I saw a special screening, and I was impressed, it is astounding entertainment, full-throttle action, suspense, story, and scares. Great PG-13 stuff.
  53. MarcN.
    Dec 12, 2007
    9
    I saw I Am Legend at a screening Monday night and it was well-received by the audience who clapped as the credits rolled. Will Smith did a fine job as Dr. Robert Neville -- a man with every reason to just check out of life, but who instead chooses to labor on in the hopes of saving what is left of humankind. Yes, parts of the film slow down -- after all, he is alone in New York City. I saw I Am Legend at a screening Monday night and it was well-received by the audience who clapped as the credits rolled. Will Smith did a fine job as Dr. Robert Neville -- a man with every reason to just check out of life, but who instead chooses to labor on in the hopes of saving what is left of humankind. Yes, parts of the film slow down -- after all, he is alone in New York City. Okay, this film is not for those who think that the Resident Evil films are the epitome of American cinema. I Am Legend has plenty of action, but it is also a film that makes you think. This movie delivers. Catch it on the big screen. Expand
  54. AndrewM.
    Dec 12, 2007
    9
    Really good futuristic effects. Will Smith is the shiz! I like that the vampires aren't too computer animated.
  55. PeteT.
    Dec 13, 2007
    10
    Excellent flick. It's much more emotionally grounded than the standard action movie. It really involves you in the emotional turmoil that the Robert Neville character must be undergoing. Really powerful movie. Go see it!
  56. SeanT.
    Dec 13, 2007
    10
    Oh Man! This movie rocked the house, Yo! people around me were screaming and jumping and going insane. But it's not really that type of movie overall. It's deep stuff. You really feel what it's like, the isolation of being the last person left alive. Props to Will Smith. I recommend this to anyone and everyone. I'll see it again, definitely.
  57. TyroneD.
    Dec 14, 2007
    9
    After some of the mixed reviews and the heavy critics I went into the movie with low expectations, which is the best thing to do. Cause I loved every minute of the movie. I thought it was one of the best of the year, and the reviewer that criticized Will had me in doubt, but now I know it wasn't a valid critic to begin with. His performance is Oscar-worthy. It was THAT good. The After some of the mixed reviews and the heavy critics I went into the movie with low expectations, which is the best thing to do. Cause I loved every minute of the movie. I thought it was one of the best of the year, and the reviewer that criticized Will had me in doubt, but now I know it wasn't a valid critic to begin with. His performance is Oscar-worthy. It was THAT good. The first hour of the movie was PHENOMENAL. There are some things that could have been better, such as the CGI of the monsters and it could have used a more powerful ending....but by no means was it bad...it was definitely something else...in a good way. Expand
  58. NikolaiC.
    Dec 15, 2007
    9
    This was a darn good movie. It may not have followed the book to the letter, but Will Smith gives a great performance in a pretty tough role. It could have been non-stop action (which would have killed the movie) but it was pretty darn realistic in terms of what would most likely happen if things got hectic. Definitely a must see for everyone.
  59. LouisK.
    Dec 16, 2007
    10
    this is one of the best movies i have ever watched i think, with this movie it just proves that will smith is one of the best actors in the world and I love the end and his heroic death i love movies with this kind of end.
  60. DanielS.
    Dec 16, 2007
    10
    This was a great movie. l
  61. TonyZ.
    Dec 17, 2007
    10
    Best performance of Will Smith since Ali.
  62. SimonC.
    Dec 17, 2007
    10
    I had low expectations going in, due to some of the criticisms I had read online. I ended up being engrossed by this film. Will Smith's tour de force performance as a man driven to the brink of insanity by the loss of his family and his partial responsibility for essentially wiping out all of humankind is heart-breaking. There are bits of humor and action and lots of tension, and I had low expectations going in, due to some of the criticisms I had read online. I ended up being engrossed by this film. Will Smith's tour de force performance as a man driven to the brink of insanity by the loss of his family and his partial responsibility for essentially wiping out all of humankind is heart-breaking. There are bits of humor and action and lots of tension, and overall, a very satisfying end in my opinion. Bravo. Expand
  63. AlexK.
    Dec 19, 2007
    9
    The first two thirds of this movie are the most intruiging and nerve-gnawing than any other movie i've seen...the turnout was a little foggy, but necessary.
  64. BitBurn
    Dec 19, 2007
    9
    Apart from the weak animation scenes, this film was terrific. Scarry, heartfelt, powerful. Good performance by Will Smith. Warning: For adults only. Kids under 18 don't bother going.
  65. NickL.
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    This movie was amazing!!!!
  66. CoreyC
    Dec 23, 2007
    9
    This movie was a great time, especially if you 1) don't hate "zombie" movies; 2) enjoy apocalyptic themed films. Smith was great, the NYC aftermath captivating, and the scares genuine. Several reviews mention that the final third of the film declines noticably, yet I disagree. I suppose that the very mention of God is enough to turn off those who would file a lawsuit to remove the This movie was a great time, especially if you 1) don't hate "zombie" movies; 2) enjoy apocalyptic themed films. Smith was great, the NYC aftermath captivating, and the scares genuine. Several reviews mention that the final third of the film declines noticably, yet I disagree. I suppose that the very mention of God is enough to turn off those who would file a lawsuit to remove the ten commandments from public buildings rather than to simply ignore the plaques and truly observe the right of free speech and tolerance, and since militant athiests seem to be permitted to speak for everyone, a warning about the final third of the film should be expected. However, it is not evangelical, preachy, or heavy-handed. It simply suggests that faith and science can co-exist, like the crazy theory that people can. Really good movie. Expand
  67. chrisf.
    Dec 28, 2007
    9
    the movie was amazing and it is oscar worthy. but the one thing i didn't like was the ending its to bad Will Smith had to die, hes an amazing actor.
  68. EvanO
    Dec 29, 2007
    9
    I really enjoyed this movie. Will Smith is perfect for this part. The ending was below average, the only thing not making this a 10. Some of the things did not make sense like running water and TV. there's no electricity how does his stereo work! If you can ignore that, you will love this movie
  69. PerryT.
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    Fantastic and thrilling movie, my favorite of the year! Superb acting by Will Smith, loved the dog, loved the FX. I'm buying the dvd as soon as it comes out!
  70. MattC.
    Jan 14, 2008
    9
    Overall an excellent movie in my opinion. It had a solid frame with an outstanding beginning where we witness the activities in Neville's everyday life, a exceptional mid-way point where flashbacks reveal how the overall story transpired, and a mildly satisfying ending that advanced and conclusively wrapped up the plot in a way that solely appropriate for this movie. There are minor Overall an excellent movie in my opinion. It had a solid frame with an outstanding beginning where we witness the activities in Neville's everyday life, a exceptional mid-way point where flashbacks reveal how the overall story transpired, and a mildly satisfying ending that advanced and conclusively wrapped up the plot in a way that solely appropriate for this movie. There are minor plotholes, but it does not in any way take away from the plot nor the enjoyment of the movie as a whole. I found the movie to be VERY depressing, especially with Sam's death and the points near the end, and I wish it were longer, since I was simpily amazed by how outstanding it was but, though the ending is pretty solid, it cut short it seemed. Other than that, one of the best movies I have seen in a while. Expand
  71. TimE
    Jan 19, 2008
    9
    First I waited for action, but I didn't find it in this movie. But the story and the ideas of the movie are great! If you want see action don't watch this movie, but if you like a good story, watch it! It's one of my favourites now! Really great. (I saw this movie in german, the sound actors are well and not desynced!)
  72. CastorT.
    Aug 19, 2009
    9
    Very good movie but too much CGI.
  73. EricP.
    Dec 15, 2007
    9
    Overall, i felt it was a great movie. Thrilling first first third, with suspenseful second third, accumulated to an interesting final third. Some people may like it, or not, but in the end, i felt it the most plausible ending. While the ending could have gone either way, there will always be people who wouldn't like it. The movie took risks, and ended as a simply COOL movie.
  74. MohsinK.
    Dec 15, 2007
    10
    One of the greatest movies all year. an unbelievably great performance by will smith and the best possible ending I could every imagine.
  75. MattB
    Dec 15, 2007
    10
    Excellent film, more than just an action movie. The action scenes are mediocre, but the suspense makes up for it. The relationship between Neville and the dog and the last-man-left atmosphere are both extremely well done.
  76. Joe
    Dec 16, 2007
    10
    Amazing movie the start, Beginning and end. If u haven't seen this movie u must see it.
  77. MaryM.
    Dec 16, 2007
    9
    Good Movie with lots of emotion. Will Smith was brilliant. Lots of jump out of your seat moments. I would think twice about taking a child under 12. There were quite a few children in the theatre with us and many were visibly shaken when the movie was over.
  78. JonK
    Dec 16, 2007
    9
    I thought this movie was very enjoyable. A slight bit "evangelical" at one point but that was virtually it. Being somewhat agnostic, I didn't feel I was being told what to think. Will Smith was fantastic. Vast emotional range, laughing, crying, scared, hopeful. It was entertaining and that's why I go to a movie like this. A few minor faults but very good.
  79. JoeD.
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    This movie had the perfect balance of drama, horror and brilliant cinematography. Smith played the part of Neville perfectly, and the idea that a cancer cure could become a modern plague certainly shook me a little. Overall a fantastic movie I'd recommend to anyone who enjoys some intelligence with their action
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Smith, sporting a newly buffed physique, delivers an extraordinary performance as a man slowly coming unglued under the strain of no human contact and a constantly alternating role of hunter and prey.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    Remarkably eerie yet annoyingly larded with cheap horror-film shock effects, I Am Legend stands as an effective but also irksome adaptation of Richard Matheson's classic 1954 sci-fi novel.
  3. The first two thirds and change of I Am Legend is terrific mindless fun: crackerjack action with gnashing vampires barely glimpsed (and scarier for that) and how’d-they-do-that New York locations that retroactively justify the traffic jams.