Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: A technical failure has endangered the lives of the passengers on Peninsula Flight 2549. The pilots, hardened, experienced professionals, are striving, along with their colleagues in the Control Center, to find a solution. The flight attendants and the chief steward are atypical, baroque characters who, in the face of danger, try to forget their own personal problems and devote themselves body and soul to the task of making the flight as enjoyable as possible for the passengers, while they wait for a solution. Life in the clouds is as complicated as it is at ground level, and for the same reasons, which could be summarized in two: sex and death. [Sony Pictures Classics] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 36
  2. Negative: 3 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Katie Walsh
    Jun 16, 2013
    83
    While there’s drugs and sex and drinking and dancing, for sure, if one looks at I’m So Excited as a metaphor for the ills of society today and how we react to it, it becomes a much more poignant and biting satire of the state of our world, and how we as a people decide to react to it.
  2. Reviewed by: Jonathan Holland
    Mar 8, 2013
    80
    Longtime Pedro Almodovar followers who have secretly been hankering for a return to the broad, transgressive comedy of his early work will be thrilled by I’m So Excited, a hugely entertaining, feelgood celebration of human sexuality that unfolds as a cathartic experience for characters, audiences and helmer alike.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jun 27, 2013
    70
    I just can't hide my disappointment, though, that the movie doesn't sustain anything like the brilliance of its best scenes, or even the promise of its preface.
  4. Reviewed by: James Mottram
    May 3, 2013
    60
    Full of fizz, filth and fun, I’m So Excited! is like an ’80s retro-blast. Its scattershot comedy may not impress latecomers to Almodóvar’s career, but old-school fans will love it.
  5. Reviewed by: Ella Taylor
    Jun 27, 2013
    60
    Almodovar is in party mode here, and if you liked his 1990 comedy "Tie Me Up! Tie Me Down!" you'll probably love I'm So Excited! for its candied pastels and its impishly clever design, which transforms the plane into a theater and its galley into a staging area for those three theatrical stewards.
  6. Reviewed by: Michal Oleszczyk
    Jun 28, 2013
    50
    A trip recommended strictly for Almodóvar's hard-core fans. Throughout the movie, I wished not so much for the plane to land, as for the movie to finally take off.
  7. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Jul 5, 2013
    12
    Despite its plentiful and playful sexuality, this dose of Spanish fly is anything but exciting.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Jul 8, 2013
    8
    Almodovar has set the bar so incredibly high with the evolution of his creativity and the brilliance of his work that I'm So Excited is bound to disappoint even his most ardent fans. Taken on its own, the film is light, entertaining and fun--the perfect antidote to Spain's current malaise and crippling unemployment.

    In this context, the film makes perfect sense. Retreating to a genre he invented and then transcended proves that Almodovar's timing is impeccable. He has nothing to prove. When the going gets tough you party like it's 1999... don't worry, be happy. We can self-medicate with sex, drugs and mo-town. It's a recurring theme in his work and an apt application in I'm So Excited.

    Watching this film made me want to go back and revisit his earlier work and the reasons I fell in love with new Spanish cinema. It's not original, not evolutionary, and given my rising expectations each time I see a new Almodovar, probably a letdown.

    I always leave an Almodovar movie with a smile on my face, albeit somewhat more muted for this film than for his other work. Compared to what's out there, this is a very good film... but it's a detour not a a step forward.
    Expand
  2. May 6, 2014
    7
    Almodóvar’s latest offering after his posh genre thriller THE SKIN I LIVE IN (2011, 7/10) is an outré farce which is evocative of his earlier output in the 80s, almost exclusively restrained inside a plane, more specifically, the cockpit and the business cabin, I’M SO EXCITED! is a hilarious parody of AIRPLANE! (1980, 6/10). We all know economy is depressing and life is governed by austerity measures in Spain nowadays, so it wouldn’t be a more opportune time for a screwball comedy to satirise the circumstances and offer its audience tons of fun, Almodóvar is a dab hand to achieve this mission, the film not only potently leads us to break away from the grim reality for 90 minutes, but also conducts its cunning metaphors for the aftertaste if one is familiar with the social contexts in Spain.

