Miramax Films | Release Date: November 23, 2001
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 104 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
69
Mixed:
19
Negative:
16
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
2
RyanM.Dec 30, 2001
A boring, nothing-ever-happens kind of a human drama.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JereC.Jan 21, 2002
In the Bedroom is a case of powerful, haunting cinematography inhabited by very unlikable and unattractive characters (especially the icily soulless Sissy Spacek and the drip portrayed as her beloved son) all in the service of an almost In the Bedroom is a case of powerful, haunting cinematography inhabited by very unlikable and unattractive characters (especially the icily soulless Sissy Spacek and the drip portrayed as her beloved son) all in the service of an almost nauseatingly relentless bleakness which simply smothers the pleasure otherwise potentially to be had in the film's strengths. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BrianD.Jan 14, 2002
A sure cure for insomnia. Forced myself to watch entire movie, saying to myself, it has to get better. It never did.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CindyS.Mar 10, 2002
This story was much better as a short story. It was unbearable to sit through a film that says in 2 hours (much less effectively) what Dubus' story says in ten. Boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JackH.Mar 10, 2002
I really can't figure out the high critical acclaim. I was beside myself waiting for some serious action. The drip and drab dialogue was driving me crazy. The 2 minute encounter with the little girl selling candy door to door put the I really can't figure out the high critical acclaim. I was beside myself waiting for some serious action. The drip and drab dialogue was driving me crazy. The 2 minute encounter with the little girl selling candy door to door put the final nail in the coffin. Slow motion to no motion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RenéH.(Denmark)Dec 11, 2002
Very boring! And i don`t think Spacek is a good Actress. Sorry!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JonnyB.Aug 28, 2002
Why does everyone think this was so good? The acting was poor on many (nearly all) fronts, the direction was slow and the cinematography left me numb with boredom. The only redeeming feature was a good script, unfortunately marred by the Why does everyone think this was so good? The acting was poor on many (nearly all) fronts, the direction was slow and the cinematography left me numb with boredom. The only redeeming feature was a good script, unfortunately marred by the above. Surely the topic of this film is the problem. There is no way, no matter how good the direction or script, that the audience can even begin to imagine what the characters are going through. In my version of In the Bedroom, the current film would make up the first 20 minutes of a film about the consequences of taking revenge in the manner the father did; a la Dostoyevski. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KatieP.Dec 22, 2003
Very boring. and I actually like movies that are known as boring (The Hours, etc). Didn't really have any affect on me whatsoever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful