Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: October 1, 2004
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 152 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
106
Mixed:
19
Negative:
27
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
JoeB.Feb 9, 2007
If you like the Life Aquatic and Napoleon Dynamite you're probably the sort of person that would like this movie. If like me, you thought those movies sucked, then you should avoid this one, too. In short, this is the sort of movie that If you like the Life Aquatic and Napoleon Dynamite you're probably the sort of person that would like this movie. If like me, you thought those movies sucked, then you should avoid this one, too. In short, this is the sort of movie that is so off the wall it divides people into two groups - one that claims to "get it" and belittles those who are too immature to understand it, and another group that realizes there is no sense to be found in the movie and there are only a few cheap laughs to be had. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JohnS.Apr 11, 2005
Good idea but so poorly executed - exactly like so many other poorly conceived movies these days. I feel sorry for so many people that think this is quality filmmaking, they should probably be reading more and watching less TV. Do yourself a Good idea but so poorly executed - exactly like so many other poorly conceived movies these days. I feel sorry for so many people that think this is quality filmmaking, they should probably be reading more and watching less TV. Do yourself a favor and read a book instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CanSep 21, 2005
This lazy movie asks you to blindly accept the philosophy presented, while criticizing you for blindly accepting what you already believe. You can't have it both ways. I might have been o.k. with the concept had the film actually This lazy movie asks you to blindly accept the philosophy presented, while criticizing you for blindly accepting what you already believe. You can't have it both ways. I might have been o.k. with the concept had the film actually contained some entertainment. No, it's just preaching to the choir, or alienating anybody who's not in that particular choir. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JenniferOct 11, 2004
Worst film of the year as it was completely disjointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LarryDec 6, 2004
Just plain out sucked as evidenced by the poor box office receipts. Avoid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GloriaLOct 8, 2004
The acting was good, but the plot was stupid. I stayed in the theatre, because I hoped I might be missing something in the way of a point to the plot. This was the worst film I have seen this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JohnP.Mar 15, 2005
This movie sucked so hard i couldn't believe this came from the same people who did Flirting With Disaster. People say the plot didn't make sense. For me, i understood it and i still hated it. Worst movie that i saw of 2004.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TomS.Oct 6, 2006
Horrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JoeX.Nov 19, 2004
I "defiantly" disagree Joe.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
FusichinuccaOct 12, 2004
Perhaps one of the worst movies Dustin Hoffman, a great actor, has ever been associated with. I guess every actor has a turkey in his portfolio and this is Dustin's. Avoid at all costs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BrianM.Dec 9, 2004
Worst movie I have seen this year. Vastly overrated by most american critics with a sense of deja vu in their crits. Emperor's clothes springs to mind. Interesting to note that the more serious and less arty newspapers tended to pan it. Worst movie I have seen this year. Vastly overrated by most american critics with a sense of deja vu in their crits. Emperor's clothes springs to mind. Interesting to note that the more serious and less arty newspapers tended to pan it. Prententious claptrap. Brian McGahon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EddieL.Oct 9, 2004
Awful. A waste of time and money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DickE.Nov 5, 2004
Even the great ones make bad flicks. Dustin welcome to the club. Without any redeeming value whatsoever. Strange but in an awful way. Avoid at all costs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
tonteriaNov 29, 2010
This review contains spoilers. With such a great cast and with it seems to be an original script it could be a very clever and funny movie. But it fails in everyway, and gets boring after 30 minutes. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews