Lionsgate | Release Date: January 24, 2014
4.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 224 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
54
Mixed:
70
Negative:
100
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
ahlam_jMar 15, 2014
THIS MOVIE IS AMAZING. i love these kinds of movies. it has many features. seriously i advise everybody to watch it. it has all the elements. the actores did a great job.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
GamerguyboyFeb 7, 2014
I liked the dubstep soundtrack, nice acting, unique effects, epic scenes and cool actors I rate it a 10/10 must watch movie of the year 2014 best thing ever
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
Luxangel7Jan 28, 2014
I really don't understand all this bashing going on.

Saw the movie yesterday, and the actors did a good job of portraying their roles, the effects were really great, especially the transition from gargoyle to human and vice versa, the
I really don't understand all this bashing going on.

Saw the movie yesterday, and the actors did a good job of portraying their roles, the effects were really great, especially the transition from gargoyle to human and vice versa, the story was the good vs. evil plot we were promised, and the movie's pacing was just right.

I gave this movie an 8 out of 10. It's by no means perfect, but the only thing about this movie that was really bad (at certain times) was the writing. There were several instances where I thought it was cheesy, amateurish, and just generally poor.

I vividly remember several times where cool or moments with high potential were essentially ruined because of atrocious word choice and writing direction.

The worst offender was at the end when Adam / the monster is giving his final "super hero on a roof speech". I felt like the writer, whoever it is, just kind of had a brain fart or something.

Anyway, it's a good movie, excellent good vs. evil action flick to pass the time. But it is important that you do not go into it expecting some sort of epic Lord of the Rings quality reinvention of the Frankenstein tale, because this is not that.

This is a well made good vs. evil action flick with Frankenstein as the main plot device, with good actors, good special effects, good pacing, and good soundtrack, with good fights/action scenes.

But with generally 6/10 writing and in some places 3/10 writing.

I wrote this as objectively and honestly as I can so hopefully if someone is reading this trying to decide whether to watch it or not it can prove helpful.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
billylenzFeb 18, 2014
Taken as the movie was intended, a simple supernatural good vs evil romp, it does a great job. It stays true to it's roots and doesn't try to use flippancy and comedy to mask weakness like so many other movies try to do and fail.

Aaron is
Taken as the movie was intended, a simple supernatural good vs evil romp, it does a great job. It stays true to it's roots and doesn't try to use flippancy and comedy to mask weakness like so many other movies try to do and fail.

Aaron is his usual stoic hero and plays his role well. The rest of the actors are more wall dressing but do lend credibility to their roles as well.

If you are expecting a super blockbuster you will be dissapointed (and you were foolish to begin with) but if you are looking for a good popcorn flick this movie will satisfy.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
LamontRaymondJan 24, 2014
The film is much more entertaining than it has any right to be. Aaron Eckhart does a really nice job in the lead role - he clearly doesn't mail it in like Jeremy Renner did in that Hansel & Gretel piece of garbage. And Yvonne Strahovsky is aThe film is much more entertaining than it has any right to be. Aaron Eckhart does a really nice job in the lead role - he clearly doesn't mail it in like Jeremy Renner did in that Hansel & Gretel piece of garbage. And Yvonne Strahovsky is a budding star - I have no idea why casting directors aren't putting her in the A-list roles. Had she been a bit younger, she would have been great in The Hunger Games - though she might be a hair good looking. The story in iFrankenstein is solid, and it never flags or loses your attention. Bill Nighy is terrific baddie. The negatives? The demon masks look like they were made from recycled rubber chickens, and the gargoyle effects aren't much better. Ironically, the movie could use a touch more humanity. And there's a real homage to The Matrix here, and even though the plot point is a stretch, it's no more of a stretch than the theory of The Matrix. Overall, I got my money's worth. I'm a little surprised they didn't screen this for critics. Expand
7 of 15 users found this helpful78
All this user's reviews
9
xerlienttFeb 4, 2014
This is an entertained and fun movie with good action scenes, in another words:
Just a movie to see in a movie theater and enjoy a good time.
The performances are not the best but still the film is enjoyable for those who like action films
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
oswaldferreraFeb 18, 2014
The film is much more entertaining than it has any right to be. Aaron Eckhart does a really nice job in the lead role - he clearly doesn't mail it in like Jeremy Renner did in that Hansel & Gretel piece of garbage. And Yvonne Strahovsky is aThe film is much more entertaining than it has any right to be. Aaron Eckhart does a really nice job in the lead role - he clearly doesn't mail it in like Jeremy Renner did in that Hansel & Gretel piece of garbage. And Yvonne Strahovsky is a budding star - I have no idea why casting directors aren't putting her in the A-list roles. Had she been a bit younger, she would have been great in The Hunger Games - though she might be a hair good looking. The story in iFrankenstein is solid, and it never flags or loses your attention. Bill Nighy is terrific baddie. The negatives? The demon masks look like they were made from recycled rubber chickens, and the gargoyle effects aren't much better. Ironically, the movie could use a touch more humanity. And there's a real homage to The Matrix here, and even though the plot point is a stretch, it's no more of a stretch than the theory of The Matrix. Overall, I got my money's worth. I'm a little surprised they didn't screen this for critics. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
colorlessJan 24, 2014
I guess based on the reviews people expected this to be a comedy. Weird. It seems like either those people didn't watch the trailer or the name Frankenstein makes them think of a comedy.

Watch if you're looking to be entertained.
4 of 24 users found this helpful420
All this user's reviews
9
santiagodracoJan 24, 2014
Taken as the movie was intended, a simple supernatural good vs evil romp, it does a great job. It stays true to it's roots and doesn't try to use flippancy and comedy to mask weakness like so many other movies try to do and fail.

Aaron is
Taken as the movie was intended, a simple supernatural good vs evil romp, it does a great job. It stays true to it's roots and doesn't try to use flippancy and comedy to mask weakness like so many other movies try to do and fail.

Aaron is his usual stoic hero and plays his role well. The rest of the actors are more wall dressing but do lend credibility to their roles as well.

If you are expecting a super blockbuster you will be dissapointed (and you were foolish to begin with) but if you are looking for a good popcorn flick this movie will satisfy.
Expand
2 of 12 users found this helpful210
All this user's reviews
8
LeadGooseJan 27, 2014
An enjoyable movie on par with the Underworld series. The weakest part of the movie is probably the script, with a few cringe-worthy lines in the beginning. There simply wasn't enough time for development and getting to like the mainAn enjoyable movie on par with the Underworld series. The weakest part of the movie is probably the script, with a few cringe-worthy lines in the beginning. There simply wasn't enough time for development and getting to like the main characters.I thought Aaron Eckhart and Yvonne Strahovski actually did a really good job with the material. The CGI effects were pretty standard fare for today's movies, nothing spectacular, nothing awful. One or two good fight scenes, and a few weak ones.

Things I liked especially:
1) Not a bunch of corny 1-liners that so many action movies feel the need to throw in constantly. There were only a couple of basic, funny lines, and I think this worked best with the theme.

2) The victorian era/modern era hybrid type setting for the city, and the rooms for the various scenes.

3) Yvonne Strahovski as Terra. Nice to see a competent actress playing a character in this type of movie and not being overly-sexualized. Some people want to complain about her being in a skirt in the beginning, but that fit exactly with the fact that she was giving a formal presentation to her boss. No heels, subdued makeup, and the skirt wasn't that short. She represented humanity well.

The movie could have been better of course, and I for one would like to see a sequel, but it looks like there is no chance of that now.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
samarathenymphFeb 18, 2014
An enjoyable movie on par with the Underworld series. The weakest part of the movie is probably the script, with a few cringe-worthy lines in the beginning. There simply wasn't enough time for development and getting to like the mainAn enjoyable movie on par with the Underworld series. The weakest part of the movie is probably the script, with a few cringe-worthy lines in the beginning. There simply wasn't enough time for development and getting to like the main characters.I thought Aaron Eckhart and Yvonne Strahovski actually did a really good job with the material. The CGI effects were pretty standard fare for today's movies, nothing spectacular, nothing awful. One or two good fight scenes, and a few weak ones.

Things I liked especially:
1) Not a bunch of corny 1-liners that so many action movies feel the need to throw in constantly. There were only a couple of basic, funny lines, and I think this worked best with the theme.

2) The victorian era/modern era hybrid type setting for the city, and the rooms for the various scenes.

3) Yvonne Strahovski as Terra. Nice to see a competent actress playing a character in this type of movie and not being overly-sexualized. Some people want to complain about her being in a skirt in the beginning, but that fit exactly with the fact that she was giving a formal presentation to her boss. No heels, subdued makeup, and the skirt wasn't that short. She represented humanity well.

The movie could have been better of course, and I for one would like to see a sequel, but it looks like there is no chance of that now.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
chrisjones914Jul 28, 2014
There are many reasons to absolutely hate I,Frankenstein! However, If you can look past those reason and focus completely on the title character, then you will find an interesting character study that takes place in a very cool worldThere are many reasons to absolutely hate I,Frankenstein! However, If you can look past those reason and focus completely on the title character, then you will find an interesting character study that takes place in a very cool world surrounded by even cooler action! Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
MemburgMar 8, 2014
The Gha is certainly receiving a lot of applicants this month. Tell Mr.Frankenstein that I'll get back to him shortly, his gift shall be harnessed as a weapon against or enemies. *Wink*
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
chilledbeeApr 25, 2014
I first gave this an 8 and I then I thought about it. What's wrong with this story? I can't say that there is a poor performance, the plot yes there is one, is strong and well developed, the direction sound, so thinking more and more II first gave this an 8 and I then I thought about it. What's wrong with this story? I can't say that there is a poor performance, the plot yes there is one, is strong and well developed, the direction sound, so thinking more and more I upped it to a 10. Why? Eckhart does such a terrific job that he is riveting as he moves from a soulless contemptible creature who kills a human to a full souled human that saves humankind. I honestly think that this movie could be a great series either in the theatres or little screen. I think what everyone hates is the strong Christian overtones -- goodness vs evil, a soul's redemption, personal choice and FREE will. Superb movie. I loved it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
xXxTHABETxXxJul 26, 2014
seriously, what is wrong with people?! this movie was good and at least it wasn't boring like half of the movies nowadays i give it a 7...............
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SolidJakeOct 13, 2014
While the main story concept is a bit odd (I'm still not convinced this needed to tie into Mary Shelley's novel at all)... the sequence of events and story direction were bold in some parts. They really weren't afraid to kill off characters,While the main story concept is a bit odd (I'm still not convinced this needed to tie into Mary Shelley's novel at all)... the sequence of events and story direction were bold in some parts. They really weren't afraid to kill off characters, which is sort of relieving. This movie keeps you watching, really unsure how each fight scene is going to play out. That was nice.

I think the art direction was this movie's main selling point, though. There were a few campy 'glowing eyes' effects here and there, and the buffy-style demon heads were a bit difficult to take seriously, but gargoyle transformations and flight cams were fantastic. The scenery was great, the full-moon lighting was pretty, and the supernatural death effects were some of the coolest I've seen onscreen.

If you like sweeping stories between good and evil, standard angels and demons fanfare, you'll really enjoy watching this movie. Just don't think about it too much.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheSpoiler18Nov 10, 2016
I cast much doubt upon this film when it first came out in January 2014 due to its greatly negative reviews. Since then, however, I have remembered it and always wondered just how bad it might be. I finally received the chance to watch it,I cast much doubt upon this film when it first came out in January 2014 due to its greatly negative reviews. Since then, however, I have remembered it and always wondered just how bad it might be. I finally received the chance to watch it, and I have learned, yet again, you cannot trust the critics and their reviews. It seems that these critics thought too into the film, and some might have believed it was based upon the novel by Mary Shelley, which would cause much negativity due to its inspiration-only stance towards the novel. Based on the graphic novel by Kevin Grevioux, who also stars in the film in a supporting role, the story follows Frankenstein's monster, who has lived to the present day over 200 years after his creation. When a great threat that could destroy all of humanity arises, he realizes he is the only one who can stop it. Now, as I watched the movie, and even before, I knew this film was not going to be on the same level as masterpieces such as The Shawshank Redemption or Young Frankenstein, nor would it be on the same level as films such as The Avengers or Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice. I saw this as a monster film, which I find much different than most films, meaning that I don't look at the plot as much as I would those aforementioned films. While it is a factor, I also look at the action, visuals, and performances, which are what led me to love the film so much. The action is nonstop, like many movies of the last few years (such as Transformers), and the visuals accompany this factor, which help make the movie so amazing. Despite a $65 million budget (nowadays, many films are above $100 or even $200 million just for that), the CGI is well-done, and the creatures throughout the movie are completely passable. But the movie would not be complete without the great cast. Aaron Eckhart (The Dark Knight, Olympus/London Has Fallen), Bill Nighy (Pirates of the Caribbean, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows-Part One), Yvonne Strahovski (Chuck, Batman: Bad Blood), Miranda Otto (The Lord of the Rings Trilogy), and Jai Courtney (Divergent, Jack Reacher, Suicide Squad) all give outstanding performances as Adam (Frankenstein's monster), Charles Wessex, Terra Wade, Leonore, and Gideon, and that is what helped make the whole movie for me. Finally, the score by Johnny Klimek and Reinhold Heil is a welcome addition to the film, and it helps the film become even more of a grand spectacle, because, as I believe, no film is truly complete without a great score to match, with few exceptions. In conclusion, though it is somewhat rushed near the middle and has some pacing issues, this film proved to me that one cannot simply trust the critics, and that it is better to go off your own opinion in the end. All in all, my final opinion is that I loved this movie. 'Nuff said. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews