Paramount Pictures | Release Date: May 22, 2008
5.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 1167 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
474
Mixed:
330
Negative:
363
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
KonradBJun 30, 2008
Excellent film, and charmingly naive for the Internet age. The story was a brilliant pastiche of materials from the '50s pop bin, South American mythology, and Von Donnegan's aliens-built-mayan-civilization schtick (which fits Excellent film, and charmingly naive for the Internet age. The story was a brilliant pastiche of materials from the '50s pop bin, South American mythology, and Von Donnegan's aliens-built-mayan-civilization schtick (which fits better into a movie than a term-paper essay). Good female characters, too, and the decision to present the Soviets as less menacing than the Nazis was a tasteful one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TayleyS.Jun 3, 2008
Well, I really wanted to like this film...and I was disappointed in a big way. It doesn't have the heart of the early ones. It felt like it was explaining itself too much, or something, which took all the mystery away from it. I guess Well, I really wanted to like this film...and I was disappointed in a big way. It doesn't have the heart of the early ones. It felt like it was explaining itself too much, or something, which took all the mystery away from it. I guess the older ones weren't riding as much on a franchise as this was felt like it was. It was like opening an old shoe box of trinkets. You get a little excited, but it quickly fades. There were also inconsistencies in the plot, which is especially frustrating in a story such as this. The villain was never all that scary (think Raiders and the guy with the glasses and coat hanger - nothing like that!). The fighting between Marion and Indy was contrived and gratuitous - they needed it because it provided a good distraction. The plot itself was disconnected, in my opinion - too much escaping and being caught again, too much bad guy has skull/good guy has skull. I couldn't suspend disbelief enough at times to actually enjoy the film (kid with one leg on each vehicle while they're both in motion, and oh ya, having a swordfight at the same time because he conveniently had taken FENCING at prep school....pullease!) There were some beautiful wide shots in this movie but some of the backgrounds looked quite fake (e.g. first 5 minutes, outdoors). I wish the franchise hadn't had its reputation - I think this film would have been much better if it were working to prove something. My favourite part was the 3 second shot of the ark of the covenant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SteveB.Jun 3, 2008
Couldn't wait for it to end. So cheesy, such a rehash of the previous. It's as if they sat around and said, "OK, need to have lot's of cobwebs, skulls, skeletons, chase scene in military vehicles...Let's write a story Couldn't wait for it to end. So cheesy, such a rehash of the previous. It's as if they sat around and said, "OK, need to have lot's of cobwebs, skulls, skeletons, chase scene in military vehicles...Let's write a story around that." There's just no life in this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChrisH.Jun 4, 2008
Not as good as the first movie, but definitely as good as the second and third. Vine swinging was a bit of a reach, but I enjoyed the movie overall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RickyQ.Jun 4, 2008
The two things I
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JesseS.Jun 7, 2008
Well, aside from the other previous reviews, I liked the movie. Yes, it was generally cheesy, and yes, the "alien" plot wasn't really Indiana Jones material, but I liked it, and it's just what I expected. Of course, anyone that Well, aside from the other previous reviews, I liked the movie. Yes, it was generally cheesy, and yes, the "alien" plot wasn't really Indiana Jones material, but I liked it, and it's just what I expected. Of course, anyone that didn't like it has to remember: it's been ninteen years since the last film. Ford, Spielburg, and Lucas have been involved in countless other projects since then. They're not going to be true-to-form after all these years, and they did what they could to give us a good movie without it being another B-Movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DavidVJun 7, 2008
Pretty much what I was expecting from the next Indiana Jones movie. Still fun, with great stunts and a charismatic Harrison Ford. There were some ridiculous scenes, but as I said before, I went in expecting them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GuyH.Jun 8, 2008
Did they just make this movie just to scam us out of money ill never watch a nether Lucas movie ever again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexT.Jun 8, 2008
This movie was fun, far-fetched, action-packed and great to watch on the big screen. For those of you who were expecting something other than that, you were wasting your time watching this movie. A great film for the cinema, but I don't This movie was fun, far-fetched, action-packed and great to watch on the big screen. For those of you who were expecting something other than that, you were wasting your time watching this movie. A great film for the cinema, but I don't think I would have enjoyed it on my own TV screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
K.WardJul 11, 2008
What a stinker, the wink, wink, nod, nod (I'm Indiana Jones) performance from Harrison ford wasn't the worst of the film. side bar roles that you wanted to care about but didn't Overly long and boring chase scenes, and the What a stinker, the wink, wink, nod, nod (I'm Indiana Jones) performance from Harrison ford wasn't the worst of the film. side bar roles that you wanted to care about but didn't Overly long and boring chase scenes, and the story was just a mess. Aliens, fricken aliens... you've got to be kidding. Even in the end they presented it like it was a mystery... maybe for a child. Boo. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DominicJul 14, 2008
If the filmmaker tried to make this story or movie funny, it's not funny at all! One of the worst movies of all time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JoshB.Jul 19, 2008
Thanks George Lucas for making another digital movie that looks like a cartoon. Maybe a commercial success, but the art of movie making is lost on you. He'd rather contract out the whole movie making process to people with apple Thanks George Lucas for making another digital movie that looks like a cartoon. Maybe a commercial success, but the art of movie making is lost on you. He'd rather contract out the whole movie making process to people with apple computers. Lest I forget, the script was terrible as well. Don't see this movie, don't buy it, don't rent it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonathanL.Jul 7, 2008
Despite the hype, the new Indiana Jones proves to be a solid mixture of story, character and adventure. Not many movies have been able to give you a glimpse into the excitement of adventuring new areas. Meanwhile, The Kingdom of the Crystal Despite the hype, the new Indiana Jones proves to be a solid mixture of story, character and adventure. Not many movies have been able to give you a glimpse into the excitement of adventuring new areas. Meanwhile, The Kingdom of the Crystal Skull has great action sequences, great editing, but a slightly ridiculous ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DominicM.Aug 16, 2008
It was alright, but it didnt have that Indiana Jones feel to it. I think George Lucas should stick to Star Wars.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SuperMarioSuperMarioAug 17, 2008
-I loved the original trilogy, but I didn't like this movie. Don't tell me that I'm being biased or small-minded or unfair: I wanted to like this movie as much as the others (why would I pay money otherwise?), but it -I loved the original trilogy, but I didn't like this movie. Don't tell me that I'm being biased or small-minded or unfair: I wanted to like this movie as much as the others (why would I pay money otherwise?), but it wasn't me who failed, it was Lucas and Spielberg. I loved the charm and magic and energy and humour of the old films, and even the fact that they were unbelievable (with the Biblical or Indian artifacts), but this movie lacks a lot of the charm, humour, grace, and magic of the original (not that it's entirely missing). It didn't feel like an Indy movie: how come we didn't laugh as much as with the originals? But really, the aliens did ruin it. It pushes fantasy into the absurd: dealing with aliens works for Fox and Scully, not Indiana Jones. -I thought the Cold War and Russians as the antagonists worked (since Indy IS older), but what totally ruins this movie is (besides the aliens) how Indy is now a father. This is a freaken horrible cliche that every movie seems to take after: the main character ages, and surprisingly, we find out he has a son; the two don't usually get along and they have to work things out and by the end father and son are united. Kiss my ass Lucas! That's the stupidest, lamest plot (next to aliens, of course) that I've ever seen. The biggest problem with this is (I'm sure any Indy fan would agree with me here): it takes the focus off Indy. Now the focus is divided between Indy and his annoying son. We all love the Indiana Jones movies because they're about Indiana Jones/Harrison Ford, who's the soul of the movie (funny, charming, accidental), but his son/Shia, takes away from what the audience wants. He's really annoying: they try to make him funny and charming like Indy, but he's really not. -The original movies are about Indiana Jones and his love interests; the only reason that Crusade worked with Indiana Jones' father is because Lucas and Spielberg still had the imagination to make it work. Also, Connery was HILARIOUS and charming. -And I didn't like the fact that there's so much explaining done in this movie: they spent so much time at the start by having Indy LECTURING to Shia about Eldorado and the Crystal Skulls so the audience can "get what the movie is about." -So bad a movie, you'd think that Shia had his head up Ford's a**, Ford has his head up Spielberg's a**, and everyone had their heads up Lucas' a**. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JayD.Aug 30, 2008
Best way to describe it? Another George Lucas cash-grab. Ford is too old and creaky for the role now, and it's obvious each scene he's in. Karen Allen is another who hasn't aged well, leaving the love aspect between the two Best way to describe it? Another George Lucas cash-grab. Ford is too old and creaky for the role now, and it's obvious each scene he's in. Karen Allen is another who hasn't aged well, leaving the love aspect between the two akin to watching your grandparents makeout. Ech. And why why why why why does Speilberg say Shia LeBouf is the next Tom Hanks? From his deep, riveting roles in Transformers & this stinker? I doubt he's ever read from a script not written by a 12 year-old. Great, another wonderful trilogy from my childhood marred by George Lucas' lust for a 12th home in the Carribean. On the contrary, the only cool part was the aliens. Didn't think I'd ever say it, but Indiana Jones could have used more aliens in it. Ouch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JohnM.Aug 4, 2008
This is such a bad film that I cannot believe Speilberg directed this. Is he actually happy with the end result?! The script is so overly cheesy, and what is it with Lucas and CGI, someone needs to teach him when and where it
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
EddieD.Sep 10, 2008
Too much fooling around. Crystal Skull doesn't get to the point.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KevinG.Sep 30, 2008
Terrible movie. Anyone who gave this movie a positive review is a complete moron. Fake looking sets,like everything was flimed on a sound stage.Bad acting,Talking and talking and talking to eat up time and about things that don't Terrible movie. Anyone who gave this movie a positive review is a complete moron. Fake looking sets,like everything was flimed on a sound stage.Bad acting,Talking and talking and talking to eat up time and about things that don't advance the plot. I put this movie on the same level of howard the Duck and death to smoochy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JamesB.Sep 5, 2008
Proof that George Lucas needs to be sterilized for the good of humanity!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
nigeJan 4, 2009
What i really don't get is why have CGI gophers, monkeys, scorpions and ants, but then use a rubber snake for Indy's biggest phobia? Silly, silly film. Some unintentionally funny lines though 'Not space.......the space between What i really don't get is why have CGI gophers, monkeys, scorpions and ants, but then use a rubber snake for Indy's biggest phobia? Silly, silly film. Some unintentionally funny lines though 'Not space.......the space between space' ??!?? John Hurt must have cringed all the way to the bank. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ALMay 3, 2009
One of the worst movies I've seen in a long time. Unbelievably bad. Startlingly implausible at every turn, Wildly illogical and improbable occurrences in almost every scene. Embarrassing dialog throughout, as if it were written by a One of the worst movies I've seen in a long time. Unbelievably bad. Startlingly implausible at every turn, Wildly illogical and improbable occurrences in almost every scene. Embarrassing dialog throughout, as if it were written by a child. And this is the first ILM film (assuming they did the FX) I've seen with anything other than impressive and innovative visual effects... in fact, they were shockingly substandard. The CGI on this film looked about like the quality of what you'd see on a, say, a Sci Fi channel original film... which is to say not very good. It seems as if they decided to rush a new Indy flick to the theaters; it seems to be cobbled together hastily with no attention to even the most basic points of physics and logic, maybe to meet some contractual obligation... or maybe just to squeeze one last drop out of the Indiana Jones series before Harrison Ford gets too old to be believable in the role. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SamJun 19, 2009
This movie was a dissapointment but it wasn't a complete failure. I found myself enjoying the first half of the movie but the 2nd half was awful. The CGI looked incredibly out of place and some of the later scenes were just stupid. The This movie was a dissapointment but it wasn't a complete failure. I found myself enjoying the first half of the movie but the 2nd half was awful. The CGI looked incredibly out of place and some of the later scenes were just stupid. The old Indie movies had scenes that were unbelieveable to be sure but at least they were fun and enjoyable to watch. The scene with Mutt swinging through the trees with the monkeys was incredibly lame. The acting was decent but it couldn't save the movie from its awful plot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JamesL.Oct 12, 2008
I'm sorry. Indiana Jones defeats the aliens after he survives a 'nukular' blast. They write in a double agent that Indiana lets follow them around just to stir things up. I really have to wonder if all of these reviewers I'm sorry. Indiana Jones defeats the aliens after he survives a 'nukular' blast. They write in a double agent that Indiana lets follow them around just to stir things up. I really have to wonder if all of these reviewers weren't paid off by Lucas. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChrisROct 16, 2008
I was sorely let down in the theater, but somehow on video, the Indy/Marion stuff works much better. What felt gratuitous and a thin waste of talent and goodwill, now seems economical. I'm ok with it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EthanOct 16, 2008
Its got that movie magic
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JamesO.Oct 16, 2008
Maybe Im geting too old for Indy movies, Im sure kids will love it but it just didnt wash with me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GrahamM.rOct 17, 2008
Harrison Ford is my favorite movie star and he can't save this sad, sad excuse for a movie. Lucas...please go away and stop ruining all the franchises that made our childhoods great. Nothing in this movie makes sense or is entertaining. Harrison Ford is my favorite movie star and he can't save this sad, sad excuse for a movie. Lucas...please go away and stop ruining all the franchises that made our childhoods great. Nothing in this movie makes sense or is entertaining. The special effects are awful as well. As for the end.....It's a joke this movie made so much money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TomN.Oct 18, 2008
Horrible, the plot is whack. Everything is sloppy. Too many plot holes. Ridiculous. Action is also stupid, retarded, and contrived. Skull is maagnetic, but only when they throw the gun powder into the air does the powder then floats and Horrible, the plot is whack. Everything is sloppy. Too many plot holes. Ridiculous. Action is also stupid, retarded, and contrived. Skull is maagnetic, but only when they throw the gun powder into the air does the powder then floats and follows? Nuclear warhead? Aliens, did they explain anything about it? Aliens, seriously? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JonK.Oct 22, 2008
Very disappointing. Right off the bat, the lighting was noticeably bad - artificial and fake. Awkward and fake pretty much sums it all up for the rest of the show. I could suspend belief enough to really enjoy Independence Day but this show Very disappointing. Right off the bat, the lighting was noticeably bad - artificial and fake. Awkward and fake pretty much sums it all up for the rest of the show. I could suspend belief enough to really enjoy Independence Day but this show was rather insulting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RayH.Oct 22, 2008
This movie is absolutely pathetic! It represents everything that is wrong with movies today. They are ruined by trying to appeal to everyone and in doing so, they don't please anyone. Shia L. was obviously added to appeal to the teeny This movie is absolutely pathetic! It represents everything that is wrong with movies today. They are ruined by trying to appeal to everyone and in doing so, they don't please anyone. Shia L. was obviously added to appeal to the teeny boppers. The CGI gophers and the monkeys that "befriend" Shia L.'s character within a matter of seconds were added to appeal to the kiddies. The fake ants, the sword fight between two moving vehicles while Shia's character is hit with branches in his most private area, not to mention that the main characters were bullet proof, makes me want to vomit. Top it off with falling down three waterfalls without a scratch and Indiana Jones surviving a direct Nuclear blast because he was inside of a "lead fridge" and then thrown for a country mile unscratched makes this film completely useless to society. Anyone that is giving it a good review is doing so because they are one of the previously mentioned groups or because their kids laughed. This movie is pathetic! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SteveKOct 22, 2008
Not terrible if you come in with zero expectations. But this is INDIANA JONES! This is Spielberg and Harrison Ford! Almost impossible to do. The movie had fun moments, good actions scenes, and some really creepy moments too (I will never Not terrible if you come in with zero expectations. But this is INDIANA JONES! This is Spielberg and Harrison Ford! Almost impossible to do. The movie had fun moments, good actions scenes, and some really creepy moments too (I will never look at ants the same way again). But the real holes are in the plot. Too much said and not said. The whole thing is undercooked, like an excuse to make Indy, not an enthralling story that is interesting and draws you in. It starts interesting, but the end just fails to inspire. I think that people who want everything explained will actually be disappointed if it is, so I am not like everyone else on this site who are mad because "it wasn't explained", what bothers me is that we get no closure ON ANYTHING. And I'm a little tired of the whole the temple blows itself up plot device to neatly wrap everything up. Even National Treasure 2 did that, and that franchise shouldn't be able to hold a candle to Indy. I mean, they even did that in Last Crusade. We were just missing a cool Indy ending. There was nothing clever, inventive, or even interesting about the ending of this movie. They ran away and the Russians didn't. Go Indy, way to run. Seriously, I would like to see a director's cut where they fix the ending and they actually make it interesting. I don't care about the aliens, there are worse plot ideas in the world, but aliens that don't do anything are not interesting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredK.Oct 25, 2008
This is an underated gem. I'm not surprised so many complain. Some won't give anything a chance. Still, it's great.
5 of 10 users found this helpful
5
ChuckSOct 26, 2008
This is how the movie is: -If you want a fantasy adventure movie, you will think this movie was 8 or higher. -If you want an Indiana Jones movie, you will think this movie was 2 or less. This movie, while entertaining, does not have the same This is how the movie is: -If you want a fantasy adventure movie, you will think this movie was 8 or higher. -If you want an Indiana Jones movie, you will think this movie was 2 or less. This movie, while entertaining, does not have the same feel that made the original Indy movies so appealing. So, what you get from this movie depends on what you want from this movie. If you want Indy, you'll get disappointed. If you want a 2 hour distraction, you'll get a pleasant surprise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnC.May 18, 2008
Indiana Jones 4 has been a 15 year wait. and its worth it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
AllenT.May 18, 2008
occasionally Indy IV genuinely entertains and gives you the warm, fuzzy feeling that you get when one is the company of a character you love. However, far too many moments fail to make an impact, too many ideas so disappointingly half-baked. occasionally Indy IV genuinely entertains and gives you the warm, fuzzy feeling that you get when one is the company of a character you love. However, far too many moments fail to make an impact, too many ideas so disappointingly half-baked. The fatal flaw though is the film's utter lack of dramatic tension, and an absence of the sense of danger and adventure so vital to the success of the previous instalments. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
peterrMay 19, 2008
I was very disappointed. And I had low expectations too. I think the reviews, overall, have been being very 'kind' I wanted to love this film but Lucas' continued emphasis on technology and production advances with computer I was very disappointed. And I had low expectations too. I think the reviews, overall, have been being very 'kind' I wanted to love this film but Lucas' continued emphasis on technology and production advances with computer generated sets really bogs down everything organic, playful and ultimately everything that was so cool about all the Indy films. I heard that Spielberg wanted to make a 'non-cgi film' but he did not get his way. Look for the cute digital prairie dogs at the opening of the movie. Your enjoyment of the picture will probably be determined by how much you like or dislike them. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TysonF.May 21, 2008
One of the best movie's ive seen in years!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DaleSMay 21, 2008
Just a terrible movie that bares little to no resemblance of the original trilogy. Harrison Ford has lost the character's charisma, and the story is just ridiculous and so "un-indiana jonesish" that you will possibly want to stop it Just a terrible movie that bares little to no resemblance of the original trilogy. Harrison Ford has lost the character's charisma, and the story is just ridiculous and so "un-indiana jonesish" that you will possibly want to stop it before the credits role out of disgust at the blatant money grubbing ways of Lucas and Spielberg. They knew it was crap, but knew people would pay to see it. There is no way that movie materialized out of anything but a horrible plot outline, an even worse script, and a lackluster execution. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]May 22, 2008
The only reason people aren't scoring this higher is because they are comparing it to raiders, and crudsade. Which is hardly fair. I don't think anyone thought this would be the best of the series, and its not. But it is definitely The only reason people aren't scoring this higher is because they are comparing it to raiders, and crudsade. Which is hardly fair. I don't think anyone thought this would be the best of the series, and its not. But it is definitely a worthy and welcomed addition. This is a solid sequel and a hell of a lot of fun. If you liked the first three then you'll like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JoshBMay 22, 2008
Keep your expectations very low, or you risk serious disappointment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LuE.May 22, 2008
For the first 45 mins this was a Indiana Jones movie. Okay, we expected that most of the main action sequences would be heavy CGI after all I'm sure Harrison's insurance company love 'live action' for the over 60s. All For the first 45 mins this was a Indiana Jones movie. Okay, we expected that most of the main action sequences would be heavy CGI after all I'm sure Harrison's insurance company love 'live action' for the over 60s. All the characters played their respective roles convincingly, and with enough nods to the fans. Young Indy, Mud, was a great casting. Now to the flaming. Once the plot started to get going it became clear that the George and Steven had been sat at home watching old Stargate re-runs and playing Halo (end sequence) when writing the script. Since when have aliens EVER even been hinted at in a indiana jones movie. What I think we were all hoping for was a bit of fighting, some memories from the old films, and a bit of magic and mystery thrown in at the end. We would have been happy with that. Instead we were given STOLEN plots (see stargate), STOLEN shots and a truely horrendous ending with a space ship that Halo did first. I think that in an effort to make a cheap buck the two biggest geniuses in movies made a cheap movie. The cast saved the movie. Without them George and Steven would have been in serious trouble. Ladies and gentlemen I give you Indiana Jones the Quantum of Solace. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlbertMay 22, 2008
For God's sake! Did the Village Voice guy even watched to movie at all? I feared what could happen with one of my favorite movie characters but Indy is back in full form here! Forget what critics might say. Just enjoy!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JeffW.May 22, 2008
Kingdom of the Crystal Skull is a scrambled mess of a movie with no central point and no real sense of adventure. I never thought I'd see the day when I liked The Mummy and The Mummy Returns better than a Jones film. The movies that Kingdom of the Crystal Skull is a scrambled mess of a movie with no central point and no real sense of adventure. I never thought I'd see the day when I liked The Mummy and The Mummy Returns better than a Jones film. The movies that ripped off the 3 EXCELLENT Indy movies from the 80s are now better than the 4th Indy film? Maybe the wrong Steven directed this one. Should have gotten Sommers. Spielberg once said that as director he deserves the praise OR the blame regarding a film with his name attached. It was up to him to find the right script and the right balance of FX, action scenes and dramatic character moments and ... to quote the last good Indiana Jones movie he helmed -- Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade -- he chose poorly. Lucas must have just been in it for the cash and Ford to revive a dying career. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
IndyFanMay 22, 2008
Not perfect, but a great ride!!! Well worth the visit to the theater, and I will see it again and again. Skull needed to look a little more like crystal, and a little less like a halloween trinket. Beyond that, awesome movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AaronBMay 22, 2008
Apart from the action scenes in the jungle which are way way way too over the top (Lucas have you not learned!) I really enjoyed most of the movie. There are some new classic lines in there, and is a fitting tribute to Tin Tins 'Flight Apart from the action scenes in the jungle which are way way way too over the top (Lucas have you not learned!) I really enjoyed most of the movie. There are some new classic lines in there, and is a fitting tribute to Tin Tins 'Flight 714' adventure. Gotta suspend your disbelief on this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesSMay 22, 2008
Sometimes the CGI and the plot get a bit cringeworthy, but the cast and non-stop action more than hold it together and it's quite frankly excellent. Proper Indiana Jones.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
EnriqueMay 22, 2008
R.I.P.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoshNMay 22, 2008
This movie is classic. hahaha, I loved how cheesy it was, yet still very intelligent
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ShellieKellyMay 22, 2008
Too unbelievable... Shia did a good job as did Harrison.. but the storyline was contrived and too far fetched.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
Tylerw.May 22, 2008
A complete piece of trash. we left after an hour. a pathetic self mockery that only exposed the old age of the lead and the lack of imagination of the crew responsible. george lucas makes a good first movie, and then spends the next four A complete piece of trash. we left after an hour. a pathetic self mockery that only exposed the old age of the lead and the lack of imagination of the crew responsible. george lucas makes a good first movie, and then spends the next four destroying the dignity of the first. they will certainly make money on it. the toys are already in the store. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
BrittD.May 22, 2008
This movie was the biggest disappointment of all time. Absolutely terrible.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ScottE.May 22, 2008
Being a big fan of the series this movie actually had me angry. Right from the opening dialogue it seems harrison is phoning this one in. I don't blame him though, not much else you can do with what he's been given. I almost walked Being a big fan of the series this movie actually had me angry. Right from the opening dialogue it seems harrison is phoning this one in. I don't blame him though, not much else you can do with what he's been given. I almost walked out at the "Tarzan" scene. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MackM.May 22, 2008
I don't know why everyone is voting this one down for. It's still the same Indy we know and love and although there are supernatural elements in the movie, that in no way ruins the movie. It's very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickDMay 22, 2008
It's An Indy Film! But how does it stack up against the classics? Crystal Skull is most definitely a true blue Indiana Jones film. That being said, it is the worst of the Indiana Jones films. Not that that is all bad. I'd still It's An Indy Film! But how does it stack up against the classics? Crystal Skull is most definitely a true blue Indiana Jones film. That being said, it is the worst of the Indiana Jones films. Not that that is all bad. I'd still take Crystal Skull over any modern action film (Spider-Man, Pirates, Casino Royale, and Iron Man included) hence the perfect score. Anyone and everyone should see Crystal Skull, Indy fan or not, as it is the best movie is a long, long time. Still, when stacked up against the classics, it does fall short (just barely). From here on out, expect many SPOILERS: First off, Harrison Ford is NOT too old. I never once thought, "gee, he's sixty-five." And the movie is very tasteful at making fun of his age where appropriate, but not overdoing it. From the minute it starts, Skull will blow you away with how it looks. It is shot like an old Indy film. I thought I was in a theater in the 80s (which is impressive, cause I would have have to have been an infant to pull off such a feat). The opening at Area 51 is great! Jones at its best. I'd stack up the opening action sequences with all my favorites from the classic films. We see Indy fight in the warehouse, we get a glimpse of the Ark, and we see our hero survive a nuclear bomb. I'll admit, I was worried about the bomb part, having heard about it going in, but it was executed brilliantly, and fit in well with classic Jones. The 50s vibe of the film is great. It really takes advantage of the Red Scare, and Greasers, and aliens, really everything that makes the 50s the 50s. We see Jones deal with CIA and FBI and KGB in a way that would make Bond jealous. There is a great bit with Greasers and a 50s style brawl in a 50s diner which Mutt fits into perfectly. Really, the first half of the film is top notch. Almost classic Indiana Jones. The second half is not quite as good. A lot of clue following broken up by some respectable action scenes, but nothing that comes close to Raiders, Doom, or Crusade. The dialogue is always so on the nose! Even when the audience has already figured something out, Mutt or Indiana will repeat an earlier clue and then tell them again what it means. The River Boat action scene was not as good as I had heard. I actually like the opening one at Area 51 better. It really seemed that Mutt was doing much more action than Indy, which bothered me a bit. Also, The only part of the movie I truly hated came in this action scene. Mutt is taught to swing by Monkeys? Come on. Lame! Plus, this is the most CGIy part of the film. Everywhere else is seems tasteful and unnecessary, here it is a little over done. Ah, Mutt (Shia's character). What can I say about Mutt? He starts off fine. His greaser character aspects work surprisingly well and he is a fine character. But, as the film gets into its weaker half, he begins to pick up more and more of Indiana's slack until he's doing more in the River Boat chase than Indiana is! Is Mutt destined to replace Jones? (God, when he almost put on the hat at the end I was about to leave the theater. Thank you, Spielberg, for having Indy take what was rightfully his). let's hope not. I was open to the idea going in, and he was an alright character, but he is NO Indiana Jones and after seeing the film, a Mutt spin off is a horrible idea! Lots of other good secondary character here that fit the Jones films. Mac is great, Irina Spalko is a fine baddie (though she pales in comparison to Donavin or Belloq), and Marion is a welcome return to the series. The Macguffin is fine with me too. I have seen the power of God before, and now I have no problems with aliens and psychics. Some Jones fans may be turned off by aliens, but are they any more ridiculous than the power of God melting people's faces? To Sum It All Up: Good action, looks and feels like the classics (90% of the time), good wit, and lots of Indiana Jones! The best action film you can get in this millennium. Still, Mutt and Monkeys, a wee bit too much CGI in the River Boat scenes, some weak dialoge, the kinda lame wedding ending, and the fact this film was made 20 years after the others keeps it from beings as good as Raiders, Doom, or Crusade. So go see it for God's sake. And Lucas, if you are listening, I'd be fine with a 5th true Indy film, but NO MUTT MOVIE! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
sorenu.May 22, 2008
I was expecting a mediocore action flick but man this movie blew me away! I was on the edge of my seat for the entire time. It was non-stop with some great allusions to the old films and its back with one line zingers. Sure its not as funny I was expecting a mediocore action flick but man this movie blew me away! I was on the edge of my seat for the entire time. It was non-stop with some great allusions to the old films and its back with one line zingers. Sure its not as funny as the originals but do not let this deter you from an amazing movie going experience Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MatthewW.May 22, 2008
I am never this critical but i was very dissapointed. With some very simple changes it could have been much much better! e.g. story at end went a bit nuts, plus indy's son swinging through the jungle like tarzan, sorry unforgivable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
CNMay 23, 2008
If you expect a quality picture and an amazing gripping story like in the first three, you will definitely not find it in number 4. You would think great film giants such as George Lucas and Steven Spielberg would consider ending their If you expect a quality picture and an amazing gripping story like in the first three, you will definitely not find it in number 4. You would think great film giants such as George Lucas and Steven Spielberg would consider ending their career on a high note; unfortunately, this movie was very disappointing borderline awful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChanciusD.May 23, 2008
Worst Spielberg movie I have ever seen. The screen play is atrocious. All of the principle actor really enjoy their parts, but do to the plot their performances lack. All of the other Indy films have instances where the viewer needs to Worst Spielberg movie I have ever seen. The screen play is atrocious. All of the principle actor really enjoy their parts, but do to the plot their performances lack. All of the other Indy films have instances where the viewer needs to suspend disbelief, but the outlandish situations in this one leave only a feeling of awkwardness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JanieH.May 23, 2008
Cheesy movie, from start to finish. Indy is supposed to push the limit of believability, but this flick jumped right off that cliff. From poor plot to substandard acting, an utter disappointment. Save your cash and rent it in a few months.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
PhilS.May 23, 2008
Worse than Temple of Doom. George screws up again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaynziC.May 23, 2008
Pretty damn awesome, except for the stupid CGI animals. Totally could've gone without those. It was a good addition to the series. But did it bother anyone else that they almost NEVER CALLED HIM INDY?!?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GaryB.May 23, 2008
This should be spoiler free, so here goes: The good bits are really, really good
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SteveW.May 23, 2008
Horrible in all ways! Terrible acting, ugly visual effects, substandard direction, and worst of all, horrendous screen-writing. May rank as my most hated film of all time! Don't waste your money on seeing this trash.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
RobKMay 23, 2008
Read the Village Voice review, it is right on the money with its review. George Lucas had his directorial hands all over this movie. I couldn't get over how fake this movie looked. There was no authenticity at all. Not a single action Read the Village Voice review, it is right on the money with its review. George Lucas had his directorial hands all over this movie. I couldn't get over how fake this movie looked. There was no authenticity at all. Not a single action scene looked real. The dialogue was atrocious. Karen Allen looked scary with her plastic surgery face grinning creepily throughout. There was no joy or crispness to the plot. Aliens? Really 19 years and that's the script they used one involving aliens. Indy always was about mythology and history but never sci fi. Awfully disapointing in every way. Its a shame Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JosephAccettaMay 23, 2008
Just as much fun as the others. I don't see what all the fuss is about. At first I had difficulty with it but frankly it quickly swept me up in an extremely fun adventure.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JonMay 23, 2008
Good spirit, but too far out. Even Indy doesn't survive 500 foot waterfalls, much less along with four others.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
DavidM.May 23, 2008
Seeing Harrison Ford was the only redeeming quality of this movie. It drifted so far from the origins of the series into a hard-to-believe concoction of failure.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WargamerMay 23, 2008
This film was everything I hoped it would be. It felt every bit as thrilling as the old trilogy, and it is going to take some beating. Indy 4 is lining up to be my Film of The Year!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
FrancescoC.May 23, 2008
Very bad. There aren't a story and the characters are awful.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
PurgueF.May 23, 2008
I've given the movie 2/10. Watching this movie I felt very disconnected due mostly to the bad acting, the plot holes, and inconceivable physics (Lucas made Gold magnetic). We all loved the originals but if you are on the fence about I've given the movie 2/10. Watching this movie I felt very disconnected due mostly to the bad acting, the plot holes, and inconceivable physics (Lucas made Gold magnetic). We all loved the originals but if you are on the fence about seeing this movie just think Star Wars Episode I. With worse acting. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
WillC.May 23, 2008
Not a Masterwork, but good clean Indie fun the way you remembered it. A tad too much popcorn for the kids, but plenty of adult level plotting to keep you engaged during the entire "ride".
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
DamienD.May 23, 2008
Indy is back, but he kinda shoulda stayed where he was. This sequel is way too self aware with nostalgic references to the previous series and doesn't really find it's own steam. First half works pretty good with some decent action Indy is back, but he kinda shoulda stayed where he was. This sequel is way too self aware with nostalgic references to the previous series and doesn't really find it's own steam. First half works pretty good with some decent action sets on a nuclear test site and a chase sequence through Indy's campus. The second half, once the plot really gets revealed is really incosistent and very slow paced at times, with a couple of thrilling action pieces, the waterfall dives are just too ridiculous. The climax was just too lame. The movie relies too heavily on CGI which detracts from the charm of the overall series where practical effects dominated. Harrison Ford is still Indy and the end really just further confirms this. Shia LeBouef and Karen Allen hold their ground but Cate Blanchett's villiain is weak and John Hurt and Ray Winstone are too underused. It took almost 20 years to come out with another Indy Adventure but personally I think it was summed up best in 'Crusade" Indy "That belongs in a museum" Villain: "So do you!" He was right! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TMoMay 23, 2008
This movie rocks. Ya'll are haters... what'd you expect, 2001: A Space Odyssey? C'mon, cut 'em some slack.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MikeR.May 23, 2008
That was the last movie I ever see that has any involvement of George Lucas. You sir ought to be ashamed of yourself. 20 years to get this movie right and this is the schlock you put out. I expect this kind of garbage from Michael Bay and That was the last movie I ever see that has any involvement of George Lucas. You sir ought to be ashamed of yourself. 20 years to get this movie right and this is the schlock you put out. I expect this kind of garbage from Michael Bay and Brendan Fraser - but come on....utterly disasterous. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
vrblknchMay 24, 2008
Problematic. Preface by stating that Star Wars was my 2nd favorite franchise to Indiana Jones from my first VHS viewing of Raiders around 6 years old... so it pains me to score so low. Walked in with a replica Indy Fedora on... left the Problematic. Preface by stating that Star Wars was my 2nd favorite franchise to Indiana Jones from my first VHS viewing of Raiders around 6 years old... so it pains me to score so low. Walked in with a replica Indy Fedora on... left the theater quickly with the hat hidden held close in my hands. Actors were great. Kudos to Harrison Ford for owning the role. It looked like he was doing all the light physical stuff with ease. Scaling crates in area 51 that would make me keel over now @ 30, let alone @ 65. Shia IS the future. Just as good as River as young indy. Spielberg started with a bang, but the Tarzan swings killed the movie. The chases were good times and the stunt work was top notch which is missing in modern cinema. After the ants it was downhill. Speaking of hills, the prarie dogs popped up one too many times. Other qualms, the cinematography was VERY hit and miss. The college campus and tomb lighting/lense was spot on, but everywhere else looked very washed and fake authentic, There was a soundstage look to RAIDERS, DOOM, CRUSADE that pasted with their ASC. Oh and the Raiders March was not featured as much as I would have liked, full fanfare maybe 3 times? The CGI was not unbearable even to my VERY crictical eye, but everything feeld second rate in terms of the Russian menace and the quest itself. Nice homages make for 3-4 REALLY good comedic/nostalgic scenes (picking up the hat beginning and end) and EXCELLENT stunt work make for 2-3 great action sequences. But they are leveraged by the 3-4 silly plot hiccups (peer into the skull, rope swing, tree driving). Indy needed quite a bigger threat to come out of retirement. Can't wait for Indy and Sleepwalking Screenwriters on dvd this December. Fin. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
AkioC.May 24, 2008
CG gophers! Shia Tarzan Labuff! Alien Flying Saucers! George Lucas has completed his descent. Game over Georgie!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
TiernanS.May 24, 2008
I'm not sure if fans of Indiana Jones will be more disappointed than the uninitiated on this one, or vice versa. Ford does a great job putting the hat back on. It's also great to see Shia making the most of his role. Unfortunately, I'm not sure if fans of Indiana Jones will be more disappointed than the uninitiated on this one, or vice versa. Ford does a great job putting the hat back on. It's also great to see Shia making the most of his role. Unfortunately, the script is too academic and undercooked, never mind the unusual lack of humor, and doesn't allow these great characters to really shine or even intertwine.......and it wouldn't be difficult. Indy and the gang are fantastic characters. That part was set, or so I thought. The actual plot is arbitrary nonsense that is amusing, but not engrossing.....and as the film throttles into the finale, the light saber duels and telekinetic....um, whatever become downright stupid. Since the script is so muddled and inept, when the action stops, so does the movie. The self destructing action set pieces fall in line with tradition and they're as implausable as ever, but they're still fun to see. Loved the prairie dog cameos too. Still, this one gets a mixed note from me. It'll make a good rental. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
chadsMay 24, 2008
This is an absolute embarassment to Spielberg's resume. How could such an extremely great director make such a garbage film. Spielberg is by far one of my favorite directors and Schindlers list is by far the best movie ever made, but This is an absolute embarassment to Spielberg's resume. How could such an extremely great director make such a garbage film. Spielberg is by far one of my favorite directors and Schindlers list is by far the best movie ever made, but this indiana jones is ridiculously over the top and in an extremely cheesy way. Harrison Ford is that old grandpa you see everyone once in a while who always has a dumb one liner or joke for you and you just smile at how stupid it was to make him feel good. The comedy in this movie was worse than epic movie or meet the spartans, yes its possible. Also, the story is ten times more far fetched than any previous indiana jones. Why in the heck is supernatural alien crap the central focus in an indiana jones movie? are you kidding me? Please just go rewatch the other movies in the series because this is a failure in every way. I pray there is no indiana starring shia, i pray! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
thedudeMay 24, 2008
It's really hard to figure out what happened here. Were they trying to make this as bad as possible? Lucas and Spielberg turn the cute and the camp up to eleven, and manage to make Temple of Doom look like a classic by comparison. It's really hard to figure out what happened here. Were they trying to make this as bad as possible? Lucas and Spielberg turn the cute and the camp up to eleven, and manage to make Temple of Doom look like a classic by comparison. Granted, it would have been hard for me to be satisfied with anything here, as Raiders of the Lost Ark is one of my all-time favorite films, but I went in expecting it to be around the quality of the Last Crusade, which wasn't too bad, or at worst Temple of Doom, which was bad but nowhere near this bad. I just can't think of anything worthwhile about this film. The more Lucas does now, the more he detracts from the excellent work he did in the late seventies and early eighties. I will be forever grateful to him for American Graffiti, Star Wars, Empire Strikes Back, Raiders of the Lost Ark, and Return of the Jedi, but everything since then is a disaster, and this film, unfortunately, just continues that trend. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RMMMay 24, 2008
Looking forward to the next installment, where Harrison plays to Shia, as Sean did to Harrison. Pls don't make us wait until 19 years!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
AliciaI.May 24, 2008
I went to the movies with all my family we are PERUVIANS and we got so upset about : First Nazca lines are in the coast of Peru Not in the Andes because CUZCO is in the andes. Then the music was not native PERUVIAN music. Moreover, we never I went to the movies with all my family we are PERUVIANS and we got so upset about : First Nazca lines are in the coast of Peru Not in the Andes because CUZCO is in the andes. Then the music was not native PERUVIAN music. Moreover, we never had MAYA culture in PERU. We had INCA CULTURE furthermore, we never had those pyramids in Peru. So, I think the director needs to go back to school to learn more about Inca culture before making a movie about a culture that he doesn't know and sell crap instead or real stuff. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
SlyF.May 24, 2008
I was not hyped and thus not dissatisfied at all. Indy 4 is a fun 148 min of escapism.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
KyleB.May 24, 2008
This was the biggest piece of sh*t I've seen in years. It was even more disappointing than The Phantom Menace. Imagine watching a fan film made in an all new Indiana Jones theme park ride. Who wants to be Indy? How 'bout you This was the biggest piece of sh*t I've seen in years. It was even more disappointing than The Phantom Menace. Imagine watching a fan film made in an all new Indiana Jones theme park ride. Who wants to be Indy? How 'bout you Grandpa! The writing sucks, the acting sucks, the special effects really suck, even the lighting sucks! I could have forgiven it all its other faults if only Harrison Ford hadn't looked so sedated and completely uninterested in what was happening. My eight dollars should be worth at least one scene with some dramatic tension. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CharlesG.May 24, 2008
Goes where no Indiana Jones movie has gone before. The territory this movie covers is completely unexpected - at least if you avoid spoilers. The action was fantastic just like the other Jones movies. Shia and Ford are great together. This Goes where no Indiana Jones movie has gone before. The territory this movie covers is completely unexpected - at least if you avoid spoilers. The action was fantastic just like the other Jones movies. Shia and Ford are great together. This movie was worthy of resurrecting the Indiana Jones franchise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JamesG.May 24, 2008
This is one of the worst films I have ever seen. It is a disgrace to the Indiana Jones franchise and should never be seen by anyone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
jackS.May 24, 2008
[***SPOILER***] Aliens. Are you kidding me. Aliens. You guys are rating this too high. When did Aliens ever cross a Indiana Jones movie. This movie was just a pass the torch movie to Shia. Lucas is crazy. He screwed up the Star Wars series [***SPOILER***] Aliens. Are you kidding me. Aliens. You guys are rating this too high. When did Aliens ever cross a Indiana Jones movie. This movie was just a pass the torch movie to Shia. Lucas is crazy. He screwed up the Star Wars series and now this. HE HAD 10 YEARS TO WRITE THIS. It's unbelievable how bad this movie was. I would write more but I don't want to miss the Aliens landing on my front lawn. - OUT! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
FabioMay 24, 2008
Not nearly as good as the previous ones... it's fun to see Indy back on the screen but... not much thrilling, no real (dangerous) villain, not much personality in the characters, it pretty much seemed a luna park attraction came Not nearly as good as the previous ones... it's fun to see Indy back on the screen but... not much thrilling, no real (dangerous) villain, not much personality in the characters, it pretty much seemed a luna park attraction came alive... probably the worst Spielberg I've ever seen :( Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
shawnc.May 24, 2008
Wow. What a silly, uninvolving disappointment. Spielberg is done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JaredB.May 24, 2008
Being a HUGE fan of the other "Indiana Jones" movies, I was really looking forward to this one. While it isn't a total loss, it is nowhere near as good as any of the films in the previous trilogy. For starters, Harrison Ford, who made Being a HUGE fan of the other "Indiana Jones" movies, I was really looking forward to this one. While it isn't a total loss, it is nowhere near as good as any of the films in the previous trilogy. For starters, Harrison Ford, who made the first three so great, shows his age in a big way here. I would expect for anyone playing Indy to jump fearlessly into the stunts. Here, Ford seems more concerned about safety than realism. Speaking of realism, that leads to another problem I had. This film is completely implausible. For instance, there is a scene where the main characters are in a truck and something rolls over them. Normally, anyone who has this happen to them would be flattened. However, everyone comes out without even a scratch. If anybody can explain how this could happen, I would love to hear it. I also had a problem with the payoff. *Spoiler Alert* Near the end, the characters enter what appears to be an ancient Mayan pyramid. However, it turns out to be an alien spaceship. When is Hollywood going to stop making films where everything can be explained away by using aliens? I am getting so sick of this. Another thing I am getting sick of is Shia LeBeouf. Except his role in "Transformers," this guy is, in my opinion, a talentless hack. He should consider early retirement before he totally ruins Hollywood. If it hadn't been for some great special effects and humor, this thing would have been a complete disaster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GuenterO.May 24, 2008
Movie gives this magic Spielberg feeling. But Indy 3 is still the best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobH.May 24, 2008
This one seems to have divided people. All I know is that I loved it... all of it... apart from the monkys.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
IanB.May 24, 2008
Sure, it isn't perfect - but it's a load of goofy fun with a ton of nostalgia heaped on. Ford is fabulous as ever as Indy, and it's great to see him in the role again. Go see it and just enjoy it, and leave the overanalysis to Sure, it isn't perfect - but it's a load of goofy fun with a ton of nostalgia heaped on. Ford is fabulous as ever as Indy, and it's great to see him in the role again. Go see it and just enjoy it, and leave the overanalysis to the cynics who've forgotten how to just have fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DimitreR.May 24, 2008
I'm an Indy fanboy; I grew up with the original three movies and loved every single one of them (even Temple of Doom). I was of course, extremely excited to see this one. The first 45 minutes were good but then the movie morphed into a I'm an Indy fanboy; I grew up with the original three movies and loved every single one of them (even Temple of Doom). I was of course, extremely excited to see this one. The first 45 minutes were good but then the movie morphed into a distasteful combination of X-files, National Treasure, and Tarzan... The magic's simply gone and ultimately there was no reason whatsoever for this film to be made... well okay, I guess it was for the money... Speilburg, Lucas; how far the mighty have fallen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuanC.May 24, 2008
I dont see why people say so much trash about this movie? are they dumb? what did they expect? you have to be dumbt to expect a lot from this movie and let yourself be dissapointed... if you expect a good and fun movie, you'll love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NateMay 24, 2008
This shallow, pathetic effort defiles and insults the legacy of "Raiders of the Lost Ark," and raises major questions about the ongoing viability of Speilberg as a legitimate creative force. Much as we may fondly remember the mastery that This shallow, pathetic effort defiles and insults the legacy of "Raiders of the Lost Ark," and raises major questions about the ongoing viability of Speilberg as a legitimate creative force. Much as we may fondly remember the mastery that was "Raiders," this film is simply a cheap and insulting exuse to exploit nostalgia for the original films to get people into the theater. Yes. It is that bad. The dialogue consists of little more than lame one-liners, the plot is overstuffed and underdeveloped, the acting (especially Indy himself) is wooden and embarrasing, character development is non-existent, and even the action sequences themselves are unoriginal and uninspired. This is an offensivley bad film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TonyT.May 24, 2008
This is not the best Indy movie, but it is a damn good one. I would say it is better than Temple for sure. The action is tight, Harrison still delivers and Shia is surprisingly good in his role. The chase scenes in this one are some of the This is not the best Indy movie, but it is a damn good one. I would say it is better than Temple for sure. The action is tight, Harrison still delivers and Shia is surprisingly good in his role. The chase scenes in this one are some of the best in the Indy series. While the film doesn't hold a candle to Raiders, I would say that it still a good movie overall and a great Indy film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DanM.May 25, 2008
Outrageous and hackneyed storyline coupled with non-believable action sequences, too digitalized, I do not lump this in with the original trilogy and will not acknowledge this as an Indiana Jones movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
peterMay 25, 2008
We already seen the great car chaches on a cliff, secret temples hidden in the rocks, and incredible non-human made objects that can change the world. This movie was just like a remake of all the different Indiana-Jones movies put together! We already seen the great car chaches on a cliff, secret temples hidden in the rocks, and incredible non-human made objects that can change the world. This movie was just like a remake of all the different Indiana-Jones movies put together! this movie was disaproving! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Gustavo²May 25, 2008
It has all the magic and adventurous elements that made Spielberg the King of Hollywood. Already an underrated masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful