I Melt with You

I Melt with You Image
Metascore
26

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Richard, Ron, Jonathan and Tim are old college friends that gather annually for a week in Big Sur to celebrate their friendship and catch-up on each other’s lives. They seem like typical men in their forties – all with careers, families, and enormous responsibilities – but like most peopleRichard, Ron, Jonathan and Tim are old college friends that gather annually for a week in Big Sur to celebrate their friendship and catch-up on each other’s lives. They seem like typical men in their forties – all with careers, families, and enormous responsibilities – but like most people there is a lot more beneath the surface. As the week progresses, they go down the rabbit hole of excess as mountains of drugs are consumed to a blaring rock 'n' roll soundtrack. Parties with much younger women spin out of control. Exhausted and run ragged, they bare their souls to one another revealing the disillusionment with their lives. As the truth emerges, the reunion takes a much darker turn when a promise from their past is brought to light. (Magnolia Pictures) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 10 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Dec 9, 2011
    88
    I still can't believe I Melt With You went there. Over the top, off the hook and just plain bonkers, it makes its mark.
  2. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Dec 22, 2011
    75
    You know how I realized I actually liked I Melt With You? I kept talking about it, and at one point, in the middle of mocking it, I accidentally referred to it as "a good picture." That's when I realized, yes, it really is good, albeit in ways that are different from other movies.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Dec 6, 2011
    70
    A compelling and disturbing drama about some elemental male issues.
  4. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Dec 6, 2011
    20
    An excruciatingly awkward stab at generational sympathy, I Melt with You presents a quartet of thickening college buddies gathering at a Big Sur rental house to mourn their lost ambition.
  5. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Dec 8, 2011
    20
    It almost seems unfair to mention that Carla Gugino shows up as a cop 80 minutes into these overlong proceedings; by then, viewers who walk out would never even have known that she was involved.
  6. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Dec 7, 2011
    16
    A movie about self-absorbed douchebags that wallows in their douchebaggery.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Dec 7, 2011
    0
    A disastrous catalog of flaws, all accentuated by dilated, out-of-focus cinematography. The coke-snorting, booze-guzzling and vomiting add up to nearly two hours of frustration, anesthesia and pointless, self-indulgent excess. They should have called it "I Vomit With You." There's plenty of that too.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    This seems to be a very divisive movie. You'll either love it it immensely or hate it with every fiber of your being. I for one loved it!This seems to be a very divisive movie. You'll either love it it immensely or hate it with every fiber of your being. I for one loved it! It's been two weeks since i watched it on Netflix, and I still can not stop thinking about it. I thought it was a beautiful, albeit intense movie. The score is just as enchanting and the acting is phenomenal! The subject matter is dark, and the director, Mark Pellington, takes the audience places most filmmakers dare not go. It doesn't help that it has 3 relatively mainstream actors, two of which are well known for doing comedy, which i feel is what shot this film in the foot. Movie-goers expectations. I feel the people who choose to watch based solely on the cast, and know nothing of the movie are setting themselves up for disappointment. A wonderful film, that is unfortunately not for everyone. Expand
  2. Jul 2, 2015
    10
    This was an excellent film, with jarring visuals, strong performances, and an incredibly deep and impressive soundtrack. The film willThis was an excellent film, with jarring visuals, strong performances, and an incredibly deep and impressive soundtrack. The film will certainly miss the mark for many, who only see the 4 main characters as privileged jerks that cannot be empathized with. However, this is what the movie is dealing with.

    We meet the four stars one at a time, and we see them medicating with heavy drugs, reckless driving, and other stunts. While happy at first, we begin to see the chinks in their armor. These "strong men" aren't as they appear - they are broken, they've done horrible things, they have deep regrets, and share a hidden and dark secret that's revealed mid-way through the film.

    This is one of the most under-appreciated films that I'll recommend. With the right mindset, it's a very unique angle on the darkness and despair that creeps into the lives of men, constantly reminding them they are not invincible. They are mortals, filling themselves with drugs to blunt the crushing pain of life collapsing onto them.

    They're no longer the young men they identified with, but the friendship lasts. When their bacchanale begins to spiral out of control, we're treated to incredible acting and a fresh and satisfying story that doesn't let up.
    Expand
  3. Feb 10, 2016
    8
    Indeed, it is a very good movie. Very unique and different from other usual movies.

    Watch this here for free
    Indeed, it is a very good movie. Very unique and different from other usual movies.

    Watch this here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-29aac1-I-Melt-with-You-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
    Expand
  4. Dec 9, 2011
    1
    I was hopeful for this movie because it has some of my favorite actors in it...and they all do OK. But for a movie dealing with some prettyI was hopeful for this movie because it has some of my favorite actors in it...and they all do OK. But for a movie dealing with some pretty deep dark things, there is surprisingly little introspection. I found myself wishing for a faster way to the inevitable. Plus, Carla Gugino plays the most ineffective, clueless sheriff ever. Collapse

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.