Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: July 13, 2012
5.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 239 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
102
Mixed:
100
Negative:
37
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
BlackBlurJul 13, 2012
I enjoyed the movie more than I expected. This new addition to the series was a bit better than Ice Age 3, though not quite as good as the original Ice Age, and worth watching. On the bright side, Continental Drift had parts that had meI enjoyed the movie more than I expected. This new addition to the series was a bit better than Ice Age 3, though not quite as good as the original Ice Age, and worth watching. On the bright side, Continental Drift had parts that had me laughing, but there was a song sung by the characters during the movie that was horribly corny. The part of the teenage mammoth "Peaches" was also pretty boring and childish. But, in spite of the bad points, as a kid, I liked this movie Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
SonicphotoJul 27, 2012
Ice Age is one of those franchises that even if it already has 4 movies, they are still a lot of fun to have with these characters. Each story on each movie is quite unique, and it always introduces new characters and ideas but also makesIce Age is one of those franchises that even if it already has 4 movies, they are still a lot of fun to have with these characters. Each story on each movie is quite unique, and it always introduces new characters and ideas but also makes sure other characters from previous movies do no be forgotten. Where as Shrek, the third and fourth movie was lacking ideas, the Ice age franchise does varies things quite a bit, and does not forgets his characters and how they have always been. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
EssenceOfSugarAug 23, 2012
While it retreads familiar ground, this film is different from others that do the same thing. You cannot expect films like these to be directed just towards kids, because why should they subconsciously make the decision that it's childish andWhile it retreads familiar ground, this film is different from others that do the same thing. You cannot expect films like these to be directed just towards kids, because why should they subconsciously make the decision that it's childish and assume there's only a certain few that means you don't get labelled as childish if you see it? This film is almost perfectly developed for both young kids and older people - most of the characters are lovable in their own way and who seriously doesn't love Scrat? Regardless of any demographic, anybody who loves this film will have nothing against this little fella. Just when everything is going right, what's not to stop something small creating such a big disaster? I love the dialogue especially against the characters - I did like the pirates, although many of them just got on my nerves (guess that's what pirates do). And every character has their own personality that suits everyone - what's not to like? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
anshimanJan 12, 2013
Ice Age 3 was horrible... This is abysmal. This 'film' has truly shown the definition of staying past your welcome, generic plots and tired dialogue.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
rodriqueJul 14, 2012
This movie is 50/50 for me,this is a big impovement on the third one who was very bad,but continental drift is in any other respect a very big mess that blue sky made to be a box office hit.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
SeriosityNov 4, 2012
The animation is good and scrap's bits are still chaotic fun, but the actual story is filled with cliches and ultimately dull and uninspired. Pure cashgrab.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
giannis19962012Dec 19, 2012
Ice age wow, ice age 2 great, ice age 3 ok, ice age 4 screw this. When i first saw the trailer at cinema i said yes. But when i watched it, i was really disappointed. Our year is 2012. Where is the realistic animation? I think the animatorsIce age wow, ice age 2 great, ice age 3 ok, ice age 4 screw this. When i first saw the trailer at cinema i said yes. But when i watched it, i was really disappointed. Our year is 2012. Where is the realistic animation? I think the animators have lost their talent.
POSITIVES:
Sid
Negatives:
The film
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
sil3nt_nickMar 24, 2013
Even with decent actors, this movie was terrible. The plot was bad as well as the idea of the addition of the pirate crew. At least Scrat stuck around to give us a few more laughs.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
jeff_reviewsJul 4, 2013
"Ice Age: Continental Drift" shows how not to do a sequel in most ways it's dull, the humor is so-so (even though it tries so hard), and the story line is flat out dumb.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
FranzHcriticJul 30, 2014
The last, hopefully, of a disintegrating franchise. Stupid, over-written, too childish, and a complete, underwhelming and predictable bore. If they make the next sequel, you won't see me in those theaters. In fact, I'll make a habit ofThe last, hopefully, of a disintegrating franchise. Stupid, over-written, too childish, and a complete, underwhelming and predictable bore. If they make the next sequel, you won't see me in those theaters. In fact, I'll make a habit of changing the channel the next time Ice Age appears on a commercial. Ever. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
Delaforce828Oct 14, 2014
There's just nothing new to offer with these Ice Age films, it's just the same thing over, and over again, and doesn't do anything new. Still the visuals are nice, but the story and characters are just bland and boring.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
utmamSep 2, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Terrible terrible terrible. My daughters dragged me into the theatre for this, so I hesitantly allowed them so see it. Needless to say I went in with very low expectations... and still I was disappointed! Without giving anything away, could someone please explain to me how the bad guys managed to capture Manny's family??? That made NO sense to me at all. Could they have stereotyped the teenagers any worse? A family dumping their elder onto the family outcast, really? Captain Gutt said, "Sacrificing yourself for your daughter. How touching. And predictable." Too bad the writers didn't see the irony of that statement. I will never get those 90 minutes back. Should have napped. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
Tranquilbez22Jul 13, 2012
After being dissapointed with Dawn of the Dinosaurs, I was a little un-easy when I saw this one but my opinions changed when the movie was over. Casting was extra superb and the plot was pretty good for a stero-typical over protective dad vsAfter being dissapointed with Dawn of the Dinosaurs, I was a little un-easy when I saw this one but my opinions changed when the movie was over. Casting was extra superb and the plot was pretty good for a stero-typical over protective dad vs teenage daughter storyline. it's nice to see actual antagonists like the first one and not mother nature (Though it did play some part in the story) like the previous two films did. This film is great if you small kids while older kids and adults will get some kick out of it. That being said it's typical Ice Age humour that you've grown to love in previous installments but don't be expecting the charm the first one brought. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
MegWhiteleyJul 13, 2012
Ok, the movie is better than the third part, have some great moments. The animation is cool. But the big problem in this movie is the trama, is good, but the development is boring in some moments, and in some parts I feel that I watch aOk, the movie is better than the third part, have some great moments. The animation is cool. But the big problem in this movie is the trama, is good, but the development is boring in some moments, and in some parts I feel that I watch a Michael Bay's movie. Is better than the third part, but is owrst than the second and the first, and yeah, is worst than Madagascar 3. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
screenspotlightJul 14, 2012
Ice Age Continental Drift is a terrific animation film for children. It offers laughs, a few scares, plenty of intelligent cheesy jokes and a great 3D experience. It is unfortunate that there are so many messages about global climate changeIce Age Continental Drift is a terrific animation film for children. It offers laughs, a few scares, plenty of intelligent cheesy jokes and a great 3D experience. It is unfortunate that there are so many messages about global climate change and the extinction of animals mixed in but having young people feel a sense of responsibility for the planet and all of its life cannot be a bad thing if reasonably employed. Watch Ice Age Continental Drift with the whole family folks, it is great midsummer fun. screenspotlight Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
ioannis1996Dec 17, 2012
This is not a comedy. It's more like an adventure. It is really disgusting and it makes me sick. I think it wasn't necessary to make a fourth film. Im really disappointed.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
GilbertoJul 14, 2012
Ice Age doesn´t improve on anything. This is a series of movies that have locked themselves to be merely good enough within each release, never really trying to push boundaries, and with Continental Drift this is more evident than ever.Ice Age doesn´t improve on anything. This is a series of movies that have locked themselves to be merely good enough within each release, never really trying to push boundaries, and with Continental Drift this is more evident than ever. I knew completely what to expect from the beginning and by the end I got exactly that. Some few laughs with the squirrel and a whole lot of nonsense and that is it. I got to admit that I had little more faith going into this one given that more characters were going to be introduced, a whole group of pirate animals to be exact. This could have opened this Ice Age into fresher territory with more character development, but the truth is that no pirate really develops. One opportunity for example relies on the fact that the two saber tigers, Diego and the girl, were falling in love, but any tease of what the animals may be feeling is left just like that, a tease. They end up together but is hard to tell in what disposition because there relationship is developed in a matter of roughly 5 minutes. So what does Continental Drift means? It means more of the same. A new entry that once again relies on the like-able trio of Mammoth, tiger, and sloth, and off course the lonely squirrel. At is most, it is entertaining and in some parts undeniably funny, but overall this one is pretty forgettable. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
megaDJul 13, 2012
The movie is great. Funny and refreshing just like the previous parts. Watched it with my 3 year old daughter and she loved it. The new characters introduced in the movie like Sid's grandmother are just hilarious.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
5
b3_Jul 14, 2012
Having seen the Ice Age series thus far I knew what to expect. The film is obviously aimed at children and families. For this audience it is family friendly (of course the little 'life lessons'), fun and entertaining. Like the past films IHaving seen the Ice Age series thus far I knew what to expect. The film is obviously aimed at children and families. For this audience it is family friendly (of course the little 'life lessons'), fun and entertaining. Like the past films I moderately enjoyed it, but will forget it quickly. As an adult viewer it doesn't offer me anything more than a few laughs and a positive feeling by the end. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
dharmaNov 7, 2012
Another year, another ICE AGE film. There is really nothing new here, and the success of this franchise baffles me. Kids find it funny, the animation is nice, but the series never has the charm of say, Kung Fu Panda and Madagascar.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
ZalDec 20, 2012
I have horrible friends. How horrible? Well, when given a choice between The Dark Knight Rises, Moonrise Kingdom, and Ice Age 4, my friend chose the last on the list. Granted DKR was somewhat disappointing, but you can't honestly tell me thatI have horrible friends. How horrible? Well, when given a choice between The Dark Knight Rises, Moonrise Kingdom, and Ice Age 4, my friend chose the last on the list. Granted DKR was somewhat disappointing, but you can't honestly tell me that IA4 is the better choice!

I saw the first Ice Age movie as a kid and I liked it. The second one was stupid. The third one I haven't seen. Then there's this one.

Is it the worst kids movie ever? No. But it's still terrible. It's cliched and predictable. The subplot with Manny's daughter was the hardest part to sit through.

However, there were two things that kept me going. First, Scrat. Scrat is just as enjoyable as he's always been. There's this great scene between him and a siren which I won't spoil because it made me laugh so hard. Second, Peter Dinklage. Yep, Tyrion Lannister is in this movie. He plays the bad guy (stupid character btw). I couldn't tell who it was until the credits came up and I was close to doing a spit take when I saw his name.

That being said, this movie was dumb and boring. However, if your child forces you to watch this movie, there are some saving graces.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
NerdHeroJul 29, 2012
Hamma geiler FIlm !!! :DDD
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
alpha8000Nov 25, 2012
from the first scene i could guess all the story!characters are so stereotype and nothing in all those happenings make sense at all.bad characterization and i event think some of them were extra and also useless.most of them exist in thefrom the first scene i could guess all the story!characters are so stereotype and nothing in all those happenings make sense at all.bad characterization and i event think some of them were extra and also useless.most of them exist in the story line just physically(most of them Ellie).humors mostly not very funny and a lot events in the movie didn't help the advance the story.but with all these i still have to say the animation itself was good(the graphic and sounds). Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
DrAwesomeONov 25, 2012
tasdfghjklkjghfdsadjkl;jhgfdsadfgjhdddddddddaaaaaaaaasssssssccccccccc5455ergdfhdfjhdfjfgjkfgjkgjdfhnjhudkl;jhgfdsadfghj this move was so bad i got autism
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
10
ImSpidey2Jul 25, 2012
This is the best Ice Age movie I've ever seen. Not to mention, one of the greatest films ever in my opinion. And that's saying a lot seeing that I've seen a lot of awesome movies. No wonder this was a box office success...

10/10 Pros:
This is the best Ice Age movie I've ever seen. Not to mention, one of the greatest films ever in my opinion. And that's saying a lot seeing that I've seen a lot of awesome movies. No wonder this was a box office success...

10/10
Pros: Everything
Cons: Doesn't have a number 4 on the title
Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
4
asthobaskoroJul 22, 2012
Actually I do not have any complaints about this movie but somehow it's six year old kids movie. It has charm and eye-candy animation but it suffer confused script. Sorry Scrat, this time for Granny, she rocks!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
mgastrykerJan 27, 2013
I don't know why a fourth Ice Age movie was made. I loved the first three movies, but this one fell short of my expectations. I laughed a couple of times, but I could have gone without seeing this movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
GreatMartinJul 27, 2012
Would the world come to an end if I didn
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
5
JacobMay 24, 2013
I do not hate Ice Age 5. It has good morals, the four main likeable characters, and some good laughs. However, this is weakest Ice Age film. There are way too many characters forcing the writers to come up with things for every else to doI do not hate Ice Age 5. It has good morals, the four main likeable characters, and some good laughs. However, this is weakest Ice Age film. There are way too many characters forcing the writers to come up with things for every else to do while Manny, Sid, and Diego battle the pirates out at sea. There are potential plot lines for the movie such as Sid dealing with his family or Manny dealing with his daughter Peaches and her having to fit in. However, these plot lines are either ignored or poorly written providing a lot of stuff that has been done before. There are new characters but none of them are likeable or interesting. Plus, the film tries to be hip with teenage mammoths who have crazy hairstyles and has a bad musical number. All of these elements come together to form a meh film that is the worst of the franchise. Unless you are a little kid or a fan of the films, then this is a definite skip. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Andys_ReviewsAug 5, 2013
As is the fashion these days with these films there is a lot of moralising going on and a lot about the importance of family. I don’t usually have a problem with this, but in this film it was so ‘in your face’ that I felt it got in the way ofAs is the fashion these days with these films there is a lot of moralising going on and a lot about the importance of family. I don’t usually have a problem with this, but in this film it was so ‘in your face’ that I felt it got in the way of the story. I didn’t enjoy this one as much as the other ‘Ice Age’ films, probably because it has lost all the charm the characters had in the earlier films. On the plus side, Peter Dinklage did make for a very intimidating and threatening advocacy. I guess it wasn’t until about the last 20 minutes that I began to warm to any of the characters, but by then it was far too late. Time to put the franchise to rest guys. I’ve probably been a tad to generous with my score, it’s because Sid does make me laugh!

SteelMonster’s verdict: RECOMMENDED (Just)

My score: 5.7/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews