User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 166 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 166
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 25, 2013
    9
    Two, seemingly unconnected, plotlines run throughout Identity. In one ten travellers are forced to seek shelter in a remote motel following a sudden torrential downpour. It soon turns out that there may be killer among them as one by one the guests start to go missing. Meanwhile in an office elsewhere a late appeal is being heard to decide the fate of serial killer Malcolm Rivers.Two, seemingly unconnected, plotlines run throughout Identity. In one ten travellers are forced to seek shelter in a remote motel following a sudden torrential downpour. It soon turns out that there may be killer among them as one by one the guests start to go missing. Meanwhile in an office elsewhere a late appeal is being heard to decide the fate of serial killer Malcolm Rivers.

    Featuring an excellent cast Identity does an excellent job of keeping the audience guessing throughout, almost everyone seemingly becoming the number one suspect at some point. When the reality eventually unfolds it is a truly unexpected twist that importantly holds up on second viewing. A tense, clever thriller Identity is certainly one to watch.
    Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2012
    8
    Plays like a classic game of Clue, but don't get me wrong. This baby is exhilarating and fresh. You'll like everything it gives you.
  3. Aug 8, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Identity is a thriller about 10 people who are stucked due to a rainstorm in a hotel. Though it has great suspense the ''twist'' is not something really good. All these theories about the people who have psychological and they create many personalities was a little bit weird and confusing. However the whole atmosphere and all that dark climate were extraordinary. The idea was something new and i was impressed after I learnt who the killer was. It is a really good thriller with a great cinematography and it was really dark which is a good thing for a thriller like Identity Expand
  4. nickl
    Jun 25, 2010
    10
    One of the most unique movies ive seen and very well done.
  5. Dec 9, 2012
    7
    "Identity" is both a refreshing and engaging thriller, following the horrific and mysterious events that take place after a group of strangers end up stuck at a run-down motel in the middle of a rainstorm. The performances by all the actors are very good, especially from John Cusack and Amanda Peet, and the third act is actually pretty fantastic. The first twist was quite predictable, but"Identity" is both a refreshing and engaging thriller, following the horrific and mysterious events that take place after a group of strangers end up stuck at a run-down motel in the middle of a rainstorm. The performances by all the actors are very good, especially from John Cusack and Amanda Peet, and the third act is actually pretty fantastic. The first twist was quite predictable, but to my entertainment, it didn't stop there, and succeeded in closing on a truly unforeseen final reveal that is an honestly wonderful sleight-of-hand. The depths to which this movie takes you into the killer's mind is truly surreal and creative, and surprisingly enough makes you sympathize with the guy and understand just how lost his mind really is. It's a great little find and well worth a watch. Expand
  6. R.L.
    Feb 18, 2009
    7
    Let me star off by saying that with this movie you don't get what you expect. You buy this movie expecting a good slasher mystery thriller, that's not what you get here. Identity stars John Cusack, Ray Liotta & Amanda Peet as three of the ten strangers trapped in a run down motel during a savage thunder storm. The film starts off by introducing the characters, and then showing Let me star off by saying that with this movie you don't get what you expect. You buy this movie expecting a good slasher mystery thriller, that's not what you get here. Identity stars John Cusack, Ray Liotta & Amanda Peet as three of the ten strangers trapped in a run down motel during a savage thunder storm. The film starts off by introducing the characters, and then showing how they all got to the motel. The York's had a a family crisis, the limo driver was in an accident, the actress on her way to Hollywood for a small TV gig, the newly married couple with martial trouble, and the cop transporting a convict. These ten people have nothing in common, nothing except all there names are of places & they all have the same birthday. But now all ten of them are trapped in a motel with nowhere to go. Soon enough one of them turns up dead and they realize that there's a killer among them, now the nine have to find out who is trying to kill them before there's none of them left. Identity is a fast-paced extremely entertaining movie with a great idea and a bad story. Expand
  7. Jun 18, 2013
    5
    Solid acting by the cast with Cusack easily being the star of the film. The plot twist added some much needed interest into the film, which was lacking through out, and actually made it some-what worth watching. I just didn't care for it that much, It wasn't as good as I hoped it would be.
  8. Sep 1, 2014
    4
    A thinker, a real complex thinker. Not at all a bad thing; however, when the audience is neglected and one too many turns are made, it no longer is enjoyable.
  9. Nov 28, 2012
    6
    "Identity" is a 2003 James Mangold Directed film about 10 strangers who meet at a seedy Nevada motel and soon realize that they are being killed off one by one. Let me start off by saying that I love a good thriller. If you have an intriguing premise and a good touch of tasteful twists here and there, I'll ultimately find the movie to be, to some degree, good. "Identity" definitely"Identity" is a 2003 James Mangold Directed film about 10 strangers who meet at a seedy Nevada motel and soon realize that they are being killed off one by one. Let me start off by saying that I love a good thriller. If you have an intriguing premise and a good touch of tasteful twists here and there, I'll ultimately find the movie to be, to some degree, good. "Identity" definitely possessed the former, but tricked me with the latter. From the moment this movie starts you are almost immediately pulled into it's fascinating plot. And as the movie goes on, twists ensue, leading you to reconsider every view of every character in the film. However, the last twist of this film, in short, angered me. I found the final twist of the film to make sense, but it was the most unsatisfying ending I could have imagined this film to present. The film presented an incredibly new type of plot for me and in my opinion fudged up the ending a bit. However, every minute up to the last 5 were pretty thrilling and intense. All of the actors did a good job in their roles and their lines were fairly well written. The direction by Mangold is really quite beautiful - he really creates some unsettling imagery here. Overall, I can say that "Identity" was a enjoyable movie. . .up until the end. Expand
  10. Dan
    Sep 8, 2003
    10
    This movie builds on all the greats of the last forty years (particularly 'Psycho') and unleashes a smart, addictive twist of events that lead to the ultimate payoff. Although the gore is overdone in some scenes, as most modern slasher films are, the movie is an eerie, Hitchcock-esque puzzle that probably can't be figured out; although the film's revelations are This movie builds on all the greats of the last forty years (particularly 'Psycho') and unleashes a smart, addictive twist of events that lead to the ultimate payoff. Although the gore is overdone in some scenes, as most modern slasher films are, the movie is an eerie, Hitchcock-esque puzzle that probably can't be figured out; although the film's revelations are amazing once they come out in the open. Compared to the brainless, cliched teen slashers and ghost movies out there, this one is definitely the best. It's perhaps the most rewarding horror movie I've seen in five years, minimum. Collapse
  11. PatC.
    Jan 7, 2004
    3
    It's a bloodbath. The Nevada Chain Lightning Massacre. The motorists are stock characters, the murderer has a screw loose, but it's the one who thought we'd find these people interesting that is raving insane. Sorry, but you rained on your own parade.
  12. Phatman
    May 4, 2003
    10
    I don't understand how the conclusion could be "laughable" like some people said. It's slightly predictable, but it's really good. The beginning sequence was really well done (when people were starting to arrive at the motel). That's how movies should be made.
  13. RichardD.
    Jun 6, 2003
    7
    More twists and turns than a funfare big dipper. Very satisfying!
  14. kvan33
    Jan 4, 2004
    5
    Original idea, bad execution. Don't let all these people fooling you into believing Identity is an intelligent thriller. It's quite the opposite. It's like they just decided to build a movie around a unique idea, but failed to make all the pieces fit. Then when the "surprise twist" happens, the audience is supposed to just be amazed. Well, this cat wasn't. Original idea, bad execution. Don't let all these people fooling you into believing Identity is an intelligent thriller. It's quite the opposite. It's like they just decided to build a movie around a unique idea, but failed to make all the pieces fit. Then when the "surprise twist" happens, the audience is supposed to just be amazed. Well, this cat wasn't. BTW...especially bad ending. Almost B movie style. Expand
  15. Shootsy
    May 1, 2003
    3
    A disappointing '2 steps twist' ending for an average movie.
  16. ChadS.
    May 1, 2003
    6
    "Identity" is a very strange movie. The truth behind these traveler's gathering at the motel is so intriguing, you're tempted to overlook the tedium in-between that leads up to it. Clea DuVall, so good in "13 Conversations...", is shrill beyond intolerance here. Ray Liotta's character, however, is the lucky recepient of some brilliant foreshadowing in the screenplay. How "Identity" is a very strange movie. The truth behind these traveler's gathering at the motel is so intriguing, you're tempted to overlook the tedium in-between that leads up to it. Clea DuVall, so good in "13 Conversations...", is shrill beyond intolerance here. Ray Liotta's character, however, is the lucky recepient of some brilliant foreshadowing in the screenplay. How the two storylines merge together is handled nicely. But how about a moratorium on people getting hit by cars? Although not completely successful, "Identity" will get your heart racing when the John Cusack character starts to figure stuff out. "Identity" is structured beautifully, but some of its characters are too much like types. Expand
  17. DavidG.
    May 9, 2003
    10
    This movie was fantastic!
  18. SteveH.
    Jun 30, 2003
    8
    This movie kept me in suspense from beginning to end. The fact that the storyline cannot be well predicted is so refreshing. It was quite clever.
  19. KeithE.
    Sep 20, 2003
    8
    This was a thought provoking film about ten strangers stuck in a hotel.... suddenly people start dieing. You spend the next hour and twenty minutes frantically trying to find the killer. Then a twist throws everyone off. Very interesting movie.
  20. anshumanr
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    I was entirely blown away by the script ,cucak is in his full elements.
  21. EvgenyB.
    Dec 8, 2003
    6
    Pretty good film with absolutely disappointing final :(
  22. Fantasy
    Apr 26, 2003
    7
    Well done psycho thriller with a surprise ending. Sort of felt like the Bates Motel where the guests check in but they don't check out? Unless of course, "checking out" means no longer being alive? You will be left with one question: Is it real or is it Memorex? Enjoy!
  23. JackD.
    Apr 27, 2003
    7
    It is 3/4 of a really good movie. Everything is great until they reveal what is really going on...The mood and direction are very well presented....
  24. Walker
    Apr 30, 2003
    9
    For myself, this is one of the most orginal movies I've ever seen. It has a very confusing ending, but if you have the attention span of at least an 8 year old; you should have no problem following the conclusion. It had elements of Final Destination, Phsycho, and Seven. The ensamble cast does an excellent job and when the twist ending takes another turn; I really felt it worked and For myself, this is one of the most orginal movies I've ever seen. It has a very confusing ending, but if you have the attention span of at least an 8 year old; you should have no problem following the conclusion. It had elements of Final Destination, Phsycho, and Seven. The ensamble cast does an excellent job and when the twist ending takes another turn; I really felt it worked and was expertally written. Expand
  25. [Anonymous]
    May 25, 2003
    8
    I usually dont see movies like this one in the theatre, but I am glad I did. The first hour is just SO GOOD!!! It is not too scary and it is a lot of fun to watch. Well, an hour in, there is only 30 minutes left and I cant wait to see what happens and then BAM, they do a plot twist that takes the horror out of the movie, for the last 30 minutes of the movie, it was still enjoyable, but I usually dont see movies like this one in the theatre, but I am glad I did. The first hour is just SO GOOD!!! It is not too scary and it is a lot of fun to watch. Well, an hour in, there is only 30 minutes left and I cant wait to see what happens and then BAM, they do a plot twist that takes the horror out of the movie, for the last 30 minutes of the movie, it was still enjoyable, but not very good. Now, I am not going to ruin the ending but it made me feel that about another 30 minutes was left out. Anyway the movie is very enjoyable and I would definitely recommend you to see it! Expand
  26. RichardG.
    May 4, 2003
    9
    This is a "Who Done it?" modern type of move, a movie with a wicked twist, and a movie that plays on the fears of the audience. It is well put together and offers has a cast of the best acting pedigree. This movie has everything and no one will get bored with this movie. Fantastic writing and acting.
  27. DerekW.
    Jun 23, 2003
    7
    The beginning was amazing, linking everybody to each other. I thought that was absolutely brillant!!!! However, the middle area felt like the same old whodunnits that horror movies always fall into. I really hate sitting there saying to myself "its him, no her, no him, oh I know!" and then being right. The plot twist was excellent. I never saw it coming at all. I love learning things as The beginning was amazing, linking everybody to each other. I thought that was absolutely brillant!!!! However, the middle area felt like the same old whodunnits that horror movies always fall into. I really hate sitting there saying to myself "its him, no her, no him, oh I know!" and then being right. The plot twist was excellent. I never saw it coming at all. I love learning things as the people in the movie do, it really allows you to put yourself in their place. The ending was sort of what I expected it to be, again being right in my prediction as to who the killer is or might be. Everything came together in the movie, plot twists came at the right time, and made perfect sense in my mind. The only reason I'm not giving this movie a 9 or 10, is because I really don't like slasher flicks. But I live for the twists, if they're done right, as in this movie. Expand
  28. AndrewM.
    Apr 4, 2004
    8
    As a suspense/thriller, this is very very good. Great direction. I didn't actually like the ending (in terms of was it what I wanted to see) but it was well done, and certainly original. I bought this on dvd before seeing it and now I'm quite happy that I own it. Good film.
  29. raVen
    Aug 10, 2004
    8
    (8.5) Black. Deep, deep black. I had previously thought - assumed - that the psych/thriller/horror/mystery depths had been plumbed to their limits with "Fallen" and the graphic "Se7en." But much more than either of those two films, "Identity" trumps physical violence with an even more effective cinematic noose: violence of the mind. And while the various violent sequences of the movie (8.5) Black. Deep, deep black. I had previously thought - assumed - that the psych/thriller/horror/mystery depths had been plumbed to their limits with "Fallen" and the graphic "Se7en." But much more than either of those two films, "Identity" trumps physical violence with an even more effective cinematic noose: violence of the mind. And while the various violent sequences of the movie arouse the predictable and primal gut reaction expected from this tool, the true power -and horror- of the movie lies in the fact that each of these episodes are subservient to a greater, even more horrifying event. We are left then, uniquely, to worry less about how awful it might feel to be stabbed or shot, and more about what it must be to be completely out of one's mind. There is no way we'll ever know just how accurate Identity's interpretation of this mindset is, but it certainly gives one pause... Not to mention the need for a nice, cheery cartoon afterwards. Expand
  30. BenjaminB.
    Jul 1, 2007
    8
    The problem with this movie is that you don't get what you expect. If you expect a typical horror-mystery thriller, you will not become happy with this movie, because in the end it is almost a psychological study. So if you are open for genre-mixtures, you will get a good movie. I give it a 8, because for me it was too obvious who was the murderer.
  31. JamesH.
    Dec 26, 2009
    5
    I could not get into this movie, I found it rather stupid and the twist in it was just ridiculous. Decent acting and atmosphere, but not much else.
  32. JamesK.
    Jul 15, 2009
    8
    Although the final plot twist is slightly lame, the premise is interesting.
  33. MattZ.
    Oct 18, 2003
    9
    I was into the movie from start to finish and thats all i can ask for in a film. I'm thinking of asking santa for this one for x-mas. excellent flick!
  34. J.Urena
    Apr 25, 2003
    4
    A "B" movie. Badly written, with artificial characters that behave artificially in contrived situations. Worst of all, I found it boring. So boring, that I walked out after the first half hour; the third time ever that I have done that during a movie, I am sorry to say.
  35. LeeF.
    Apr 27, 2003
    8
    Like the usa today review, it had a head scratcher of a twist. coincidentally, 3 of my co-workers were at the same showing and we gathered in the lobby aftertwards trying to figure it out. All of us had different opinions. My girlfriend had the most plausible one (I won't reveal it) and i went with hers. I enjoyed Cusack and the all the rest and any movie that makes you talk about itLike the usa today review, it had a head scratcher of a twist. coincidentally, 3 of my co-workers were at the same showing and we gathered in the lobby aftertwards trying to figure it out. All of us had different opinions. My girlfriend had the most plausible one (I won't reveal it) and i went with hers. I enjoyed Cusack and the all the rest and any movie that makes you talk about it afterwards is ok (not unlike Memento). Beats being forgettable like many others. Expand
  36. HerbieF.
    Apr 28, 2003
    8
    I liked it as it had me on the edge of my seat. The problem with those who did not is that they did not understand the ending? Spoilers omitted what you thought you saw as the ending was not what had actually happened in reality. Think about it and it will come to you.
  37. BillyB.
    May 11, 2003
    8
    A better title for this movie would be "A Warped Sense of Reality". When it gets to the end, what you thought you were watching -wasn't. And as for the surprise ending, in reality that is not what really happened. Confused. Go see the movie as you will enjoy it.
  38. PaulG.
    May 11, 2003
    7
    A thriller with a great ending!
  39. MeMyselfenay
    May 2, 2003
    6
    Herbie F, I think you should be a little more specific about what you mean... I'm pretty sure I got the ending, and I thought it was poor. The premise was really good, but the execution was badly done. A lot of things that happened required a huge stretch of the imagination. Which is not to say that I don't accept a slight shift in reality now and then, but it's irritating Herbie F, I think you should be a little more specific about what you mean... I'm pretty sure I got the ending, and I thought it was poor. The premise was really good, but the execution was badly done. A lot of things that happened required a huge stretch of the imagination. Which is not to say that I don't accept a slight shift in reality now and then, but it's irritating when an event happens that violates the constraints of the movie's reality. First 2/3s was good- not as scary as I'd thought, but good. Last 1/3... cheese. Expand
  40. RichardThisisGreat!
    May 4, 2003
    9
    Great movie, great writing, mystery type of movie, suprising and interesting.
  41. ShirleyL.
    May 5, 2003
    8
    Well acted with a great cast. A keep you guessing story that is will written and very tightly wrapped. Very tense and full of suspence. Scary and fun and well worth seeing.
  42. CharlesH.
    May 9, 2003
    6
    What a strange movie. The first 20 minutes was some of the best filmmaking I've ever seen. The middle of the movie was good. But the twist at the end left a bad taste in my mouth. Still, I'd recommend the movie.
  43. Michael
    Sep 21, 2003
    9
    Excellent suspenseful thriller- loved the ending!
  44. BenW.
    Sep 6, 2003
    8
    It was spooky and suspensful throughout, and even halfway through or so, you might be thinking you've seen it all done before, but bear with me and really trust me -- you haven't.
  45. Marc-o
    Jan 14, 2004
    7
    Unpredictable and clever , i thinks thats how one critic described the first jeepers Creepers film only this is good the whole way through, good cast too. hard to take that the guy who wrote this was responsabile for Jack frost 2: Return of the mutant killer snowman Wierd.
  46. F.S.
    Jan 31, 2004
    8
    Really good, ENDING was awesome.
  47. TonyL
    Apr 25, 2003
    2
    A Stinkeroo! My local paper's critic raved about this one. That should have been my first clue. This type of movie only works if you care about the characters. I didn't! An unbelievable mess, Avoid it like the Plague!
  48. BlancoA.
    Apr 26, 2003
    5
    I have to agree whole-heartedly with Maitland McDonagh of TV Guide. A bit of a gyp, indeed! Great set-up, though.
  49. JohnY.
    Apr 26, 2003
    9
    There?s nothing like a skillful horror film, and "Identity" is one of the best in recent years. It provides the scares while plunging deep into the arena of abnormal psychology. The cast and atmosphere are perfect, and there is a plot twist that, rather than acting as a gimmick, actually provides for intelligent discussion afterwards.
  50. JonX
    Apr 26, 2003
    2
    I rarely feel the need to write a review but I must warn people about this movie. I thought it was going to be pretty good and i had hope through most of the movie. I wasnt realing enjoying it, waiting for the big twist, and when that twist came around, it was pretty much laughable. It made the movie worse and cheapened everything you had watched up until that point and ruined the rest of I rarely feel the need to write a review but I must warn people about this movie. I thought it was going to be pretty good and i had hope through most of the movie. I wasnt realing enjoying it, waiting for the big twist, and when that twist came around, it was pretty much laughable. It made the movie worse and cheapened everything you had watched up until that point and ruined the rest of the movie. What a waste of some good actors. Utterly pathetic. Expand
  51. KayWhy
    Apr 27, 2003
    1
    The ONLY good thing about this movie was the concept. But no one would know it because of the awful execution. For a movie to be suspenseful, I would argue that there needs to be a build-up in tension, which this movie lacked. Worse, one cannot empathize with the characters if the director gives you no reason to care for them. Who were these people? There was no character development. For The ONLY good thing about this movie was the concept. But no one would know it because of the awful execution. For a movie to be suspenseful, I would argue that there needs to be a build-up in tension, which this movie lacked. Worse, one cannot empathize with the characters if the director gives you no reason to care for them. Who were these people? There was no character development. For a thriller to be thrilling, there has to be character development. When you come out of theater, after you just realized that you just wasted $10 and 2 hours of your life, ask yourself, who the hell were those people? I think the ending was the most laughable part of the movie. (***SLIGHT SPOILER BELOW***) And really think about it...without being revealing too much about the movie let me ask this, why were these people, who we dont care about, dying BEFORE his moment of realization? That is a plot inconsistency. Don't waste your money, don't go see this identity-less movie. Expand
  52. KatA.
    Apr 29, 2003
    7
    This movie is really good and scary for the first 2/3, but it goes downhill when it makes the transition into a psychological trip. The idea is intriguing and the cast, particularly John Cusack and John C. Mcginley are awesome, but it wasn't quite what I expected.
  53. ScottM.
    May 12, 2003
    10
    I respect a movie that has courage to stand out and be daring. this movie gave you goosebumps while making you stay interested in the mind-blowing plot. It deserved the 10 and I was pleased with the ending.
  54. JamesS.
    Sep 21, 2003
    9
    I thought the movie started as a typical horror movie, then the plot started to pick up, by the time I got to the end my head was spinning too much to catch the credits!
  55. MikeW.
    Apr 18, 2005
    5
    Identity's first 30 minutes is quite well done, but the movie seems to crack under its own pressure. Relying on cliched plot twists, and a overall mediocre ending, ultimately Identity flushed a lot of great potential right down the toilet.
  56. Mar 5, 2015
    8
    Entirely unique, Identity is a film that rides on its twists and turns, which will leave you on the edge of your seat throughout. A perfect example of psychological horror, this one will bend your brain as you try to put the pieces together, and then actually let you snap them together before finally punching you in the brain at the end. The direction from James Mangold is very good, as heEntirely unique, Identity is a film that rides on its twists and turns, which will leave you on the edge of your seat throughout. A perfect example of psychological horror, this one will bend your brain as you try to put the pieces together, and then actually let you snap them together before finally punching you in the brain at the end. The direction from James Mangold is very good, as he managed to help this film not get lost with its complex and unique premise, which is impressive to say the least. I also really liked the cinematography here, really captured everything beautifully. The acting from John Cusack, Ray Liotta, Amanda Peet, and John Hawkes, is really good, though the whole cast is pretty strong as a unit. Overall, Identity is one that will have you questioning what is going on throughout and while it is not one that will eat you up inside for a few days afterwards with questions, it is one that will stay with you thanks to the impeccable last half hour and, hell, strong first hour preceding that. This is one that sets you up very well and then pulls the chair out from underneath you. Expand
  57. Mar 14, 2015
    7
    If you've ever read And Then There Were None, you know what you're getting into... for the most part. This movie starts out on autopilot, pulling out a lot of whodunit cliches, until the last half of the movie goes off the rails into its own twisty and intense thriller. The little twists and turns surprised me and kept me invested in the plot, and the twist towards the end, while notIf you've ever read And Then There Were None, you know what you're getting into... for the most part. This movie starts out on autopilot, pulling out a lot of whodunit cliches, until the last half of the movie goes off the rails into its own twisty and intense thriller. The little twists and turns surprised me and kept me invested in the plot, and the twist towards the end, while not mind-blowing, is a nice change for this type of movie, if only it wasn't revealed so early. The final ten minutes of the movie is slightly confusing, and the "shocker" ending is almost laughable. It's on Netflix, so if you're looking for a suspenseful and fun movie, I recommend it. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 34
  2. Negative: 2 out of 34
  1. Cusack is especially good in a role that's got more (and less) going on under the surface, while Peet offers up another coltish, trash-mouthed vamp.
  2. 80
    Managed to pull the rug out from under me about three-quarters of the way through, and I still hadn't found my feet when the credits rolled.
  3. A slick, bloody thriller, but it's also, to its credit, a genuine whodunit.