Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Sep 1, 2011
    90
    I'm Glad My Mother Is Alive is anything but the clich├ęd fantasy of a blissful mother-child reunion. Although there are hints of joy once they reconnect, the wounds are too deep, and the characters too complex.
  2. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Sep 3, 2011
    83
    The first half of I'm Glad My Mother's Alive effectively inhabits a child's mind in a manner that recalls Maurice Pialat's marvelous 1968 debut "The Naked Childhood."
  3. Reviewed by: Sam Adams
    Aug 30, 2011
    80
    Barely 17 when she had Thomas, she's more like a peer than a parent, enough so that their uncomfortable relationship starts to take on a smattering of sexual tension. There's a nagging vagueness to this aspect of the movie, one that's difficult to square with the opening claim that it's based on real events; at a certain point, you may wonder which events they mean.
  4. Reviewed by: V.A. Musetto
    Sep 2, 2011
    75
    The narrative easily goes back and forth in time; despite its Oedipal subtext, it avoids exploitation. Stellar performances by Rottiers and Cattani help keep the movie on track.
  5. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Aug 31, 2011
    75
    Until the film takes an abrupt, annoyingly melodramatic late turn, the Millers handle Rottiers' character with great delicacy, aided by strong lead performances and a refusal to show Rottiers' adopted home as either idealized or seriously lacking.
  6. Reviewed by: Bill Weber
    Aug 29, 2011
    63
    An understated--and at times, clinical to a fault--Oedipal drama of long-simmering resentment and familial love's ambiguities, I'm Glad My Mother Is Alive risks bringing chilly subjectivity to sensational raw material.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Dziemianowicz
    Sep 2, 2011
    60
    Based on a true story, co-writer/director Claude Miller ("A Secret") gets points for using a bit of narrative sketchiness to good effect.
  8. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Aug 30, 2011
    50
    Despite the clumsy script and a shaky acting partner, Cattani, at least, is fascinating to watch, never demanding audience sympathy.

There are no user reviews yet.