FilmDistrict | Release Date: December 23, 2011
3.3
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 83 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
24
Mixed:
8
Negative:
51
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
is24Feb 3, 2012
No point of making any movie on this subject without knowing these facts unless you just want to ignore them. The must read actual facts address given by the late General Pierre-Marie Gallois on March 25, 2009, in Paris.No point of making any movie on this subject without knowing these facts unless you just want to ignore them. The must read actual facts address given by the late General Pierre-Marie Gallois on March 25, 2009, in Paris. http://www.balkanstudies.org/articles/understanding-balkan-wars. If you want to make a movie not based on historical facts, than it might as well be a comedy. I was not expecting AJ to be this disrespectful towards victims on all sides especially since she saw real suffering. 5 stars for the cast and the good cinematography. Too bad, this was the opportunity to say something powerful from a romantic perspective. Everyone there was guilty, including the international community, the ones that did nothing and the ones that caused the whole thing and got involved later; (emphasizing Serbs as main villains is not the reality. Showing violence done just by one nationality and expecting to unite people there? All sides were extremely violent. This war is a typical - book example of a divide and conquer situation done by superpowers. As a result you have many head-cases self-elect themselves to do the tortures in the "name of their nations". Horrible reality.

I don't think that the goal of the writer/director was a divide and conquer. Lack of knowledge- yes. After centuries of suffering, damage and dissecting of the Balkans by superpowers conquer what? Another superpower match over who will rule the skies above and the Adriatic? While the citizens in the area end up being just casualties of war!
Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
3
CanuckmanFeb 24, 2012
Sadly, a very predictable and simplistic film which could have been much more. No surprise the Academy has ignored it. Simple in that all Serbs are "bad" and all Muslims are "victims". Nothing could be further from the truth. That error endsSadly, a very predictable and simplistic film which could have been much more. No surprise the Academy has ignored it. Simple in that all Serbs are "bad" and all Muslims are "victims". Nothing could be further from the truth. That error ends up diluting this film to one of entertainment with no historical context or perspective. Too bad. The fact is that barbarity was endemic on all sides. Especially amongst the Croats who murdered and raped with the best of them. the Bosnians were no different. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
0
PegazzzJan 26, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Shallow and banal. Typical Hollywood version of a war. No wonder it has 3.3 on IMD. Rambo and James Bond movies are art for this peace of garbage that is directed by Angelina Jollie. Expand
9 of 16 users found this helpful97
All this user's reviews
0
bomco011Jan 26, 2012
Movie made from one sided view, without any desire to understand and explain to the viewers reality and tragedy of all sides involved in that tragic war
9 of 16 users found this helpful97
All this user's reviews
1
Sasha62Jan 20, 2012
For the trained or informed viewer the message becomes utterly
predictable only after the introduction part of the story. After that
it is highly insulting for the Serbs and all factually informed people who personally know about civil war,
For the trained or informed viewer the message becomes utterly
predictable only after the introduction part of the story. After that
it is highly insulting for the Serbs and all factually informed people
who personally know about civil war, especially about that tragic
region more than what the average Western viewer will ever be allowed
to know via their usually available media sources that are not
objective no matter how many times they are keen to repeat that fib.
Seriously good acting and good standard directing for a cherry-popping
movie for Jolie... I wish Angelina could have done it so much better
and fairer with her not really informative story line in her debut that
smells of dubious and occasionally even obvious subjectivity during her
"research" period. On the other hand; if Madonna can get a Golden Globe
for a song nobody really knows, I would not be surprised if she gets an
Oscar for a movie nobody will remember. As long some positive PR spin
done for US policy no matter how deeply stereotypically hypocritical it
is. It's all a game for that part of that franchise; a cruel game of
mirror-mirage distortion in pursuit of the Holy dollar no matter how
dirty or otherwise contaminated the financier's banknote really is and
where it is coming from. Really exposing debut for such a talented
actress and director but from an unexpected and rather dark angle...
Expand
11 of 20 users found this helpful119
All this user's reviews
0
Pegasus92Feb 18, 2012
If Angelina wanted to tell a story she should have told it from both angle, because every story has two sides. Bosnians committed crimes during that war also, but nobody mentioned that.
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
0
nkpravJan 20, 2012
Hollywood history. Topic of this story is subject to much heated debate among historians, lawyers and politicians and one, Hollywood actress is trying to tell us the story in oversimplified and one sided way, which wouldn't be too dangerousHollywood history. Topic of this story is subject to much heated debate among historians, lawyers and politicians and one, Hollywood actress is trying to tell us the story in oversimplified and one sided way, which wouldn't be too dangerous if this was some action movie. But this film, pretends to be serious and historical, and one by watching it does not get the full pictures about the events during the period. Expand
9 of 18 users found this helpful99
All this user's reviews
0
mikaFeb 9, 2012
This movie is superficial, shallow, boring and and untrue. Every civil war is tragic with a lot of suffering and if somebody is making a movie first one supposes to learn real facts. AJ made one sided view with lack of understanding whatThis movie is superficial, shallow, boring and and untrue. Every civil war is tragic with a lot of suffering and if somebody is making a movie first one supposes to learn real facts. AJ made one sided view with lack of understanding what really happened and history in this region- cheap Muslim propaganda with insulting Serbian people and Serbian victims. To bad for somebody who calls herself "humanitarian". Expand
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
0
OstyxJan 26, 2012
Utter tripe, people. Very one sided, cheap, gritty and violent. Shows none respect to the victims of the other side, instead the Serbs are shown as penultimate badguys.
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
4
TaplingerMay 11, 2012
Shame, shame, Andrew O'Hehir of Salon.com for rating this film with an "80." You should know better. The script is terrible - it's so bad that all the good things about the movie are irrelevant.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
ThegodfathersonMar 28, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Anglelina Jolie has absolutely no taste in directing a film, no taste. In the land of Blood and Honey is awful, it's script has very little violent story bits to deliver along with violence and depicted war in a romantic setting. The film points in weird direction in its 50 minutes but then tries to fix itself in the climax but doesn't succeed. The climax is very, very hairy when they show disgusting grisly images! I mean is this supposed to be a violent war film or romantic film! Make us understand Ms. Jolie! The climax is not sad but the film makes it terribly sad. In the middle of the movie there are several sexual scenes that are supposed to be in the film? So far we have got Romance, War, Bloody Violent War and sexy stuff. Must Be Kidding. This is a one for my review because the movie was a clichefest but only, only the acting was good. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
kruskaJan 28, 2012
Poor Angelina, been blind for the rape, blood on streets in her own neighborhood, homelessness, poverty , racism, helpless to do anything for her own kind, she goes to a far away country she knows nothing about, to talk about theirPoor Angelina, been blind for the rape, blood on streets in her own neighborhood, homelessness, poverty , racism, helpless to do anything for her own kind, she goes to a far away country she knows nothing about, to talk about their story.Story she can't understand, less make a movie about. Thus is not surprising that pictures in the movie can't bring anything but brutality, which are not even shocking. To make great movie you have to have some abilities to be intellectual, educated, wise, mature and she has nothing of that. She is not even a Lady, less close to Lady D , she hopes to be. Balkan people are what they are , be muslim, catholic, orthodox Christians they are the same - in way how they love , hate , relate to each other. They share the very same genes, blood, names , language and history and they will continue to have hate and love relationships forever, no matter what other people think . Expand
7 of 15 users found this helpful78
All this user's reviews
0
darkoFeb 12, 2012
this movie is bunch of lies and wrong interpretation of bosnian civil war .bosnian muslims talks about 100000 raped women and 200000 killed , it s not true , and serbs are not only bad guys....
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
9
JasmineDec 29, 2011
This movie is intelligent, strongly executed, well-crafted, intense, graphic, and compelling. It is one of the best movies of the year. Jolie did an excellent job for a first time director. I will write a more detailed review later. She wasThis movie is intelligent, strongly executed, well-crafted, intense, graphic, and compelling. It is one of the best movies of the year. Jolie did an excellent job for a first time director. I will write a more detailed review later. She was brave for tackling this controversial subject. It is from the victim's point of view and should be viewed circumstantially instead of taking any sides politically or religiously. Zana Marjanovic gives an Oscar-worthy performance. It was so heartbreaking. I was horrified, moved, saddened, and even enlightened at times. It was such a powerful and thought-provoking experience. God bless those people affected by the Bosnian War. It also sheds a light on rape was used as weapon in war. It shines a light on atrocities and brings awareness. I decided to contribute to relief efforts in Bosnia and Yugoslavia after watching this film. This is a fine achievement and should be critically acclaimed especially when compared to fluff like The Artist which got high reviews and is incosequential in comparison. This is the type of movie that could have done well at Cannes. It is a shame she has to overcome media corruption, personal misconceptions, and slander. The nasty comments on Rottentomatoes was really upsetting. Plenty of users gave excellent reviews but the site is just displaying two inflammatory post from her haters who believe lies about her and those type of comments shouldn't even be allowed. You could tell some people were just flaming her and have not seen the film. She is NOT a homewrecker and that bs shouldn't even brought into discussion of the movie anyway. No other actress has to deal with that. That lawsuit had no legitimacy and was based on a false, far-fetched claim
but now you have Fanistons bombarding Rottentomatoes & other sites with ugly attacks that have no basis in truth. Those inflammatory comments should not be allowed on that site. I also want to make note of the fact that Peter Travers review for Rolling Stone was labeled positive here but gotten a rotten rating on the tomatometer. He or the other site needs to fix that. The Salon review was also positive here and labeled rotten on the tomatometer. There is a discrepancy. The rottentomatoes site needs to fix this asap! I really hope by 2012, the ratings will be higher, at around 60% on both sites.
Expand
5 of 13 users found this helpful58
All this user's reviews
10
codfather96Dec 23, 2011
I shows the war for what it was and glosses over nothing, the cast are fantastic and for a first directorial debut Jolie has done a fantastic job. Sure the love story does get a bit bogged down within the torture being shown but the war isI shows the war for what it was and glosses over nothing, the cast are fantastic and for a first directorial debut Jolie has done a fantastic job. Sure the love story does get a bit bogged down within the torture being shown but the war is more than a backdrop for the movie, it is its own character. Expand
6 of 18 users found this helpful612
All this user's reviews
10
veljoFeb 12, 2012
Excellent movie, great cast, true story abut bloody aggression on Bosnia; some people can't stand a truth and would greatly dislike this movie, which should not be any proof on quality of the movie itself. Worth of viewing.
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
7
FaceTheSlayerFeb 28, 2012
Ignore all the negative user reviews, most of them are made by ultra nationalists Serbs that are full of hate. This movie realistically pictures war crimes done by Serbs in Bosnian war. THESE CRIMES HAPPENED and whoever denies that is noIgnore all the negative user reviews, most of them are made by ultra nationalists Serbs that are full of hate. This movie realistically pictures war crimes done by Serbs in Bosnian war. THESE CRIMES HAPPENED and whoever denies that is no better than people who deny holocaust. Sure directing could be better but this is Angie's first movie and she did a great job for a first one. As someone who lived on Bosnia during the war (and I still live here) I am surprised with level of Realistic details that are put together in this film. Thank you Angie for caring. A solid 7. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
NinaCDec 25, 2011
A startling, engrossing, unflinching war drama that is well executed and well acted. If you didn't know who was behind it you'd never guess that it was by a first time director. It can stand alongside other war dramas like The Pianist.
4 of 13 users found this helpful49
All this user's reviews
10
EL-ShabyFeb 19, 2012
I just looked at Angelina's film "In the Land of Blood and Honey" and I can say that the movie is fantastic. Well done Angie, you said everything the way it is ... The international community did nothing to stop genocide and ethnic cleansing,I just looked at Angelina's film "In the Land of Blood and Honey" and I can say that the movie is fantastic. Well done Angie, you said everything the way it is ... The international community did nothing to stop genocide and ethnic cleansing, about how the war started, not to mention ... smart and educated people know the truth. As for the rape scene, I was frankly a lot of throwing up babies from six months through the window because she was crying ... The film should look at all those who have passed the war, and especially those who speak of him and discussed, and it did not feel any trace. Congratulations to Angie debut on my behalf and on behalf of all my citizens of Sarajevo! "Unlike a number of smart, who will speak to these days or you do not need to go see a movie, I'll tell you - look at their eyes, hear with their ears. If you do not know whether it was indeed shown that - I'll tell you, the first person singular, is - everything I saw and experienced his eyes. to you to accept the truth or to entertain false hopes that we do not live in the land of blood and honey ... it hurts, tough, arduous and at times nauseating movie . But even we were on holiday from 92-95. However, some are. and they especially do not recommend the movie because they will be increased pressure and will say - peace, peace, no one to blame. Until next time .... " Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
10
MarkovicJan 28, 2012
Angelina chose the wrong direction to be 'madeâ
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
10
adnanKFeb 17, 2012
It shows the war for what it was and glosses over nothing, the cast are fantastic and for a first directorial debut Jolie has done a fantastic job. Sure the love story does get a bit bogged down within the torture being shown but the war isIt shows the war for what it was and glosses over nothing, the cast are fantastic and for a first directorial debut Jolie has done a fantastic job. Sure the love story does get a bit bogged down within the torture being shown but the war is more than a backdrop for the movie, it is its own character. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
8
mschoaFeb 21, 2012
I think the background of the story is something well-informed people should be aware of. This was another Holocaust, although of a smaller scale. I love the fact that Angelina Jolie chose such a serious topic for her directorial and writingI think the background of the story is something well-informed people should be aware of. This was another Holocaust, although of a smaller scale. I love the fact that Angelina Jolie chose such a serious topic for her directorial and writing efforts. Kudos to her. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
7
DTDunnJun 2, 2012
For all the nimrods on here giving this film a 0 or 1 for apparent political reasons, it is not a damn documentary. This is a very watchable film. It is long, but holds your interest. This comes from a viewer that is not a fan of foreignFor all the nimrods on here giving this film a 0 or 1 for apparent political reasons, it is not a damn documentary. This is a very watchable film. It is long, but holds your interest. This comes from a viewer that is not a fan of foreign films, simply because I grow tired of reading. Anyway, please refrain from downgrading a film to make some sort of misplaced political comment. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
DrurschullaSep 24, 2013
I was personally really touched by Angelina's movie, and to me the first 30 minutes of the movie seemed dense and intense. After the first 30 minutes the movie becomes a little tenacious. I understand that some people acuse Angelina to beI was personally really touched by Angelina's movie, and to me the first 30 minutes of the movie seemed dense and intense. After the first 30 minutes the movie becomes a little tenacious. I understand that some people acuse Angelina to be biased for the benefit of the muslims, but she tried showing both sides. Perhaps it was her intention to emphasize the sorrow of the muslims especially the women's. This is also a point I really like about the movie, that it focuses on women. In some reviews it sais that the violence scenes in the movie are too intense. I do not doubt that the real occurence was less violent, it could have been even worse, so don't blame Angelina for beeing realistic at least in this point. Overmore I don't think someone would have ever complained about that if she wasn't an feminin actress.
Now comes a point that I missed in her movie: although the movie starts from a womens perspective, the main character seems to be Danijel. The spectator has much more chances to identificate himself with him, because he expresses his feelings and the spectator can observe his development. There are many situations in the movie, were I expected Ajla to express her feelings and to tell the spectator her view of the things. But she remains somekind of unaltered throughout the movie. This is a pitty, as Angelina had the chance to show a woman, who really sufferd, not only as a victim but also as a person that still has the freedom to cope with her situation.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
Luka0101998Sep 21, 2016
THE MOVIE IS A LIE.
ANGELINA JOLIE,YOU ARE A CLUELESS ****
Study history first you racist! You have no f****** idea how Serbs lived back then! We were victims of political power of Clinton! Serbs were always on the right side,they have
THE MOVIE IS A LIE.
ANGELINA JOLIE,YOU ARE A CLUELESS ****
Study history first you racist!
You have no f****** idea how Serbs lived back then!
We were victims of political power of Clinton!
Serbs were always on the right side,they have never been murderers!
You said you wont come to Serbia and you better not `cause that won`t end well for you!
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
NekaTamoJul 5, 2016
hahahahah This film is full of **** acting is great,but,film was a disaster.It was really hard to watch.Serbs are bad guys and Muslims are good.It has only one point of view.I don´t recomend this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Pablo_KubanoidOct 20, 2017
The movie is absolutely worth watching. Maybe the plot could be a bit more elaborate but the general idea of the movie, IMHO, is pretty close to what really happened in Bosnia + performance of Zana Marjanovic is superb.
I can understand why
The movie is absolutely worth watching. Maybe the plot could be a bit more elaborate but the general idea of the movie, IMHO, is pretty close to what really happened in Bosnia + performance of Zana Marjanovic is superb.
I can understand why this movie has so many negative reviews - I’ve been to Serbia lately and found out that the Internet connection is good there. Now, seriously, some guys are complaining that Serbs are shown as good and Bosnians as bad in the movie but, firstly, there is a difference between a Serb and a Chetnik and secondly, it is almost the same as if a German would complain about bad Nazis and good Russians shown in a WWII movie. There is no denying that all the parties were involved in atrocities but there is a difference between a genocide and retaliation, though both things are absolutely unacceptable. I do agree with some reviewers that European countries and the US proved themselves spineless and hypocritical regarding the conflict and its settlement.
I’m Russian and I’m kind of supposed to support Serbs in this issue but after the trip to Balkans (both Serbia and Bosnia) I have a strong opinion about the distribution of roles in the conflict and it matches with the view of AJ.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews