User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 296 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 296

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    This movie is incredible. Negative reviews about this movie just reflects how much people can't enjoy life for one second. This movie is very rich in profound values. Without spoiling anything, I can definitely tell that the relationship in the movie between the rich people living forever at the cost of the poor people's life is a direct reflection of our world's rich people making millions/billions while paying ridiculous salaries to their employees. In the end, the movie simply illustrates that humans should enjoy every second of their life to the fullest and to not hold back on anything because life can be taken away from you anytime. Expand
  2. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    it's a good attempt for sci-fi movie, 'cause it's hard to find a sci-fi movie which doesn't talk about aliens or alien invasion. i love its brave ideas and i agree that time's more important than anything including money. this movie also states the fact of modern and past society where the rich could live more longer than the poor. corruption's happening around the world, the movie just performs it well. Expand
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Fast past and exctiting! My heart never stopped pounding! The plot was very interesting and well thought out, and puts a fun spin on the phrase "time is money." I would definately go to see it again, and most likely will!
  4. Feb 22, 2013
    9
    Time is money and money is time in Andrew Niccol's epic, In Time. In this film, human beings are genetically engineered. At the age of twenty-five, your clock starts ticking and your goal is to work in order to survive. The wealthy are immortal, while the poor die at a young age. The story is refreshingly unique and the film is done very well. Justin Timberlake stars, and shows that he's come a long way in a short time. When I heard he was starring in this film, I thought it would be another great idea destroyed by a cast of good looking people who can't act, but I was wrong. Timberlake shows he's got definite potential to be a big action star and that his n'suck days are way behind him. Cillian Murphy is also terrific as the timekeeper. What I love about Murphy is even when he's a good guy, he's still the guy you're rooting against. His personality makes him the perfect adversary in just about everything he does. In Time, is original, unique, fast moving, and intense. In a Hollywood full of re-makes, sequels, and uninspiring ideas that mimic one another, In Time is a breath of fresh air and was one of the most enjoyable and original films I've seen all year. Expand
  5. Jan 31, 2012
    9
    This movie is clever. Andrew Niccol probably while in rush to drop his latest script to a would be movie executive thought to himself "Time is Money" and voila next thing you know you've got Robin Hood, meets Pip, meets Bonnie and Clyde, meets John the Savage, meets Justin Beiber. This movie is brilliant in a word. It begs the question does society have to function as a zero-sum game? I know some will just see this as a action packed , bang bang bang shoot him up, flaunting as a critique on society but this movie is profound. If this were not a film and written as a book it would go down as a classic. Well as they say , nuff said. Expand
  6. Aug 18, 2012
    9
    In Time tells the story of Will. Will lives in a world where you stop ageing at 25 and time is currency, we each have our own personal clock, once that clock is up we die. The world is split into 12 districts each getting poorer as you go up, Will lives with his mother in District 12 the poorest district. Will and his mother wake up everyday with barely enough time on their clocks to make it through the day, their huge hours of working shifts help to keep them alive day by day. But when Will saves one of the richest people on Earth from some thugs he is given the mans remaining time as a gift, 100 years. Will decides to move to the richest district in hope of a new life but instead gets caught up in a fight which his father started with a man with over a million years on his clock. With the man's daughter will and she must try to survive with only hours on their clocks and give the man's millions to the poor. The story is enchanting and mesmerising, even if it lacks in certain areas of detail. The casting is unlikely but works well and gives a very varied cast. However great this film is, I cant help but think this would have been better as a TV series rather than a film. Expand
  7. Sep 24, 2013
    9
    I dont get it bad reviews? Did you really see this movie? I think not.
    This movie is incredible. I usually dislike guys who jump all the time on the scene like Justin Bieber, but Timberlake was awesome. He played his role almost perfect. Concept like time is money is unique and holding deep thought as we all wasting our time in real life using money. I also enjoyed the music. This is not
    like sci fi movie, there is no cyberpunk, this is mostly action. I strongly reccomend anyone to watch it. Expand
  8. Nov 30, 2011
    9
    In time is a fun movie to watch but it is also much deeper then what meets the eye. Many will think it is about a class strugle but they dont have the entire piece of the puzzle yet. Their is also symbolism through out the whole entire movie.
  9. Feb 14, 2012
    9
    I liked this movie a lot, it was an original story which tried to mix love and politics in a weird way. Original but the politic philosophy was same as all the movies we saw before. (Prevent the rich from being richer, give the poor another chance) The plot was good, the actors & actresses were playing well. But even though that the movie told the story in far future, it was not actually different than 21st century in appearance. So don't expect a movie which has teleportation, flying cars, flying cows. That would also mess the movie in bad way so actually this movie is good as the way it already is. No overrated technology or geeky sci-fi. Expand
  10. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    I have not seen a movie this creative in a long time. I feel Justin Timberlake did wonderful in this movie.I hope to see him in movies to come.I will give this a 10 rating because I will go back to see it again. It is very true that the government trys to kill citizens because theirs to many people on earth and the only way to do it is by raising cost of everything. I loved this movie! :)
  11. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    its the best movie ................................................................................................................................................................................................................
  12. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    This movie has an excellent plot that in some ways parallels the society in which we live. The only difference is that in the film the currency is time instead of money. It shows the disparity between the lives of the rich and the poor and demonstrates how difficult and near impossible it is for a person in a lower socioeconomic class to move up in life. It also shows how society is segregated into communities depending on the amount of wealth one has. In the film, the communities are literally segregated by a gate that one must pay a large amount of time in order to cross into the next community up. Overall, I thought this was a very through-provoking and action-packed film with great acting. It is a must see! Expand
  13. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    This was a very original concept: a world where money is actually time: the time you have to live. It seems a great play on words. The actors were much better than some, not as good as others, but all in all, a very enjoyable movie.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 36
  2. Negative: 4 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Nov 2, 2011
    20
    They have some fun playacting at class warriors on the lam – and Seyfriend, it must be said, rocks a killer bob – but it's all just big-budget dress-up in a futurescape that reeks of phoniness.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Oct 31, 2011
    50
    It's a great idea that Niccol can't translate into a great movie.
  3. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Oct 29, 2011
    70
    A pleasing, often rousing movie for the 99 percent, In Time is not without flaws.