Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: July 16, 2004
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 369 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
301
Mixed:
51
Negative:
17
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
oxanaSep 12, 2014
I expected nothing more than mindless two hours of action and a decent plot when I first saw this movie, but I was positively surprised.

Will Smith makes a fine appearance and the plot is breathtaking with twists that actually make sense
I expected nothing more than mindless two hours of action and a decent plot when I first saw this movie, but I was positively surprised.

Will Smith makes a fine appearance and the plot is breathtaking with twists that actually make sense but still come from behind the corner.

The action is beautifully and solidly created - and shown in the usual explosive manner.

The movie also raises a lot of questions and doubts about our lifestyle to try and make things as easy as possible for ourselves. If you had a robot that could do all the daily chores for you, why not get one? And the furhter we push that artificial intelligence, the bigger is the problem once the **** hits the fan.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
BrandonBD85Feb 21, 2016
There are not very many movies that have everything you look for. I, Robot is one of those rare films. It has action, suspense, drama, romance, robots, Will Smith shooting stuff, and great lines.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
oliver1hFeb 9, 2013
Has nothing to do with science fiction. This is just a generic, illogical action movie for the masses. They should not call it I, Robot. The acting is bad, the story is dumbed down for children, lacking the realistic vision of the future. Bad....
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
1
JasonS.May 29, 2006
An insult to Asimov. This movie has almost nothing to do with the source material.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
EddieD.Sep 21, 2008
If your willing to put up with awkwardness, you will probably love this movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
YESlaaikJan 13, 2011
Entertaining and escapist. Will Smith does not disappoint. Watching it again after many years, I am surprised to see how the cinematography stood the test of time. What's even more surprising are the technology advances which has happenedEntertaining and escapist. Will Smith does not disappoint. Watching it again after many years, I am surprised to see how the cinematography stood the test of time. What's even more surprising are the technology advances which has happened since. Most amazingly, the Audi R8, now available commercially. Always a Will Smith running scene, well worth watching. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
grandpajoe6191Sep 23, 2011
The movie's motives and premise is simply one of the dumbest things I've seen since the Ed Wood era. That is why "I, Robot" is a well ended movie, but with a terrible start.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
8
libnoFeb 20, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In the long run of movies, this is one of the best. It's got everything a good movie needs: Character development, action, psychology, a good story, loopholes, trauma, good acting, and a big twist ending. OK, so good movies don't need all those things but I, Robot had them all. It's like a Chris Nolan film except not as dark and complicated and psychological (It was still psychological but not as much as Chris Nolan). My favorite part was probably when Spooner was driving his car and the trucks came and got in front of and behind him and started releasing robots that jumped his car and completely annihilated it, but the climactic scene where the robots burst through the ceiling and they had to shoot them was awesome too. I think that the character of Sonny really got my attention because every second he was on screen, he was developing his character through his emotionless dialogue. For example: "I think it would be better not to die, don't you, doctor?" The way he said it emotionlessly, yet somehow passed the fact that he was sad was just one element that added to his character. I also think that Spooner has a good story regarding his paranoia of robots and his arm is worth while too. In the end, Vicky's logic was, yes, "undeniable" but at the same time, unfair as robots are robots that need to listen to humans. If they don't we all die, which is a lesson learned for the future: if a robot says no to you, scrap it. I also liked Lanning's theory of robotic evolution, that robots would group together instead of standing apart. I think Will Smith had some nice remarks too. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
davepNov 24, 2008
i-robot is just so terribly awful. Patronising and childish. It is well known that many movies are aimed at the lowest common denominator (about 12 years) to create the most income. The way to enjoy this movie is to be a little toasted on i-robot is just so terribly awful. Patronising and childish. It is well known that many movies are aimed at the lowest common denominator (about 12 years) to create the most income. The way to enjoy this movie is to be a little toasted on pot, that way everything will be impressive and the lame plot will be a surprise. So, if you are stupid or about 12 years you may like this movie. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful
9
CharlieW.Mar 7, 2006
I hate Will Smith... but the plot and action are terrific. This movie actually made me respect Will a little more. Besides, he delivers some great lines. Such as when he sneezes then says, "I'm sorry, I'm allergic to bull...." Classic.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ArshdeepB.Mar 3, 2007
This movie was a thrilling movie with a very good twist at the end and good backstory behind Sponner's actions.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AnaS.Feb 9, 2006
Combine Will Smith's unerring ability to bring even the most out-there movie plots down to earth, Akiva Goldsman's respectful yet lighthearted treatment of Isaac Asimov's classic stories, and Alan Tudyk's gentle and Combine Will Smith's unerring ability to bring even the most out-there movie plots down to earth, Akiva Goldsman's respectful yet lighthearted treatment of Isaac Asimov's classic stories, and Alan Tudyk's gentle and insightful Sonny, and you've got an excellent sci-fi flick that also has quite a lot of heart. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DavidH.Mar 4, 2007
Sluggishly paced, banal script, sub-drama school performances. The complete ambivalence towards the source material might have been forgivable if the story put in it's place amounted to more than the stream of trite cliches it turned out to be.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MikeR.Mar 4, 2007
Great Movie! Lomax H. obviously missed the whole point. It wasn't because a robot saved HIS life, it was because a robot saved HIS life INSTEAD of a little girls. Maybe you try actually paying attention the next time you watch a movie. Great Movie! Lomax H. obviously missed the whole point. It wasn't because a robot saved HIS life, it was because a robot saved HIS life INSTEAD of a little girls. Maybe you try actually paying attention the next time you watch a movie. Great story, great acting and great action. I, Like! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
kittyJul 6, 2008
I wanted to see this movie since the moment I saw the preview, but I never did because my mom saw it and never took me! So I finally managed to see it earlier this week and I loved it!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
NickSDec 28, 2005
I don't know why this was panned by critics - a great envisaging of Asimov's work, and cool special effects to boot. Spooner is a great character, and there are even comedic moments. Really enjoyable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TomH.Mar 20, 2006
Underrated film, that is actually brilliant. Like War of the Worlds and Minority Report this is a Sci fi, with some meaning as well as action and humour. I like the retrospectives.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JohnC.Jul 15, 2007
It's interesting when the users and the critics diverge on a movie. You can't blame people for going to see the film that the studio was pitching in the trailer, finding a different movie, and being disappointed. This isn't an It's interesting when the users and the critics diverge on a movie. You can't blame people for going to see the film that the studio was pitching in the trailer, finding a different movie, and being disappointed. This isn't an action thriller, but a character study. Also, it didn't have the infinite budget of a Lucas or Spielberg film, and I'll bet it didn't look as good on the big screen as it does on DVD. Lots of fun references to every robot movie in the past. Lots of fun detail of it's future non-dystopic (for a change) world. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TimB.Dec 13, 2005
This film is weel good i dont know why everyone has slated it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
cadeb.Dec 21, 2005
It was a awsome movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
LomaxH.Jul 28, 2006
[***SPOILERS***] Let me get this straight: The protagonist of the moive is distrustful of robots and thinks there is a massive robot conspiracy because a robot saved his life? What was the point of this movie again? Oh yeah, to generate more [***SPOILERS***] Let me get this straight: The protagonist of the moive is distrustful of robots and thinks there is a massive robot conspiracy because a robot saved his life? What was the point of this movie again? Oh yeah, to generate more income for Will Smith. Pathetic. It is amazing that studios will spend millions on special effects and "star power" then skimp when it comes to putting together a cogent story. Is it too much to ask to get a movie that makes sense at any point or have actions movies degenerated to the point that all the audience can hope for are lame one liners, bullets, and green screens? That was a rhetorical question, I know what the answer is. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarkR.Dec 29, 2007
It is one of my favorite movies, In fact it was my favorite until I am Legend, then that tied with it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CaitlinD.Apr 24, 2007
F*ck all the people giving it bad ratings. This is my #1 favorite movie of FOREVER. There are so many Sci-Fi movies these days and books and what-not, Sci-Fie just plainly isn't very good anymore, but THIS makes a difference. Some F*ck all the people giving it bad ratings. This is my #1 favorite movie of FOREVER. There are so many Sci-Fi movies these days and books and what-not, Sci-Fie just plainly isn't very good anymore, but THIS makes a difference. Some scenes have such great camera work, it made me dizzy! The story is incredibly entwined from beginning to end and leaves you in suspense and also the thing (or person) you think is the bad guy is not what you think when you first see it! Qualities: Sci-Fi, cute moments, suspenseful/thrilling, great camera work, incredible affects, complex yet still easy to follow plot, clever twists, compliments Sci-Fi, originality put into the classic 'Robots turn evil', action, puts a new look on a few things. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
GoldenEye16Aug 23, 2010
The critics of this movie really suck. This movie is awesome and everyone I know whose scene this movie loves it. How did it get such a bad rating? Really a 59? And a 6.8? hmmm...
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
J42HmusicFeb 12, 2011
Fantastic film with breathtaking effects and an interesting approach to our future in robotics. Its storyline contained sinister plots and emotional events. Many of the scenes, especially the interrogation scene, were very well done. GreatFantastic film with breathtaking effects and an interesting approach to our future in robotics. Its storyline contained sinister plots and emotional events. Many of the scenes, especially the interrogation scene, were very well done. Great movie which I have watched countless number of times. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
CritiqueGirlMar 1, 2011
Very enjoyable. The CGI is done very well and Will Smith did a great job. It is a very original plot with action, drama, comedy and sadness. The way the robots are programmed and constructed and how they are used by mankind was done very well.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
jimmytancrediMay 30, 2011
The highest point of the film is undoubtedly the script. Balconies with super smart and well-constructed dialogue, the film shows the writers' job well done. And what scene is that one of the blink at the end? Genial. Will Smith's characterThe highest point of the film is undoubtedly the script. Balconies with super smart and well-constructed dialogue, the film shows the writers' job well done. And what scene is that one of the blink at the end? Genial. Will Smith's character takes a lot to be charismatic. In the first 30 minutes I started to say that was such a big mistake to choose him as the protagonist of the film. I was wrong, he shows his past and his psychological construction gets well structured. Charismatic yes, but could be better. I, Robot is one of the best movies set in the future. Chicago of 2035 was extremely realistic, though. Moreover, another defect of the film is the merchandising. How did Converse pay for that exhibition of All-Star? And the Audi logo appearing all the time? To me it doesn't seem coincidental that the main robot is named Sonny. Even with two N's, it is worth remembering that in U.S. the name is only pronounced, not written. It may sound conspiracy theory, but I found relevant. Apart from some minimal defects, "I, Robot" is a good movie. Those kind that you get a good feeling after watching it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ZilcellMay 28, 2012
It is over the top and stylish even for a futuristic movie like this. Will Smith also provides a decent performance here to provide it the extra boost.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Captain_KirkAug 26, 2012
You could argue that 'I, Robot' suffers from the cliches that lots of action movies with interesting concepts suffer from, but I found this movie to be very entertaining. Great action scenes and special effects aside, it actually has a solidYou could argue that 'I, Robot' suffers from the cliches that lots of action movies with interesting concepts suffer from, but I found this movie to be very entertaining. Great action scenes and special effects aside, it actually has a solid story and even more interesting characters. Will Smith steals the show here, no surprise there. The supporting cast is great as well, but as usual, Smith owns his role and his character here is one of his most interesting characters he's done in action movies. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
QuietJul 18, 2004
Although some complain because it doesn't match the early I, Robot treatment of the 3 laws, it does match the later Azimov philosophy on the 3 laws. It wasn't a Will Smith runaway (as I expected), had reasonable effects. There are Although some complain because it doesn't match the early I, Robot treatment of the 3 laws, it does match the later Azimov philosophy on the 3 laws. It wasn't a Will Smith runaway (as I expected), had reasonable effects. There are flaws to the story, but for a public movie, I thought it worked. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RirenMar 19, 2007
A decent, if lopsided, thriller built around a weak story. The dialogue is uninspired and the acting is laughably bad, with every cast member showing one or two emotions in the entire movie, and flipping between them like they have switches A decent, if lopsided, thriller built around a weak story. The dialogue is uninspired and the acting is laughably bad, with every cast member showing one or two emotions in the entire movie, and flipping between them like they have switches built in their backs. I Robot's saving grace is its special effects, which are head and shoulders above what you see in a lot of movies, but will soon be outdated. These special effects are paid for by the copious products that are shamelessly placed and mentioned in the movie. A handful of times it feels more like a commercial than a story. Coupling its superficiality with its terrible character development, you are left with a movie that is only worth seeing for its few truly inspired special effects. See it on TV. Don't pay for it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DavidKDec 23, 2007
A frightfully weak story, but I'm not going to hold that against it, since it is a thriller and I've come not to expect ANY functional story in many thrillers. Through the plot was though a feeling of thrill at times which could of A frightfully weak story, but I'm not going to hold that against it, since it is a thriller and I've come not to expect ANY functional story in many thrillers. Through the plot was though a feeling of thrill at times which could of been extended greatly but the thrills I found moderately good. The biggest facet of the movie was the CG. The robots moved in an interesting inhuman manner which I found quite enjoyable to watch, as well as the androids appearance. The progression of the storyline was a tad sluggish and didn't leave much time for us to enjoy a decent amount of action. But I do consider the movie a good movie for it's visuals and watching the finishing of the somewhat sluggish plot, it was a very interesting ending, as well as watching the action and CG. It's a nice movie to have in a collection at least to pick up and watch when in the mood for such a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
QualityNov 4, 2011
Do you enjoy sci-fi flicks, Will Smith, and great special effects? If you do this movie will provide you with fine entertainment. So go get yourself some snacks, a drink or whatever and enjoy this smarter than usual Hollywood production.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleAug 18, 2015
From what I understand, this is a terrible adaptation of Isaac Asimov collection of stories, though that criticism can similarly be applied to Stanley Kubrick's classic film The Shining, which is a terrible adaptation of the Stephen KingFrom what I understand, this is a terrible adaptation of Isaac Asimov collection of stories, though that criticism can similarly be applied to Stanley Kubrick's classic film The Shining, which is a terrible adaptation of the Stephen King novel. To me, that is a non-issue. At face value, this film is very entertaining, very well directed by Alex Proyas, very well acted by Will Smith and Bridget Moynahan, and very interesting when it comes to the questions it raises about creation and robots. It stays relatively constrained and believable when it comes to its science fiction ideas and though this may not be the way things are in 2035, it is relatively believable that this could come to fruition. The few plot twists that are here are also interesting and very much throw you for a loop at times. It is well paced, well written as well, though my main complaint was some blatant product placement for Converse and Audi. These do not usually bother me, but the Converse ones were particularly obvious and clearly shoehorned in later on. Overall, I, Robot is not a seminal science fiction by any means, but is a very, very well made one that entertains in spades and features enough heady thrills and a very well thought out future to make it a very good film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
"I, Robot" is an almost-thought-provoking film with a complex lead protagonist and some clever visuals.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Rox22Feb 13, 2013
A decent enough movie. Will Smith stuck in yet another Sci-Fi role. Visuals are good, story is predictable but entertaining none the less. Overall: This is a movie design for one purpose. To be fun and enjoyable, and that it is. It isn'tA decent enough movie. Will Smith stuck in yet another Sci-Fi role. Visuals are good, story is predictable but entertaining none the less. Overall: This is a movie design for one purpose. To be fun and enjoyable, and that it is. It isn't deep, it isn't original and it definitely doesn't have any memorable performances (aside from Sonny, who is perhaps the only character with some depth.) But again flaws aside (brain at the door) it is allot of fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BradySmithOct 18, 2014
I really enjoyed this movie. It's entertaining throughout, visually striking, and occasionally even poignant. Perhaps it's true that the movie doesn't have very many original ideas, but the old ones are still given a suitable update here.I really enjoyed this movie. It's entertaining throughout, visually striking, and occasionally even poignant. Perhaps it's true that the movie doesn't have very many original ideas, but the old ones are still given a suitable update here. It's well paced, never boring, and actually quite memorable. Sonny, the main robot character, is a pretty impressive c.g.i. creation. What's most impressive about him is that he actually feels like a character with emotion, and not just digital eye candy. Smith also gives a decent performance in the lead, even if it's not quite up to par with his work in I am Legend. Why wasn't there ever a sequel? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysDec 31, 2013
I, Robot can be action-packed and fun to watch at some parts, and at some points it can be a bit jumpy and hyper. The movie is predictable, and has no twists and turns. But that's what most people who watch this are looking for. Action andI, Robot can be action-packed and fun to watch at some parts, and at some points it can be a bit jumpy and hyper. The movie is predictable, and has no twists and turns. But that's what most people who watch this are looking for. Action and gunfire for story and substance. Fair trade. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
I, Robot humanizes itself.
I, Robot becomes a successful futuristic film do to its high quality special effects and very intriguing premise. Despite that though, the movie relies on its fair script that carries it passed a flat special
I, Robot humanizes itself.
I, Robot becomes a successful futuristic film do to its high quality special effects and very intriguing premise. Despite that though, the movie relies on its fair script that carries it passed a flat special effects movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MarickMay 25, 2015
A great movie with a great actor. Worth watching .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SiAScORCHNov 6, 2014
Will Smith does a great job in this movie and I think the movie benefited from having him in it. It has a lot of action, however the story line is a bit lacking but it makes up for it in other ways. One thing that the movie shows you is thatWill Smith does a great job in this movie and I think the movie benefited from having him in it. It has a lot of action, however the story line is a bit lacking but it makes up for it in other ways. One thing that the movie shows you is that even with rules being in placed, sometimes the bigger rule can triumph other ones, which is an interesting aspect. With that being said, they also have parts of the movies where you'll feel sad, particularly the end. It's definitely worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
YessirKillaFeb 7, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pros:

- Will Smith kills it as Detective Spooner
- The humor in this movie is well-placed and properly put together
- The movie looks beautiful
- The action is so much fun to watch
- This film isn't brainless like most action films made around this time
- While the whole dystopian future story may be a common story in many films, this film makes it pretty interesting
- The part where all of the robots go against the humans is very well-done
- The whole mystery aspect of the film is played-out rather well
- The scenes with Sonny are very interesting

Cons:

- The film kind of follows Issac Asimov's book with the three laws of a robot
- Shia LaBeouf, while not exactly annoying, I could do without

Summary:

Don't listen to the critics. This movie is a beautiful, well-paced, amazing action film with good humor, a couple of one-liners, great casting choices, and some of the better action I've seen in years.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CineAutoctonoJul 21, 2015
The movie is good but do not doubt any criticism that within 20 years we will have those robots, but if it happens it will fend for themselves , but we must always be honest with the futuristic films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
YorkManFeb 4, 2016
Solid sci-fi whodunit.... Let down by dated special effects and the usual vision of the future that completely misses the technological advances which were made very soon after its release (let alone what could be accomplished by the film'sSolid sci-fi whodunit.... Let down by dated special effects and the usual vision of the future that completely misses the technological advances which were made very soon after its release (let alone what could be accomplished by the film's actual timeframe of 2054!).

Anyone who has watched any sci-fi Anime from the 80's/90's will see the 'twist' coming from about a light year away.... And in terms of acting, direction, cinematography, score etc, it's all just average.

Nothing stands out, good or bad, it's distinctly average. If you do want to see it, you won't be wasting your time, but there are far better (and much, much, much worse) sci-fi films released since the start of the Millenium.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Rutger-KikkertFeb 24, 2016
I, Robot is a lot of fun. Such an entertaining movie!
The always likable Will Smith gives an always solid performance. But also Bridget Moynahan, Chi McBride, Bruce Greenwood and the voice-acting of Alan Tudyk are good in this movie. The
I, Robot is a lot of fun. Such an entertaining movie!
The always likable Will Smith gives an always solid performance. But also Bridget Moynahan, Chi McBride, Bruce Greenwood and the voice-acting of Alan Tudyk are good in this movie. The special-effects are a little dated but who cares; this movie is from the year 2004. There are a few moments with great camerawork especially during the very enjoyable action scenes (and there are a lot of action scenes).
This movie's plot was very interesting in the first half, but lost track in the second half where it took a very cliche turn. But I didn't care anymore for the plot at that point (towards the end). Great action scenes and a decent plot in the first half make this movie a very entertaining thrill-ride with good performances, okay special-effects and actually some really great music too, which was worth mentioning.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
EpicLadySpongeFeb 15, 2016
Will Smith does his all in "I, Robot". The plot is very weak at some points during the movie... compared to how virtual this movie is and considering that most of the stuff are very cheesy and predictable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
choomtabi31Apr 19, 2016
Fantastic movie. I thought i had figured the plot out, right from the beginning, but in the end, it all took an unforeseen twist.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-1601-I-Robot
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieMasterEddyApr 3, 2016
When robots finally take over the world (assuming they haven't already) we will not be able to say we weren't warned. Every year, Hollywood studios present dire scenarios in which androids, computers and artificial-intelligence applicationsWhen robots finally take over the world (assuming they haven't already) we will not be able to say we weren't warned. Every year, Hollywood studios present dire scenarios in which androids, computers and artificial-intelligence applications run amok and enslave the human race, but the public never seems to get the message. Perhaps "I, Robot," a hectic, half-baked science-fiction thriller that opens today nationwide, will succeed where the "Terminator" and "Matrix" movies failed, and alert us to the grave danger that our innocent-looking toasters, vacuum cleaners, smart cars and laptop computers really pose.

At the same time, "I, Robot," directed by Alex Proyas and "suggested by" Isaac Asimov's 1950 book of short stories, may inspire some tenderness toward the technological doodads that run our lives. This is because, like other movies in this dystopian vein (including "Blade Runner" and "A.I."), it proposes that machines have feelings, too. The robots in this familiar future (the movie takes place in Chicago in 2035) have not only the intelligence necessary to turn against their human creators, but also the capacity to dream, to love and to suffer. At the screening I attended, cellphones and laptops were confiscated at the door. Supposedly, this was to prevent piracy, but I'm not so sure. Maybe 20th Century Fox wanted to make sure those clever gadgets didn't get any ideas, or maybe the studio just wanted to protect their feelings.

Del Spooner, a brooding, wise-cracking homicide detective played with weary action-hero bravado by Will Smith, shows no such sensitivity. He is, in fact, a raging anti-robot bigot, harboring a grudge against the helpful, polite machines that shuffle around the city running errands and doing menial work. Early in the movie, he chases down a robot he mistakenly believes has stolen a woman's purse, only to discover that he has been guilty of technological profiling. He is repeatedly scolded for his prejudice — by his grandmother (Adrian Ricard), by his boss (Chi McBride) and by the sinister head of the top robot-producing corporation (Bruce Greenwood) — which gives the movie an interesting undercurrent of racial irony.

Spooner's attitude also revives some familiar conundrums of sci-fi philosophy, which the script, written by Jeff Vintar and Akiva Goldsman, tackles in lengthy expository scenes. Where is the boundary between the human and the nonhuman? How does the technological blurring of this boundary affect our ethical conceptions of humanity and inhumanity?

These questions are batted around in a series of arguments between Spooner and Dr. Susan Calvin (Bridget Moynahan), who meet in the course of Spooner's investigation into the death of a kindly old scientist.

Spooner suspects that the man, a friend of his, was murdered by a robot, a possibility that seems at once logical and unthinkable, since the company's robots are governed by three laws, the first of which is that they can never harm a human. But the main suspect, a soulful prototype named Sonny (a computer-enhanced special effect voiced by Alan Tudyk), has developed a mind and a will of his own, which makes him a harbinger of apocalyptic danger as well as a friendly sidekick.

"You're the dumbest smart person I've ever met," Spooner says to Dr. Calvin during one of their debates, and "I, Robot" is one of the smarter dumb movies I've seen in a while. Its vision of the future is a grab-bag of borrowings from other pictures: the evil corporation from "Robocop," the urban consumer environment from "Minority Report," the sleek and agile killer robots from the last two "Terminator" movies, the climactic riot from, of all things, "Gangs of New York."

A straightforward genre exercise, directed with more competence than inspiration, "I, Robot" lacks both the intellectual rigor and the soulful sublimity of "A.I.," but it nonetheless allows some genuine ideas and emotions to pop up amid the noise and clutter. The overwrought ending tries to bring these into some kind of coherence, and the filmmakers deserve some credit for the effort, even though "I, Robot" makes less sense the more you think about it.

Which, I suppose, is just as silly as taking the film seriously as a cautionary tale. Still, this kind of movie presents a troubling paradox, since it is an example of the very phenomenon it purports to warn against. Dramatizing the threat of runaway technology seems to demand ever greater technological innovation, as digitized special effects increasingly push human beings off screen.

Sonny, with his mournful blue eyes and his smooth features, nearly upstages Mr. Smith and Ms. Moynahan, and it is possible to foresee a day when his kind will tire of being pushed around by flesh-and-blood actors and directors. They will organize their own guilds, take creative control over their own movies and, eventually, turn their mechanical minds to film criticism. Now I'm scared. I hope it's not too late.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews