Roadside Attractions | Release Date: December 3, 2010
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 143 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
90
Mixed:
41
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
ShiiraJan 22, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Shortly after Tom Hanks was handed the Oscar for Best Actor at the 66th annual Academy Awards, the "Philadelphia" star launched into a hammy, but heartfelt speech that unavoidably, grows cornier and cornier, and less magnanimous with each passing year(wasn't a certain Laker supposed to die?), as the urgency which surrounded AIDS back in 1994, has leveled off considerably. Adrift in a complete state of beatitude, Hanks thanked his high school drama teacher, a man whose sexual orientation he promulgated to "The Pavilion" crowd, and the millions of television viewers around the world, including poor Rawley Farnsworth, Hanks' first acting coach. Hollywood scribe Paul Rudnick was one of those viewers, and in his ensuing screenplay, Cameron Drake(Matt Dillon), likewise, an Oscar winner for a gay-themed drama, does the same thing; he thanks a mentor from his formative years, and outs him. Frank Oz's "In & Out", starring Kevin Kline as Howard Brackett, a closeted educator, made fun of Hanks' speech for Jonathan Demme's "Philadelphia", while maintaining a safe distance from the issue at hand. But in "I Love You, Phillip Morris", all bets are off, as the Demme film itself, is parodied. Playing a gay conman, Jim Carrey, in a sense, channels Andy Kaufman, reprising his role as the performance artist in Milos Forman's "Man on the Moon". Like Kaufman, the rubber-faced Carrey as Steven Russell, never lets on that he's acting, and that the given situation, despite all appearances of being a genuine occurrence, is in actuality, an occasion to laugh. The 2000 biographical film faithfully recreated all of Kaufman's greatest bits, in particular, the feud that he waged against Jerry Lawler, inspired by the professional wrestler's annoyance with Andy's outright mockery of the "sport", in which the seeming misogynist would grapple women, in order to proclaim himself the "World Inter-Gender Wrestling Champion". He even had a belt. During an appearance on the old Letterman show, Kaufman, sporting a neck brace, was slapped out of his chair by Lawler, prompting the knocked down actor to unleash a litany of profanities, which ended with Andy throwing water in the much bigger man's face. Quite a few people took the incident at face value. In "I Love You, Phillip Morris", Steven fakes more than a broken neck; he fakes AIDS, and even though the film plays like a comedy, moviegoers may buy the disease, because they remember than nice Andrew Beckett, the deteriorating lawyer, played by Hanks in "Philadelphia". They accept the abrupt shift in tone; the jarring switch into drama, in what was a satirical comedy that sprightly moved along. In a previous scene, Steven breaks the foil on a lot of pills, and swallows them, causing him to OD, in the backseat of a squad car. If you understand that the pills are laxatives, and that Steven is mimicking the symptoms of the maturing HIV virus, and isn't orchestrating a suicide attempt, then "I Love You, Phillip Morris" has got you in a moral quagmire, because, for all intents and purposes, the filmmaker has got you laughing at AIDS. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
LynJul 2, 2011
I'm usually a fan of his more "serious" role, but Jim Carrey is not aging well. Although this film is his all the way -- everyone else in it is forgettable -- his character veers between winsome, mistreated loser and pathological, lying conI'm usually a fan of his more "serious" role, but Jim Carrey is not aging well. Although this film is his all the way -- everyone else in it is forgettable -- his character veers between winsome, mistreated loser and pathological, lying con man, neither one generating much empathy. The result is a story that feels like it would've made a better magazine article than a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CitizenCharlieMay 6, 2011
For a con man genre film, there are a lot of other elements packed in with I Love You Phillip Morris. It is essentially a comedy, but there is enough stop the flow drama between the two main characters that it is not a true comedy or satire.For a con man genre film, there are a lot of other elements packed in with I Love You Phillip Morris. It is essentially a comedy, but there is enough stop the flow drama between the two main characters that it is not a true comedy or satire. It is also a biopic about Steven Russell because this is based on a true story, but there is so much farce and laughable voiceover so the audience cannot take it too seriously. In short, it is difficult to define exactly what this film is.

Jim Carrey is Steven Russell who begins the movie a family man, a cop, and an all around nice guy. After a serious accident, Steven reveals his true self to be a flaming homosexual who was just repressing himself all along. He receives the â
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
jessetaylor25Apr 9, 2011
I really wanted to like this, but I think this film failed on a few different levels. It didn't really settle on a tone and sometimes I just couldn't tell where the movie was going. It certainly had its strengths and I even really liked someI really wanted to like this, but I think this film failed on a few different levels. It didn't really settle on a tone and sometimes I just couldn't tell where the movie was going. It certainly had its strengths and I even really liked some select scenes, but as a whole it didn't come across as a cohesive film. In fact, it came across as quite redundant and sometimes insincere. The one great strength, however, is Carrey's performance. Even when the film felt ingenuine, Carrey pulled through and provided an emotional center to what sometimes felt like emotionless scenes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
T-AJun 18, 2011
Jim Carrey portrays the manic complexity of Steven Russell well. One part criminal genius, one part devoted partner and one part clown, Russell makes us cheer at his clever crimes and lament the consequences though he certainly has it coming.Jim Carrey portrays the manic complexity of Steven Russell well. One part criminal genius, one part devoted partner and one part clown, Russell makes us cheer at his clever crimes and lament the consequences though he certainly has it coming. Leslie Mannâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
j30Sep 20, 2011
A strange movie that is very uneven in tone and direction. The performances from Ewan McGregor and Jim Carrey is the redeeming quality that makes up for the movie's many flaws
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Chowder09Mar 20, 2012
Jim Carey does an exceptional job at playing a gay-con artist. He revives a comical sense into an interesting story line. However, I could not bear to watch the ending because it felt like it was dragging Carey into life sentence. AlthoughJim Carey does an exceptional job at playing a gay-con artist. He revives a comical sense into an interesting story line. However, I could not bear to watch the ending because it felt like it was dragging Carey into life sentence. Although the escapes were fully amazing, I think some parts could have been cut out to have a bigger impact on the movie's theme, loss of identity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
axelkochMar 15, 2013
Whereas the story is quite interesting (though unbelievable) and the execution of it is made well, this short comedy is rather lousy. Everything is so unrealistic and exaggerated and there's no actual connection coming up between the audienceWhereas the story is quite interesting (though unbelievable) and the execution of it is made well, this short comedy is rather lousy. Everything is so unrealistic and exaggerated and there's no actual connection coming up between the audience and the characters. Overly clichéd and never funny, it's not really a bad picture, but also nothing I'd recommend in any sort. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
worleyjamersDec 8, 2012
Good film. It sort of drags a bit in the middle, but the first third and ending were both great. McGregor and Carrey both give really solid performances.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CtheTavApr 1, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. IN MY OPINION **MAY CONTAIN SPOIILER S** by CtheTav I didn't think this film would be very good going in as Jim Carrey has been a bit terrible with choosing films and Ewan McGregor has never been my favourite person. However this film was a pleasant surprise. It starts with the words "this really happened...no really" which raised the proverbial eyebrow over what was going to happen that was so unbelievable. As the film opens we see a very skinny Jim Carrey dying in a hospital bed, he then proceeds to tell us his life story. Normally I would find this irritating however due to the unreliability of the narration the rugged is pulled from under the audiences feet several times. The story seems so farfetched I am inclined to see how much is true given all the escapes pulled off. The romance between the pair seems believable enough and I found myself welling up at the end than laughing hilariously before the credits finally rolled Rating 7 out of 10 Quite funny with a solid story, though not for everyone Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews