Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Aug 8, 2013
    80
    I Give It a Year has all the outrageous, embarrassment-based moments you’d expect from one of the creators of “Borat.” Indeed this film has one of the best charades gags ever. But there’s plenty of sweetness and charm, too. You root for both bride and groom, and cheer when they finally say, “I don’t.”
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    Aug 6, 2013
    80
    The funny stuff outweighs the cock-ups, and supporting performances from Stephen Merchant and Minnie Driver kick the movie toward something grander.
  3. Reviewed by: Leba Hertz
    Sep 5, 2013
    75
    A smart farce that would make Hugh Grant and his fans proud.
  4. Reviewed by: Farran Smith Nehme
    Aug 9, 2013
    75
    As pure comedy, it’s a hoot.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike D'Angelo
    Aug 7, 2013
    75
    That Mazer succeeds in playing this for laughs — however sporadic — rather than as a kitchen-sink downer is an achievement in itself.
  6. Reviewed by: William Goss
    May 13, 2013
    75
    The beats and trappings are all standard-issue, but the gags are funny enough, often enough, to offset such routine proceedings.
  7. Reviewed by: Leslie Felperin
    May 13, 2013
    70
    If the emotional mathematics don’t quite add up, enough diversion is provided by pic’s broader comic setpieces to paper over the cracks.
  8. Reviewed by: Megan Lehmann
    May 13, 2013
    70
    An above-average number of laugh-out-loud set pieces compensate for the resulting wobbly narrative.
  9. Reviewed by: Peter Keough
    Aug 15, 2013
    63
    Though Mazer’s ambition is laudable, he has not yet integrated the comedy of manners into the comedy of no manners.
  10. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Aug 7, 2013
    60
    Instead of subversion, Mazer's first outing as a feature director offers only a tweak of genre conventions. He does achieve an above-average share of laugh-out-loud moments — welcome compensation in a romp that grows more forced with every turn.
  11. Reviewed by: Josh Winning
    May 13, 2013
    60
    In a film with obvious ambition, though, it’s a shame that it resorts to formula so quickly.
  12. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    May 13, 2013
    60
    The jokes are strong and delivered by a very talented cast, but the heart isn’t there. It’s easy to laugh, but hard to care.
  13. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    May 13, 2013
    60
    In the end it amounts to not much, but in the moment I laughed a lot.
  14. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    May 13, 2013
    60
    The result is funny and plausible, with a fair bit of newly modish Bridesmaidsy bad taste, though I kept getting the sense that the romcom template meant Mazer couldn't really let rip with pure comedy pessimism and cynicism in the way he might have liked.
  15. Reviewed by: Sheila O'Malley
    Aug 9, 2013
    50
    The cast is terrific, and there are a couple of sequences that made me laugh out loud, but the movie as a whole is baffling.
  16. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Aug 4, 2013
    50
    Much of the film's attempted laughs come from the comedy-of-discomfort school, with an endless array of situations that milk awkwardness to a degree that makes these scenes far more unpleasant than humorous to watch.
  17. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Jul 10, 2013
    50
    The default middle ground between true-to-life and wacky in I Give It A Year turns out to be a place of dreary artificiality.
  18. Reviewed by: Ella Taylor
    Aug 9, 2013
    45
    A raucously funny comic romance that's deaf and blind to the blithe spirit of romantic comedy.
  19. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Aug 15, 2013
    37
    In addition to some trite set pieces, writer-director Dan Mazer serves up nothing more than conspicuous cynicism masquerading as comedy.
  20. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Aug 8, 2013
    30
    This painfully awkward product fails on almost every level.
  21. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    May 13, 2013
    25
    I Give It a Year groans on, with unmemorable scene after unmemorable scene, each one more contingent on coincidence and happenstance than by the actual, gear-filled mechanics of drama or comedy.
  22. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Aug 6, 2013
    20
    Such manic fumblings and desperate crassness might be more forgivable were any of it actually, y’know, funny, but other than Olivia Colman’s occasional cameos as a raging therapist, the laughs have been granted a leave of absence.
  23. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Aug 8, 2013
    10
    Shockingly, the kind of cringe-inducing material upon which Mr. Mazer has built a career as a writer for Sacha Baron Cohen ("Bruno," "Borat," "Da Ali G Show") doesn't work when rendered by types who could have been cast in "Notting Hill" (someone even makes a Hugh Grant joke). It's rather close to excruciating.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Aug 13, 2013
    6
    This is as awkward as it gets. I love watching Rose Byrne, but this storyline was just too cheesy. The acting was less impressive than expected. It wasn't very funny, sad, or anything, really. The way I see it, it's just a silly movie to watch on a lazy Sunday morning and to forget about by dinner time. Full Review »
  2. Nov 17, 2013
    1
    My girlfriend and I suffered through this film, regularly considering turning it off. We persevered, thinking the average writing and awkward directing and acting might yield an upturn or surprise, but it really didn't.

    My favorite elements were the off kilter marriage counsellor (played by Olivia Colman).

    Stephen Merchant is funny as a person in most things I see him in, but in this it just didn't work. If the entire film around Stephen Merchant was built around the same style of inappropriateness, it would have been funnier, really. But considering a more earnest tone throughout, his scenes just put me on edge.

    There was no chemistry between any of the sets of couple, and the script just didn't have any sense of essentialness. It felt like a movie that didn't need to be made, for any reason.

    I came to Metacritic afterwards, expecting the score to be even lower than the current 50, and decided to sign up, to make sure that those thinking this might be worth watching as a no-brainer romantic comedy had a better chance of dodging this bullet. Seriously, watch something else instead.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 9, 2013
    4
    Ghastly. If this is the 'comedy of embarrassment', the only people embarrassed must have been the players. Only Simon Baker emerges with any credit. Lame plot, lame jokes, poor characterisation, desperately contrived scenes.

    I'm not even sure why I've scored it as high as 4 out of 10!
    Full Review »