Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: July 16, 2004
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 460 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
359
Mixed:
66
Negative:
35
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
grandpajoe6191Sep 23, 2011
The movie's motives and premise is simply one of the dumbest things I've seen since the Ed Wood era. That is why "I, Robot" is a well ended movie, but with a terrible start.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
5
mikes.Jan 24, 2005
Great idea, but why did they have to make the movie so silly? coming from the director who made Dark City this was a shock!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
jimmytancrediMay 30, 2011
The highest point of the film is undoubtedly the script. Balconies with super smart and well-constructed dialogue, the film shows the writers' job well done. And what scene is that one of the blink at the end? Genial. Will Smith's characterThe highest point of the film is undoubtedly the script. Balconies with super smart and well-constructed dialogue, the film shows the writers' job well done. And what scene is that one of the blink at the end? Genial. Will Smith's character takes a lot to be charismatic. In the first 30 minutes I started to say that was such a big mistake to choose him as the protagonist of the film. I was wrong, he shows his past and his psychological construction gets well structured. Charismatic yes, but could be better. I, Robot is one of the best movies set in the future. Chicago of 2035 was extremely realistic, though. Moreover, another defect of the film is the merchandising. How did Converse pay for that exhibition of All-Star? And the Audi logo appearing all the time? To me it doesn't seem coincidental that the main robot is named Sonny. Even with two N's, it is worth remembering that in U.S. the name is only pronounced, not written. It may sound conspiracy theory, but I found relevant. Apart from some minimal defects, "I, Robot" is a good movie. Those kind that you get a good feeling after watching it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
JerradH.Jul 18, 2004
It was entertaining, but not the movie it could have and should have been. That, and VIKI is a BLATANT rip-off of one of the greatest video game villanesses of all time, SHODAN. Clearly the producers of this film have played System Shock It was entertaining, but not the movie it could have and should have been. That, and VIKI is a BLATANT rip-off of one of the greatest video game villanesses of all time, SHODAN. Clearly the producers of this film have played System Shock more than a few times. Perhaps it was a homage, but mostly it just looked like plagarism to me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
FantasyJul 20, 2004
Let me preface my remarks by stating that I love science fiction movies. It was with great anticipation that I was looking forward to the likable Will Smith in I Robot. Independence Day still ranks as one of my favorite popcorn fun movies Let me preface my remarks by stating that I love science fiction movies. It was with great anticipation that I was looking forward to the likable Will Smith in I Robot. Independence Day still ranks as one of my favorite popcorn fun movies ever made. Well, I Robot misses the mark completely as it doesn't even come close. Oh yes, Will is his usual best but he has nothing to work with here. Unfortunately, everything is predictable and really without suspense. The trailer was the movie. Just so-so at best that will soon be forgotten the moment you leave the theater. It could have been so much better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TickledPinkJul 20, 2004
The story was a decent solaris rip off where they cut the end out and replaced it with a happy ending. There are only two real problems with the movie. The first is the glaring pruct placemet-audi, converse, ect. Movies shoulsn't be The story was a decent solaris rip off where they cut the end out and replaced it with a happy ending. There are only two real problems with the movie. The first is the glaring pruct placemet-audi, converse, ect. Movies shoulsn't be commercials. The second and more serious issue is that the action sequences are over the top and distracting. How a robot could throw a car but not be able to snap someone's neck is beyond all belief. All of the action sequences do nothing but disturb what would otherwise be a really good sci-fi thriller. That could have been more plot instead of stupid brainless action. Too much twitch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ParmsS.Aug 11, 2004
Good movie. The makers sold out by making it a big advert, very poor indeed. Will Smith needs to stop acting like a little kid. Needed a more serious actor that can walk straighter and blends in better like Denzel Washington.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LawrenceR.Aug 19, 2004
You dont have to think. The storys basic and predictable, Will Smith is unchallenged in his role and continus to save the world. But its entertaining for what it is, wouldn't see it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RickSAug 3, 2005
For some reason, this movie just made me feel to watch The Matrix. I really don't know why, the special effects were real good, but something was missing, I don't know if it was heart or what, it just came off as a no-brainer For some reason, this movie just made me feel to watch The Matrix. I really don't know why, the special effects were real good, but something was missing, I don't know if it was heart or what, it just came off as a no-brainer hollywood type movie. I mean looking at movies like Ghost In The Shell (1 and 2), I Robot just can't come close. It tried but i didn't really care about Will or the girl, heck, i kinda wanted the robots to win. If this had came out before Matrix, then it might have been something special, but for some reason this movie is just a step behind alot of "Robot" movies. If you really wanna see the best and i mean best Movie on the subject, just look at Ghost In The Shell 2 Innocence. You will be shocked. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AirbonicsamAug 12, 2004
Could have been soooo much more. The fight scene between the robots was very entertaining. That scene lasted about 4 min. That was about it. The rest of the movie was very CHEEZY. Overall it tried to be a giant but ended up a normal, Could have been soooo much more. The fight scene between the robots was very entertaining. That scene lasted about 4 min. That was about it. The rest of the movie was very CHEEZY. Overall it tried to be a giant but ended up a normal, everyday shrimp. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
armandosJan 14, 2005
An updating of the Asimov book that is not entirely successful-however the special effects are excellent-I expected a little more from the director of Dark City-this was more commercial.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PatC.Jan 29, 2005
Visually compelling Blade Runner Lite. Fine entertainment without the unpleasantness of dealing with an original thought or provoking reflection.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RirenMar 19, 2007
A decent, if lopsided, thriller built around a weak story. The dialogue is uninspired and the acting is laughably bad, with every cast member showing one or two emotions in the entire movie, and flipping between them like they have switches A decent, if lopsided, thriller built around a weak story. The dialogue is uninspired and the acting is laughably bad, with every cast member showing one or two emotions in the entire movie, and flipping between them like they have switches built in their backs. I Robot's saving grace is its special effects, which are head and shoulders above what you see in a lot of movies, but will soon be outdated. These special effects are paid for by the copious products that are shamelessly placed and mentioned in the movie. A handful of times it feels more like a commercial than a story. Coupling its superficiality with its terrible character development, you are left with a movie that is only worth seeing for its few truly inspired special effects. See it on TV. Don't pay for it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
fabioNov 29, 2004
That's not Blade Runner...but it's fun and entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MichaelM.Oct 21, 2004
Call me nuts, but I found it to be one of the most enjoyable movies of the summer. It's a little bit corny, but it kept me entertained and in a good mood. I walked out of the theater feeling happy, but not feeling like the movie should Call me nuts, but I found it to be one of the most enjoyable movies of the summer. It's a little bit corny, but it kept me entertained and in a good mood. I walked out of the theater feeling happy, but not feeling like the movie should win any awards. Will Smith sure knows how to pick a good summer blockbuster -- besides Wild, Wild, West. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RicoDec 16, 2004
This movie is about as cold as formulaic as they get. Should be retitled "Attack of the iPods".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
YouRNoHelpJul 16, 2004
This is worthless always idiots review it that either have not seen it yet or compare it to the book. How does that apply if someone has not read the book ? thanks for no help...personally the movie industry is OVER-USING CG effects... these This is worthless always idiots review it that either have not seen it yet or compare it to the book. How does that apply if someone has not read the book ? thanks for no help...personally the movie industry is OVER-USING CG effects... these robots look drawn in and not real... unfortunately it has become cheaper to render movie characters than build models etc... to date only Jurassic Park and LOTR have done good CG characters in my opinion... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
GaborA.Jul 16, 2004
The movie possesed not a shred of originality. However, i expected this. What i didnt anticipate was a detective plot line worse than the L.A. confidential knock off story in minority report. How is that possible? Well, quite frankly there The movie possesed not a shred of originality. However, i expected this. What i didnt anticipate was a detective plot line worse than the L.A. confidential knock off story in minority report. How is that possible? Well, quite frankly there was no detective work/plot. Its like the movie was falling back onto its premise, but once again the premice is a carbon copy of a thousand other and better movies and books. All in all i wouldnt see this movie unless you havent seen one since 1953. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MarkS.Jul 16, 2004
Relatively average, but entertaining. Keep in mind that it shares nothing with Asimov other than the name (having been made from a screenplay named "Hardwired" with the name merely slapped on). As a matinee or rental it's an enjoyable, Relatively average, but entertaining. Keep in mind that it shares nothing with Asimov other than the name (having been made from a screenplay named "Hardwired" with the name merely slapped on). As a matinee or rental it's an enjoyable, if predictable way to waste a few hours, but only if nothing good is available. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JamesJ.Jul 18, 2004
Its a fun movie, and the action sequences are nice. Its only relation to Asimov are the three laws (conveniently broken), and the title. Especially amusing are the people who will say "its a good adaptation of the novel", which proves only Its a fun movie, and the action sequences are nice. Its only relation to Asimov are the three laws (conveniently broken), and the title. Especially amusing are the people who will say "its a good adaptation of the novel", which proves only that a) they don't know that "I, Robot" was a collection of short stories, not a novel, and b) they've never read it. If you're looking for a thoughtful movie made from Asimov's books, you'll hate it. But if you ignore the name and you're looking for a stylish summer movie, it's well worth the money. I liked it despite the abuse of Asimov's work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
IRobotExtripatorJul 18, 2004
CG looked fake. Plot was predictable. It's always a obssesive/compulsive super computer that goes crazy and tries to ensalve everything! Will Smith was cool though..thats it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BillJ.Dec 18, 2004
Simple minded formula but entertaining escape movie. Laugh if you will but we are not too far away from this future when robots take jobs away from people. No more worries about India and China though. Robots can work 24X365 with no breaks Simple minded formula but entertaining escape movie. Laugh if you will but we are not too far away from this future when robots take jobs away from people. No more worries about India and China though. Robots can work 24X365 with no breaks or need for lunch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
"I, Robot" is an almost-thought-provoking film with a complex lead protagonist and some clever visuals.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysDec 31, 2013
I, Robot can be action-packed and fun to watch at some parts, and at some points it can be a bit jumpy and hyper. The movie is predictable, and has no twists and turns. But that's what most people who watch this are looking for. Action andI, Robot can be action-packed and fun to watch at some parts, and at some points it can be a bit jumpy and hyper. The movie is predictable, and has no twists and turns. But that's what most people who watch this are looking for. Action and gunfire for story and substance. Fair trade. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
I, Robot humanizes itself.
I, Robot becomes a successful futuristic film do to its high quality special effects and very intriguing premise. Despite that though, the movie relies on its fair script that carries it passed a flat special
I, Robot humanizes itself.
I, Robot becomes a successful futuristic film do to its high quality special effects and very intriguing premise. Despite that though, the movie relies on its fair script that carries it passed a flat special effects movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CineAutoctonoJul 21, 2015
The movie is good but do not doubt any criticism that within 20 years we will have those robots, but if it happens it will fend for themselves , but we must always be honest with the futuristic films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
YorkManFeb 4, 2016
Solid sci-fi whodunit.... Let down by dated special effects and the usual vision of the future that completely misses the technological advances which were made very soon after its release (let alone what could be accomplished by the film'sSolid sci-fi whodunit.... Let down by dated special effects and the usual vision of the future that completely misses the technological advances which were made very soon after its release (let alone what could be accomplished by the film's actual timeframe of 2054!).

Anyone who has watched any sci-fi Anime from the 80's/90's will see the 'twist' coming from about a light year away.... And in terms of acting, direction, cinematography, score etc, it's all just average.

Nothing stands out, good or bad, it's distinctly average. If you do want to see it, you won't be wasting your time, but there are far better (and much, much, much worse) sci-fi films released since the start of the Millenium.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
EpicLadySpongeFeb 15, 2016
Will Smith does his all in "I, Robot". The plot is very weak at some points during the movie... compared to how virtual this movie is and considering that most of the stuff are very cheesy and predictable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieMasterEddyApr 3, 2016
When robots finally take over the world (assuming they haven't already) we will not be able to say we weren't warned. Every year, Hollywood studios present dire scenarios in which androids, computers and artificial-intelligence applicationsWhen robots finally take over the world (assuming they haven't already) we will not be able to say we weren't warned. Every year, Hollywood studios present dire scenarios in which androids, computers and artificial-intelligence applications run amok and enslave the human race, but the public never seems to get the message. Perhaps "I, Robot," a hectic, half-baked science-fiction thriller that opens today nationwide, will succeed where the "Terminator" and "Matrix" movies failed, and alert us to the grave danger that our innocent-looking toasters, vacuum cleaners, smart cars and laptop computers really pose.

At the same time, "I, Robot," directed by Alex Proyas and "suggested by" Isaac Asimov's 1950 book of short stories, may inspire some tenderness toward the technological doodads that run our lives. This is because, like other movies in this dystopian vein (including "Blade Runner" and "A.I."), it proposes that machines have feelings, too. The robots in this familiar future (the movie takes place in Chicago in 2035) have not only the intelligence necessary to turn against their human creators, but also the capacity to dream, to love and to suffer. At the screening I attended, cellphones and laptops were confiscated at the door. Supposedly, this was to prevent piracy, but I'm not so sure. Maybe 20th Century Fox wanted to make sure those clever gadgets didn't get any ideas, or maybe the studio just wanted to protect their feelings.

Del Spooner, a brooding, wise-cracking homicide detective played with weary action-hero bravado by Will Smith, shows no such sensitivity. He is, in fact, a raging anti-robot bigot, harboring a grudge against the helpful, polite machines that shuffle around the city running errands and doing menial work. Early in the movie, he chases down a robot he mistakenly believes has stolen a woman's purse, only to discover that he has been guilty of technological profiling. He is repeatedly scolded for his prejudice — by his grandmother (Adrian Ricard), by his boss (Chi McBride) and by the sinister head of the top robot-producing corporation (Bruce Greenwood) — which gives the movie an interesting undercurrent of racial irony.

Spooner's attitude also revives some familiar conundrums of sci-fi philosophy, which the script, written by Jeff Vintar and Akiva Goldsman, tackles in lengthy expository scenes. Where is the boundary between the human and the nonhuman? How does the technological blurring of this boundary affect our ethical conceptions of humanity and inhumanity?

These questions are batted around in a series of arguments between Spooner and Dr. Susan Calvin (Bridget Moynahan), who meet in the course of Spooner's investigation into the death of a kindly old scientist.

Spooner suspects that the man, a friend of his, was murdered by a robot, a possibility that seems at once logical and unthinkable, since the company's robots are governed by three laws, the first of which is that they can never harm a human. But the main suspect, a soulful prototype named Sonny (a computer-enhanced special effect voiced by Alan Tudyk), has developed a mind and a will of his own, which makes him a harbinger of apocalyptic danger as well as a friendly sidekick.

"You're the dumbest smart person I've ever met," Spooner says to Dr. Calvin during one of their debates, and "I, Robot" is one of the smarter dumb movies I've seen in a while. Its vision of the future is a grab-bag of borrowings from other pictures: the evil corporation from "Robocop," the urban consumer environment from "Minority Report," the sleek and agile killer robots from the last two "Terminator" movies, the climactic riot from, of all things, "Gangs of New York."

A straightforward genre exercise, directed with more competence than inspiration, "I, Robot" lacks both the intellectual rigor and the soulful sublimity of "A.I.," but it nonetheless allows some genuine ideas and emotions to pop up amid the noise and clutter. The overwrought ending tries to bring these into some kind of coherence, and the filmmakers deserve some credit for the effort, even though "I, Robot" makes less sense the more you think about it.

Which, I suppose, is just as silly as taking the film seriously as a cautionary tale. Still, this kind of movie presents a troubling paradox, since it is an example of the very phenomenon it purports to warn against. Dramatizing the threat of runaway technology seems to demand ever greater technological innovation, as digitized special effects increasingly push human beings off screen.

Sonny, with his mournful blue eyes and his smooth features, nearly upstages Mr. Smith and Ms. Moynahan, and it is possible to foresee a day when his kind will tire of being pushed around by flesh-and-blood actors and directors. They will organize their own guilds, take creative control over their own movies and, eventually, turn their mechanical minds to film criticism. Now I'm scared. I hope it's not too late.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews