User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 73
  2. Negative: 5 out of 73

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    First off, a lot of people reviewing are missing the point to this film. They write a lot of things about the violence and obscure scenes and they totally miss the point of the movie. You cant summarize this movie with what you see, it needs to take a count for what it makes you feel.

    Yes the movie is very violent, very bloody. It will make you cover your eyes of obscenity. Those scenes
    set up the movie to the emotions you the viewer needs to be in to understand the point of the movie. I think the writer wants to make your mind go to dark places, very dark places. It want's you to scream "REVENGE" and "MAKE HIM SUFFER" and the beauty of the movie is that it does this, perfectly. When the movie comes closer to a conclusion the main point of the movie is revealing it self. You can't get revenge, all you have done to try to get revenge has made you loose even more. All the suffering you inflicted to the villain wont make him regret what he did or ever fear what you will do to him. "You lost already" is the line that says it all.

    The movie is a breath of fresh air, one of the best movies i have ever seen. It takes you through a journey to dark places and at the end makes you regret all the dark thoughts the movie made you think.
    Expand
  2. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    Wow, just wow. Only another Korean movie could come close to the best revenge movie (Oldboy) of our time and "I saw the devil" sure comes close enough. This movie is just like Oldboy a glimpse into the abyss of the human soul/human mind. If you've seen Oldboy, then this movie just like Oldboy will, at the end, leave you in your seat thinking and trying to grasp what you just watched.
  3. Jul 18, 2011
    9
    Torture porn, revenge fantasy, the darkest of comedies; these are all words the describe this film but none of them in my opinion accurately portray what this is. The film Hostel broke new ground but this film ranks high above it but still cares over Hostel's tendencies. This is not for the weak of heart and if you even think that you might be able to bare it, don't because this film will at some point make you cringe. It's pretty much a requirement to close your eyes. Where films like hostel fail horribly this film succeeds. Brilliant action and writing will have you laughing one moment, cheering the next and possibly crying by the end. A mixture of emotions this is a roller-coaster ride for any fan of artistic cinematography, mind blowing action or horror in general. It might be a foreign film but please don't miss out on this amazing overall experience. This film right now is on Netflix Instant so please check it out!!! Expand
  4. May 15, 2011
    9
    A graphic, violent thriller which is fantastically shot and wonderfully enthralling. Revenge film with that wonderful grittiness that south Korea does so well. Enough twists to keep you guessing and a satisfying ending which can be a tricky task when working with subject matters like this.
  5. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    I will NOT spoil the movie for you in this review but I will recommend why you should watch it. Okay guys, its maybe another revenge movie... If you haven't seen I Saw the Devil, you might think this will be yet another typical movie of the genre, BUT its not, its unique, and I think its one of the best movies of its genre. The director of I Saw the Devil was the guy who also directed A Bittersweet Life (which I also give a 10/10) and also The Good, The Bad, The Weird. The movie is packed full of solid acting with my favourite Korean actor Byung-hun Lee as the main character who plays as a tragic secret agent who seeks for revenge at all costs.
    The antagonist is brilliantly acted by Min-sik Choi who plays as a psycho killer in the movie, he played the main role of the famous Old Boy in the past.

    The movie has an original but intense story which shows you how cruel humans can be, it has a meaning to it at the end of the day.
    I don't wanna say much about the story because I don't wanna spoil it for you, but it has a very tragic, intense and sadistic story. The movie has quite a few action scenes which are perfectly presented, and shows how much the main character hungers for vengeance. The scenes all have amazing Choreography in them and has one of the most entertaining scenes I've seen in a while.

    Don't think about watching it if you can't bare blood and gore. It is one of the grimmest movies I have seen, this is not a bad thing. It is not mindless gore as the violence and killings was created so that the audience sees really how sadistic the villian is.

    10/10
    Expand
  6. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    I am the first to be suprised, the Kerans are not really know for their films. But I Saw the Devil is clearly the Triller of the Year: Original, with two amazing lead actors, a original concept and a strong ambiance.
  7. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    I Saw The Devil is a nonstop violent, unpredictable, and enjoyable revenge film that has enough action to keep you on your seat. Surprisingly, it also teaches the audience a lesson and the performance from these actors are very believable.
  8. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    This has to be one of the greatest revenge movies I have ever seen. For 2 hours and 23 minutes, there are acts of vengeance committed on almost every scene. The movie never gets stale, and it always keeps you guessing as to what will happen next. It's gloriously violent, but it never feels exploitative. Choi Min-sik also plays one hell of a sadistic serial killer, and seeing Lee Byung-hyun deliver his vengeance against Choi time and time again never gets old. Of course, in the last 20 minutes the movie perfectly shifts gears into a suspenseful thrill ride, and the conclusion will leave you horrified like any good thriller should. I absolutely loved this movie. It was violent, twisted, and thrilling as hell. I don't remember a time where I've been shocked so many times during a movie. "I Saw the Devil" keeps you horrified, and when it doesn't do that, it holds you in suspense. Besides delivering the typical revenge message of "Vengeance doesn't solve anything," it also delivers a more subtle message. Don't mess with South Koreans. Expand
  9. Dec 25, 2011
    9
    I am VERY stunned that the metacritic score is 6.7. This movie is simply stunning but not for the faint-hearted. It is beautifully shot with the best example being the camera work in the taxi cab scene; it is absolutely incredible. If Man On FIre and Saw had a baby it would be I Saw The Devil, speaking in american terms. If you want one of the best revenge movies I have ever seen in my life then see this amazing movie. Expand
  10. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    Great film..love the characters, the story line, and the mood it sets pulls you in. These genre of horror movies are much different than the US type.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Apr 14, 2011
    88
    Director Kim Jee-woon's astonishing story of a serial killer who picks the wrong man's fiancée to murder, is so extreme and intense that it had to be trimmed down in its native country before it was released to theaters. We lucky westerners get to see it in all its hair-raising, stomach-churning glory, and that's a wonderful thing.
  2. Reviewed by: Calvin Wilson
    Mar 25, 2011
    88
    A terrific but uncompromising film that's definitely not for everyone.
  3. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Mar 24, 2011
    67
    Although the sequences grow somewhat repetitive in spite of their vicious escalation, and some of the details challenge believability, I Saw the Devil is a spectacle of substantial merit.