Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 41
  2. Negative: 15 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Barbara VanDenburgh
    Feb 7, 2013
    40
    Everyone would have been better off if the editors had just cobbled together a 90-minute blooper reel and called it a day.
  2. Reviewed by: Louis Black
    Feb 6, 2013
    40
    The film is ultimately unsatisfying, not as laugh-out-loud funny as it promises to be in the opening.
  3. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Feb 8, 2013
    25
    Unfunny, predictable, and vulgar, it’s the generic equivalent of a Judd Apatow movie. As always, you get what you pay for.
  4. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Feb 7, 2013
    63
    The dialogue in Craig Mazin’s script crackles at its best, and the supporting characters (led by Robert Patrick as a grizzled skip chaser) have bizarrely funny moments.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Feb 6, 2013
    50
    It wants to be "Midnight Run" meets "Planes, Trains and Automobiles," but it carries little of the dramatic heft and real-world semi-plausibility of those much superior efforts.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Feb 7, 2013
    38
    Gordon is lost, and his style of shooting - telescopic close-ups, which never give us enough space to appreciate the performers - feels wrong for comedy.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Feb 8, 2013
    0
    I squirmed in my seat throughout Identity Thief, a colossally unfunny and misguided comedy.
  8. Reviewed by: James White
    Mar 18, 2013
    40
    Clever premise, witless execution.
  9. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Feb 6, 2013
    67
    The fault, I think, isn't in our stars but in the script, running up a huge comedy tab the likable players can't pay off.
  10. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Feb 26, 2013
    42
    Watching Identity Thief will steal nearly two hours of your life that you’ll never get back. It takes far more than it gives.
  11. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Feb 7, 2013
    60
    The heart of this film is on the road with Bateman and McCarthy. If not for their brilliance, Identity Thief would be running on empty.
  12. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Feb 8, 2013
    25
    An unsalvageable wreck.
  13. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Feb 7, 2013
    50
    While the filmmakers might have shot for "Midnight Run," but settled for "Due Date," they wound up only achieving "Guilt Trip." Identity Thief is sputtering long before that mid-movie moment when it turns all sentimental and goes off the rails.
  14. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Feb 8, 2013
    40
    The result is exactly what you would expect from a concept whose odometer has been running for so long: uneven laughs, sparked largely by spurts of shock comedy but marred by a general sense of familiarity.
  15. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Feb 7, 2013
    40
    The ensuing road trip should be hilariously chaotic, a classic misadventure between two ill-matched travelers. Instead of “Midnight Run,” though, we get another gloss on the recent “Guilt Trip,” in which the concept is all that counts.
  16. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Feb 8, 2013
    50
    Identity Thief is funny enough, but it needed to be darker, raunchier, and crazier to live up to the promise of its casting.
  17. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Feb 6, 2013
    25
    Identity Thief is so bad it’s hard to believe it wasn’t directed by Judd Apatow or the Farrelly Brothers.
  18. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Feb 7, 2013
    63
    Funny and promising as the first act is, the entire second act is pretty awful, as the script chucks in one tiresome, unlikely gag after another.
  19. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Feb 8, 2013
    45
    Such a catalog of missed opportunities, it probably makes sense just to list them.
  20. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Feb 7, 2013
    63
    In some ways, Identity Thief is a raunchier variation on another recent odd-couple road pic: Barbra Streisand and Seth Rogen as overbearing mom and nebbish son in "The Guilt Trip."
  21. Reviewed by: M. E. Russell
    Feb 7, 2013
    25
    The deadly dull action-comedy Identity Thief is an infuriating waste of time, on all sides of camera and screen. I did not know I could yawn angrily. This movie somehow proved it possible.
  22. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Feb 8, 2013
    25
    This feels a lot like some of the recent, unwatchable Adam Sandler offerings: boorish, unfunny comedy colliding with saccharine, quasi-dramatic filler.
  23. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Feb 9, 2013
    0
    Identity Thief reaches impressive heights of laziness and idiocy.
  24. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Feb 7, 2013
    25
    Identity Thief is not only not funny. It's negative funny. It's short on laughs, but it will disturb and annoy.
  25. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Feb 6, 2013
    75
    Melissa McCarthy is riveting in simply-penned moments of remorse and confession, adding tearful depth to her ace timing and formidable physical comedy.
  26. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Feb 9, 2013
    30
    It would be easier to forgive Identity Thief its overfamiliar comic setups and shameless gag-recycling if the movie’s second half didn’t make such an abrupt about-face from soliciting our revulsion to begging for our pity.
  27. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Feb 7, 2013
    38
    Suffering through this felonious farce could only inspire a prison riot.
  28. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Feb 7, 2013
    58
    Identity Thief is a road movie with its creative lanes clogged, and a Mack truck comedian barreling through, anyway.
  29. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Feb 6, 2013
    58
    Identity Thief establishes its priorities: Expansive character business is front and center; actual character-building is in the margins, almost off the map.
  30. 63
    McCarthy delivers the moment of pathos in a totally different voice, tears staining her puffy face, as feelings awfully real and tainted in tragedy bubble up from deep within the comic persona. It’s startling, it’s wholly incongruous, yet it’s undeniably moving. God, how this woman can act and, within the brief frames of that different film, how we long to see the rest of it.
User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 152 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 58
  2. Negative: 17 out of 58
  1. Feb 9, 2013
    3
    A poorly done comedy. With few comedic moments that haven't already been seen in the previews. I counted that I laughed a total of 3 times the entire movie. The crowd in the theater was responsive but I'm not sure how they found it funny. I honestly was checking my watch and waiting for the film to end. If you like cliche comedy movies then this is the film for you. I will say that there was nothing wrong with the acting or the filming but the writing was just bad. It just wasn't very funny. Full Review »
  2. Feb 9, 2013
    5
    Very disappointed with this one.
    I was hoping to laugh a lot, but I laugh more watching the previews than watching the movie.
    It was an OK
    story about stolen identity. Full Review »
  3. Feb 8, 2013
    1
    The two redeeming features in the movie “Identity Thief” are Jason Bateman and Melissa McCarthy trying to make a stupid movie funny out of every cliche ever heard/seen before in a supposed ‘comedy’. Aside from Paul Rudd Bateman is the best ‘straight’ man in movies today and, in addition, is clean shaven which is quite different for an actor in the films today.

    What is there to say about Melissa McCarthy except that it looks like she is being typecast as the raunchy plus size woman in movies when she, obviously, has so much more to offer as an actress.

    This is an ‘odd couple’ road trip movie with a screenplay by Craig Mazin who hasn’t met a line in any road trip movie that he doesn’t use. He has the two stars beating up each other, running from killers, getting into car races, and crashes, walking away as if nothing had happened. He puts a man and woman in the trunk of a car and nothing does happen. Add to this a director, Seth Gordon, who seems to have attention deficient disorder and is afraid to have the camera on a scene more than a minute or two. What could and should be a funny sex scene has to be the dumbest and lest comic scenic ever put on film not to mention very insulting to overweight people.

    The subject of identity theft is a serious one but can still offer humourous moments and “Identity Thief” has talented actors who could handle both sides of the problem but aren’t given anything to work with.

    Amanda Peet, John Cho and Morris Chestnut offer good supporting performances while Eric Stonestreet forgot to leave Cameron from “Modern Family” off the set and doesn’t do himself any good here.

    Jason Bateman, Melissa McCarthy and the movie audience deserve a lot better than this.
    Full Review »