    read rest of the review on my blog, google cinema omnivore.
    Expand
  3. Aug 11, 2013
    6
    Pedro Almodóvar is an accomplished and versatile director ("Women on the Verge," "Volver," "Talk to Her"). With this film he's moving away from serious subjects back to his zany days, but not to great effect. Almost all of the action takes place on a plane, where 3 very gay flight stewards tend to the pilots and the smattering of passengers in business class. There are unrealistic situations, silly dialogue and lots of homo affairs (including the film's highlight: the lip synch of the titular Pointer Sisters song). While it's sometimes fun, the unfocused structure and inane situations don't work. It's over the top in every way, except good. (in Spanish with subtitles) Collapse
  4. Jul 19, 2013
    4
    Virginia Republican Gubernatorial candidate Ken Cuccinelli better stay away from “I’m So Excited” as he recently said that he wants to arrest any male or female, non-gay or gay, engaging in either anal or oral sex and that’s what this film is all about, especially oral sex, along with drugs and alcohol!

    There are 3 stewards of which one Joserra (Javier Camara) is having a long time affair with the married with children pilot Alex (Antonio de la Torre), the second Fajas (Carlos Areces) has a 3D set of a religious scene and is into gossip and tossing his hair while Ulloa (Raul Arevalo) believes sex is the answer for everything and has the co-pilot Benito (Hugo Silva) questioning his sexuality. All 3 stewards haven’t found a tequila they can pass by and camp it up lip synching to the Pointer Sisters recording of “I’m So Excited”.

    In second class all the stewardesses and passengers have knocked out with drugs making the psychic Bruna (Lola Duenas) who wants to lose her virginity before the plane lands to remark about the smell of farts and most of the film taking place among the business class passengers such as the ‘mule’ (Miguel Angel Silvestre) who keeps his bride (Laya Marti) passed out with the drugs hidden in his butt because it is responsible for her mounting him constantly. Norma (an Almodovar regular Cecilia Roth) a dominatrix, who has lost count of how many clients she has had, has an eye for handsome Infante (Jose Maria Yazpik) and there is a famous actor Ricardo (Guillermo Toledo) who is a serial womanizer. All drink, have sex and pop a drug now and then except for a banker Sr. Mas (Jose Luis Torrijo)a banker who doesn’t seem to fit in with the rest of the cast but seems to be part of the director/screenplay writer Almodovar’s askew look at current Spain.

    Due to a technical difficulty the plane won't land until it finds an appropriate airport and goes around in circles and has to drop a load of fuel before even attempting to land. Though the plane can crash this comedy by Pedro Almodovar is filled with low, camp, trashy, tacky, naughty and attempts to be screwball comedy with moments of being kinky.

    This is a silly comedy by one of the best film directors and screenwriters in the business though he can get a lot of smiles having his cast talking about sex, especially oral, sorry Ken Cuccinelli. It is also nice to see Antonia Banderas and Penelope Cruz doing a cameo in the opening of the film.
    Expand
  5. Jun 30, 2013
    3
    I'm So Excited is as a outdated, passé film. Typical Spanish jokes without flair. 80's is passed, now is in 2013. Almodóvar should do a revision about his cinema-style. "The Skin I Live In", "Volver" or "Broken Embraces" are dark and good-styling but Almodóvar return to comedy films is wrong. Sorry, Almodóvar, I like your films but this time not. Expand
  6. Jun 28, 2013
    0
    There is nothing at all here to get excited about. Pedro Almodovar's new film shows him to be in a light holiday mood and subsequently producing one of his duds. The high camp humour and unbelievably juvenile, not to mention, repetitive crass jokes do not bear the signature of the director of such movies as 'All about my mother' and 'Women on the verge of a nervous breakdown', but is more reminiscent of a bad Carry On' film that the British were still making in the 70's. The film is virtually plot less and the trailer's promise of some musical fun sky high is relegated to one number, the title song, which is flatly delivered and actually no fun at all. Towards the end of this never ending 90 minutes one of the stewards proclaims that it is 40 minutes to landing. In reality this plane crashed on take off. Expand

Trailers