User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 419 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 94 out of 419

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 27, 2011
    3
    its uwe boll directing this ... do i really need to say any more? i didnt even know he directed this crap till the end credits . if i knew in advance i woulda stayed clear of this . its a cheap lord of the rings knock off that looks like its on a B movie budget but yet has some decent actors like jason statham , burt renolds , and a few others . the script is pretty much a mess theits uwe boll directing this ... do i really need to say any more? i didnt even know he directed this crap till the end credits . if i knew in advance i woulda stayed clear of this . its a cheap lord of the rings knock off that looks like its on a B movie budget but yet has some decent actors like jason statham , burt renolds , and a few others . the script is pretty much a mess the diouloge is terrable ... i will say this though .. its deffinitly not uwe bolls worst film by far. you could see far worse wach alone in the dark , house of the dead , postal , or pretty much any thing els this guy has made.so its a tiny step up for him ... very tiny. Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2011
    7
    At times it may seem like it's trying to imitate Lord of the Rings at times, but it actually ends up being it's own unique thing, while it has some cheesy moments and some bad writing, and is nowhere near as the Lord of the Rings series, it's still very enjoyable, has faster, more chaotic, and fun action than most other Fantasy movies, and I like how it does the video tie in, it's notAt times it may seem like it's trying to imitate Lord of the Rings at times, but it actually ends up being it's own unique thing, while it has some cheesy moments and some bad writing, and is nowhere near as the Lord of the Rings series, it's still very enjoyable, has faster, more chaotic, and fun action than most other Fantasy movies, and I like how it does the video tie in, it's not based of the story of one of the games, but rather a tale set in that world (hence the name a Dungeon Siege tale), and I would like to see more video game movie do that, instead of butchering the games plot, so it is an enjoyable movie, and one I would recommend seeing. Expand
  3. Dec 24, 2010
    10
    In the name of the king: Dungeon Siege tale is best Uwe Boll movie without a doubt. Its true to its story and is very entertaining. Story is great and characters are unique. Overaly a very good movie.
  4. May 31, 2011
    1
    This is one of the worst movies that I have ever seen. It looks good, but the acting is absolutely dreadful. It could be considered a comedy because it is so absurdly awful.
  5. Jan 20, 2012
    5
    It was ok. The action was good for the most part but the parts with magic were super, super corny. There was little plot to it as well. The acting was solid but thats expected by the experianced cast. Overall, There is nothing really special (or good) about this movie. Its just another generic film really.
  6. Dec 1, 2013
    3
    This is the most star studded B movie (and I'm being generous by calling it a B movie, it's more like a college film project) I've ever seen. OK, I'm not saying it has A list players but it has names you recognize: Burt Reynolds, Jason Statham, and John Rhys-Davies. If you enter with low expectations, this film is good for a laugh (thus the 3 points). If, however, you're expecting anThis is the most star studded B movie (and I'm being generous by calling it a B movie, it's more like a college film project) I've ever seen. OK, I'm not saying it has A list players but it has names you recognize: Burt Reynolds, Jason Statham, and John Rhys-Davies. If you enter with low expectations, this film is good for a laugh (thus the 3 points). If, however, you're expecting an engaging action flick then I'm afraid you should look elsewhere. Expand
  7. Feb 15, 2014
    4
    I found this Boll movie to be very boring. Boring and dull. The kin of boring that makes you fall asleep, and the kind of dull that makes you want to leave. In the name of the King does these things for unfortunately every second of the film. But you have to give the director credit for trying here for it is not all terrible.
  8. Dec 5, 2014
    7
    This is that kind of 'strange movies', an adventure of a simple Farmer that involves many kind of different characters with their own problems and agendas, as well as their stereotypes: the thug friend of the farmer that will follow him no matter the threats, the girl apprentice of magic that becomes a special knight (a kind of paladin), the wizard that knows more than all of them, theThis is that kind of 'strange movies', an adventure of a simple Farmer that involves many kind of different characters with their own problems and agendas, as well as their stereotypes: the thug friend of the farmer that will follow him no matter the threats, the girl apprentice of magic that becomes a special knight (a kind of paladin), the wizard that knows more than all of them, the twisted traitor, the free dryads, the King and his army, all of them making their actions in their own particular way. One of the films that I remember most fondly. Thanks! Expand
Metascore
15

Overwhelming dislike - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 10 out of 11
  1. Is this movie so god-awful bad that it's hilariously good? Can't be bothered deciding. Figure that's an answer in itself.
  2. It's completely undone by its terrible screenplay, inept direction, oppressive musical score and muddy visual palette.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    10
    A plodding patchwork of derivative fantasy-adventure, medieval production design, risible dialogue, unimpressive CGI trickery and haphazardly edited action sequences.