Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: October 1, 2004
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 152 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
106
Mixed:
19
Negative:
27
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
Compi24Mar 9, 2014
It's about as frantic and as unpredictable as a hummingbird on blow, but David O. Russell's crack at existentialism does prove to be a clever and entertaining philosophical piece at times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AlexSJun 26, 2011
This film manages to convey interesting philosophies while still achieving its ultimate goal which is to be hilarious.Jason Schwartzman and Mark Wahlberg share some great scenes as do Lily Tomlin and Dustin Hoffman.It's funny and compellingThis film manages to convey interesting philosophies while still achieving its ultimate goal which is to be hilarious.Jason Schwartzman and Mark Wahlberg share some great scenes as do Lily Tomlin and Dustin Hoffman.It's funny and compelling in equal measure Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
tonteriaNov 29, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. With such a great cast and with it seems to be an original script it could be a very clever and funny movie. But it fails in everyway, and gets boring after 30 minutes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CJMorrisDec 11, 2007
WARNING: this movie is NOT for a general audience like all books are not written for one person, etc. If you like philosophy and ideas, this is as good a dramatization as has been realized on screen. That's Russell's real WARNING: this movie is NOT for a general audience like all books are not written for one person, etc. If you like philosophy and ideas, this is as good a dramatization as has been realized on screen. That's Russell's real achievement here. As for the cast, score, design, etc. it's terrific. Well done, Mr. Russell. This film has a heart and a voice that is infinite. An undeniable classic that captures the times. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
PatC.Mar 12, 2007
Excellent movie on a cerebral level, and proof that genuine creativity is still possible in Hollywood. Too bad the film is structurally weak. The convolutions of the thought processes presented spill over into the plot presentation - just a Excellent movie on a cerebral level, and proof that genuine creativity is still possible in Hollywood. Too bad the film is structurally weak. The convolutions of the thought processes presented spill over into the plot presentation - just a little too much to juggle on the fly. And sure, it's a comedy, but the music mocks the content. End result: Less than the sum of its parts. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JoeB.Feb 9, 2007
If you like the Life Aquatic and Napoleon Dynamite you're probably the sort of person that would like this movie. If like me, you thought those movies sucked, then you should avoid this one, too. In short, this is the sort of movie that If you like the Life Aquatic and Napoleon Dynamite you're probably the sort of person that would like this movie. If like me, you thought those movies sucked, then you should avoid this one, too. In short, this is the sort of movie that is so off the wall it divides people into two groups - one that claims to "get it" and belittles those who are too immature to understand it, and another group that realizes there is no sense to be found in the movie and there are only a few cheap laughs to be had. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ShaunM.Dec 5, 2006
My all time favorite movie. Smart. Funny. Generally amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TomS.Oct 6, 2006
Horrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlieN.May 17, 2006
Brilliant, original, and hilarious!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DustinS.Mar 26, 2006
Madly and refreshingly paced so not a scene, line, or even word is wasted in this mind-bending farce that had me giggiling and astounded. What a wonderful surprise -- I was astonished that so many critics were down on a film with so many Madly and refreshingly paced so not a scene, line, or even word is wasted in this mind-bending farce that had me giggiling and astounded. What a wonderful surprise -- I was astonished that so many critics were down on a film with so many tremdous actors giving tremendous performances. Every character delighted and every scene tingled with energy. This movie was so brisk to not allow a minute of boredom-- at times laugh out loud funny. Must see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
FrankO.Feb 2, 2006
I just could not get into the theme of this movie. I have enjoyed all of David Russell's previous flicks but NOT this one. I like the visual effects but not the plot line.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MitchDec 4, 2005
Philosophy 101 gets boring after about 30 minutes. Great cast, top notch talent all around, but squandered.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FabienL.Nov 28, 2005
Very much in line with "Rushmore" or "the aquatic life..." Great cast, great acting jobs, very pleasant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
tonybobOct 23, 2005
I loved this movie so much i couldnt stop laughing everytime i watch it it gets funnier it never plays out. i think this is the most underrated movie this year. mark wahlberg was halarious everytime he's on the screen i cant stop laughing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
johnn.Oct 1, 2005
Fun & quirky & interesting- great music too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeirS.Sep 24, 2005
Superb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CanSep 21, 2005
This lazy movie asks you to blindly accept the philosophy presented, while criticizing you for blindly accepting what you already believe. You can't have it both ways. I might have been o.k. with the concept had the film actually This lazy movie asks you to blindly accept the philosophy presented, while criticizing you for blindly accepting what you already believe. You can't have it both ways. I might have been o.k. with the concept had the film actually contained some entertainment. No, it's just preaching to the choir, or alienating anybody who's not in that particular choir. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HeatherOJun 16, 2005
Some may say this movie is mearly a series of funny, but disconnected and confusing scenes. I say to those people: did you see the scene with the blanket?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
alanMay 23, 2005
A movie that holds the cynics in such comtempt, while lecturing those that give too much of a sh.t about life. the movie's momentum keeps building until you look forward to the inevitable resolution in the last half hour. such an absurd A movie that holds the cynics in such comtempt, while lecturing those that give too much of a sh.t about life. the movie's momentum keeps building until you look forward to the inevitable resolution in the last half hour. such an absurd exercise in character, design, and writing, that it may be a little too polarizing, but if you can go with it, t's a wonderful thing to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JohnS.Apr 11, 2005
Good idea but so poorly executed - exactly like so many other poorly conceived movies these days. I feel sorry for so many people that think this is quality filmmaking, they should probably be reading more and watching less TV. Do yourself a Good idea but so poorly executed - exactly like so many other poorly conceived movies these days. I feel sorry for so many people that think this is quality filmmaking, they should probably be reading more and watching less TV. Do yourself a favor and read a book instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
chrismApr 2, 2005
Either you get it or you don't. You can choose by the reviews whether you'll want to watch it or not. Let's see the WSJ and Washington Post hated it, what's that say to you? Oftetimes the movie isn't easy, but the Either you get it or you don't. You can choose by the reviews whether you'll want to watch it or not. Let's see the WSJ and Washington Post hated it, what's that say to you? Oftetimes the movie isn't easy, but the rewards come in the second act. It gets hillarious in the end. If you thought Royal Tennenbaums was laugh out loud funny, which most people don't than this might just become your favorite movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ericApr 1, 2005
Probably one of, if not the best, comedy of the year. gets better with each viewing, too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JanisT.Mar 23, 2005
A funny, and stimulating movie. I loved it. It's definitely one of a kind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrentLMar 23, 2005
Seeing the movie once makes you laugh. Seeing it again makes you think. Seeing after that makes you act.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BradS.Mar 21, 2005
Refreshing movie that is actually about something real, or is it?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AaronF.Mar 18, 2005
Well-written, humorous, and somewhat philosophical.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdamMar 17, 2005
I really don't understand the negativity about this movie ... I walked in to the theatre half expecting a bunch of pretentious half-witted blahblahblah. What it is is a totally fun, occasionally manic, caper. Lily Tomlin is the soul of I really don't understand the negativity about this movie ... I walked in to the theatre half expecting a bunch of pretentious half-witted blahblahblah. What it is is a totally fun, occasionally manic, caper. Lily Tomlin is the soul of this movie and Marky Mark is the heart. Dustin Hoffman is great too. Schwartzman is a little too sweet for my taste, but he works. Seeing Jude Law puke mayo totally redeemed him in my book. Just see this movie and have fun; then see it again and think (but just a little). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JohnNMar 16, 2005
Painfully boring. I kept waiting for it to get on track, but it never did. What a waste of talent. The plot meanders all over the place trying to be philisophical and funny, but just doesn't work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JohnP.Mar 15, 2005
This movie sucked so hard i couldn't believe this came from the same people who did Flirting With Disaster. People say the plot didn't make sense. For me, i understood it and i still hated it. Worst movie that i saw of 2004.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
nallanMar 11, 2005
Yawn, at only 1hr40mins this was hard to take. Small glimmers of funniness and a few interesting ideas but nothing new. Most films that come out of hollywood treat the audience like an idiot so it is always good to see a film that aims Yawn, at only 1hr40mins this was hard to take. Small glimmers of funniness and a few interesting ideas but nothing new. Most films that come out of hollywood treat the audience like an idiot so it is always good to see a film that aims higher. However there other films around that are also doing this and doing a better job at tackling bigger ideas and with a bit more of a punch and better punchlines. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful